reviews for: listing #35380 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Beautiful Ocean View Maui Sunset Condo - B213
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Maui Sunset Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $145 /nt
    $770 - $1,015 /wk

sort by:

Loved it!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

We loved the condo and its location. It was so clean and well equipped with everything we needed. The grounds and pool are beautiful and immaculate too. We enjoyed spending our 15th anniversary there very much! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Condo experience

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

My husband and I have been visiting Kihei since the late 1990s. Many of our recent stays have been at Maui Sunset, but our recent stay in Caroline's condo was fabulous! We arrived to find a beautiful welcome basket with fresh fruit, candy, cookies and macnuts. The condo was clean and beautifully arranged. We ate most of our meals in because of the fabulously stocked kitchen and easy access to the grills. I would recommend this condo to anyone staying in Kihei. It's centrally located with easy access to beaches, sightseeing, restaurants and groceries. Thanks for the wonderful, welcoming stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME!!!

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

It was like being at home - there was everything we could have hoped for or needed for our vacation. We had a late arrival and late check out and Caroline was very helpful and accommodating to ensure that everything went smoothly with our stay.

This is an awesome property - there is a great pool & hot tub and being on a park it seems like the property goes forever.

We met some great "full timers" at happy hour at the hot tub and look forward to returning.

Caroline's place is central to everything and we often walked to supper or breakfast, although the kitchen in this condo has everything you could ever need.

We loved it here - Thank You Caroline for aiding in making our first trip to Maui a wonderful experience.

Tom & Gail

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First time on Maui

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

Arrived late as our flight was delayed, even though after hours keys were ready. Got in and were amazed at how clean and new everything was. View exactly as shown on site, there was a wonderful basket of fruit and chocolates and nuts, nice touch. Owner e mailed a couple days in to ensure everything was good, another nice touch. This unit is close to everything in Kihei, and touring the island I realized that Kihei is the perfect place to stay as weather is always better there and it's a great central place to start for anywhere you want to go. There are many places to go for food, drink, coffee, all within 5 minutes, safeway, longs and times just minutes away. We went everywhere but many days just spent mornings and sundowns on the lanai. The grounds are immaculately kept, pool warm and always clean. We were referred by another couple from work and I will refer this unit to all my friends. We are already planning a return trip in March of 2015 and I certainly hope we can get this unit again. It is so nice to have a fully equipped kitchen so it was easier to save money on a few meals, brand new washer dryer and dishwasher. Bedroom is spacious but we spent almost every night on the pullout which was comfortable and nearer the lanai.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We had a great time at this special place. We selected this condo because it was centrally located in Maui. This condo worked out great as we were able to hit all of the "highly ranked beaches" on Maui.

Caroline was very helpful. Her advice to rent snorkel equipment for the week was appreciated.

The condo was well supplied to make this a great family vacation with my wife and two young children.

The condo was very well equipped with everything needed.

We were able to contact Caroline with any questions we had during our stay and had a quick response from her. We would highly suggest this condo for your stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent place!

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

I stayed for week recently and this unit is fantastic! We were welcomed by a greeting basket with fruit and some goodies, which was a great way to kick off the vacation. There are some great ocean views from the lanai and the full kitchen is great too for nights that you don't want to eat out. The building overall is very clean and the staff are helpful. The owner was very professional and helpful in setting up the rental as well. Highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Place on Maui

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

Our stay at Maui Sunset could not have been better. Great location. Well maintained property. Caroline's unit B213 has a beautiful view from the lanai and is nicely appointed. A great "home away from home". Tom and Kathie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

We rented this condo on our last trip to Kihei. Located in a central location (about 45 min to Lahaina and 15 min away from the beautiful beaches of Wealea and Makena), this condo was a perfect fit for us. We appreciated the welcome basket upon on arrival. We traveled with our 6 months old and he especially enjoyed the fruits. The condo is super clean and very well furnished. We felt at home. Maui Sunset is a clean premise, you should see the cleaning crew in the morning working around the pool, bbq's and ground! Other tenants are very nice and respectful. We appreciated the 10 pm - 8 am quiet policy. Finally, Caroline is very nice and helpful. Thank you for everything! I would recommend this rental to all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Superb condo!

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

This condo was great! My family and I loved the comfort and it’s location. The condo itself is quite large and bright. Even though it’s one bedroom, having two bathrooms was nice. All the appliances were like new and worked well. The kitchen was full of various utensils for cooking and an assortment of plates, glasses and cups. The sleeper sofa in the living room was comfortable and large, but a little pushed through in the middle so you always end up in the middle of the bed by morning. We liked the location the most because it’s within minute of beaches. There is a Safeway and another 24hr groceries store just 3 minutes away. The airport and Costco are only 10 minutes away. These condos are right at the beginning of the road to Wailea, Lahaina, “Road to Hana”, Heleakala, and the aquarium. Just in walking distance from the condo there’s a superb little craft market for souvenirs and all things Hawaiian, fairly cheap. The premises were beautiful, equipped with BBQ grills and neat landscaping. We felt safe because there’s a guard circulating around and even the pool gate is always locked by your key. The owner of the condo did a great job with keeping us informed and sent us follow up e-mails, which was nice to know that we were not forgotten and valued as tenants. Overall we were very pleased with this place, it made our vacation in Maui much more relaxed and stress-free.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Maui Sunset,Kihei Hawaii

