reviews for: listing #35692 - Boston, Massachusetts Condo rental

Guest House at Hooper
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $160 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

Fabulous!

Review submitted: August 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

Charlie and Bill take great pride in their Hooper Guest House and it shows. What an amazing retreat! The furnishings are elegant, the kitchen well-stocked and the grounds are lush. The pictures on-line do not do it justice. Charlie and Bill are very generous and accommodating hosts. What other hosts would pick you up at the airport, take you grocery shopping and even give you a tour of the local area. They also provided us with information, brochures and good advice that helped us plan our daily outings. We were surprised and grateful that Charlie offered to drop us off as well as pick us up from the Beachmont T-Line until we acquired our rental car. The nightly unwinding sessions on their beautiful patio after a full day of sight-seeing were much appreciated. We felt like part of their family. Bill even baked us a delicious lemon-blueberry greek yogurt cake. It was hot, out of the oven and to die for! We highly recommend the Hooper Guest House for those seeking beautiful accommodations and a memorable experience.
Thanks Charlie and Bill for making our stay in the Boston area so enjoyable and relaxing! We look forward to returning in the near future.
California couples,
Carmina & Virgil, Pam & Tom

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Holiday

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

The rental is much more than just the accommodation, which is, in itself, of a very high standard; the web-site description is accurate and the whole place was meticulously clean. What sets this particular rental apart is the help, attention and advice that Bill and Charlie provide throughout. From picking up at the airport, providing the now famous first-night lemon cake and Edith's bluebery cake, the long chats over numerous glasses of wine into the wee small hours, the 'help, I'm lost' rescue service, where to go/what to see/what to avoid hints, and keeping the towels washed and replaced every day. They simply couldn't do enough to help. Not having a car is not an issue as the local 'T' (subway) station (Beachmont) was a quick taxi ride away, altough Bill and Charlie were always willing to drive us there if they could. From Beachmont, the centre of Boston is a 20 min ride away.

Apart from Revere Beach, there are no typical tourist attractions in the area, which is a good thing if you want to get away from it all after a day traming around Boston. Last thing; the city of Boston is excellent for the average tourist. The whole city is set-up to make access to its many attractions as easy as possible. Further afield, Province Town was a lovely day out but this does get busy during the summer and autumn months, so the ferry to it might be a better option.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Host!

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

The guest house at hooper was the perfect rental property for our two week stay in Boston! The property was well stocked and conveniently located to the areas that we visited. Bill and Charlie are wonderful host and have a way of making you feel more like you are visiting family versus renting their property. They assisted with restaurant recommendations, drove us to the T-Line, provided us with wonderful breads and fresh towels daily. The only disappointment was that we were not visiting during the summer months so we did not get to experience the wonderful pizza that everyone brags about, maybe next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hidden gem

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

Hooper house is located conveniently close to the airport. It's about a 15 - 20 minute drive to downtown Boston. There were four of is (2 couples). The house is quaint and cozy. What really made the trip was our hosts, Charlie and Bill. So friendly and accommodating - like visiting old friends. From the homemade lemon cake on arrival to the Irish soda bread on st. Paddys day and everything in between. Personal service was amazing! We had wanted to go to the Saint Patricks Parade - Charlie dropped us off at the T so we didn't have to drive and fight the huge mess of traffic. So thoughtful. We had fresh towels daily, and always helpful tips regarding the area. Our last day there Charlie offered to even run a load of laundry for us. The personal service of assisting with flower delivery for our anniversary, the bottles of champagne and a book about Boston as we were leaving. This is better than a B and B! Terrific hosts. Great location. We will be back !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean and convenient place, super friendly host!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the property while visiting our college-age children during the Thanksgiving holiday. The place is about 10 minutes from the airport, yet we weren't bothered by airplane noise at all. The apartment is clean and extremely well equipped. The host even came to change towels every day. The decoration is also quite homy. The location is close to shopping areas and Revere beach, and is also very safe.


The host was extremely helpful and friendly. Though our flight arrived close to midnight, Charlie happily picked us up. He also drove up to pick up and drop off our rental car. Any time we needed something or had a question, he was there to help. Can't ask for a better host. We will definitely consider to stay here again if we have the opportunity.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Five Star Plus!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

My 4 sisters and I stayed a week at the Guest House on Hooper and were delighted to find all the excellent reviews we had read were right! Charlie and Bill were wonderful hosts and more, providing transportation to and from airport and subway. The kitchen was well stocked and we enjoyed Bill's wonderful cakes and their grilled pizza and they brought us a bottle of wine. Charlie even provided personal laundry service. Even though we rented a car, Charlie had to retrieve us and guide us back when we got lost. He always kept his sense of humor and kept us laughing. They made us feel welcome and like family as they ensured we had everything we needed to feel comfortable and safe. Thank you Charlie and Bill for helping us have a memorable vacation

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great choice

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

My husband and I found the Guest House at Hooper to be perfect for our needs.
The area is safe, the furnishings are great and the hosts are as friendly as can be. No complaints here. SUPER CLEAN.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This place was great! So comfortable and clean.

