reviews for: listing #35476 - Volcano, Hawaii Cottage rental

Winter Special Starting @ $119/nt Fern Tree Hideaway
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mauna Loa Estates
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $139 /nt
    $714 - $834 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful base camp for Volcano

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

We just left Ferntree after three night stay, and already miss it. We spent busy days hiking and going to beach, and it was a welcomed base for returns. Very cozy and homey feel with very comfortable beds, we'll stocked kitchen, and beautiful grounds that really gave jungle atmosphere. The listing info is on point, but the pictures don't do it justice. The owner was very helpful with the booking and questions. The price is a bargain - I don't really understand why it doesn't cost more! I would recommend to anyone that can handle stairs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

My family of 4 stayed in this wonderful unique home. Kristen was so easy to work with even when I changed my plans a month before our arrival. The home is situated in a forest of tree ferns. An experience most will not encounter. The interior of the home was nicely decorated and had nice touches such as fresh flowers, local fruit, popcorn, tea and coffee for the taking. It is a home my family will never forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Owners!

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

Kristen has been such a wonderful person to work with in booking a rental for our family vacation. Unfortunately, due to a last minute change in our summer schedule, we had to alter the dates of our travel. I am so disappointed that we did not actually get to stay at this fun and unique house. My kids were SOOO looking forward to exploring here. Sadly, it was already booked for our new dates of travel. I was able to give Kristen quick notice and she very kindly offered a refund of my deposit. I certainly was not expecting that. But am so grateful for her integrity and generosity. Plus she took so much time to answer my questions and give some tips and sightseeing recommendations as I was trying to decide which home to book originally. She truly goes above and beyond expectations. I assure you, she is very easy to work with and I have no doubt that our stay in this home would have been the best had it been available for our new dates of travel. Best wishes Kristen! We cannot thank you enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

I came to the Big Island to celebrate a friend's birthday. We wanted to do it up big but not have a big price tag on our trip. This cottage was the perfect combination of affordability and luxury. I loved the seclusion and privacy that this cabin afforded. From every window all you could see was lush beautiful jungle. The interior of the cabin was more than accommodating and we wanted for nothing. The location of the cottage was perfect for sightseeing at Hawaii's Volcano National Park. We were able to do so much on our trip and this cottage was the perfect base camp for all of our adventures. If we ever come back to the Big Island we will definitely be staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A delightful place to stay!

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

Our family spent five nights at Fern Tree Hideaway and enjoyed it completely. Walking down the path upon arrival, when the house comes into view you know you will have a delightful stay. And walking to the bath house and hearing rain drops dancing on the covered walkway -- you know you're not in Kansas anymore! The house is exactly as presented in word and picture. Kristen is great to work with, and the flowers in every room are a welcoming touch. An added bonus is star gazing at night. They're so close you feel like you could reach up and touch them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Communication with Owner

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

I just wanted to put in a vote of confidence for the owner Kristen. She was incredibly kind and flexible and seems very trustworthy which I've found is hard to get a feel for when booking vacation rentals. If this hideaway looks like it meets your needs I wouldn't hesitate reaching out to Kristen with any questions--she is fabulous! Mahalo Kristen!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Setting!

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

This home is absolutely perfect if you are looking for a quiet, far from crowds, hide-a-way. If you love the sounds of a "thousand" birds, then this is the place for you. The way the house sits on the property puts you, literally, in the middle of a fern jungle. Every window has an incredible view of the fern forest that surrounds the house. Totally AWESOME!

The house feels like "home" the minute you step inside - so warm and inviting. The owners are a delight to work with - they were so helpful while we were making our reservation. We enjoyed our time in this home. Thanks for making this house available for visitors. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Secluded and Beautiful

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, and this was by far the best. The house was beautiful - tastefully decorated, cozy, comfortable, and set in a rain forest. The property is well maintained and the kitchen well-stocked for those who wish to cook. There is a lovely and fairly extensive library in the upstairs hallway, and a great collection of games. Not once did we hear any road noise or even the neighbors...just the sounds of the rain forest, including on our first morning, the cry of one of the area's endangered hawks. The kids thought they were living in a "giant tree house" so they were very happy too.

