reviews for: listing #35822 - Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Condo rental

Beachfront Two Bedroom condo with pool
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Palma Real
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,600 - $2,500 /wk
    $5,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Amazing View--Great Jacuzzi

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

Our condo in Puerto Morelos was beautiful. The view was amazing. The beach was clean and it was very peaceful. I contacted the owner about some minor issues and he was very receptive to our suggestions. Our main concern was that the road leading to the condo was full of potholes. The owner said that the owner.s association are working to having access to a better road. I look forward to knowing that the next time we go the road will be in better condition. Thankfully, it is not a very long road.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Unfortunately we have had a lot of rain in the past few weeks, and since we are located between the mangrove and ocean our roads can get flooded. Dealing with Mexican authorities isn't very fast so by the time they decide to help the problem the sun dries up the flood.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful beachfront condo

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Beautiful, clean, well equipped condo right on the beach. Every room including master bathroom has an ocean view. Poolside chairs and lounges give you a choice of sitting in a shade or sunbathing. Palapas on a beach in a front of the condo are the great place to stay in a shade. The condo is very quiet and rather secluded. We use the taxis to get to Puerto Morelos. They are cheap($2.00-$3.00) At the time we were there walking was rather impossible since it was raining for 5 days in a row(unusual for Mexico). We have done lots of walking on the beach. You can easily walk for kilometers without seeing too many people. Unfortunately the Mexican beaches are not always very clean(except the ones in a front of the condos or hotels).
I would like to thank you Neville for accommodating my special needs(I am a cancer patient). We would love to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

not a great vacation

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

would not recommend this property to a friend,,one step off property and beach was a trash dump and not 1 piece of trash but tons of trash shoes,bottles,boxes, lids buckets,food,etc.had to walk around a ship yard to get to town a long haul and very dark at night,very trashy and alot of storage containers and alot of fence..not a pretty picture.condo was ok sheets needed to be updated had stains on them and thin.only got 1 pair had to wash them and then put them back on bed..no dishwasher so i boiled the dishes and silverware that we used to be sure they would be clean.i no how people are on vacation about doing dishes and the cleaning people didnt have enough time to wash every dish. 1-2 nights a week bus loads of kids come to next door to drink and listen t loud loud loud music.have to keep all doors and windows shut to be able to sleep.. it was a was very loud,,didnt sleep good each time it happened..sink in kitchen leeked alot and the barbequee was very bad it was very rusty and very dirty!!!!needs to have someone come in to clean at least once a week just to keep up with the sand or supply cleaning products for guest to use,,we left 8 days early my husband hated the place.. carlos is a joke

Owners response: Unfortunately these travelers may have had a matrimonial problem while in puerto Morelos - most of their review is either untrue or grossly exaggerated. For example they knew upfront that we were on the beach and that we do not have a maid, that there was not a dishwasher etc. our beach is cleaned daily - we may have had a storm which could have brought some debris onto the beach. The property next door to us cannot be accessed by a bus and is undeveloped - even though we are located near to a federal port - not a shipyard most of our reviews have commented favorably on this , I suspect these folks should have stayed at an all inclusive or better still - at home. We do not give refunds for a rental that is in progress even if it gets us a bad review!
Carlos our manager checked in with the travelers during their stay and had no complaints - apparently the wife told our neighbors her husband wanted to go home 8 days early she wanted to stay for the full 3 weeks.
Neville Gardner
Owner

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Paradise in the winter!

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

It was like being in Paradise in the middle of winter! I was not disappointed one bit! The skies and seas were blue and the sun shone brightly! The condo was equipped with everything one would need to be comfortable plus more! It was a wonderful place to relax and just do nothing for a week. Everything is at your fingertips and it is fully equipped for staying indoors to cook. The pool & sauna are steps away from the condo as is the beach. The beach is clean and was available for one to get some sun each day. The view from the mater bedroom to watch the morning sun rise is spectacular! The bathroom also avails one to look at the sea while showering. What a treat that was. Sitting on the front deck watching the ocean was another ideal feature. The town is minutes from you if you need anything and if you wanted to do some sight seeing, Carlos was just a phone call away. It was a week well spent and I would go back again in a heartbeat. Thank you for sharing your Paradise with Tom & I.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beachfront Condo

