reviews for: listing #35450 - San Diego, California Condo rental

2 Minutes to Downtown! Mission Hills Tropical Spanish Condos
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mission Hills
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $285 /nt
    $600 - $1,050 /wk
    $2,400 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

A Week at the Coyote

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

If you wanted to find the perfect place for a mid-Winter's vacation to San Diego, I doubt that you could find a better spot. Bill & Yasmin's beautiful and centrally located condo couldn't be more perfect for a couple looking for a quiet spot as a central base for exploring this wonderful city.

Everything you need is provided, with plenty of fine restaurants nearby, and easy access to all of the major attractions via the Interstates and Freeways.

All in all, your hosts have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. A special recommendation to the Enterprise Car Rental people whose offices are less than ten minutes away from the condo.

Thanks again Bill & Yasmin for making our vacation a special one.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Mission Hills Coyote Condo

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

1. Our stay was good: The location is optimal; The flat is cute.
2. San Diego is great.
3. Yasmin is wonderful.

Irina & Leonid.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Welcoming and relaxing

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We felt at home in this warm and welcoming condo. Hotels can not come close to making our stay as inviting as this mature garden, complete with humming birds, and stucco home did. Both my 6 yr old and 4 yr old slept comfortably on the futon after full days of San Diego excursions. The restaurants were heaven to have so close; they had delicious food and we did not have to get into the car again! Both my husband and I could have a drink because we were walking home. This condo really is central to everything there is to do in San Diego, and Yasmin makes a welcoming and relaxing condo for travelers.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our stay in San Diego at the Road Runner

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

What an excellent stay we had in the Road Runner condo. Yasmin was an excellent host and did everything should could to make our stay an enjoyable one. The condo is in the best location you could ask for. It's close to I-5, downtown, and Balboa Park. It's actually within walking distance to downtown and the harbor. We had an excellent time. The condo is clean and in great shape. We would recommend this condo to all!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent stay, very welcoming host.

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Coyote condo for our honeymoon. We could not have had a better week! Mission Hills is a fantastic neighborhood with several great restaurants, dessert spots, and coffee shops within walking distance from the condo (two blocks). Hillcrest and Banker's Hill are a two minute drive up the hill and that opens up your options ten fold. Old Town is two miniutes the other way and Gaslamp is only about a five minute drive down the 5 and both the Mission Valley and Fashion Valley Malls are about 5-10 minutes away. Can't forget the beaches, you're 10 minutes from MB, PB and OB. Even Coronado is only about 15 minutes. The location could not be more perfect. It is in a very safe and quiet neighborhood with ample parking. The condo itself is very well furnished with a comfortable bed, nice HD tv with DVD player, wireless internet, all the pots and pans you need (we cooked in twice), a newly refinished bathroom, and anything else you could think of to make you feel right at home. There is a great patio out front that has great privacy, a nice table and chairs set and a BBQ. To top it all off Yasmin was an amazing hostess. She met us there when we pulled into town and gave us the run-down of the condo and how to operate everything. She also has put together a great binder with local eats and entertainment and other information about San Diego. We had zero problems and highly recommend Yasmin and her property for your vacation or business housing needs.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing Condo

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Roadrunner Condo for 5 nights. It was a good place. It's nearby a bus stop & trolley station, some restaurants, & a big supermarket (just 1 bus stop away). We were able to visit all around. We were not far from airport. About 10 minutes by taxi. There was no airplane noise, which is good. In the house there were lots of attraction info. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillow. The only thing I advise to be careful is that the street is a steep hill where the condo is. So when walking on it, its not really good for senior or disable people. Beside that, everything is ok.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Convenient city condo

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

We stayed four nights at the RoadRunner condo. It's a very well-equiped condo. It is convenient to have a kitchen, a dining area, a nicely decorated living room and a separate bedroom. Yasmin was very helpfull and friendly. She even brought us a homemade cheescake! The condo is in a downtown environment, close to many attractions. But it is also close to the freeway, train and airport with the associated noise. The garden is absolutely beautiful.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

We stayed 8 nights in October and we really enjoyed every single day in the apartment. Well equipped, nicely decorated and everything in function. Plus: nice talks to the owners and the feeling of being welcome - what else can you hope for. I recommend the place for a nice time in San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

San Diego Coyote Condo

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Sunny San Diego Coyote in April 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment had everything expected of a holiday rental and having stayed in many, throughout Europe, Australia and the USA this is up there with the best of them in terms of value for money. The apartment is well equiped and Yasmin and Bill have provided one of the best info packs for guests that we've come across.
The only downside (as non-drivers) is the proximity to the airport and freeway. San Diego is not very pedestrian friendly (but the same can be said for lots of places in the US), although the metro system into downtown and Old Town San Diego is only a 10 minute walk away.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Coyote Condo

