reviews for: listing #356925ha - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Casa Macondo Romantic Tropical Luxury Beach Villa with Casita
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 450 - $ 750 / night
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

A little piece of Heaven!

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

We just returned from Costa Rica and spent 4 nights at Casa Macondo (we did not utilize the Casa Casita - an additional bedroom and bath) and enjoyed every minute of it. The management was wonderful. They were very accommodating and coordinated all our activities and recommended restaurants. The private pool was key! It was so hot that to have the option to jump into the pool at any time of day was wonderful. The beach is a lovely 5 minute walk from the house. They also have all night security at the gate so you feel extremely safe. If you are looking for a relaxing, remote and beautiful location I would highly recommend Casa Maconda.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptionnel

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Casa macondo a batik villa : c'est une maison magnifique avec sa piscine privée dans laquelle nous avons passé un séjour inoubliable. Le site est vraiment superbe la villa est décorée avec beaucoup de goût et faire avec des matériaux moderne ( béton cire au sol, tadlaq aux murs) les pièces sont grandes avec des ouvertures sur la superbe terrasse et piscine en carreaux d'ardoise. L'emplacement est idéal a playa hermosa juste a la sortie de santa teresa a deux pas d une plage superbe par laquelle on accède par un chemin prive en traversant un petit bout de forêt ou viennent la singes hurleurs c'est fantastique. Le service est impeccable ménage tous les matins, possibilité de prendre des cours de surf de louer les planches dense faire livrer des quads ....... Tout y est et dahlia l adorable manager se fait un plaisir de nous rendre la vie facile et agréable. L'accueil de Cristina est très chaleureux. Petit clin d'œil a Cyrillo la gardien d'une gentillesse incroyable. Bref exceptionnel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wife and mother of 2

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

This property was just amazing! I dream about going back soon:) The home we stayed in was beautifully designed and so peaceful with a hammock for relaxing and outside living that was just what a vacation in Costa Rica should be about. the beach is only a small walk away on a path beneath the coconut trees. It is one of the best beaches around. NO rocks, perfect for relaxing or surfing! A+ no doubt!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Customer

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Casa Macondo recently. I loved this place! It's so beautifully built with such attention to detail. I loved the feeling of having the indoor area outside yet it was very private. I would have stayed in the house for my entire vacation but I did want to see the beach and do other activities. The beach is a short walk through the rain forest and is very secluded.

Christina set us up with a wonderful guide who taught us how to surf. He also took us horseback riding along the beach and up towards the inland. So beautiful. On another day we snorkled and along with our guide, walked through a protected rain forest to explore the native wildlife.

The property was very well maintained and included security. I would recommend renting an SUV as the villas are located about 20 minutes from town, however there is a market and a few restaurants within walking distance. If you're in to yoga, this is the place to be. I would highly recommend Chistina and her villas to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magic place, perfect location!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We were sad to leave Casa Macondo after our 2 weeks stay.
The villa was perfect for the two of us and for friends who visited us part of the time. We marveled at the unique character of every suite and the endless attention to design detail, comfort, and luxury. The villa is big enough where you bring your own extended family and friends and have as much together time as you need, but also have nooks of space when you choose to have some private down time -- such as getting a massage or taking a yoga class. The pool area is a private paradise, the outdoor bathrooms are a special treat, and it's just a short walk to the beach.

The location is just far enough away from the town of Santa Teresa that we had total privacy and peace, but close enough to enjoy great restaurants and easy shopping. There is a great sushi place walking distance, that has the best Japanese food we ever had, do not miss it!
We alternated between trying some of the restaurants in the area and picking up fresh fish to bring home and put on the grill.
I never tired of watching the beautiful birds in the trees around the pool. We enjoyed many amazing sunsets on the beach in front of the house, a really amazing beach were we surfed and took long walks in the morning…we were often alone there, what a treat!! On the way to the beach we often saw the howler monkeys munching on leaves in the treetops right on our beach path!
Rent a car so you can really get around and see all that this country has to offer. You'll encounter some bumpy roads, big potholes, unexpected adventures, and you'll have a blast! Thanks Cristina for sharing your amazing villa and for all the help with our needs and questions. We can't wait to return to your PARADISE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

Cristina - Dahlia, thank you for the introduction to Santa Teresa and loved Batik. Cristina, you have a special touch, great vision, and the homes are really something. The effort you both made to make our time exceptional really made the difference. We miss our breakfast and morning chats with you both, Myra, and waking up with the storms, surf, and monkeys.
We look forward to staying in touch. Dahlia, special thanks for looking after us and we enjoyed meeting your family. You really helped us a lot :-). THANK YOU.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I'm already planning my return trip!

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Our family was WAY overdue for a vacation. Casa Macondo was perfecto! This place is every bit as spectacular as the photos suggest. It is STUNNINGLY beautiful. The travel to and from was easy and the owners did everything possible to keep it that way. The beach is beautiful- filled with shells that my daughter and I joyfully collected throughout our stay while my husband surfed (or tried). The hammock was WELL utilized while we were there as was the pool that my daughter safely swam in 5 or 6 times a day. It was heaven. I'm already planning my return trip- this time with the extended family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxed Elegant Beach Paradise

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

This is a wonderful new house built in a modern style with beautiful tropical finishes. After 20 years traveling to Costa Rica we were looking for something really nice that captured the feeling of the under developed past but provided a high level of comfort for the family. The kids were in the water all day, from beach to infinity pool all day. the house is very modern tropical, a house version of Aman Resorts in Costa Rica. The house is great for a large family (or small), great for big family meals next to pool from the open kitchen. We had a cook come in for some meals. There are a few nice places to eat nearby and a market and fresh fish. We spent a week here and hardly left, between the house and beach, no place in the area was a better place to be.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing your piece of paradise!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Hi Christina,

I Just want to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Casa Maconda. It was much better than we expected, the entire area was amazing. We usually do not go back to the same place but we probably will want to return to Casa Macondo next year. The house was perfect, the beach was beautiful and the restaurants in the area were delicious. Much better than Manuel Antonio!!! Delia was a great help and so nice. Mick and his crew were great surf instructors. The pizza down the street was very good.
Thank you very much for sharing your little piece of paradise. Colleen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Batik Costa Rica: Macondo

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

Batik is such a unique experience. For one, it is roughly 10 minutes north of town (driving), and therefore remains distinctly tranquil, set apart from the relatively busy main street. Secondly, access to playa hermosa offers one of the best beaches in all of CR: perfect waves at varying levels, and not near the crowds normally accompanying such paradise. Third, the architectural and design aesthetics of macondo and the other casas are meticulous: concrete floors and kitchen cabinets, teak and bamboo, and balinese furniture are just some of the plush accents. The living spaces flow continuously from one room to another, from interior to exterior, balancing intimacy with spaciousness. Walkways between houses are lined with rows of tall plants which provide neighbors the perfect level of privacy, and seem to leave the matter of socializing to one's own discretion. Finally, Batik offers a sense of exclusivity without having its nose in the air. It's neither showy nor overtly luxurious, a friendly place for all sorts. Can't wait for round two!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review