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Our family of four had a wonderful stay in Puerto Morelos! The condo was lovely and had everything we needed. Carlos and Gustavo took great care of us when we needed groceries, water, a rental car, restaurant tips, etc. Palma Real is a short walk into town and yet feels very private. During our stay only two other units were occupied so we were spoiled by having the beach and the pool mostly to ourselves! PM is a wonderful alternative to the more crowded towns such as Cancun and Tulum. The restaurants are wonderful, the people are friendly, and the snorkeling is awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Minnesota

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

Best beach vacation I've had. Condo was immaculate, with all necessary amenities. Private beach, beautiful surf, great location. Carlos was wonderful, he gave excellent suggestions on excursions, massages and dining. What a gem, we cant wait to go back! Thank you Neville and Linda for sharing your piece of paradise.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Property

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

This condo is such a perfect place to do nothing! Every room has an ocean view, with gentle waves breaking on shore. There is a nice size swimming pool, and an infinity pool, which I found most intriguing. Poolside chairs and lounges give you a choice of sitting in the shade or sunbathing. Another hobby of mine, bird-watching, proved to be a choice location for adding new species to my lists.

All of these activities could be done without any steps. This was especially appreciated as I am in my eighties now. But driving in a car or taxi takes you shopping in the village of Puerto Morelos, or a larger. mall-type shopping center about an hour's drive to the south. The Mayan Temple ruins, and many other attractions, made this an exciting visit.

Each bedroom had its own bathroom, making this truly a relaxing vacation. The condo is away from the main streets, giving you a real sense of privacy. Going into the town of Puerto Morelos gives you markets, a town square and many quaint restaurants to visit.

Going back to the condo gives you a real sense of peace and privacy.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxurious, authentic Mexico

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

We enjoyed visits to Cancun, but realized that that what we loved most were Mexico's people and culture. Puerto Morelos, which is located just a short distance from Cancun (you can actually walk the beach to some Cancun resorts), has superb restaurants, shopping and activities, but without the touristy feel of Cancun.

Palma Real is an easy, 15-minute walk to the center of town. Taxis are abundant and inexpensive. Typically, we would walk into town, then take a taxi home in the evening. This condo is beautifully decorated, well-appointed and managed by a courteous, hard-working staff.

The beach is small but well maintained and wonderfully quiet. The condo is right on the beach and also opens right onto an infinity pool that we enjoyed immensely. The facility manager will provide transportation to and from the airport and will even stock the place with your favorite foods for a small, very reasonable fee.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven in Mexico

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

Our stay at this Condo in Puerto Morelas was the best holiday myself and my family have ever taken. We had never been to Mexico before and wanted some relax time - we were delighted by the incredible setting of the condo right on the beach, the pool, the facilities and the friendliness of the local people.

The hustle and bustle of Cancun was close but far enough away to feel completely detached from the regular people on vacation. This was special - swing on the hammock, take in the views, walk on the beach - the same beach that folks are paying meg-bucks to share with the masses at luxury hotels a mile in either direction - and feel it's your own little piece of heaven.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent beach rental

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

This condo is absolutely fabulous. The location, with its terrasse right on the beach, is unbeatable. The ocean view is spectacular from the bedrooms and master bathroom, and the position of the kitchen lets you see out onto the pool area and the ocean beyond while you cook. It's more beautiful than in the pictures. The condo was very clean and well maintained. Excellent ameneties. Fantastic gas range and stove in kitchen. Washer/dryer in the condo is very convenient. Lots of closet/storage space. Very private. Easy day trips by car to many Mayan sites (Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza, Ek Balam).

