reviews for: listing #35379 - Canaan Valley, West Virginia Cabin rental

Cozy Romantic Cabin for Two - Honeymoon Classic Cabin
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $185 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

PERFECT

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We just left the cabin today and already planning our next stay! I planned a surprise ski trip and two night stay at the Classic for my boyfriend and I as a Christmas present. When we arrived, we took a minute to admire the lovely cabin. We had just finished a long day of skiing and were pleased to walk into a warm and cozy atmosphere. The fire place was going and the soft music playing was a wonderful touch. We took advantage of the speaker system that had an ipod dock which allowed us to play our own music! The hot tub was amazing after our long day. (I recommend wrapping in the comfy robes after jumping out of the hot tub opposed to towels.) The next morning we debated on getting up to go skiing while we cuddled in bed until 12 because it was so comfortable. The restaurant was perfect and food was delicious. Thank you so much for making our first getaway together memorable!

If considering this cabin, I highly recommend it! You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We just left the cabin today and already planning our next stay! I planned a surprise ski trip and two night stay at the Classic for my boyfriend and I as a Christmas present. When we arrived, we took a minute to admire the lovely cabin. We had just finished a long day of skiing and were pleased to walk into a warm and cozy atmosphere. The fire place was going and the soft music playing was a wonderful touch. We took advantage of the speaker system that had an ipod dock which allowed us to play our own music! The hot tub was amazing after our long day. (I recommend wrapping in the comfy robes after jumping out of the hot tub opposed to towels.) The next morning we debated on getting up to go skiing while we cuddled in bed until 12 because it was so comfortable. The restaurant was perfect and food was delicious. Thank you so much for making our first getaway together memorable!

If considering this cabin, I highly recommend it! You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Love

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

This little cabin was a delight for us on our first weekend getaway. It was absolutly perfect. The gas fireplace and down comforter kept us warm and cozy during the snowy, windy Thanksgiving weekend and the Golden Anchor Restaurant located just a few hundred yards away supplied us with fabulous meals. In fact, we were going to have dinner elsewhere on the second night of our stay but the food at the Golden Anchor was so good that we opted to dine there again.

This cabin is situated in such a unique spot. A few miles one direction are the Smoke Hole Caverns and Seneca Rock(which we enjoyed)and in the other is Canaan Valley, Timberline, Blackwater Falls (absolutely beautiful) and the wonderful little towns of Davis and Thomas. The Inn in Davis serves a fantastic breakfast and the Blues Cafe in Thomas has wonderful coffee and great live Blues.

I must say that we could not find one thing to complain about and we will always charish the memories of our first weekend getaway shared in the Honeymoon Classic Cabin at Golden Anchor.

P.S. The hottub is huge and very private and the dual shower heads are a very nice touch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. The place was wonderful!! When we walked in they had soft music playing and the fireplace was on. It was very warm and inviting. They had a full kitchen so we could do our own cooking. The hot tub was great. Everything was perfect for a weekend getaway.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 17

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

The Honeymoon Classic is one of the nicest cabins we have ever stayed at. From the moment you walk in, you feel that you are in heaven. The owners have perfected the art of romance. You start out walking into the cabin, the fireplace was lit, the music was playing softly in the background, and the lights dimmed. The hot tub was just what we needed to relax after our wedding. Dinner at the Golden Anchor was fabulous. The service was even better. We highly highly recommend the cabins to anyone who just got married, renewed their vows, or just need to "restart" their romance. It truly reminds you how you fell in love.
Thank you so much sharing your love nest with us. We look forward to coming back on our 1st anniversary.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2006   Date of arrival: September 14, 2006

The following comments have been written by previous guests in our guest book during their stay at our "Honeymoon" Cabin. - Ron & Rella Cvetican, Owners - Golden Anchor Restaurant and Cabins, Canaan Valley, WV - Ph: (304) 866-2722


