reviews for: listing #35456 - Fillmore, New York House rental

River Bridge Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Fillmore
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $145 /nt
    $630 - $980 /wk
    $1,995 - $2,995 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We stayed for a week and River Bridge Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a beautiful, clean, well-kept cottage. You can't beat fresh Amish baking only a 10 minute drive away on the weekends! We would highly recommend it as an alternative to staying in the Letchworth State Park vicinity.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Fall Getaway Retreat!

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

The River Bridge Cottage was ideal for our Fall Getaway Weekend. Only minutes from beautiful Letchworth State Park, the location was perfect. We also enjoyed the charming nearby town of Angelica for shopping and dining. The cottage itself far exceeded our expectations. It had absolutely everything we could have wanted or needed. All spotlessly clean, VERY comfortable and cozy....the perfect place to come home to after hiking all day. The owners have thought of everything to welcome you and make your stay pleasant...could not have asked for more.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful refuge, darling home, great owners

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We loved our stay in this cottage (visiting from NC and Chicago). After a work trip in Rochester, this was a perfect respite. The home was clean, darling, well equipped, and quiet. The yard was so pretty, with spring flowers all about the well-landscaped grounds. It was conveniently located to Letchworth State Park, which was just phenomenal. We also got out and drove through Amish country, as well as toured some small towns in the area. The local grocery store had all we needed to spend much time relaxing in the cottage.

The owners were also very helpful and friendly, and we were able to tour Anne's fabulous art studio (she is very talented, and some of her paintings hang on the walls of the home!).

I'd recommend this for anyone wanting to get away in a peaceful setting, with lots of nearby attractions. We hope to return the next time work brings us to this area!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Times Remembered

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Living in North Carolina, we wanted to reconnect with family and friends in the town where we were raised. Searching the Internet for a place to stay we found River Bridge Cottage offered so much more than a motel room and yet it was comparably priced.

We both had been in the house years ago when it was a family home. What a surprise when we walked in. One wouldn’t know it was the same place.

The spotlessly clean kitchen has been modernized and has all the amenities needed … in fact we had guests in a few times and used the spacious dining room as well.

The new living room with its many windows makes the room sunny and airy. The eclectic furnishings combined with some of the decorator’s original art make each room a delight.

The bedrooms are comfortable and cool with ample closet space. Ceiling fans throughout if needed.

I especially enjoyed the huge front porch with all the windows. And one can while away a few hours in the canopied lawn swing reading or just listening to the birds. The flowers and the well-maintained grounds make for an idyllic setting.

A couple of times when we happened to see the owners, who live next door, we were asked if we needed anything at all. They were concerned, without being intrusive, that we were having an enjoyable vacation and had everything we might need.

It’s located on the edge of town but close enough to walk to everything. Also a short car or bike ride to other nearby attractions. Each day we were able to go running or biking along nearby country roads, kayak in the nearby river or stop at a local restaurant and meet with old friends.

We have already recommended River Bridge Cottage to family and friends and hope to be able to vacation there again.

Thank you Duane and Anne for making "Our Times Remembered" everything we wanted it to be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This cottage has a great history. It was relocated to its current location by floating it down Cold Creek in the 1920"s and placing it in its current location. After settling it next to the main farm house ( now our home) several additions and changes were made to it over the years. Within the last 3 years we have totally renovated the cottage and created many updates but kept the "cottage feel". A vacation here is a trip back in history for vacationers returning to the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House is more beautiful than we imagined!

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

Since I work for HomeAway (the company that owns VacationRentals) I stay in many vacation rental homes each year. This home, despite its economical pricing ranks right up there with many of the luxury properties I have rented.

We enjoyed this home very much; it's a darling home, well equipped, beautifully decorated, delightfully landscaped and impeccably maintained. And to top it off, the beds were super-comfortable!

We came to town for the 50th reunion for the summer camp, "Cholodnyj Yar". We were delighted that the home was conveniently located only 3-4 miles away from all of the festivities for the weekend.


We were surprised to find a few things in the home that were not listed on the website: a window air-conditioner in the master bedroom (though the nights are cool enough that you really don't need air-conditioning), a very nice gas barbecue (though don't leave the bathroom window open when you are cooking, it made the smoke detector go off) and all the rooms had ceiling fans (except one bedroom, which did have a nice and powerful floor fan). The owners live in the house next door so if you need anything at all, they are nearby.

If we ever come to the area again, we will rent this home again for sure. We have already recommended it to many of our friends who frequent the area often.

Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our goal at River Bridge Cottage is to make it feel like a "home away from home" with every amenity we ourselves love finding when we vacation away from our home. Renting our cottage next door allows us to share the "park-like setting" where we are located. From relaxing on the lawn glider and enjoying the gardens outside, to finding a well equipped clean kitchen, comfortable welcoming bedrooms and lots of space for entertaining and spreading out inside, a comfortable , relaxing vacation for guests is our goal.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review