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Palma Real-Quiet, Private and Comfortable

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We stayed at Palma Real for 9 days January 26 to February 6, 2012 and were well pleased with the accommodations and location to the pool and beach. The condo was very clean, the kitchen had all necessary appliances and dishes, there were audio and video electronics available for use, including a docking station for an iPod. The grounds, pool and jacuzzi and security people did a great job. Carlos, the condo manager, was very accommodating and checked on us a couple of times each day to see if we needed anything. The pictures and descriptions were very accurate and I would highly recommend this property to anyone. The walk to Puerto Morels was about 15 minutes unless you are a speed walker. Taxi service is prompt and costs about $2.50 one way. We enjoyed several restaurants and all were very good. We especially recommend Taco Avenue and La Panza es Promero for their lunch-time tacos from the street grill. We had a "gringa" which is pork with cheese, onion and cilantro--EXCELLENT! Also, look for the Marquesita street vendor around the square in the evening. A Marquesita is a pastry that is absolutely fabulous and not like anything you will find in the US. Do take a taxi or drive to the older part of the city referred to as "colonia" and go to the local fruit market for fruit and vegetables. They are MUCH better than the ones you will get in the store in PM. You can buy a bag of fresh squeezed orange juice and other juices for $1.00. A taxi there will cost about $4.00. We have been going to Mexico in the winter for 12+ years and this was our first time in a condo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will look forward to returning again to take in the culture of the local population in Puerto Morelos.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VRBO 323990, 101 Palma Real, Puerto Morelos, Mexico

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

My wife and I and one of her friends stayed at Unit 101 at Palma Real from December 23 -30, 2011. Were were greated by Carlos. He was very pleasant and helpful. Our stay was wonderful. The location of this condominium was perfect for us. The views were spectacular. My favorite thing to do was to wake up just in time to see the sun rise while I lay in bed and then go back to sleep until around 9:00 am.

The condominium is very clean and easy to keep that way. We enjoyed the easy access to and from the condominium and pool area during the day and evening. The pool area is very well maintained. There is no panic to get up early to put a towel down on a lounger in fact it seemed to be discouraged. There were always plenty of chairs available. The Beach/Ocean is just steps away from the condo and was absolutely beautiful. I always feel very safe when we travel to Mexico but the security at the condominium was excellent. There is no access to the beach from the main road unless you have a key to the condominium. There was also a security guard there in the evening. The walk to town was very manageable. A casual walk to town took us less than 15 minutes. Cabs were easily accessible and cost us 30 pesos to get to town.

The condominium supplies most amenities including beach towels, games, Wi-Fi etc.
Puerto Morelos is a small fishing village with an unbelievable number of excellent restaurants for its size. It is also considerably less expensive to eat here than in Playa or Cancun. We enjoyed going down to the fish co-operative to buy fresh seafood and cook it on the BBQ at the condo.
We will definite consider this condominium on our next return to Palma Real.

Thanks Nevelle!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Slice of paradise

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Palma Real in 101 from 11/20 - 11/24 and had a lovely time. The apartment is beautiful and equipped for small and large groups with a great collection of games, cookware, books, and internet, and the Palma Real complex is meticulously maintained (pool, hot tub, beach). But the feature that did it for us was the apartment's location and views. The photos do it close justice, but it's even better live. This unit is the closest to the pool and beach (with a terrace overlooking the beach to boot) and gives you a straight-on view of the water from the bedroom (and shower) and the screened doors allow you to catch a breeze (with no mosquitos!) and hear the waves crash while you sleep at night.

Carlos, Juan, and Gustavo were great and although we spent our time venturing out on our own, Carlos is happy to pick up groceries and set up excursions for you if you like. Also great was that there were only 2 or 3 other groups staying at the Palma Real (they were great) so it always felt peaceful and secluded.

If you're considering this rental, you probably already know that Puerto Morelos is a great base for exploring the coast while still being close to Cancun and Playa.

A few random tips/suggestions for first timers--from a New Yorker
If you plan to cook -- buy cooking oil! (Obvious, but we forgot this simple thing.) The apt has salt and pepper and all other cookware/utensils, etc.
Make sure not to drop any crumbs. Ants will get to them before you know it. Another obvious thing, but we learned fast.
Do hang out in the pool and hot tub for hours.
Don't go to Xplor if you're really into adventure. Lots of waiting for average activities. Good for familes though..
If you want to venture further than the square in Puerto Morelos -- hop a cab or drive to the Jungle Spa area. There's a market close by that makes delicious licuadas and you can get a massage (a little to strong for my taste) and aloe wrap for $60, which goes to support local Mayan women. (I hope this is true!)

All in all, a fantastic vacation, due in large part to having a wonderful place to come home to after our adventures.