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

My mother, sister and I stayed at the Guest House at Hooper for one week. The place was very clean, everything that we needed was provided for us. Charlie was so helpful with details, getting what we needed from the store, showing us around and giving us advice about sites to see. Bill makes a great cake that is fabulous. Overall, it was a great value. Close enough to Boston to see everything and just a train ride away. Thanks so much for your hospitality Charlie and Bill!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great experience

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

Charlie met my wife and I at the airport--took us to a grocery store and patiently waited while we shopped---he also took us to a lovely restaurant on the bay and picked us up later----the next morning Bill made us a lemon yogart cake (delicious)---Charlie took us to the train each morning and picked us up later---they also took us to Salem (day trip)--the rental was clean and extremely well decorated (professionaly)clean towels,coffee,etc.was provided. If this was not enough they were extremely gracious and were extremely helpful to us---in fact---they were like "old friends"---our trip to Boston was greatly enriched by Charlie and Bill. They shared with us many insights about Boston and the culture we were about to experience----we would recommend this property without reservation to all----we were fortunate to have had this opportunity----thank you Charlie and Bill for your assistance

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply The Best

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

Several months ago I knew that I would be going to Boston for the first time to take my son to college. I had a reservation at the Marriott and was all set. One morning I had some free time and began searching vacation rentals in Boston, but I wasn't convinced that I wanted to send money across the country without really being able to check out the location, owners, etc. After reading the terrific reviews for the Guest House at Hooper I made contact with the owners. From our first conversation I felt like I had known them my entire life, but honestly I was still a bit nervous. I mean how could it really be this good. I decided to take a leap of faith, I canceled my Marriott reservation, and I hoped that things would be as great as they seemed. I talked to the owners a few more times before leaving Seattle and was all set.

My son, brother, and I arrived on a Tuesday afternoon and they were there to greet us. The pictures do not do this rental justice. It is absolutely beautiful and one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed (hotel and private rentals included). Good luck finding a spec of dust, it won't happen. Everything you could possibly need is included. The kitchen including literally everything would have at home. The bedrooms have extremely comfortable beds, great lighting, plenty space for your clothes, and soft sheets. Need a blow dryer, excessive amounts of reading materials on touring Boston and New England, an iron and ironing board,a comfy throw to wrap up in at the end of a busy day, this place has it all and MORE. The yard is fantastic; a grill, herbs, flowering pots, comfy patio furniture, fountains, lighted ivy plants, sheer drapes around the patio, and even a chandelier type lighting fixture.

Charlie and Bill are fabulous and will help you with restaurant ideas, shopping tips, tourist activities, etc. It is like having your own concierge service.

The only problem with staying at the Guest House at Hooper is that you won't want to leave. Take a leap of faith, you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

What to say! We loved our stay at Hooper Street. The condo is beautifully decorated, Bill and Charlie have great style when it comes to home décor. The condo has everything you need. An endless supply of clean towels, good reading material on Boston and surrounding areas. Not only is the condo beautiful but the garden was also the perfect place to relax.
Bill and Charlie went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. Charlie took us to the supermarket the day we arrived. They gave us a loan of a sat nav, not only when we were staying at Hooper Street but for the remainder of our holiday, when we were travelling further afield. When we returned the sat nav at the end of our holiday we were treated to Bill and Charlie’s fantastic barbecued pizza. They are amazing hosts, they are warm, kind and very good company. We won’t forget our stay with you. And Bill, you bake great cakes.
We would highly recommend Hooper Street Guest House to anyone looking to stay in the Boston area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just like visiting family

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Charlie and Bill were charming hosts - our stay in Boston was truly like visiting family. We phoned once our bags arrived at the airport and were picked up in 5 minutes. The apartment and garden were both enchanting and we were welcomed to join family and friends on the patio anytime we were home (and it really did feel like coming home!). When the subway was unexpectedly closed on a day we needed to get into Boston, Charlie drove us and then picked us up. We carpooled in with another family friend each morning. However, taxis right down to the Waterfront / World Trade Centre were reasonably priced (generally in the $25 range with tip - encourage the driver to use GPS on the return trip) making our decision to stay in Chelsea rather than at a conference hotel very affordable as well as comfortable. Having read other reviews, we were eagerly waiting for Bill's lemon loaf - and it's amazing!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