Only a few minutes from Volcano National Park, this place was a wonderful "base camp" for many of our hiking activities, and there is easy access to Hilo as well. Takes a little longer to get to other parts of the island, but it is all easily accessible.

Owners response: Thankyou so much! I am so happy your family had such a good time. we would love for you to come stay again.
Much Aloha,
Kristen and family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. My wife and I stayed here June 6 and 7, 2012. Wow! Kristen really went out of her way to make our stay superb. She supplied us with fresh coffee beans and a grinder. Fresh fruit. Drinking water, spices, etc. The deck with the barbeque is huge. The bathhouse is fun. Total and I mean total privacy. The place is totally engulfed by the ferntree rain forest. Mostly rained at night and sunny during the day. She really has this place decorated with style. Also, she just put in Wifi. We were about a five minute drive from the Kilauea crater. One morning at 4 am, we hopped out of bed, drove up to the crater and observed the beautiful red glow from the lava below. I highly recommend this place. You can't beat it for the price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thankyou so much! We really appreciate your kind comments.WE do hope you come back again next year.I'll be sure to still have have fresh coffee and flowers for you ;-)
Aloha,
Kristen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely trip to a Rain Forest

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

My family and I arrived at this lovely little bungalow on a VERY wet day, and we were so grateful to have a warm, homey, comfy place to enjoy. You can spend hours just watching the birds and the rain from the comfort of beds (super comfortable!) or the couch in the living room. The house was fully prepared for us, and full of lots of little extras. Thanks Kristen!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: HI Guys!
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. The weather was so chilly and rainy when you were here and I'm so happy the house was a cozy haven for you to enjoy. Please come back and stay with us again.
ALoha and Mahalo!!
Kristen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

October stay at the Hideaway

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

We spent two nights in Kristen & Family's house that were just as spectacular as our first stay two years ago. We still say WOW ! The house is beautiful , tidy , and well appointed. Comfortable beds , fresh fruit , and all the charm you can imagine ! The pics just don't do it justice !! Woodsy & Mary Carol J-W

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow, Wow, Wow!

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

I couldn't believe my eyes when I first arrived and walked along the jungle path from my car to the cottage. Incredible! The jungle literally envelopes the cottage. The property is almost completely covered with jungle foliage, except for the carport, jungle path and where the cottage/bathhouse are. The fern trees surrounding the cottage were very large and beautiful to look at. You could walk out on the upstairs deck in the morning and see the top of the fern tree canopy, and look out any window to see nothing but jungle.

The interior had a very classy rustic charm, and was clean and nicely decorated. Very cosy. I especially liked the railings made of twisted varnished twisted wood. We were provided fresh fruit and 5 gallons of drinking water. The kitchen had everything we needed.

The bath house, which is separate from the cottage, was a very unique experience. It has a couple of windows, however, the owners have added window covers, which was good choice for those of us who don't like feeling exposed while bathing. For others, it provides the opportunity to feel like you are bathing/showering in a jungle by simply pulling them aside.

Finally, making arrangements with Kristen was very easy and straightforward. She is very friendly and answered all of my questions. The payment process went over without a hitch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and Cozy in the Forest

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

We just wanted to thank you again for our wonderful stay at your lovely home.Everywhere we looked the house was filled with details that showed us how much you really care.This being our second time at your home we did notice a few new things which is always fun.(We loved the new sunset painting and the one in the blue room!)
Still one of our very favorite things is bird watching.From your living room we were able to see an "Apapene,Amakihi,Akepa and Iiwi.What a treat to be so immersed in nature yet a few minutes from town.So hold our spot next year.We will be back!
The Kurtz Fam

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Views in the Rain Forest

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

We had a terrific time in Volcano Village at the Fern Tree Hideaway in mid August. This is a fun cottage in the forest. It is really is in the middle of ferns, and as this August was very wet, it was sparkling green. A caution about getting out of the driveway; be careful to avoid the utility pole amongst all the greenery! However once inside this charming cottage, you really are transported to the forest. The kitchen and dining area got a lot of use and we found everything we needed. The main bath was down a covered bridge as pictured and the half bath is really part of the master bed room. The 2nd bedroom lanai leads to the half bath, otherwise you go outside to the main bath, still under cover if it is raining. It can be chilly but the beds were comfortable and there were adequate blankets. Wireless worked well and we enjoyed a couple movies in house as well. Big Island is big, so except for Volcano National Park (5 minutes away) most sites are 45 minutes (Hilo) or 2+ hours (Hawi, Kona, Waimea), but not much more than that. We found it quite a convenient location and gourmet restaurants in Volcano as well as Hilo. Kristen was very helpful. We had a terrific visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My family and I could not be more happy!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