Thank you Neville for sharing your little slice of paradise -- we'll be back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very, very fabulous vacation.....can't wait to return!!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

Neville & Linda-
Wow! is the best way to describe our fabulous stay at Palma Real!
We have been coming to the Puerto Morelos & Riviera Maya area a dozen of times.
We have always stayed at a resort, but this is our first time to say at a condo!
We really enjoyed our stay so VERY Much!
I did so much research and now I know for sure that this condo was the best in the area!
Loved, loved, loved the view waking up in the morning, coffee on the patio, beautiful infinity pool right next to the beach, private beach away from town where EVERYONE is walking by, beautiful ocean...... I could go on & on!
The walk to town was just fine & not to far! We love the town of Puerto Morelos & all the wonderful restaurants to choose from.
The two guys working around the property were great! and Carlos is the best ever & so helpful with ANYTHING you needed, just ask and he would help! It’s very comforting to know you have him to help out when coming to a condo & you know you´ll have many questions about things to do, places to eat....Etc.
Really sad to leave & definitely want to return!
Marisa, David, Kaylena & Nicole; Dallas TX!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect beachfront location

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

We stayed at Palma Real at the end of June and can't say enough about the place. The pictures really don't do it justice! The views from the bedrooms were spectacular. Being on the first floor right next to the pool was perfect for us. Our 9 year old could go in and out of the pool and we could keep an eye on her from the deck or from inside the condo. This unit also had a private beach-front deck (the only one in the complex with this feature). The condo itself was very nicely appointed and extremely comfortable. The complex is also very well maintained. The beach out front is narrow, but nice. There are several palapas with lounge chairs to use. It was never crowded, and you can walk south on the beach for a long while.

Carlos was very helpful throughout our stay. We had him do some grocery shopping for us before we came which was very convenient. I will definitely use his services again.

I love Puerto Morelos! It is my 4th time back, and I hope to return again soon. The condo is only about a 15 minute walk into town (a 25 peso cab ride). For a town this size, it is surprising how many good restaurants there are to choose from.

I would highly recommend Neville's place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I just came back from Puerto Morelos myself last Tuesday - the weather was in the high 80s and low 90's with the never-ending breeze off the ocean , compared to the 104 degrees here in PA it was a real climatic pleasure. The point is that Mexico really is a great place to visit even in July or August when people often assume it's too hot.

There are several new restaurants in town but I really enjoyed Spaghettini and Terrazo - Italian and Indian and Mexican fusion. John Gray's was also great as usual - but I agree there are at least 10 excellent restaurants in town.

It's always nice to hear the accolades that Carlos gets - he can certainly make things easy for our guests, starting with an airport pickup and drop off or advance shopping. Carlos goes to the places with the best deals such as Costco or Sam's Club so he also is able to get foods that meet our expectations for quality etc and value. Carlos books my car if I rent one and organizes the rental company to meet my flight coming and going which makes it all go smoothly and quickly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A refreshing getaway

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

Thank you for such a fabulous week at your beautiful condo! It was an exciting, relaxing, adventurous trip for my aunt and myself.

The rooms and property were immaculate, modern and beautifully decorated. Only a few units occupied while we were there. The beachfront was not busy. The property felt very safe; there is a locked entrance to the condo and one staff member always present somewhere on the grounds. The site manager, Carlos, was available on short notice and called to check on us a few times.

This unit has the best view! Master bedroom is so close to the waves. Two walls of this bedroom are glass, so you can wake up in the morning and watch the ocean without even getting out of bed. The second bedroom also had a beautiful, unobstructed view of the ocean. I enjoyed falling asleep/waking to the sound of waves through the (open) sliding glass door of the master bedroom. Sitting on the front private deck to watch the sunrise was also a treat, as was reclining in the hot tub under the palm trees/moon after sunset.

One can walk into town through some side streets, its about fifteen minutes, but we decided to take a cab most of the time. It was easy and inexpensive. When you are ready to leave town, cabs can be found waiting on the edge of the town square day and night. Every meal in town was delicious. There are many shops to browse through. The shopkeepers are very eager to have you buy from them. The local Catholic Church is very picturesque. Tourists are welcome to attend mass.