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

We came to SD as a "plan B" honeymoon when my husband's job would not allow him time off for a longer trip. The condo itself was just fine. Small but in good shape, (perfect for 2 people) and it was great to be so close to everything! There were a few snags when we got there. There was no hot water and the internet didn't work. But Yasmin was quick to solve the problems. The bathroom/bedroom was not properly cleaned, (i.e. long black hairs on the floor, smudges on the wall, fresh stains on the comforter etc.) It wasn't filthy by any means, but I expected it to be cleaned to hotel standards which it wasn't at all. I would have said something but Yasmin, although quick to offer solutions to the other issues, seemed put out by them so I didn't bother. We really would have appreciated it had she been more hospitable. That being said, we had an AMAZING time. There is so much to see and do in SD and we loved it so much we want to move there in the next 5 years. We brought our bikes and had great fun riding around Balboa Park and the beach areas. It was great being in a neighborhood, and Mission Hills is a really good one. Close to everything. Grab breakfast in Hillcrest and do dinner in Old Town if you can. I was worried about airport noise, but it was not a problem at the condo. Overall it was a comfortable place to stay and we are hooked on doing a vacation rental instead of a hotel, but we might try someone else next time. However, if you have never done it before, I would recommend the Coyote Condo. Just be prepared for possible snags and if you are used to friendly service as we are, be prepared for a more serious/down to business and not so welcoming host. But hey, you're on vacation, so don't sweat the small stuff!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are extremely surprised by the guest impressions. We go out of our way to make our guests comfortable and take care of any issues that may arise. The guest herself mentioned above that we were quick to resolve the issues she did bother to bring to our attention. Were we put out by any of it? Definitely not. Things happen and we are ready to deal with them as best we can with the least discomfort to our guests. It is a shame that she has not mentioned the lack of cleanliness - we would have quickly taken care of that as well. As owners we ask guests to let us know if anything is not as they expect it to be so those issues can be resolved. If our cleaning crew is not doing a perfect job - we need to know about it.
We take pride in our rentals and other reviews are a reflection of that pride.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

perfect location

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Perfect location in San Diego. We stayed in the Road Runner and loved it. Very clean and well furnished. We had two small boys and it was perfect. Thanks Yasmin and Bill.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very convenient but very noisy

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

We stayed here for two weeks in January of 2010. The condo was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the noise from the freeway and airport immediately outside the front door made the cute patio unuseable. We are from a quiet rural area so maybe a city person would be OK. But, if you want the windows open, be prepared for noise! Great location near all but not a walking neighborhood due to hills and proximity to Interstate 5.
Also, the wifi is very slow, the owner made several attempts to improve it but it never was fast enough to do more than check email.
The owners are very nice and keep the condos and landscaping up.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review.
Our Mission Hills condos are located in a downtown environment and, as a result, they experience all that is associated with such a location. San Diego airport is in the center of town and as such affects all centrally located neighborhoods. That is an integral part of San Diego. For those who are sensitive to noise we recommend finding lodgings that are further away from downtown.
We have since replaced the WiFi equipment and speeds are back to normal.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Condo, great location

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

We enjoyed our two weeks stay in the Coyote Condo very much. The Condo is beautifully furnished and was very clean. The location was optimal for us: close to Seaworld, the zoo and downtown SD. We will always recommend this place to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming small condo, well-appointed

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

My husband and I loved this place. The owners are welcoming and helpful. The condo is simple, but nicely decorated and well-maintained. The landscaping outside is attractive. The only things we could wish for would be somewhat thinner pillows, and handrails alongside the outdoor steps. We definitely plan to come again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Great Stay

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

This was my second time staying at The Coyote condo but this time I brought my family with me. Everything was as I remembered it back in July although the weather is a bit cooler in late December. We love the convenient location and the kids particularly liked being able to have dinner nearby (many eateries nearby) and come "home" within minutes. We'll definitely stay again in the future! Thanks again Yasmin!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay at condo

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2009

While this condo has a great location and view from the living room window, there were a few things we were disappointed with. There was only one bath towel per person, which wasn't quite adequate for a 2 week stay. The futon in the living room, provided for one more person, was quite complicated and heavy to move. And, there were no sheets provided for the futon.The lighting in the dining area was inadequate, while in the living room, overpowering. We probably won't stay at this condo again. The minuses outweighted the pluses.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review.
We provide one set of towels per guest (bath towel, hand towel, wash cloth). We have free laundry facilities on site and it is quite easy to wash/dry towels and linen as needed.
There are detailed instructions on how to open and close the futon. It is easily done and not complicated. One person can definitely handle it without a problem. We live on site and we can gladly show our guests how to operate the futon if asked.
If there were any sheets missing, again we live on site and are easy to get hold of. A quick phone call is all it would have taken to remedy the oversight.
Unfortunately, lack of proper communications contributed to lack of satisfaction.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