This was a great alternative to a hotel, providing ample room and all the comforts of home. The apartment has great style and had everything we needed, and Charlie and Bill were warm and considerate hosts. Fresh towels daily and Bill's lemon cake were added bonuses. I chose this place based on the previous reviews and it didn't disappoint.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow!!!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Cet endroit est très propre. Bill et Charlie sont très aidant que ce soit pour des suggestions de restaurant ou d'endroit à visiter. Les lits et le sofa sont très confortable. La cuisine est complète avec tout le nécessaire pour faire la cuisine. Thé, café, sucre et plusieurs autres ingrédients étaient à notre disposition. Il y a plusieurs commodité dans le secteur, pharmacie, épicerie et station service. Nous avons aussi eu la chance d'avoir un gâteau au citron maison fait par Bill......qui était excellent d'ailleurs. Si je dois retourner à Boston, il est clair que je retournerai chez Bill et Charlie. Définitivement je recommande cet endroit.
I realy recommand this beautiful an clean place. Bill and Charlie are great host and very helpful. Hope you will have the chance to tast the cake of Bill.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great accomodations and great hosts!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We cannot say enough about our stay at the Guest House at Hooper. The guest house was extremely clean and comfortable. It provided easy access to Boston and surronding areas. Charlie and Bill are fantastic hosts. They have a true gift of hospitality. They went above and beyond our expectations of making our stay very enjoyable. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Make sure to ask for a copy of Bill's yogurt cake recipe or Charlie's great restaurant reccomendations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, comfortable, welcoming.

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

I can't recommend this wonderful guest house highly enough. We could not have asked for more from our hosts, Charlie and Bill. We stayed at Hooper Street during a difficult time. Charlie and Bill were not only incredibly helpful, they also cheerfully accommodated our every need, were warm and friendly, and provided us with a home away from home. They made us laugh every day, which was sorely needed. The guest house itself was immaculate and cozy, the baked goodies left for us were delicious, and the kitchen was well-stocked with dishes, cookware, spices, and all the other little things you need. Charlie even hopped in his car and had us follow him when we seemed to have trouble grasping the directions to a restaurant. Now that's service!! They made our stay not only comfortable but comforting. If you are heading to the Boston area and would prefer something personalized and cozy instead of an over-priced hotel, this is your place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The BEST place ever!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Thank you, Charlie and Bill! You've exceeded all our expectations!
We'll always remember your beautiful place, your warm welcome, your generous hospitality, the laughter we shared together, Charlie's lovely Mom, the wonderful dishes you pampered us with, the flowers, and the list could go on and on.
We've traveled a lot, but we've never experienced something like this. Not even in Ireland!!!!!!
You've made us feel at home. If there were an Oscar for hospitality, it would definitely go to you, guys!
No doubt Hooper St. is THE place to stay!!!!
We can't wait to be back! Thanks again, for everything,
Cecilia, Victor and Ana

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Absolutely Wonderful!

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

My husband & I came to Boston for our 25th wedding anniversary and an early birthday celebration for him. I chose Guest House at Hooper after reading the previous reviews and am very happy with my choice. From the minute we met Charlie & Bill, we felt like we'd known them forever. We felt so comfortable and at ease with them. They definitely go out of their way to accomodate their guests; from rides to or from the airport, train station or rental car location, to suggestions on places to eat or visit. All which were great. Not only was the outside of the house nicely decorated, the inside was impeccable, better than any hotel we've stayed at. It was deinitely a home away from home for us. We could not have asked for a better place or better hosts for our first trip to Boston. We will definitely come back and without a doubt stay with Charlie & Bill again. Thanks for making our vacation as wonderful as it was.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Wonderful!!!!

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

My husband & I came to Boston for our 25th wedding anniversary and an early birthday celebration for him. I chose Guest House at Hooper after reading the previous reviews and am very happy with my choice.

From the minute we met Charlie & Bill, we felt like we'd known them forever. We felt so comfortable and at ease with them. They definitely go out of their way to accomodate their guests; from rides to or from the airport, train station or rental car location, to suggestions on places to eat or visit. All which were great.