We arranged for the manager, Carlos, to pick us up from the airport. He made the arrangements for a snorkeling trip with a terrific guide and also for an afternoon of swimming with dolphins. The two trips were wonderful. The rest of our week was spent relaxing on the beach, poolside, private porch, the outdoor hot tub, or inside the condo. We both took art supplies and spent some time painting or sketching. We made some great meals ourselves, as Carlos will grocery shop for you ahead of time for a small fee. The condo had a lot of extras.

If you are interested in experiencing the local culture, meeting the people, tasting their food, seeing and hearing what they see and hear, then do not stay at a big resort, stay here. It is a safe, tourist-friendly town. If you stay at Palma Real while you are there, you will also have privacy and comfort and luxury. We told all of our friends and family that we would highly recommend Palma Real.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family spring break!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Well what Dan I say that everyone else hasn't. I am a self proclaimed hotel snob! Palma real 101 was the best place I've ever stayed! The view from the master bed is amazing! We felt very secure and would sleep with the door open. We traveled with our twin 6 month old babies and the ovation of the unit is perfect! We picked up a swing and a pack and play, which are still there fir your use, but we could have the boys on the pitch, in the bedroom or the living room and still be able to hear them by the pool! Carlos was always around for any questions needed. take my advise and use his grocery service before you get there, we never did find the real Walmart! And the town! Wow, so nice and friendly and the food was amazing! Go to t@cos.com! We went 3 times! the walk is a little sketchy, I would not feel comfortable walking alone but we did go to town everyday! This was such a great place, we will be back for sure, hopefully for many years to come! Neville, lmk when you are ready to sell!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Carlos who manages our condo, offers airport pick up and drop off and advance
shopping for groceries, and miscellaneous things you might need to make your stay
More enjoyable. Since Carlos has access to Sams club and Costco he gets good
Products and very good priced. Certainly I always appreciate arriving to a stocked
Refrigerator and perhaps an ice cold Cerveza .

It's always nice to know that our visitors have enjoyed their stay at Palma Real.

Neville Gardner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Palma Real #101

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

Just home from a 2 month stay at Palma Real #101....from the moment we drove up to the complex we could tell we were in for a great stay...Wonderful Palms wait to greet you..Not to mention the security who is also there to make you feel safe and secure..".Carlos"our contact for arrival was right there and saw to our every need and his advice was most excellent...The condo is modern and well appointed..Nice decorating touches and a kitchen with everthing you could possibly need...Also videos,books,games,a safe,blowdryer for your hair,yoga matts,all IPOD ready..WiFi...sewing kit...right down to the clips for beach towels-to keep them from blowing in the warm breeze...many more things...everything carefully thought out by Neville and Linda..Neville was open and honest and easy to deal with...The Views, amazing,,,the 10 shades of aqua in the water, the white sand beach, the shells..the pool and hot tub...clean and shiny every day...Great deck chairs and pads...Oh how I miss my home away from home already...Comfy and cozy..no need for AC..but it is there...great ocean breezes and sunrises that make you want to get up early just to see them...Again as I said..Safe and Secure..I was there alone for some of the time and never, not once did I feel ill at ease.Taxi's are plentiful and cheap...Eating out is great any where and everywhere and Fresh Lobster and Fish to die for...We did have a car and the rate was great...including all insurance-still a deal...Booked by Carlos...and the airport pick up and drop off of the car worked out so well...Puerto Morelos is a short, but pleasant walk...Walking around the town is safe and easy...Groceries at Casa Martin-simple but good and we bought most produce in Colonia-small town near the freeway exit...If you are looking to get away and have a relaxing time away from the all inclusive buzz and hype, this is the place for you...You cannot go wrong with Palma Real #101........in one word ..PARADISE....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great to get such a great review, Puerto Morelos is an undiscovered gem and Palma Real is located perfectly to enjoy an almost private beach. Located just about half a mile or 1 Km from the center square makes the condo within a 10 minute slow walk from at least 12 great restaurants, shopping and snorkeling, scuba and fishing trips.

One of the best things about Palma Real is the beachfront location and the constant breeze so that even in the middle of summer it's a great place to be.

Carlos our manager can make your visit easier by doing advance shopping, airport pickup and arranging a car or an excursion to the ruins. Carlos is also available to help with any issues that could arise while you are with us in Puerto Morelos.