November 2009 visit

Review submitted: November 21, 2009   Date of arrival: November 8, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to San Diego. Yasmin greeted us upon arrival, and helped us with directions and dinner suggestions. We enjoyed beautiful weather and spent time outdoors in the tropical garden area that included a table and chairs. We started many mornings outside with our coffee relaxing in the beautifully maintained garden area. The property description was accurate, it was clean and well maintained. We enjoyed many restaurants within a few minutes driving distance including the Hash house and Richards Pancake house - both a must for breakfast. We would stay here again on future visits to San Diego as well as recommend this property to our friends. Bill and Jasmine keep a book in the room with many dining suggestions and local maps that we found very helpful and accurate. We were disappointed in the ghost tour, but had a wonderful time in little Italy and at one of the local farmers markets. We definitely enjoyed our days on the nearby beaches.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just down the road from Hillcrest! Perfect.

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Great location. Clean and tidy with a great view. I twas exactly what I needed. I only have two suggestions to make it a perfect stay:

1. More towels please!
2. An ironing board.

I had a bit of trouble with the internet too.. not a big deal. Thank you and look forward to my next visit.

Owners response: Thank you for your suggestions and your time in reviewing our property. There is an ironing board in the bedroom closet. We offer free laundry on site for those who need to wash & dry towels.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

4 NIGHT STAY/GETAWAY

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Overall our experience at the Coyote condo was very good. The location was very central and convienient. Yasmin was a wonderful host and very pleasant. Everything essential was provided (with the notable exception of Toilet Paper!!) but a quick trip to the market solved that dilema as we needed to shop for some provisions anyway.
Getting used to local traffic noise (airport-train whistles-freeway) took a day but a room fan created "white noise" to block most of the sounds out. The communal BBQ area and patio were lovely but, unfortunately the gas grill ran out of Propane during our use with no backup cylinder available. These minor difficulties were just that...minor. Would definitely recommend this spot to others.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

We stayed at this wonderful condo. Much better than a hotel and even more cost effective too!

We stayed in the Coyote condo and first thing I noticed was how CLEAN it was, particularly the bathroom. I always gauge cleanliness of a place by the bathroom and the Coyote bathroom was incredibly clean (no mold in grout on tiles, no soap scum buildup, etc.) so I was impressed.

Kitchen was stocked with everything we needed (plates, cups, cookware, utensils, toaster, chopping board, etc.) with lots of storage space if you are staying for more than a few days and want to buy groceries rather than eat out at some of the nearby restaurants.

The condo was a little stuffy and warm when we first arrived but opening up all of the windows cooled it off rapidly and the bedroom ceiling fan helped a lot as well.

The area nearby is great with lots of restaurant choices on India Street and larger grocery stores (Von's and Albertson's) a 5 minute drive up Washington Street. Trolley station is definitely walkable in about a 10 minute leisurely pace.

Yasmin, the owner, was nice, accomodating, and respectful of our privacy. She greeted us our first day and gave us a tour.

It is important to remember that this is not a hotel so there is nobody to clean up after you daily. We tend to be neat freaks anyway so that wasn't a problem for us and we left things as they were when we arrived.

We didn't use the on-site laundry facilities but it was nice to know they were there if we wanted to use them though.

Also, the free Wi-Fi was a great convenience. Only one little problem we had was getting the TV/DVD player to operate at first. We didn't realize that it was connected to the switched power from the wall switch. Once we figured that out we were fine.

Definitely would stay at again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

condo in San Diego

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

This condo was very nice, very well done, contained a beautiful garden and a place to eat outdoors. I was very happy with all that. However, I was turned off by a number of things which included a very sparse kitchen (most of the cupboards were empty), only ONE roll of toilet paper provided during our three night stay and being told to do the dishes and put them away despite the fact that we were charged a cleaning fee. I am not sure I would recommend it.

Owners response: Thank you for your comments.
We believe the kitchen is well equipped for a vacation rental and will accommodate the needs of 4 guests. If there was something you need we would have been more than happy to provide it. That is why we ask you upon your arrival to let us know if there is any need we can fulfill to let us know.
Since this is a vacation rental and not a hotel we provide (as is noted in all our ads and in the rental agreement all guests sign) a starter supply of paper products. The rest is the responsibility of the guest. Many vacation rentals do not provide any items at all.
The cleaning fee is customary in vacation rentals and leaving the place as clean as you found it is also customary.
If you are looking for the services hotels provide, you should perhaps consider that as your preferred type of accommodation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family get away!

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

Our family enjoyed this little 1 bedroom condo in Mission Hills tremendously. It's close to all the major sights and the host is very friendly. Loved the pullout futon and the bedding provided. GREAT pillows! All the appliances were in great working order and everything is kept very clean. Free laundry is a FANTASTIC plus!!

