reviews for: listing #3562519ha - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Pristine Beachfront Property
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Estate
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 425 - $ 695 / night
    $ 2,765 - $ 4,165 / week
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Perfection

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

I could not be more effusive about Milarepa. My only reluctance in fully sharing how magical, comfortable, and gracious Milarepa is, is that this place is so perfect I want to keep knowledge of it as a precious secret for my family alone.

Clearly not making that choice, Milarepa is a quiet retreat, perfectly located to journey to nearby adventures. Caroline and her impeccable staff available to arrange everything from grocery shopping to trail rides.

We chose to have Caroline arrange to have Martha cook breakfast and lunch, and we either cooked dinner or went to one of the nearby restaurants for dinner. It was a perfect combination and worked seamlessly, and although I do have adult children who love to cook, even if your family does not have chefs "in house" the kitchen is user friendly and grocery stores nearby.

The proximity to the beach combined with the peaceful and private setting of the resort allow great flexibility in activity choices -- some can surf, while others read on their bungalow porch, and all join together for meals or a sunset.

This past January was our second visit, and we will certainly be returning again.

Owners response: Dear Ann,

It has been such a pleasure to share the magic of Milarepa with you and your family! We are so grateful to have such a special property that allows our guests to enjoy the best of Santa Teresa! Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kindest regards,
Caroline

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible property in paradise!

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

Dear Caroline,

You have an incredible slice of paradise! My family and I loved it very much and we can’t wait to come back.

We loved the beautiful surroundings and how close to nature it felt, with the plants, flowers, insects, lizards, birds and sea. Coming from the city it was a much welcomed and appreciated change of pace for the whole family. We didn't even mind being woken by the monkeys in the morning. It was just beautiful to listen to them howling away as the sun came up.

Food wise, it was really good, lots of great area restaurants to choose from and we even treated ourselves to a private chef for one very special gourmet dinner. We also loved having the option of cooking for ourselves in the kitchen on the nights we chose to stay in. Starting our days with Martha’s “gallo pinto” and fresh tortillas were one of the many highlights, and the other breakfasts she provided were all beautifully done. We especially loved the fresh green coconuts!

On the whole, we loved how personal and private our stay at the Milarepa was. It was clean, serene, gorgeous and had a relaxed jungle vibe. The bungalow bedrooms were simple, but perfect and comfortable. The surfing was excellent as was the yoga.

I guess to sum it up, we'll be back for sure. We will also recommend to friends who love the outdoors and will appreciate the nature and rustic appeal.

Thank you again for your hospitality and arranging all of our activities. Should you and you family make it to NYC please don’t hesitate to contact us. Pura vida!

Warmest regards, Doug, Kelly, Alex, Diane, and Tyler

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“paradise... simply amazing.”

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived til the moment we had to leave (very hard to...) the experience at Milarepa was unforgettable and perfect in every way. The bungalows are beautifully integrated into the environment and simple... they had the necessary to feel comfortable and relaxed. The open-air bathrooms are lovely. Jesica and Nauel (hope i'm spelling his name right) were both remarkable hosts, they made us feel at home and offered to help us in any way and gave us great tips for the area. The dinners are absolutely delicious and fresh, chef Sebastian is a great cook and prepared fresh daily menus. We had the best tuna tartar and mahi mahi ever... I highly recommend The Milarepa!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Unforgettable Experience”

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

My husband wanted to wake up and throw a rock on the beach from our room...and this was the place to do it. There is not one bad thing I can say about our experience here...we wish we would have stayed longer. Noel, who worked for Milarepa, was gracious enough to help teach my husband how to hand fish. He defiantly makes your experience at Milarepa a great one. The bungalows are unreal. They open fully to let in the fresh air and amazing sounds of the ocean. Not to mention, the outdoor shower was one of the coolest things I have seen and done thus far. Highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent in every way