The house was beautiful and perfect for our family of four.My kids loved all the childrens books and games and now I want a bathhouse just like Fern Trees.I felt like I was in the middle of the exotic forest yet close enough to all the things we wanted to do.At the end of a long day of hiking it was such a treat to come "home" to your Fern Tree house.It really felt like we were in a good friends really nice second home.We loved all the oil paintings and special touches.My only regret is that we had stayed longer.I recommend to families to stay at least three nights.There is so much to see and do in Volcano.
Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute house and setting

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

The owners were so easy to work with and very responsive to my questions.

The house made us smile when we first arrived. It is very cute and seems like it is truly hidden. The furniture is comfortable, the kitchen is well stocked, and with the provided directions it was easy to find.

The first day was warm so we opened a few windows. There are no screens though, so we ended up with bugs. The other days were much cooler so we did not run into that again. If it was hot though, the no screens would be a problem. My other worry was there are no window coverings. I know its isolated and no one could get thru the jungle....but still, showering in front of a picture window with no drape was a little unnerving. The bedroom has no shades either but it upstairs so peeking was not as much a concern as the light filling the room at sunrise. Thankfully I had a sleeping mask so I didn't have to get up with the roosters.

The kitchen had all the utensils you'll need to cook, but be aware there is no dishwasher. I had not noticed that on the description. Also the bathroom is completely separated from the house. It is nice and kind of charming, but with young children that would be a dealbreaker for me.

Nice artwork on the walls, plenty of towels, comfy beds with plenty of quilts, great location near the restaurants and the park. First VRBO rental and I was nervous, but the owners were great, and the house was a quiet, nice place to stay near Volcano.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Katie,
Thank you for your thoughtful review.I will take note of your suggestions.As a rental owner we always encourage our guest to express their honest opinion.I am glad you had a good stay and found our house to be cozy.We do hope you come again!
Aloha,
Kristen and family

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Hideaway

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

Just got back from a three night stay and we just wanted to stay what a pleasure it was to stay at your home.
The house is beautiful(lots of custom touches) and such easy access to the Volcano. Highly recommended.

Charles

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Charles! We are so happy you enjoyed our house and Volcano town.Please come again.
Mahalo,
Kristen and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

My husband, 8 month old baby and I recently stayed here for two short nights. The house is spectacular! It really feels like a home away from home for all the right reasons. The house is stocked like it's the owners' second home-- from the kitchen to the bath and DVD/CD collections, we really felt spoiled. The owners even went out of their way to buy a baby gate for us to use! (Sadly, baby didn't crawl until we hit Maui!).

The Fern Tree Hideaway really is spectacular-- even better that pictured!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.It especially makes my family happy to hear that you felt our house was like a home away from home.You are always welcome back.
Mahalo,
Kristen and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just as wonderful the second time!

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

After our trip two years ago, our family was in total agreement that we HAD to stay here again. This rental was just as good the second time around! The cottage has so many windows to the outside that you feel like you are in the forest. Factor in the welcoming touches including the bowl of fresh fruit and you truly feel the aloha spirit that we mainlanders love to experience. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to the Big Island!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much!! We love having you guys and really do hope to have you come again next year.....the fresh fruit and flowers will be waiting ;-)

Aloha,
Kristen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great choice !

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

The Fern Tree Hideaway is a great choice: an idyllic spot in the jungle, a cottage furnished with style and care. Village and Volcano National Park are very close: no need for more.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thankyou!! We hope come back next year.You are always
welcome.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay at Fern Tree Hideaway

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

My family of 5 stayed July 7 - 10, 2009. The house is amazing, very clean and peaceful. It's beautifully decorated and is literally in the middle of rainforest. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well.

The kitchen was fully stocked for cooking and had some nice touches like fresh fruit, hot chocolate, coffee and grinder, and even zip loc baggies. Our boys especially enjoyed the extensive DVD collection while we sipped coffee and cocoa in the misty mornings.

