reviews for: listing #35588 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Coppertop 4 BR/Indoor/Outdoor Pool/Hot Tub/Home Theater
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $425 - $750 /nt
    $2,975 - $5,250 /wk

sort by:

Michiganders

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We are a family of parents, grandparents and grand children. We typically rent each spring break in various areas of the south for a family vacation. We have used VRBO for many years to do this and are well versed in the amenities in a house that are important to kids and adults.The rental listing was very accurate...the pictures just as we found the cabin. The cabin and property were clean and well maintained. When we called the rental office for access they were accommodating (Jeannie?). We were told to call if there were any problems at all.The cabin and location are fantastic! The view is gorgeous and looks over Wear Valley. It looks like a painting! A great deck surround 3 sides of the house and provides a great view each way you look. The entire cabin is wood inside and it is beautiful. The hill is a thrill ride all its own...we didn't leave each day until daylight and were home before dark! But the hill is worth the beautiful and serene location.The game and theater room were wonderful with a wide range of games to satisfy the grandkids. Watching movies on the theater is great. The arcade games upstairs were fun also with all the adults going back in time trying to beat the Pacman high score. Nice pool table. Good TV's and dvd players in all bedrooms so everyone can go somewhere and watch what they want. The living room furniture is comfy. The kitchen is nice with a great pantry. Good pots and pans for cooking (awesome pasta cooker) and a gas grill on the deck.The pool building is wonderful. Nice pool in warm room with a great view also. On top is the fireplace and picnic area....again, the view from there is fantastic. We built fires and ate there a couple nights. Bedrooms and bathrooms very nice...excellent showers in master and two upper bedrooms. Comfy beds.We had read in reviews that internet was slow but for us it was very fast...but needed to be rebooted often. (typical with HughesNet) Direct TV in all rooms. A few things...a previous writer mentioned the number of towels...and that has not been improved upon. We had exactly 10 for a group of ten and it is hard to get them dry in between showering. The kitchen table needs surface work! Does seat 10 but table top is worn and turns white with any warm object placed on it. The beds did not all have mattress pads! We would still tell you to experience this cabin. Peaceful yet entertaining.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your review.
We are changing the linen service so we can have more towels and this should take place in about 2 weeks. The table will be refinished and mattress pads
added as needed.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great House everyone should stay here

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

This was the BEST HOUSE to have a family vacation. We had our family vacation in this house for a week vacation and it was the BEST Vacation we have ever had. It was so clean, the owner was great to work with so nice. We felt very safe there and the pool and theather room was the GREATEST ever. We had family movie night every night and it was like really being at the movies. The pool is great and very clean. The views WOW can not even tell you it was like WOW. I would love to stay there every week. Our family was so sad to leave, and it was the best vacation we have ever had. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT trust me on this one if you want to visit and have a great vacation use this one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Doesn't Get Better than this

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

This was our first experience using HomeAway. We wanted a place that could accomodate our two adult children, their spouses, three grandkids and ourselves.

The description of this property was spot on. It was roomy, well furnished and private. Our vacation pictures look like the ones posted on the website!

There were a couple of maintenance issues that were resolved immediately by a very capable and courteous staff member. Earl, the owner replaced the defective outdoor gas grill himself and we hope the folks who stay there in the future enjoy it.

There was so much to do in the cabin that it was hard to leave, the drive up and down was a bit challenging but we got used to it by the 3rd time. We cooked most of our meals there. The kitchen is very nice and there is a huge pantry to store food.

Some improvements we would recommend: Better towels in the bathrooms, attaching the head boards to the bed frames (they knocked against the walls everytime we shifted), cleaning supplies and a fire extinguisher.
The cabin was clean overall. There were areas, however, that had never been dusted and the dead beetles on the upper window cells as well as in the light fixtures should be removed.

We would recommend the drive through the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. It offers beautiful scenery and places to stop and picnic and take pictures.

Dollywood was very expensive and probably not worth the time. Gatlinburg is filled with shopping, eating, traffic and more traffic.

Stay in the cabin, it will be more relaxing. The pool, hot tub, double porch, theater room and pool table were perfect for a relaxing vacation.

The highlight of the vacation were the bears. One evening a mother and her five cubs walked right by the front door and up the driveway. The next evening a large male tipped over the trash can and made a mess. We got alot of great photos. Remember this place is in the mountains so be prepared to see the wild life.

We would recommend this property to anyone. It is a great venue for a family reunion.

We hope to return again some day.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

I can guarantee that we shall return!

Review submitted: May 22, 2008   Date of arrival: May 17, 2008

I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this amazing home. Being that this is a review, I will try to give the best depiction of both the pessimist and optimist views. Please also note that my overall experience is "Excellent".

This has been my first vacation since opening my own small business 4 years ago. I have not had so much as two days off in a row for an equal amount of time. This vacation was a much needed break; but it also became a memorable life-experience.

As the pessimist reveals herself, there are a few things I would like to make note of.

The cabin was somewhat difficult to find, as the directions provided were rather vague. They directed me to the "last cabin on the road", which turned out to be a private residence. This is not to mention that I was not warned about the driveway teetering on car-friendly. I think I spent 20 minutes devising a plan to make it up the 35-45 degree slope with 3 sports cars. I live in the mountains of NC, and am accustomed to average mountain locations/slopes. I was surprised that there was no mention of this. The drive is exceptional, being a rental (slope vs. length). Best to make mention that RWD or low vehicles heed extreme caution.

The number of guests/number of days in the stay should be taken into account when considering the following: towels (for shower, not hot tub), toilet paper, kitchen trash bags, and dishwasher detergent.

The internet speed is quite slow. It often has difficulty loading a page, eventually timing-out. This is not necessarily a complaint, but do not plan to take care of business over the internet at this speed; consider it a convenient addition.

The first night of the stay, we had 8 people in the hot tub. Every night after that was rather uncomfortable because of the low water level. We were unable to replenish the water due to the lack of a hose with the water spicket just inches away - a real tease.

A better primary shower head in the master bath is a must.

From the minute we arrived, I was in awe. The view, the cabin, the furniture, the in-home activities, the bedrooms, and even the bathrooms had me near tears; tears of joy. It was well worth the 20 minute pep-talk at the bottom of the drive! I am truly in love. The beds are much more comfortable than they appear, the hot water never ends, and the kitchen could make you a 5-Star Chef!

Even with the aforementioned nit-picking, the cabin itself on a scale of 1-5 scores a solid 8!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 50 / 53

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review