reviews for: listing #35640 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Designer Upgraded, Centrally Located Waikiki 2 Bdrm Condos!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Royal Aloha
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $175 /nt
    $1,120 - $1,225 /wk
    $3,900 - $4,300 /mth

sort by:

Location, Location, Location!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay in the condo. The location was ideal for walking to places we wanted to go to. There are also convenient bus stops close by. The views from the condo were spectacular. The condo was very clean and well-maintained. The owners were very nice and very easy to work with. We would stay here again next time we visit Waikiki.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Noisy!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

Unfortunately this condo is located right on a very busy intersection (McCully & Ala Wai) in Waikiki. Traffic noise does not abate. The condo windows are typical Hawaiian shutters so do not block out any of the noise. Buses, fire trucks, ambulances, stunt drivers - all roared by at all hours of the night so sleeping was almost impossible.
The condo itself is conveniently located - things are all within walking distance, or you're close enough to a bus stop.
The condo needs some TLC - especially in the bathroom. Due to the humidity, mold is hard to keep away, and the walls & ceiling needed to be cleaned and the horrible shower curtain replaced. The towels provided need a good washing with bleach - they are all somewhat gray.
Beds are comfy, living and dining room are spacious. Large bedroom closets. Kitchen adequately stocked with utensils & cooking supplies.
Don't count on any useful information (bus info, attractions, maps, condo binder itself) to be present in the condo; most (including the phone book) is from 2009. So take your laptop as the WiFi is good and reliable.
The price is good, but I would not stay here again just due to the noise. Waikiki is noisy as a whole, but this was the worst I've ever stayed at.
Had some difficulty getting access information in a timely manner from the owners which was stressful but did receive it the day before I flew to HNL (after sending 2 reminders). Make sure you leave one set of keys in the lockbox as despite instructions that it's acceptable to leave both sets on the counter, we were accused of taking one set with us when we left.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Unfortunately, this guest's review is exaggerated in many areas. Although the condos does have the common jalousie windows and they don't completely block out noise, it is not true that they do not block out "any" of the noise. Also, saying the noise does not abate is not true, as it does in the evening and night. Guests sensitive to noise will often use the central A/C and close the windows, which makes a big difference. We have stayed at Royal Aloha many times, and your are able to sleep. In fact, we have so many happy guests and repeat guests so that must say something.
Our condo(s) get a lot of TLC, as we are right here in town and constantly upgrade and maintain our property. This includes changing the shower curtain liners, bleaching and replacing towels, painting, upgrading furnishings, etc.
We provide excellent communication and follow up with our valued guests. If this guest would have just picked up the phone we would have been glad to drop off new towels the next day.
Guests love the versatile location, reasonable rates and comfortable bedding. Our condos are outfitted with HDTV, DVR, free Showtime movies and Wifi. We also provide local unlinks to useful info., and a custom visitor guide from a local perspective. Being right here nearby to answer and assist our guests is one thing we pride ourselves on.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Choice

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We rented this condo from May17th -23rd, 2012. We have family in Honolulu and came to see one of the youngest graduate from high school. In the rush of the flight I packed the instructions for check-in inside a suitcase and had to call Jim at 11p.m !!!!! I felt horrible, his daughter answered and passed me to him. He was so gracious and understanding --talked me through the check-in process and also assisted me with parking since there was a mix-up . The condo was a great location, central to everything !
The condo was a bit smaller than it appeared the pictures, but it most definitely served its purpose. My only issue was that the 2nd bedroom was closest to the door. It was not a bid deal - we gave our 7 yr old the queen bed in the master and put our 7 month old in the twin while we slept in the full in the room with her. I have no complaints and the family is looking forward to staying there when we return next year!

Thank you Jim and Yas for making this process of vacation easy!

Ronnie, Kris, Kaidyn & Haley

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Experience at your Royal Aloha Condo!

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Recently my wife and I visited Waikiki for a wedding. We were on a bit of a budget and time shortage to find a place, so I checked out VRBO and found the wonderful Royal Aloha.

The apartment was clean andtasteful,as well as secure, with quick and easy access to downtown and
the beach, great pricing, and best of all....really nice people! I want to thank James and Ricardo for making our rental experience a great one!