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Our recent 3 week stay at the Maui Sunset was excellent,my girlfriend an I had a perfect vaction.The description of the location,layout & amenities was accurate with extras.The condo was very clean an well maintained,washer& dryer,full kitchen,free local phone service,internet an cable,kitchen came fully equipped.Parking was free,beach towels,beach chairs,cooler an extra welcome package where a real plus.The grounds are park like with large pool& jacuzzi,BBQ area,exercise room,tennis and putting greens.The office staff where very friendly,an helped use on several items (thanks Bonny).This was much better then a hotel room.Carol the owner is very nice an easy to talk with,what a great vaction this was...Mahalo to all...Indiana (BOB)

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Accommodations

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful accommodations provided at this condo. It was warm, relaxing and centrally located to shops and dining. All amenities were provided and the owner's assistance was complete, personal and greatly appreciated. The grounds at the Maui Sunset are impeccable and there is definitely a "family-friendly" atmosphere. When we return to Maui, this unit will be at the top of our list.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

"Home away from Home"

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Aloha,we were greeted with a basket of fruit and goodies, which was great because we got in late. This condo was perfect in every way. The bed was so comfortable we fell asleep instantly. It was very nice to have beach towels,cooler and snorkeling gear to use. The location is central and only takes a few minutes to get to any of the main beaches or any other activities.

Having such a well stocked kitchen made life so easy. The unit is very clean and very quiet. Having such a great condo to spend our holiday at made our vacation "Fantastic". We have already told friends and relatives about this condo and will be staying here next time.

Can't go wrong on this beautifull condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice place

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

The place is very nice, good view, clean and most of all it feels like home.
We are very lucky that it was available when we needed accomodation and a place for my husband to relax and get better after the emergency surgery had to go through on our 2nd of our holiday.
Thank you again Caroline and definetely would like to come back and recommend the place to all our friends.

Susan and Mike.... Burnaby, BC., Canada

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Condo for Adult Couple

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

For both of us, this was our first trip to Hawaii and we were arriving late at night, long after dark, with a serious jet lag case... and how delightful it was to get detailed instructions from Caroline on how to get from the airport to the condo, how to access it late at night, and even more surprising, how thoughtful of her to arrange for some basics food and beverage waiting for us when we arrived so late.

The condo location is excellent, just at the entrance of Kihei which gives fast access to any part of the island. It's the best spot to be in Kihei. Then, the condo floor location in the building itself couldn't be better. It's easily accessible by the stairs being only on the 2nd floor and very near the stairways. Parking was always available just below our door. The Maui Sunset management were very welcoming and the common facilities are perfectly kept (pool, lawn, tennis, BBQ, etc.).

Inside the condo, you won't miss anything. Kitchen full equipped, great supply of towels, dishes, etc. Nice floor plan for 2 persons and plenty of closet space for those who are visiting Maui with a lot of sport equipment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

My son and I had a wonderful time in Caroline's spacious condo. The condo is super clean and has everything you need and more. Caroline the owner is great - responded to our emails almost immediately and very pleasant on the phone. I loved the welcome fruit basket (what a nice touch - the fruit were delic), and the handout with close-by places to visit, shop, eat, etc. was very useful. The property is very well kept (just like in the picture) and centrally located. The pool seems bigger than most standard pools, and although I would not recommend the adjacent beach, it's only 5 minutes down the road to beautiful Kameole beach. Just about all great beaches on Maui are within 30-60 minutes, only Hana on the other side of the island takes a few hours (but is worth the trip). AC is available, but we didn't need it. There was a constant breeze, and we only used the ceiling fan a few times at night.

We stayed during the 2nd week of April, and I found that a number of activities that we had reserved prior to our trip (i.e. kayaking trip, ziplining, surfing) were available at discount prices through local dealers. Also, if you are military, ask for military discount - most places offered 10-15% off.

Again, I can highly recommend the condo as well as the owner, and would return in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect stay!

Review submitted: September 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 17, 2008

We stayed at this specific unit prior to our wedding and during our honeymoon and it was blissful. Caroline, the owner, was very gracious and for everything we needed or had questions about, she was happy to help! She even provides a lot of information such as grocery stores, activities to do, places to see, and restaurants in the area. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with a basket full of goodies from her and the place was well-kept. There are two A/C's but you don't really need to use it much because the weather is consistently nice with the trade winds especially blowing in the afternoon. The location of the condo is nice and you can take pictures of the beach and mountain and I'm sure if we came here during whale season, we would've captured it. The beach is right at your backyard and is good for a romantic sunset stroll. The landscaping is very green and well-maintained and I've seen several kids along the pool side but it's such a quiet place! We drove by the other condos we were looking at and we are so happy to have found this one. God willing that we come back to Maui, we are not looking for a different place to stay because we found a VERY hospitable owner and an excellent place to stay. We hope to enjoy this condo again someday if we haven't already bought a house in Hawaii by that time:)

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review