Not only was the outside of the house nicely decorated, the inside was impeccable, better than any hotel we've stayed at. It was deinitely a home away from home for us. We could not have asked for a better place or better hosts for our first trip to Boston. We will definitely come back and without a doubt stay with Charlie & Bill again. Thanks for making our vacation as wonderful as it was.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

We are travellers from Lincoln, England on the start of a 6 month world trip.
We had decided to stay in the Boston area after a short but frenetic stay in New York and how nice it was to be collected from the train station by Charlie and taken to the guest house. It was all that we had imagined and much more, comfortable, homely and everything we could wish for in a new city.
Both Charlie and Bill were wonderfully accommodating, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them, from helping to arrange a hire car.... thanks also to Matt!!... to suggesting interesting places to eat and visit.
It is so easy to casually say that we'll be back, but i really think on this occasion that we will.
Chris and Nicola.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay in Boston

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

We stayed at this guest house with our two grown children. The owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were picked up at the train station on arrival, taken to a super market to get groceries and driven to the nearby subway station nearly every day (we did not rent a car). We were even picked up at the subway station at all hours and taken to the airport on our departure day. This to me represents a level of service above and beyond the ordinary.

The house itself is beautifully decorated, very comfortable and very clean. Bus connections are a short walk from the residence through a quiet neighnorhood. Subway and commuter rail connections are further away, but within reasonable walking distance. The owners showed genuine interest in our comfort and always made themselves available for restaurant advice, site seeing recommendations or just friendly conversation.

Everything worked in the house and it was well stocked with towels, cutlery, dishes, glasses, pillows, plus assorted sundry items and toiletries. The owners have done a remarkable job of making a guest house where guests can feel more than welcome, they can feel at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

best choice for Boston

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

The Guest House at Hooper was the perfect place for our family of 4. Charlie and Bill made sure we had everything we needed. The condo was very lovely, comfortable, well stocked and clean. The beds were so comfortable and they changed out our thick towels every day. They had plenty of reading material - magazines and local travel books. We enjoyed the gorgeous and peaceful yard as well as the company of our hosts. It was so easy to get to the train station for our visits to Boston and it was convienent to visit the charming towns up the coast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Halloween in Hooper street

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

What can I say about our vacation staying in Hooper street, this really was home from home, the pictures do not do the condo justice. The condo is beautifully furnished, clean, well maintained and the host’s kindly already have all the amenities you could need so you can arrive after a long journey and settle right in. The whole place had a relaxed luxury feel to it. Charlie and Bill were excellent, friendly and very helpful hosts, from warm cookies on arrival to well appreciated lifts around Boston, both of them were a joy to meet and to get to know. We had a great time over Halloween thanks to an extended stay offered as a treat by Charlie and Bill. Myself, Partner and 9 year son will defiantly be back and would strongly recommend staying here if it is a peaceful, hassle free vacation you are looking for. Thanks again Charlie and Bill and if you ever visit Belfast in Ireland you would be more than welcome to come visit us....Thanks also to the neighbours of Hooper street who kindly got into the Halloween fun and made the night a night to remember for my son when he was trick or Treating.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Hooper Street is a wonderful place to stay! We could of not asked for a better place. The location is wonderful. You can be in downtown Boston in 20 minutes! Charlie and Bill had english muffins waiting on us. They had fresh flowers on the table. We had fresh towels everyday. Charile and Bill are great hosts. They will do anything they can to make your stay perfect.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

This is a great place to stay! We can't say enough about the hosts or accommodations. Charlie and Bill went out of their way to make sure that we had everything needed to make our time there a great one. The guest house is beautiful, clean, and has everything you need (toiletries, top quality towels/linens, hair dryer, fully equipped kitchen, etc.). What a wonderful place to come back to after a long day of walking the streets of Boston! Before we arrived, we were asked what groceries we'd like stocked in the kitchen, and the hosts checked several times during our stay to see if we needed anything. They transported us to and from the airport and were more than willing to take us to the train station when we needed to go. We experienced hospitality at its best!

Thanks so much, Charlie and Bill!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome stay at Hooper!

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

Stayed at Hooper from September 11 to 18, 2011. Amenities even better than advertised. Beautifully decorated suite and surrounding gardens with amazing attention to every detail. Bill and Charlie are the consummate hosts, always ready to provide suggestions on where to go, what to see, places to eat. We've rented a number of houses throughout the world -- this is truly one of the best we've ever experienced. A true home away from home! Thanks to both of you for making our first trip to the Boston area a most memorable one. Hope to see you again some day. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend your place to anyone travelling in the Boston area. Dennis & Carol - Calgary Canada.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect vacation rental

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2011

The rental was exactly as described and it was impeccably clean!! Towels were washed daily. The kitchen was stocked with all the basics (coffee, tea, sugar, etc.). The bedrooms are on opposite ends of the condo which is perfect for privacy. For those that plan on getting a rental car, it has off street parking! The backyard is beautiful and is a great place to relax after walking in Boston all day.