Mahalo!

Arne in Seattle

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Accommodations, Hospitality too

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

Jim,

Many thanks for sending on Lisa's purse and for the way in which you
assisted in getting it back. This act in addition to the marvelous
unit you rented us made for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday for me and
my family. The presentation of the unit and its location were superb
and we found that all of our needs were catered for.

Could you also pass on our thanks to Ricardo as his hospitality and
kindness on our arrival prepared us for a good break. What we liked
mostly about the unit were 2 things. One was the comfortable fixtures
that allowed us to relax after a long day doing the tourist things and
the second was that it was perfectly located to allow us to walk to
either Waikiki boardwalk (a few minutes) and also Ala Moana shopping
complex (10 minutes). We spent New Years eve at a luau in the Hilton
(5 minutes walk) and watched the fireworks on the beach. Access to
the trolleys and buses was magnificent and all in all a great holiday
was had by all.

I look forward to returning to Hawaii one day and once again staying
in your apartment.

Regards and thanks

Nigel, Lisa, Chloe and Daniel

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

We spent 2 weeks at the Royal Aloha Condo, from 02-14 Jan 10 it was a very pleasant stay, I was not sure about renting a condo, and after long consideration I changed my mind and was happy I did. If planning a vacation to Hawaii I recommend doing so.
You can't go wrong with Royal Aloha it is close to all amenities and the beach, getting around was easy and inexpensive. Jim explained all that was available in the area, he was very helpful and understanding to our needs. The condo was very clean and tidy with ample space for me, my daughter, son and his girlfriend, the condo is well furnished with clean towels, dishes, basically everything you need at home it even have beach gear like diving goggles and fins.

My kids and I had a great time after a few days of using taxies and the free shuttle to get around I rented a vehicle, just a point to note if you plan on renting a vehicle parking is extra, this was explained fully by Jim, I found we needed to rent a vehicle so we could go visit all the sights on the island, but parking was still affordable using the parking garage behind the condo. All transaction was done on a professional manner with no extra or added charges. I was able to use my lap top to access the wireless internet the whole time I was there. I plan on visiting Hawaii again in the future and I plan on using this place again. Thanks to Jim for a pleasant and awesome place to stay keep up the great job.

The Lawsons Edmonton, AB Canada

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Surpassed our expectations!

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

The Royal Aloha accommodations surpassed what I could have imagined and wanted. It had everything my friends and I could need, and it came at a very reasonable and affordable price. There was ample room for 5 guests. The kitchen was fully furnished, making it easy to prepare food instead of always having to eat out. I found it very thoughtful that there were clean bath towels, beach towels, beach/pool accessories (chairs, boogie boards, etc), and ponchos at the condo for us to use. There was a nice breeze that flowed through the condo, making it unnecessary to use the A/C at all. The pool was great too, with BBQ grills that made for a great dinner. I greatly appreciated the detailed yet easy-to-follow self-check-in and check-out instructions, provided by Jim. I felt very comfortable with the Rental Agreement and was confident that if I needed to contact Jim I could, although I never needed to. I also greatly appreciated the tips in the “Island Activities” binder in the condo, as well as the suggestions Jim sent regarding where to shop for groceries, etc. The location of the condo was perfect. It’s a walking distance from the beach, shopping, tourist attractions, and hotels, yet its far enough from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki to be quiet and relaxing.

I’m a second year law student, and my roommates consist of 3 graduate students in Chemistry, and a newly graduated RN. We all work very hard, have very limited budgets, and don’t have much time to research too much on vacation plans. Jim’s Royal Aloha listing made everything very easy. He was very easy to contact and took the time to answer all of the questions and concerns I had. We had a great time and got a great deal, thanks to Jim!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Short Holiday

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 27, 2010

The property was a good size, clean and well maintained with all the amenities, appliances and services one would expect. The owner appear willing to assist us with our stay, but in the end we did not require much assistance. A wireless internet service was connected during our stay and that proved to be a big bonus, especially for the children. I would recommend the property to others, especially families. It was good value for money, close to bus services and many activities and attractions in the west end of Waikiki and eastern Honolulu.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review