reviews for: listing #3562519ha - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Pristine Beachfront Property
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Estate
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 375 - $ 1,800 / night
    $ 12,600 / week
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Natural Paradise

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

We this about Milarepa every day. We stayed there for nearly a month and grew to love it more and more each day. The main "house" is an open air kitchen/dining/living area. Very open and social. A music system accepts iPhones and iPads and the like to create the atmosphere of our choice. A daily maintained pool and patio is directly outside the main building. Each of the four bungalow "sleeping cottages" are also open air, simple in decor, featuring outdoor showers and covered toilets and sinks.

We signed up for cooking and laundry and cleaning in and out (was part of our package) and the team became part of our family. They were great to have around, and of course kept the place ship shape every day.

The owners helped us get in touch with ATV rentals, surf instructors, and even helped us get our kids enrolled in the local school for a couple of weeks. They were awesome.

The beach is super private, and next door neighbors are a very quiet, upscale hotel (Florablanca?) that further keeps things peaceful and safe.

Love Milarepa. Hope to return soon!

Owners response: Hi John,

So great having you and your family be a part of our community on your visit! We love seeing our guests discover the joyful place we live in! Nature, wonderful food and happy people!
Look forward to welcoming you and your beautiful family again soon!
Pura Vida!
Caroline

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect low key wedding spot!

Review submitted: August 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 19, 2014

Milarepa was amazing for my wedding ceremony! My husband and I wanted to get away from the stress and really enjoy a relaxed and peaceful wedding with our closest friends and relatives. Milarepa and it's staff couldn't have been more wonderful and the bungalows were a dream. We have been to Santa Teresa before and knew it was right for our wedding. Very chill and friendly hosts and a fantastic chef for our wedding, Jim Kelly of Soma, along with his staff made out day just right. Caroline and Phillippe made the process extremely easy for us. We will be back in the future for sure!
Jessica of MA

Owners response: Hello Jessica!

So happy the Milarepa was a part of your beautiful wedding celebration! Wishing you guys a happy fun filled life together! Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Pura vida!
Caroline

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Possibly THE Most Incredible Spot On Earth!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

One of my favorite places on earth, this was my 4th stay at Milarepa. Stunningly beautiful, totally uniquely tranquil setting, jungle abutting the beach/ocean, monkeys in the canopy of trees....and a pool! The owners make whatever you need happen, from transportation to activities to food. Words cannot really describe how precious is Milarepa, you must experience it to understand. I will be going back soon and often. If you are reading this, you should already be heading there by the time you're get to the end of this sentence!

Owners response: Always so fun have you back again and again to enjoy our special jungle beach paradise! Hope to see you very soon again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Awesome Awesome. Highly Recommend

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

Milarepa was perfect. Everything we could ask for.

The property is is right on the water, surrounded by beautiful landscaping the occasional howler monkey. The staff was incredible. Would definitely recommend having Marta cook for you if possible. She's amazing. Everything she made us was delicious, and it coming together in the main gazebo was always one of my favorites.

Christine was a wonderful owner. Very helpful is setting up daily excursions and responsive whenever we had problems (which were few and far between).

Again, I can't say enough good things about Milarepa or Santa Teresa. We came with a group of friends, but it would also be ideal for families or groups of families.

I will definitely be back.

Owners response: Thank you so much! So great having your group enjoy the Milarepa! We love sharing our beautiful paradise with wonderful people! Look forward to welcoming you back! in the near future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfection

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

I could not be more effusive about Milarepa. My only reluctance in fully sharing how magical, comfortable, and gracious Milarepa is, is that this place is so perfect I want to keep knowledge of it as a precious secret for my family alone.

Clearly not making that choice, Milarepa is a quiet retreat, perfectly located to journey to nearby adventures. Caroline and her impeccable staff available to arrange everything from grocery shopping to trail rides.

We chose to have Caroline arrange to have Martha cook breakfast and lunch, and we either cooked dinner or went to one of the nearby restaurants for dinner. It was a perfect combination and worked seamlessly, and although I do have adult children who love to cook, even if your family does not have chefs "in house" the kitchen is user friendly and grocery stores nearby.

The proximity to the beach combined with the peaceful and private setting of the resort allow great flexibility in activity choices -- some can surf, while others read on their bungalow porch, and all join together for meals or a sunset.

This past January was our second visit, and we will certainly be returning again.

Owners response: Dear Ann,

It has been such a pleasure to share the magic of Milarepa with you and your family! We are so grateful to have such a special property that allows our guests to enjoy the best of Santa Teresa! Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kindest regards,
Caroline

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible property in paradise!

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

Dear Caroline,

You have an incredible slice of paradise! My family and I loved it very much and we can’t wait to come back.

We loved the beautiful surroundings and how close to nature it felt, with the plants, flowers, insects, lizards, birds and sea. Coming from the city it was a much welcomed and appreciated change of pace for the whole family. We didn't even mind being woken by the monkeys in the morning. It was just beautiful to listen to them howling away as the sun came up.

Food wise, it was really good, lots of great area restaurants to choose from and we even treated ourselves to a private chef for one very special gourmet dinner. We also loved having the option of cooking for ourselves in the kitchen on the nights we chose to stay in. Starting our days with Martha’s “gallo pinto” and fresh tortillas were one of the many highlights, and the other breakfasts she provided were all beautifully done. We especially loved the fresh green coconuts!

On the whole, we loved how personal and private our stay at the Milarepa was. It was clean, serene, gorgeous and had a relaxed jungle vibe. The bungalow bedrooms were simple, but perfect and comfortable. The surfing was excellent as was the yoga.