We left a few other items behind for other families who come since we thought it would be helpful such as a few more plastic drinking cups for kids, shampoo/conditioner, and ziplock bags.

Final suggestions--- especially since some families may only be staying for 3-4 days, it would be nice to start including the following items included as amenities since most families only stay for a short time:
1. extra toilet paper
2. dishwasing soap
3. sturdy garbage bags
4. sandwich size ziplock bags

.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Condo Getaway

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

We found the Mission Hills Spanish Condos to be a great place for an extended stay while in San Diego. The property was very clean, comfortable and attractively landscaped. The owner was friendly and provided us with much needed information about the area. We especially enjoyed the restaurants on India Street, which was within walkng distance. We would stay here again if we were to visit San Diego for an extended period and would recommed this property to friends visiting the area. This property is located on a steep hillside and walking could be a problem for some visitors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

studio apartment review

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

Stayed in the studio apartment. Acccurate description. Very well maintained. V. hospitable owners- Yasmin even gave me a lift in her car to the supermarket. 10 mins walk to nearest trolley station. Neighbourhood felt v. safe even late at night. Loads of restaurants within a 5 min walk. Even though close to the airport, you can hardly hear the planes. Lovely outdoor space with table & chairs. compact studio- wouldn't want more than 2 staying

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You won't be dissapointed!

Review submitted: October 16, 2008   Date of arrival: October 4, 2008

This fabulous studio was very well maintained. There was plenty of room with nice furnishings. The owner was so accommodating and easy to work with since we had short notice of arrival to the birth of a grandchild, early! We enjoyed the easy access to everything. We liked the Blue Water Grill for fish and it was in walking distance. We certainly expect to stay again when we return to San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice place in SD proper

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: March 17, 2008

Our family of four stayed in the 1bd for a week and had a great time. It's a lovely building, beautifully decorated with a great kitchen and nicely landscaped courtyard. Yasmin and Bill were very helpful and accomodating. We really liked that the place was in San Diego proper since there were a lot of things in and around downtown and mid-city San Diego that we wanted to do and see. As far as the city noise goes that one reviewer mentioned, none of us are what you'd call heavy sleepers and it didn't bother us at all. Our 1 yr old was able to take naps and get to sleep without a problem and I don't recall my wife or me being awakened or bothered.
I'd definitely recommend this place as a great, centrally located, affordable, San Diego get-away.

Sam

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: June 2, 2008   Date of arrival: February 13, 2008

My husband and I would definitly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a relaxing, hassle free rental. The location is great being just a few blocks for the transportation services to downtown San Diego etc. and within walking distance to Restaurants and Food Markets.

We also appreciated the location of the rental being in a residential setting it was nice and quite- very relaxing! Not to mention the decor of the condo was very modern and clean. We will definitly return and would recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2008   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

I strongly recommend this vacation rental to everyone. It was great!!! The vacation rental feels like a home away from home in a very nice and quiet area. The neighbors are friendly and helpful. The view is astonishing but most of all the the tranquility of the area. We plan on returning for future visits to the San Diego area. The vacation rental is minutes from Old Town San Diego and about 1/2 hour from Tijuana. Furthermore, the amenities provided are better than a five star hotel/suite.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Well Maintained and great Location!

Review submitted: May 20, 2008   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this vacation rental for a week in mid May... all in all we were very happy with our accommodation, but found the noise level really difficult to adjust to. The accommodation is situated near the airport, the main I-5, and near train tracks. If you can zone out noise then you can adjust yourself... however, we woke up every night to the various noises and also struggled to get to sleep at night as well...

The accommodation was beautifully maintained and I loved the kitchen... it was spacious and was well stocked. We spent a couple of evenings staying in, so having a well stocked kitchen was a great help. Perhaps having some kind of air-conditioning would have helped a little as well as we weren't able to open the windows due to the noise from outside.

However, we were very impressed with the location of the accommodation and liked the fact that both Hillcrest and Old Town were just a walk away. We went to Shakespeares pub for a slap up feast and will strongly recommend the Fish place just round the corner - excellent, excellent, excellent. The Gelato from Gelato Vero was also superb, and we'd definitely make a trip to all of these places again if we returned to San Diego. The trolley stop is a 5 minute walk away and we recommend getting the four day pass. Seaworld was also 10 minutes by car, so that was fantastic. Balboa park could have been walked to as well, but I chose to take the trolley instead!

All in all we were impressed with the accomodation and the location and would recommend it to others. Just take some ear-plugs and you should be fine!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to review our Mission Hills vacation condo!
Regarding noise levels, we are in a residential downtown environment, with all that is associated with it.
Since we have been living in the same building for several years and none of our other numerous guests have complained about the background noise we were not aware that was a problem.
The condo is equipped with double pane windows and we have recently added an additional fan for our extra sensitive guests to help drown out any noises they may be adverse to during the night.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review