reviews for: listing #35373 - Guntersville, Alabama House rental

Guntersville Getaway Waterfront Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,295 /wk

sort by:

Pretty view of Lake Guntersville

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

The view is really pretty and it was peaceful the 8 days we were there. The last 3 days we were visited by geese and all their babies of various ages. They came up into the yard to eat and then departed after spending about 30 to 45 minutes.

If you don't swim then be aware the water access from the shore is incredibly rocky. I'm one of those non-swimmers but I love to get in the water on a raft. Needless to say i only got in the water one day.

Also on the negative side, the grass had not been cut in so long it had gone to seed. There were dead flowers in the pots on the patio.

The house was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked. However, there are still some items needed in the kitchen. The only bowl big enough to make a salad in is cracked in the bottom. You need to add a few more large bowls. There are no small, sharp knives (only steak knives.)

The owner, Lyndall, was very easy to work with. There were a few miscommunications with the manager, Nicholas, but it all worked out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing!!!!!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

This was our second year and we loved it all over again! The owner is very informative and very nice. The grounds were just beautiful. The house has that home feeling and very roomy. Everything is clean and freshhave a great time. and it has everything you will need to

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location for Brothers/Uncle Annual Trip

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

My 2 brothers and uncle get together each year for an annual fishing trip. In the past we have done a houseboat on Dale Hollow, floating cabin on Nickajack, cabin on Tim's Ford. This year we decided on the legendary Guntersville Lake. After selecting the cabin it was easy to get in touch with Nicholas (the owner's son) to make arrangements. He was friendly and provided us with all the information we needed. The house was perfect for out needs. It was clean, spacious and well stocked. We cooked almost every meal and never had any difficulty finding what we needed. We even fried fish one night and found a huge iron skillet that was perfect for the cooking. The dock was great for out two fishing boats and also provided great fishing opportunities. We actually caught as much off of the dock as we did out of our boats. NIcholas called one day and dropped by to check on us and make sure we had everything we needed. Bottom line: our best trip so far in terms of lodging and fishing. We are already looking forward to next year's Guntersville Getaway!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise on the lake

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

The property was great. Lyndall was grateful to let me bring my 4 legged friends. We could not get them to get in the SUV when it was time to leave! They loved it!!! The location was great. Right on the lake and far enough from the street the doggies were safe and had a great place to run. We grilled every night and set on the patio. Wonderful. All the bedrooms had sliding doors so you awakened looking at the beautiful lake. Can't image how romantic in the winter with fire place going and it being cold outside. If I owned the house I would never rent it because I would want to live there or stay there all the time. My husband and I have had a hard year and I have been sick and it was well worth the rental fee and Lyndall was great to work with. We will be back next year!! Lyndall thank you for everything it means allot to me and my husband and Bob, Daisy, Joey, Bart, Susie, Chi Chi and BeBe said thank you:). God Bless!!! Tammy and Gene

Owners response: Tammy, thanks so much for taking the time to review The Getaway. We were so glad to have you and your furry friends! Look forward to seeing you next year! God Bless you too!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful!!!!!

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Guntersville Getaway. It's one of the prettiest spots on the lake. The house is lovely, clean and comfortable. The views are beautiful from every window. A great place for bird watchers! It's closer to the water than it looks. We'll Be back!
Sheila

Owners response: Thanks for the review Kathie and Sheila! Looking forward to seeing you again in November!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A pure joy!

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We LOVE this place. It is refreshing everytime and hard for us to leave. The owners are fantastic folks and I HIGHLY recommend this for your next vacation!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

I didn't notice the star rating when I first submitted a review and would now like to give 5 stars. My husband, Daughter, granddaughter and grandson really enjoyed Guntersville Getaway. It is the perfect answer for family time and down time even when you have to take your work with you as we do. We had good internet connection and was able to maintain our business and relax as well. This is a lovely home, well maintained and thank you to Tracey for warm welcome, as well.
Loved the kitchen and dining area but my favorite thing is a comfortable bed to sleep in at night.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Emaculate

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

Just arrived home from our wonderfully relaxing vacation in Guntersville! Gunterville is such a lovely town with beautiful veiws of the lake and mountains. The state park is breathtaking! This is a beautiful house that has all the comforts of home. I love to cook and the kitchen provided every gadget I needed. I also loved the beautiful stove! The house was emaculately clean. The view of the lake is breathtaking and the back patio is great. My kids loved being able to walk outside and fish and swim. The location and neigborhood is very safe and I didn't worry at all about my kids safety. Lyndall is a gracious and thoughtful hostess! My family is looking forward to going back!
Michelle H., Millry, AL

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

getaway

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

The description of amenities is not accurate.
The property is not well maintained or clean.
The owner did not provide good service.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Unfortunately, the leather couch cushion was ripped in two places during their stay and I was not informed of this fact. I am only keeping enough of their deposit to fix the damage. As you can see from other reviews, most guests are happy with the house and often remark on how clean the house is.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Best Vacation Ever!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I would have to say this was the prettiest place to spend a week. The property is absoulutely beautiful and the house is roomy. Lyndall goes out of her way to make you feel welcome, which definitley makes this feel like a home away from home. I would recommend Guntersville Getaway to anyone looking for rest and relaxation. The worst part of the trip was leaving.

P.S. Thank You Lyndall for everything you did to make this vacation special and we can't wait to see you next year. Also Zero says hi and Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just what we needed

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Guntersville Getaway was just what we needed! When we arrived all of us were impressed that the house was even nicer than we imagined from the pictures. It is so clean and cozy. I personally loved waking up to the incredible view of the water! Lyndall is such a joy to deal with! We look forward to spend another week there next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fisherman's Dream

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We had four adults in our group and were seeking a comfortable fishing getaway on Guntersville Lake for three nights. Guntersville Getaway turned out to be the perfect solution! The property is conveniently located to U.S 431 and amenities are as advertised. Boat ramp access to the lake is located about 1 mile south of the property (on the right) and from there is a quick trip back to a cove off the main channel and a pier that extends away from the house. Electrical power is easily accessible at the shoreline if overnight battery charging is a concern. You can park your boat trailer in the driveway. It is a bit tight for anything 21' and longer but still very manageable. A convenience store is close by in case you need food/gas/ice or similar items.

The house was a welcome sight after long days on the water. The living room is spacious and comfortable. The house was clean and well supplied with bed and bath linens. Exterior lighting is superb and makes it easy to safely walk around both the front and backyards at night. The neighborhood is quiet and we felt very safe taking walks at anytime, day or night. Lyndall is an excellent communicator and truly cares about your vacation experience. We certainly enjoyed our stay and plan to return again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

This place was awsome nice set up freindly owner comfortable and cozy. Everything you read about it is true. Will be comeing back next year. Would recomend this place to any age group. Thank you Lyndall see you next year. P.S. Zero said hello and enjoyed her self also.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

The cabin is comfortable, neat, clean and well setup for family lake living. The location is convenient to Guntersville, Huntsville & Birmingham. The dock provides plenty of room for our ski boat (22') and a fishing boat (18') so "on the water" activities are the main event for us. There are nearby resturants: Rock House Cafe, Coyote Grill are a couple of our recommendations. We love the cabin and the owners is great. We will be returning for another week this year

Guntersville is a small lake front community and a lot of the resturants are closed on Sunday and Monday evening. This is not a problem just plan to grill something on the patio (bring charcoal & food) or drive to nearby Huntsville.

Afternoon naps on the hammock are the best.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review