I guess to sum it up, we'll be back for sure. We will also recommend to friends who love the outdoors and will appreciate the nature and rustic appeal.

Thank you again for your hospitality and arranging all of our activities. Should you and you family make it to NYC please don’t hesitate to contact us. Pura vida!

Warmest regards, Doug, Kelly, Alex, Diane, and Tyler

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“paradise... simply amazing.”

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived til the moment we had to leave (very hard to...) the experience at Milarepa was unforgettable and perfect in every way. The bungalows are beautifully integrated into the environment and simple... they had the necessary to feel comfortable and relaxed. The open-air bathrooms are lovely. Jesica and Nauel (hope i'm spelling his name right) were both remarkable hosts, they made us feel at home and offered to help us in any way and gave us great tips for the area. The dinners are absolutely delicious and fresh, chef Sebastian is a great cook and prepared fresh daily menus. We had the best tuna tartar and mahi mahi ever... I highly recommend The Milarepa!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Unforgettable Experience”

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

My husband wanted to wake up and throw a rock on the beach from our room...and this was the place to do it. There is not one bad thing I can say about our experience here...we wish we would have stayed longer. Noel, who worked for Milarepa, was gracious enough to help teach my husband how to hand fish. He defiantly makes your experience at Milarepa a great one. The bungalows are unreal. They open fully to let in the fresh air and amazing sounds of the ocean. Not to mention, the outdoor shower was one of the coolest things I have seen and done thus far. Highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent in every way

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

Just returned from 10 days in beautiful Santa Teresa, staying at Milarepa.
We've been to Santa Teresa several times and always have a great stay there.
Milarepa was fantastic in every respect. The grounds are lush tropical, beautiful, and well-kept. The general atmosphere is laid-back and relaxing, but with plenty of things to do and people to meet if you choose.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, always willing to help out with making reservations and special requests.
The rooms are open-air style, not at all like standard closed rooms if that's what you are looking for. But, if you like a relaxed stay, fresh air, and view of the jungle, ocean, and wildlife, its perfect. The rooms have overhead fans, small refridgerators, valuables safe, insect nets, front patios and shutter windows and slider doors for full privacy at night. There is good wi-fi should you choose to use it.
Excellent surf is right around the corner within a few minutes walk.
The dinners are superb, featuring a renowned local French chef, Sebastion.

Overall, great place to stay and enjoy time in Costa Rica!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pura Vida Milarepa

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We stayed at the Milerapa at the end of November this year ('12) and had a fabulous time. They have about 4 bungalows on the property which makes it extremely private - not to mention it's right on the water. The staff was super cool and lovely - they took care of all of our needs, recommended a great surf instructor and they even have yoga on site. We didn't do yoga on site but we went next door which was great as well. Most evenings they have a great French Chef, Sebastien, who cooked us a delicious meal. It is extremely romantic. Que romantico! There are local dogs that walk along the beach and stop by all hotels but our favorite animal was the Milerapa Kitty, Minnie.

We highly recommend this place for it's laid back atmosphere, helpful staff, yummy food, and amazing location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

tranquility and beauty

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

Waldo W
London
1 review
“Perfect - Tranquility and Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed for nine days in February and it was truly in my top three holidays ever. The setting and the rooms are without fault - simplicity perfectly captured.
The grounds, the rooms, the location, - all these things are pared back to a level that exudes a quiet confidence in the quality of what's on offer.
We spent many happy hours simply sitting by the pool, lazing in the hammocks, watching the sunsets.
An afternoon walk along the beach can take 2 or 3 hours and you might see five people - 3 of them wil be out in the ocean surfing. The fact that none of the hotels, bars, restaurants or houses encroach past the tree line gives a beach walk the feel of a Robinson Crusoe moment (the monkeys, iguanas and exotic birds do nothing to dispel this illusion).
Both the owners and staff are friendly, knowledgeable and the right side of informal. Surf lessons to restaurant reservations to travel arrangements to yoga lessons to massages at sunset are organised with warmth and care.
I'm sure there are people who could find fault with there being no air con - for us that was just one of the many things that kept it beautiful. A gently swishing fan is music to my ears while falling asleep with the Pacific ocean crashing in the distance.
We explored and visited quite a few places on our trip - many very nice for dinner or drinks but none matched the elegance and hospitality of Milarepa. It came to us highly recommended and we can only reiterate that - a perfect place to rejuvenate, whether that's surfing and yoga, or simply reading and walking.
Tips for the area - rent a little 4x4. there's some great exploring to be done and beautiful (if bumpy) drives.
If I could change one thing - I'd love to see the area straight after the rainy season when the greenery must be eye popping.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a true gem

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Perfect setting under a jungle canopy of vegetation abutting Santa Teresa beach, families of howling monkeys overhead dining on mangoes that they pull from trees, Small, boutique, charming with simply yet chic decor. The owners, Philippe and Caroline are amazing, really cool and kind. The staff couldn't have made life there easier or more enjoyable. Oh, and Cristina the yoga instructor and masseuse is sensational, inspired. In all, a perfect spot with a phenomenal staff. Can't wait to go back!! Only issue is it's remoteness makes getting there from an international airport somewhat of a challenge-- small aircraft vs. auto/ferry/auto (however, the drive IS beautiful) and easy to hire a driver/car (Milarepa helps set that up too, with a terrific gentleman named Gilberto). A+++++++ !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review