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

Just returned from 10 days in beautiful Santa Teresa, staying at Milarepa.
We've been to Santa Teresa several times and always have a great stay there.
Milarepa was fantastic in every respect. The grounds are lush tropical, beautiful, and well-kept. The general atmosphere is laid-back and relaxing, but with plenty of things to do and people to meet if you choose.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, always willing to help out with making reservations and special requests.
The rooms are open-air style, not at all like standard closed rooms if that's what you are looking for. But, if you like a relaxed stay, fresh air, and view of the jungle, ocean, and wildlife, its perfect. The rooms have overhead fans, small refridgerators, valuables safe, insect nets, front patios and shutter windows and slider doors for full privacy at night. There is good wi-fi should you choose to use it.
Excellent surf is right around the corner within a few minutes walk.
The dinners are superb, featuring a renowned local French chef, Sebastion.

Overall, great place to stay and enjoy time in Costa Rica!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pura Vida Milarepa

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We stayed at the Milerapa at the end of November this year ('12) and had a fabulous time. They have about 4 bungalows on the property which makes it extremely private - not to mention it's right on the water. The staff was super cool and lovely - they took care of all of our needs, recommended a great surf instructor and they even have yoga on site. We didn't do yoga on site but we went next door which was great as well. Most evenings they have a great French Chef, Sebastien, who cooked us a delicious meal. It is extremely romantic. Que romantico! There are local dogs that walk along the beach and stop by all hotels but our favorite animal was the Milerapa Kitty, Minnie.

We highly recommend this place for it's laid back atmosphere, helpful staff, yummy food, and amazing location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

tranquility and beauty

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

Waldo W
London
1 review
“Perfect - Tranquility and Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed for nine days in February and it was truly in my top three holidays ever. The setting and the rooms are without fault - simplicity perfectly captured.
The grounds, the rooms, the location, - all these things are pared back to a level that exudes a quiet confidence in the quality of what's on offer.
We spent many happy hours simply sitting by the pool, lazing in the hammocks, watching the sunsets.
An afternoon walk along the beach can take 2 or 3 hours and you might see five people - 3 of them wil be out in the ocean surfing. The fact that none of the hotels, bars, restaurants or houses encroach past the tree line gives a beach walk the feel of a Robinson Crusoe moment (the monkeys, iguanas and exotic birds do nothing to dispel this illusion).
Both the owners and staff are friendly, knowledgeable and the right side of informal. Surf lessons to restaurant reservations to travel arrangements to yoga lessons to massages at sunset are organised with warmth and care.
I'm sure there are people who could find fault with there being no air con - for us that was just one of the many things that kept it beautiful. A gently swishing fan is music to my ears while falling asleep with the Pacific ocean crashing in the distance.
We explored and visited quite a few places on our trip - many very nice for dinner or drinks but none matched the elegance and hospitality of Milarepa. It came to us highly recommended and we can only reiterate that - a perfect place to rejuvenate, whether that's surfing and yoga, or simply reading and walking.
Tips for the area - rent a little 4x4. there's some great exploring to be done and beautiful (if bumpy) drives.
If I could change one thing - I'd love to see the area straight after the rainy season when the greenery must be eye popping.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a true gem

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Perfect setting under a jungle canopy of vegetation abutting Santa Teresa beach, families of howling monkeys overhead dining on mangoes that they pull from trees, Small, boutique, charming with simply yet chic decor. The owners, Philippe and Caroline are amazing, really cool and kind. The staff couldn't have made life there easier or more enjoyable. Oh, and Cristina the yoga instructor and masseuse is sensational, inspired. In all, a perfect spot with a phenomenal staff. Can't wait to go back!! Only issue is it's remoteness makes getting there from an international airport somewhat of a challenge-- small aircraft vs. auto/ferry/auto (however, the drive IS beautiful) and easy to hire a driver/car (Milarepa helps set that up too, with a terrific gentleman named Gilberto). A+++++++ !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review