We packed a lunch and used the complimentary cooler to transport our food to a picnic by the petroglyph trail at Volcano National Park. We recommend the restaurant Kiawe Kitchen for great pizza and sandwiches.
I highly recommend Fern Tree Hideaway for an unforgettable vacation spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: February 21, 2009   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

We just wanted to express how much we all enjoyed staying at the Fern Tree Hideaway! It's such a beautiful jewel tucked away in the lush fern and ohia forest...we didn't want to leave! Thank you for making the transaction feel safe and secure, and for keeping the cottage in such a clean and well-maintained condition. We will definitely be referring others to your lovely hideaway, and will be back in the near future! Thank you, Kristen!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

We just wanted to express how much we all enjoyed staying at the Fern Tree Hideaway! It's such a beautiful jewel tucked away in the lush fern and ohia forest...we didn't want to leave! Thank you for making the transaction feel safe and secure, and for keeping the cottage in such a clean and well-maintained condition. We will definitely be referring others to your lovely hideaway, and will be back in the near future!

Thanks again,
Keala, Evan, Rik, Trish, Scott & Marin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

We're back in California (22 degrees this AM) but still feel like we're on
Kona time. Although we wrote a little in your guestbook, it's entirely
inadequate to describe how much we appreciated your little hideaway. We
stayed in 3 rental homes during our stay, and Fern Tree was by far the
best...not only because of the house plan and location, but also your
attention to details and comforts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: October 4, 2008   Date of arrival: September 25, 2008

We thought the pictures online looked good....but the house in person fully exceeded all our expectations. The kitchen was large and fully stocked. We enjoyed a fish b.b.q on the large covered deck.There were so many books,d.v.d's and games to choose from.It was only a 3 min. drive to the National Park. We loved your house and will be back again next year.Thank You!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much!
We can't wait for you to come again next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

WOW! That was what we all exclaimed when we entered Ferntree Hideaway. This was by far the nicest home rental we stayed in during our trip to Hawaii. Imagine a good friend having a cottage in the rain forest and they are letting you stay there. This is what this home is like. It doesn't feel like a rental, but like a friend's home. Kristen (the owner) is readily accessible as well. Then factor in that you are so close to the Volcano National Park that it is easier to come home instead of packing a lunch and this is the ideal home for exploring the park. I would recommend this home to everyone!

Owners response: Mahalo Craig Family! We are so happy you enjoyed our home as much as we do. You are great guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Private,peacefull and perfect!

Review submitted: April 10, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

This very special home wowed us from the minute we opened the front door. Everywhere we looked we were surrounded by beautiful art and warm personal touches. The large windows let the forest in and let us feel a part of nature. I highly recomend this beautiful house to anyone who wants a peaceful, private and truly special getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2008   Date of arrival: March 27, 2008

Thank you so much for sharing this true treasure with us. We came for an anniversary getaway and enjoyed every minute.So many details make this place very special.The woodwork,ceramics,blown glass.Cheerful and soothing colors.A hotel can't hope to compare!
We will savor our memories of this time for years to come!
Many blessings and much Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 1, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

From the minute we arrived my 18 year old son said"I love this place!" and ran around looking in every nook and cranny. He wished he could buy it and stay forever. We echo his excitement......The little touches here and there,star gazing from the decks...sadly we are off to a condo in Kona that will not compare to this cozy cottage.Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 7, 2007   Date of arrival: November 7, 2007

Thanks for letting us stay in this beautiful, exotic and comfortable hideaway.It has been everything we hoped and more;peaceful & rejuvenating while at the same time close to all the geological wonders of Volcano National Park.The fresh fruit and coffee was a nice touch. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 31, 2007   Date of arrival: October 31, 2007

Oh Gosh-where to start..The entire cottage feels like home. Just walking in we felt special,welcome and nutured by all the love put into this charming cottage.Serenity in abundance.We absolutely loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 25, 2007   Date of arrival: September 25, 2007

Beautiful cottage with nice arts & crafts and rustic details,great use of antique windows,lots and lots of windows framing the lovely forest. Great kitchen, and large deck!Very clean. Fresh fruit was delicious!The fresh flowers and artwork everywhere.....you have created a marvelous sanctuary.Thank you for sharing it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review