~ Guest Comments ~

I am so glad you have a website!! Or else we would have never found this delightful getaway retreat cabin. The hospitality was just wonderful. It was so nice after our 4 hour drive here, mostly in the dark, arriving to find a cozy cabin with the fire going and the lights left on just as promised. The cabin is just gorgeous!! My husband, being a carpenter, really enjoyed the natural beauty of all the wood. All the special touches to make us feel welcome and comfortable were great!! Dinner SAturday night at your restaurant was delicious! Pam was great! And BJ was so friendly and helpful!! It was wonderful to get away from our hectic schedule and enjoy some quiet time together, and your "honeymoon cabin" made our celebration of our 15th Wedding Anniversary perfect!! Thanks so much for everything. ~ Dawna & Mike (PA)

From reading the previous notes of those who stayed here it looks like we have been married the longest... 40 years on May 4! Thank you for the wonderful hopsitality! We also echo the previous notes on the Honeymoon Cabin. We are sure those who will follow will fall in love with it too! The restaurant complimented the cabin very well and was so convenient. We love good seafood and everything we tried was soooo good!! Thank you for making our Anniversary so memorable... the Anniversary cake our kids had ordered for us, which you all had made, was terrific! The cabin is fabulous and Pam & BJ were very special and made our meals even more special! We plan to return! ~ Jim & Linda (OH)

It's nice to see that little slices of heaven still exist, and can be so affordable! We've been looking for an escape from the crowded DC Metro area, and now we've found our special little place in WV. We'll definitely be back! Thank you for such a beautiful and comfortable stay in your mountainous paradise! The food and service at the restaurant were also great! ~ Sean & Bianca

This was the perfect romantic getaway. We didn't realize how much we needed to get away from everything until we settled in here. It's the perfect environment to get to know each other all over again, and to remember all the reasons we fell in love with each other in the first place. We will be back again and again

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2006   Date of arrival: September 14, 2006

More guest comments from our guest book...

This is a great place to relax. Everything is so comfortable. We appreciated the little touches that made it feel like home. The weather was great and we enjoyed being able to get out and enjoy the area. The cabin is so convenient to everything. The restaurant was great. I'm sure everyone that stays here will enjoy themselves. Thanks for everything! ~ Ed & Shellie (WV)

This is a beautiful "Honeymoon Cabin". The little touches made it very nice. We are celebrating 32 years of marriage, and this put the icing on the cake. Thank you very much! ~ Charles & Deloies (WV)

We really enjoyed your beautiful Honeymoon Cabin. It has been a nice place to unwind and appreciate the little things in life. Sometimes people get so wrapped up in the world and the rat race and forget to really see what is important in life. It is nice to know that this little retreat is only a short drive from home. We hope to see you soon! ~ Scott & Jena (WV)

Great snow. Great cabin. Great hospitality. Thank you again for everything. ~ John

Thanks for a beautiful place to stay on our honeymoon. We loved every thing! The champagne, the shower, the hot tub... all were great! ~ Jesse & Sherry (WV)

Thanks again for everything that you did for us. Your hospitality is unmatched by anyone at any place we have ever been. We will definitely be back in the future and we will recommend your cabins as well as your food. Thanks to the staff at the restaurant also. ~ Chris & Becky (WV)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2006   Date of arrival: September 14, 2006

More guest comments...

The Honeymoon Cabin was so much more than we imagined. The little things you do make it perfect. The hot tub felt great on our sore muscles after tubing all day. I especially want to thank you for the birthday cake; it made the occasion extra special. We'll try not to be selfish and will tell our family and friends about your cozy cabin. Thanks again for everything. ~ Lance & Heather

Although not "secluded", the Honeymoon Cabin offers a delightful sense of privacy - ideal for newlyweds, as well as those celebrating an Anniversary. We were celebrating our 23rd, and all the thoughtful touches our host Ron had appointed made the occasion extra special. The lovely furnishings, the gas fireplace, dimmer lights and luxurious bedding all made for a cozy and romantic getaway. Details like the super-soft pillows (many of them), extra thick towels and scented candles made us feel pampered. The hot tub (thoughtfully fenced for privacy) was a delight to experience as the snow whirled around us. The "couples" shower was something we've never encountered in the many cabins we've rented in the past. The vaulted ceilings and wide expanses of glass balance the coziness with a feeling of space. We kept most of the blinds open so we could ponder the mountain ridges' beloved backpacking and hiking destinations. This trip we hiked Red Creek and Blackwater Falls. The falls in winter, devoid of the typical summer tourists, were a spectacle of voluminous ice and rushing water - a "must see". We hate to leave! Thank you, Ron, for your hospitality. ~ Karen & Nick (PA)

