reviews for: listing #35530 - Mena, Arkansas House rental

The Forest Gate Luxury Home - 5 bedrms each w private bath
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $1,900 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic, well-appointed, nicely furnished, relaxing getaway in the woods

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

My wife and teenage kids, along with my parents, and four grad students spent Thanksgiving 2013 at Forest Gate. I've stayed at a number of vacation rental properties in Arkansas and Colorado for a "get away in the woods", and this was one of my favorites. When we first arrived and walked through the house for a quick tour, we were amazed by all the space and the nice furnishings. Having a separate bathroom for each bedroom was great, and balconies off of the upstairs really were a plus for relaxing and enjoying the outdoors. In contrast to many houses where we have stayed, the kitchen(s) were extremely well-stocked with cooking utensils, etc. We loved the large lot, the close proximity to the woods, and the outdoor recreation area with horseshoes, firepit, picnic tables, pond, etc.

The things that I enjoyed the most were the great Yamaha baby grand piano, the huge stone fireplace in the living room, and the large master bedroom/bath. I love to get away from everything, and the combination of nice furnishings, remote location, large lot, and generous floor plan really make this place unusual.

The housekeepers were also very helpful with suggestions for ATV rentals and for mailing us some items that we accidently left behind.

About the only "non-standard" feature worth mentioning is the kitchen situation. There are two kitchens: a smaller one downstairs next to the living area, and a larger one upstairs with the upstairs bedrooms. Having two separate kitchens (instead of a single large one) could be good if you have multiple families or age groups that might naturally cook/eat separately (for example, it worked well for us -- my students tended to use the downstairs kitchen, while my family used the upstairs). It could also be nice to have two ovens, two refrigerators, etc. However, if you have a group that really wants to cook together and all hang out in the kitchen to socialize, you may find that this property does not support that well. In any case, the nice thing is that the downstairs dining area is large enough to accommodate 12-14 people easily, so even if you are cooking separately, you can eat together.

We also had a great time on the Wolf Pen Gap ATV trails with vehicles from Black Bear ATV rentals.

In summary, I highly recommend Forest Gate if you are looking for a remote location with great furnishings and connection to the outdoors. We would love to return again some time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic, Relaxing Home away from Home

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

This was my third stay at Forest Gate. It is a fantastic place. Plenty of room for all my family. We come on our motorcycles & love riding the roads in the area. The house is always clean & ready for our arrival. We love staying here. I plan on making more trips in the future & would highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Forest Gate Comfort

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Wonderful retreat from electronics and the rush of everyday life. Great for conversation, playing cards, outdoor games such as bocce and croquet. Evenings by the fire pit brought back many memories. I would certainly recommend this property to friends and family. The kitchens were very well equipped and everything was clean and neat. A comfortable home shared by a owner who was helpful in all aspects of renting.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Retreat!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Forest Gate to explore the Natural State and found a gem in this lovely home. It has everything you could want in a vacation home, and best of all, it feels like you're guests at a family friend's house. We took driving trips around the area to see the views and made a one day trip to visit Crystal Bridges Museum in Bentonville, AR (highly recommended). We hope to be back soon. Thank you Kathleen for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Love the Forest Gate!!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We spent a week at this fabulous property and we did not want to leave. The photos do not do the property justice. The furnishing or upper end, not anything like you ususally find in vacation rentals. You have to experience the Forest Gate to really appreciate it. My grandchildren brought their 4 wheelers and bikes. They want to make this our yearly spring break spot! It is off the beaten path, set on several acres in a serene valley. I hope Kathleen forgives me, but I told my grands that the bidet was an Arkansas foot washer. We left rested and refreshed with memories that will last a life time. You will not regret staying at the Forest Gate!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Grant Parish Family Stay at the Forest Gate

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

EXCELLENT!!! We could not have found a better place to stay. Everyone in our party of 12 had the most wonderful time at the Forest Gate. Everything was as stated in the description and more. We will definitely be renting from this owner again. We can't say enough good things about the property, beautiful, well furnished, well stocked, very clean and excellent location. Very affordable also. It's nice to have somewhere so beautiful and clean to relax after a hard day of activities. Being able to cook and eat at the cabin was very nice also, we loved the outdoor cooking area and used it every night. There is plenty of wild life to enjoy also. We thank the owner sincerely for making this property available to us. PERFECT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellent for a great family vacation

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Could not have asked for more. I plan on visiting at least one time every year in the future. Very clean and accomadating. The owner is a great person to work with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful place

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

A beautiful, relaxing place and it is accurately described on website. We had a wonderful time and they even managed to provide perfect weather. Our group included three sisters, two brothers and their spouses for a total of 10 and we plan on telling everyone (in fact I have already) about the place. Hope to go again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to get away!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

This was a great place to get away from it all! It had very nice furnishings and the beds were very comfortable. It even had a bidet in the master bedroom downstairs for the ladies in our group. We enjoyed hiking and mountain biking in the national forest at the end of the road. It had a nice fenced area outside that our dogs enjoyed. I could not have asked for a nicer place to stay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to get away!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

This was a great retreat away from it all! The home furnishings were lovely and the beds were very comfortable. The master bath even had a bidet for the ladies in our group. There was a nice fenced area outside for our dogs to enjoy. We enjoyed hiking and mountain biking into the forest. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

What a great place to get away from it all. We had ages from 2 to 81 plus two dogs. There was something for everyone. The house and property is just beautiful. What a great meeting place for any occasion. The house provided everything including privacy for everyone. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to leave the city life behind for awhile and just relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

Thanks so much for being so good to work with. We certainly appreciate all your efforts. Your home in Arkansas is so wonderful – I hope you guys get a chance to spend some time enjoying it too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

This was a great get-away home for our family's Thanksgiving holiday. It is quiet and secluded but with easy access from a highway.

The house is comfortable and very charming, with lots of space to spread out and plenty of room for group gatherings. It is furnished very nicely and was in excellent condition.

The owner supplied detailed information about the house and was very helpful.

The location is a good one for exploring the huge Ouachita National Forest by car or hiking (just not during deer hunting season).

We recommend it!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

The moment we walked in the door we were so amazed. The more we walked through the rooms the more impressed we were. I would not hesitate coming back or even telling anyone else that this is the best place that I have ever stayed. T

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review