Please call if you have questions!

Neville

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delivered more than it promised!

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

Puerto Morales comes into view as a sleepy village with some interesting outdoor dining....and then you see the condo....and the water. Views of endless water, a blue found in dreams of peaceful bliss, the condo perched on the beach like a lounge chair with walls. Contemporary, edgy and extremely convenient ... Beautifully maintained and the pictures are only half the story. The views really are wonderful. The owners are direct with info and answers and good info is onsite.

One night spent drinking margaritas under the stars---the bar an ex-pat haven--- with of all things- a Roy Orbison black and white PBS special on a spare screen...It had the feeling of a script where the writer really likes you and the ending is perfect. You can do lots of things but why would you leave a private beach and the chance for a massage on the deck looking at the ocean?

We did tear away to hit Playa Del Carmen but we were happy to be back poolside, drink in hand, to jacuzzi and sunset.

Debating sharing the experience with friends and neighbors ....don't want it too booked!

Easy to get to and hard to forget.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Location/Condo in Puerto Morelos

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

This was our first trip to Puerto Morelos - loved it, and VERY happy with Palma Real 101. We all agreed that this condo is the best location in the complex - with perfect access to the pool and beach - while still keeping it's privacy in tact. Unit is exactly as pictured, nicely appointed. The master bedroom bed was so comfortable. Hot water was a bit tricky - but once we knew the trick - worked well. The complex and grounds were very well maintained and security was excellent. We loved that the beach was secluded, especially after going into town on Sunday (main day off for locals) and seeing how crowded it was on the north side of the pier. The walk into town was good for us - a little exercise. And a taxi ride to/from town, which was necessary if you needed to buy ice, was only $2 including tip. The owners were great to deal with and Carlos was there to greet us when we arrived and help us with any questions or problems. He kind of reminded us of the butler on Mr. Deeds (Adam Sandler movie) - where he seemed to appear out of nowhere when needed.

Only disappointment was that they were working on the oceanfront deck while we there - laying new tile, so we were not able to use it. However they were very courteous and accomodating - just lost a little privacy.

Would highly recommend this condo (selfishly want to keep it a secret) - and plan to go back next Spring.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

We stayed for a week at the beginning of November and has a wonderful time. The condo is contemporary, clean, and spacious. You can not beat the views from the bedroom windows and fabulous deck (I think it was the best situated condo in the complex). The interior is tastefully decorated, although we found ourselves spending much of the time on the patio and outside just because you have to when you are in Mexico!

The location of the condo is toward the edge of town on the other side of the port. It was a little off the beaten track, but we liked that. And because Puerto Morelos is such a quaint little village, it was still within an easy walk to the town square. This village is so lovely, and a must see.

The amenities were great - outdoor speakers, games, DVDs, books, and inflatable pool toys. They really thought of it all.

Carlos is the local caretaker of the condo for the owner, and he was a great help to us while we were there. We had a couple of things go wrong, just things that happen, and he was right there to correct them asap. As we are all divers, Almost Heaven Adventures was recommended to us, and Enrique and AHA were one of the main highlights of the trip. He provided excellent, personal care and really enjoyed his expertise and company. One day the weather and conditions weren't good enough to dive on the ocean, he took us to a cenote, including a lunch at a local spot. It was a fabulous time!

I recommend this condo and Puerto Morelos to anyone looking for a relaxing time on the Yucatan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

We stayed for a week at the beginning of November and has a wonderful time. The condo is contemporary, clean, and spacious. You can not beat the views from the bedroom windows and fabulous deck (I think it was the best situated condo in the complex). The interior is tastefully decorated, although we found ourselves spending much of the time on the patio and outside just because you have to when you are in Mexico!

The location of the condo is toward the edge of town on the other side of the port. It was a little off the beaten track, but we liked that. And because Puerto Morelos is such a quaint little village, it was still within an easy walk to the town square. This village is so lovely, and a must see.

The amenities were great - outdoor speakers, games, DVDs, books, and inflatable pool toys. They really thought of it all.