We can feel the heart and love that you've poured into creating this "Honeymoon Cabin". Every accessory seems to give us a feeling of home. We awakened to the sound of rain on the roof and the out-of-doors poured through each window. What a calm, peaceful feeling and such a break from the daily rush of life. The view during breakfast from this height is wonderful. Ron, you have the imagination of a time and place that I thought was lost. You are a wonderful host. We have traveled and stayed in many cabins and hotels, but none have had the atmosphere that you have created in your cabins. In time, we're going to stay in each cabin. You've made us greedy and selfish. While we want everyone to know about the cabins; we want no one to know, for they too, will want to share and experience your hospitality. Thank you, for building a home away from home for us. You deserve

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2006   Date of arrival: September 14, 2006

More guest comments....

Wow! We have fallen in love with The Golden Anchor and its surroundings. The cabin is beautiful, much more than we expected. The time and details that you have worked at putting into this retreat have not gone unnoticed. The atmosphere is charming and so relaxing. We were looking for peace and time alone and we received it. Your staff has been wonderful. We spent Friday evening closing down your restaurant and they were so enjoyable to talk with and helpful. You don't find this in the everyday hustle and bustle. Dinner was delicious. The seafood and garlic bread are fantastic. We can't wait to come back this summer with friends or family and next winter alone, just the two of us. Thank you for being so accommodating, 2 days is not nearly enough time for a stay here. Good luck with your future plans, we enjoyed your conversation and retreat. ~ Tom & Amy (OH)

First, I would have to say that we were pleasantly surprised by the comfort and detail of the cabin. We expected a more rustic atmosphere. The trip here was most definitely worth it. We were looking for a special place to celebrate our 15th Anniversary and believe what you have created with these cabins is truly "special"! The privacy of the hot tub was perfect! We very much enjoyed our stay and appreciate your "little slice of heaven" here in the mountains. Thank you so very much!! Our meal was wonderful in every detail. A special thanks to Pam for such excellent service. ~ John & Tangee (WV)

Wow! Here we are - the first honeymoon couple to stay in the Honeymoon Cabin! We are actually just packing up to return home after a glorious weekend and I am filled with contentment, tinged with a little bit of sadness. How could we not be sad that such a beautiful time must come to an end, yet how could we not be thrilled with this perfect beginning to our marriage! We've had beautiful sunshine, freezing ice storms, tasty trout dip, hiking adventures and lots of special times here at "our honeymoon home". Thank you for everything! We hope everyone that stays here has as wonderful of a time as we did and is blessed enough to feel love like we share. Enjoy! ~ Jenny & Matt (WV)

This was our second trip to the cabin and it seems to get better each time. We had a wonderful meal Friday at The Golden Anchor and really enjoyed you & Rella having dinner with us. Looking forward to bringing my sons up when they return from Iraq. I'm sure they will enjoy this as m

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2006   Date of arrival: September 12, 2006

The following comments have been written by previous guests in our guest book during their stay at our "Honeymoon" Cabin. - Ron & Rella Cvetican, Owners - Golden Anchor Restaurant and Cabins, Canaan Valley, WV - Ph: (304) 866-2722

~ Guest Comments ~

What a beautiful and magical mountain hideaway. How welcoming it was after our late-night drive. We've had a great few days exploring Blackwater Falls (we recommend Lindy Point) and Dolly Sods. Each day's been different, with swirling mists and spectacular fall foliage, and today the bluest of skies. Thank you every so much! ~ John & Annie (DC)

Thank you so much for your hospitality you have shown us. The Honeymoon Cabin is the "perfect getaway". Every detail is super. We have stayed at different cabins throughout WV. I can honestly say none compare to this. We will be back and will recommend you to others. Your restaurant is superb; we had a great dining experience. Thanks again! ~ David & Carolyn (WV)

The Honeymoon Cabin is indeed a wonderful retreat from the hectic pace of our lives... you've thought of everything to make it luxuriously comfortable, and mother nature helped in providing the perfect snowy backdrop. Our time here has been peaceful and rejuvenating. Thank you for such a special place! ~ Tony & MaryBeth (WV)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review