reviews for: listing #35839 - Barbados, Caribbean Apartment rental

only US$199 per night for 3 bedrooms
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $199 /nt
    $833 - $1,393 /wk
    $3,332 - $5,572 /mth

sort by:

Wonder week with family

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Spent a week in the Mermaid Apt with my wife and three children. Ages 8,13, 16. Wonderful experience, everything stated by previous reviewers is correct. A beautiful beach is a short walk away, and is very private. Saw one other local couple enjoying it while we we were there. If you plan on sightseeing, rent a car as most of the attractions are about 20 -30 minutes away, closer to the Caribbean side of the island. Also, most of the restaurants are away from this side of the island, so if you don't plan on doing some of you own cooking, a automobile is desirable. The bus stop to town is just 2 minute walk around the corner.

Overall this is the perfect place, and the perfect location if you want to have access to it all. Peace and tranquility, reasonable access to attractions, close to airport, safe, great beach, and a wonderful sea breeze that beats any air conditioned hotel room!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to having you as a guest again at Mermaid Apartments. Yes, those sea breezes are something special, aren't they!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful apartment!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

Everything was exactly as described on the website. What must be also mentioned is how homey and cosy this lovely apartment was, and so quiet and peaceful after our ten days at Hastings! The property is very clean and everything show attention to detail, the furnishings are very lovely and we really enjoyed every facet of the property....we had evening glasses of wine on the upper deck and watched the beautiful colors of the sky and setting sun, we enjoyed our breakfast and lunch in the covered patio with the comfy chairs, we had romantic dinners by candlelight at the glass topped table, and enjoyed preparing our own meals in the well equipped Italian kitchen! The internet service was great, and we also reclined after dark, watching a movie on the leather sofa. The bed was very comfortable, and the entire layout is very spacious.

Maggie was tremendously helpful and responded quickly and often to my emails with various questions. I would definitely recommend this to a friend, as long as it was still available for us to rent!

We enjoyed walking every morning, we took many different routes, but found our favorite walking adventure was to the ruins at Sam Lord's Castle, the Shark Hole, and also walking along the cliffs with the amazing views of the ocean.

We also loved just relaxing and enjoying the view of the gardens, the sound of the sea, going to nearby Ginger Bay and exploring the 'bat cave' there. We ate at Cutter's - they have terrific 'cutters' (flying fish sandwiches) and they will also deliver right to Crane beach, they come by every noon hour to see if you want to order anything. We did, and it was very convenient. We also enjoyed the rum punch at the Crane, be sure to check out their happy hour from 530 - 630 every evening (except Monday), the pina coladas were tasty as well.

We cooked our own meals, so didn't try any other restaurants.

We absolutely loved our stay and have already planned to return again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Picking up the keys and getting to the apartment went very smoothly. We were impressed with both the apartment and its location. The apartment was huge and well appointed. It really felt like a home away from home. Located in a safe area, nestled amongst some million dollar homes, it's just a short walk to a quiet beach.

What did we like best?
- spaciousness. You won't feel caged in here.
- the breeze throughout the place was wonderful, especially for sleeping.
- huge roof top deck and it's view.
- sunroom for reading
- bright airy bedrooms with lots of closet space
- large bathrooms
- big kitchen with icemaker
- fast reliable WiFi
- excellent cable TV. We didn't miss any of our favourite shows from back home.
- quiet

We liked everything about this place. We've visited Barbados every year for over 40 years. This will be our accomodation of choice in the future. Thank you for making such a beautiful place available!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous place to stay

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

Great place. Apartment was immaculate & beautifully furnished. Great view of ocean. 5 minute walk to a private sandy beach & 10 minutes to Crane Resort. Kitchen was fully equipped and it was great to have a barbeque. Loads of clean towels and linens. Internet worked perfectly. Super upper deck for evening cocktails. The Property Manager was very nice & super helpful. Only bad thing was our visit was too short - will stay longer next time!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay, Alina. We look forward to having you as a guest again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise at Crane Beach

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

Mermaid Apartments were everything we had hoped for. Situated in a peaceful residential area by Crane beach, the sound of the surf sent us to sleep at night and the cooling breezes from the Atlantic ocean kept us cool. The accommodation was comfortable, spacious and extremely well equipped. Nowhere is that far by car and we explored all over the island during our month's stay, always delighted to be able to return 'home' to the apartment. friends who live in Barbados came to visit and were so impressed they are thinking of renting it for 'local' vacations! A magic spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: patricia you're a delight! thanks so much! we've always preferred the breezy south east coast. look forward to having you stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet, comfortable and clean

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

We recently stayed at Mermaid Apartments for a week and enjoyed it very much. The apartment is exactly as represented and is very clean and comfortable. We rented it as a one bedroom, so after we had made our choice of bedroom, the other two were locked off. The apartment is very roomy and especially useful is the glassed in verandah because the property is on the windy side of the island. Here you could open windows to let in as much breeze as you wanted but still be sheltered. There was maid service three times a week and the management company was helpful and readily available to answer questions. This all added up to a very pleasant stay and terrific value for the money.
It is only a 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach but you do need a car to go anywhere else. The Crane Hotel is a 5 minute drive away and it has several restaurants. There is also a good Bajan Deli closer to the apartment but it is only open during the day. There is a large grocery store 10 minutes drive away. However if you want to visit the main tourist area with its myriad of restaurants and shops, it is a 30 minute drive. We would certainly recommend this apartment to anyone who wants a quiet and comfortable place to get away from it all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

I have stayed in Barbados many times. I must say our stay at Mermaid apartments was the best. The location was so convenient, the staff at the office was kind and helpful. The rooms were clean and our housekeeper was hard working and thorough. I will be staying at Mermaid again - actually, the very next chance I get !!! What a fantastic experience.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

We found everything we needed at Mermaid. Great location, all the ammenities,wonderful breezes,friendly staff,and exellent acomadations.I can't think of anything we could have needed more.I would not hesitate to return and recomend the Mermaid not only for value but location, ease and sheer beauty.
Thanks for a top notch rental,
Pete and Linda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review