Carlos is the local caretaker of the condo for the owner, and he was a great help to us while we were there. We had a couple of things go wrong, just things that happen, and he was right there to correct them asap. As we are all divers, Almost Heaven Adventures was recommended to us, and Enrique and AHA were one of the main highlights of the trip. He provided excellent, personal care and really enjoyed his expertise and company. One day the weather and conditions weren't good enough to dive on the ocean, he took us to a cenote, including a lunch at a local spot. It was a fabulous time!

I recommend this condo and Puerto Morelos to anyone looking for a relaxing time on the Yucatan.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's great to have Carlos and Mercedes taking care of our condo- everyone loves their service and willingness to go the extra distance to make our condo a great plae to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect place in Riviera Maya

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

Great place , very quiet, heated and clean Spa and Pool very useful during cool days. Nice vegetation and landscaping adding to a nice environment. Very secure place with full time security gards. Customer service and support from contacts Carlos and Mercedes excellent and friendly. Very clean. Very clean. Stayed here for 9 weeks and have absolutely nothing negative to say . Wi-fi Internet important for us and worked very well all the time.
Puerto Morelos is a place to discover. Nothing like crazy Cancun or Playa Del Carmen. The people here are just great.
Our favorite restaurants: David Lau's, The Pirate, El Pescador, La Terraza, La Posada el Amor.
Favorite activity: Snorkel at the National Park,Just fabulous and unique, Walking on the beach

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 27, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Palma Real this past March/April 2009 for 1 week. It could not have been better. The condo is new, contemporary, with all the lastest amenities. Spacious and views beyond our wildest expectations. You are right on the beach in this unit and I mean right on the beach. The location of Palma Real helped greatly reduce the foot traffic in front of our condo which we appreciated. Another great feature was the large amount of shells that would come up on the beach nightly. No other places had this. A very easy walk into Puerto Morelos each day allowed us to sample the many restaurants in town. I did not want to cook on my vacation but the kitchen in this condo is superb. We did have Carlos purchase groceries for us before arrival. Fresh fruits, coffee, sugar, cerveza, milk, just the staples. That was a huge bonus and worth every penny. Strongly recommend this service. Carlos was a tremendous help and was available daily to answer all questions, just a phone call away, day or night. We also had Carlos pick us up and drop us off at the airport. Another great service with this unit. If you want a truly beautiful place to stay in and be centrally located to Cancun and Playa del Carmen without all the people then this is where you should stay. Can't say enough about how exceptional Palma Real is. We were there nearly the entire week alone. Our own resort and our kids had the pool to themselves. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Lynn and Mike
Chelsea, MI

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Always nice when guests appreciate our place! Looking forward to my next visit!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect place to decompress and relax

Review submitted: January 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2008

The condo is lovely, new, and very nicely appointed, including the furniture, art, and kitchen equipment. It works very well for a family (we have 2 children) as we can go in the pool on on the beach without leaving, just a few steps out the patio door.

The pool, beach, and common facilities were well maintained by a full time caretaker who was right on anything that needed attended to.

Neville, the owner, uses a local manager who proved invaluable. Carlos picked us up at the airport in Cancun (from a delayed flight) stocked the kitchen with groceries, arranged a rental car, and tracked down and delivered our lost luggage. We were able to just relax.

Neville also lined us up with an excellent dive shop, Almost Heaven Adventures. Because this is his vacation home, he has some helpful knowledge of Puerto Morelos.

Our favorite restaurant was Dona Triny's and Cafe de A'Mancia. Stop by Alma Libre Books for the rundown on PM early in your stay. They're great for tourist info from gringos who live in town. The best ice cream ever is across the town square at El Michoacan. We went every day, at least once.

It is really quiet, not many people stroll south of the Port.
There are two downsides. First, although the Palma Real beach is perfect, the neighbors will not clean theirs, or allow the PR folks to clean it for them, so It's less than perfect. Also, the walk around the port is, well, industrial area in Mexico. It's no big deal, but not a picturesque stroll.

One of the people staying in the condo did a fair amount of kite boarding. The wind was pretty consistent, and south of the port is outside the national park, so windsurfing and kite boarding are permitted. There is nobody on the water, and no really big waves because of the barrier reef.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our homeowner association now pay our condo managers to clean up the beach about 100 yards on either side of Palma Real so it's much nicer for everybody !

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review