Charlie and Bill were the perfect hosts!! They offered to pick us up at the airport, picked up milk and bread for us before we arrived and were ready with all of the information we needed (places to eat, places to visit, best ways to travel, etc...). It truly felt like we were staying with friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

More comfortable than home

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

During our vacation our 8 year old daughter got ill enough to need a trip to the Chelsea Urgent Care center. All of our sightseeing and touring got put on hold. But we did have the Guest House at Hooper's comforts to enjoy when we were all resting. We had Charlie and Bill bringing our daughter ginger ale and cookies. We were fortunate not to be trapped in a hotel, instead, while our daughter rested at the guest house we were able to enjoy the beautiful garden and the wine that our hosts offered us. The guest house has everything you could possibly need, and the hosts are kind, gregarious and social. A great space that two couples can easily share.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More comfortable than home

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

During our vacation our 8 year old daughter got ill enough to need a trip to the Chelsea Urgent Care center. All of our sightseeing and touring got put on hold. But we did have the Guest House at Hooper's comforts to enjoy when we were all resting. We had Charlie and Bill bringing our daughter ginger ale and cookies. We were fortunate not to be trapped in a hotel, instead, while our daughter rested at the guest house we were able to enjoy the beautiful garden and the wine that our hosts offered us.

The guest house has everything you could possibly need, and the hosts are kind, gregarious and social. A great space that two couples can easily share.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guest House at Hooper

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Charlie and Bill are great hosts. From the first phone call for information about the condo to the day we left they went out of their way to accommadate our every need. Charlie picked us up at the airport, then took us to pickup our rental, (saved us money on the rental car by letting us know it was cheaper renting a car near the condo instead of at the airport). The condo was great, better than described, fully equipped kitchen (spices, coffee, tea, etc.) Clean towels were provided every day. Nice yard with outdoor table and chairs. It was nice having an outdoor space to sit and relax for a few minutes each day. When it was time to go home they took us to the airport at 5.15am on Saturday morning. I would recommend the condo to anyone. Next trip to Boston area we will be staying here. Charlie and Bill, thanks again for everything.

Doug, Roseann
Jr, Kerri

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The next best thing to home!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

First, I would like to say that this review is long overdue, but, better late than never.

Our stay at the guest house was an amazing and relaxing experience! Bill and Charlie are gracious hosts and they accommodated every need of ours. We were in MA for commencement week and wanted a place where we could go back and escape the hectic activities we had planned, this was definitely the place!!! Like others have said, this place was very well decorated, looks even better than in the pictures and most importantly, very clean! Every little detail was considered and tailored to guests comfort. They had everything stocked, from spices to cook with, to a blow dryer for my hair. Felt even better than a 5 star hotel/resort because they were genuine about their hospitality. They even went out of their way on several occasions to show us the best pizza in town, drive us to the T-station, take us grocery shopping, and not to mention the pick up and drop off from the airport. Will definitely come back!

Thank you for everything!

-MV

PS You know they are great people when you forget an item at their house and they go out of their way to ship it back to you. It happened to me!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Warm, Cozy, and Inviting. Like I never left home!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

The owners have a nice place. Very clean and well decorated. This stay was like I was never away from home. The residence was minutes from the T station with public parking. Even on the day when the public parking T Station was under construction, Charlie took us and picked us up from another station. The owners are very accommodating to making your stay perfect. Based on their in-house guest book, they have several repeat clients that stay at the Hooper St. residence. This is my second time staying and it gets better each time. I go engaged on this stay to the love of my life. What a perfect vacation to Boston that will never be forgotten. Their hospitality only made the experience more ...... I can't say enough about their ability to go out of their way to make your stay perfect.
Thanks again,
Ryan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Warm and Inviting. Like you never left home!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

Charlie and Bill really accomodate to your stay. Fresh linens daily, will go out of their way to make your stay perfect. I am a repeat client and I know based on their in house guest book that they have a lot of repeat clients that stay at the Hooper residence. Cozy little 2 bedroom with a great courtyard. Well equipped inside allowing a lot of meals to be cooked at your residence instead of eating out all of the time. Minutes from the T station to catch a ride into Boston. The owners even gave us a ride to a T station when needed.
Thanks for everything. Stephanie and I loved our vacation and your hospitatily only added to our engagement.
Thank you again,
Ryan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Top Notch

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

Well we rented this Condo for a Week, got to spend Christmas there. and Whow Charlie & Bill had it Decorated 1ST Class for the Holidays,The Condo was Everything we wanted and needed and more, good neighbourhood, close to everything.
We cannot Express our Satifacation enough, Charlie & Bill were more than Renters They were like our Familly looking after all our needs.
If you need to Feel at Home this is the Place

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review