reviews for: listing #3585 - Newport, Oregon Cottage rental

Oceanfront Cottage on Oregon Coast- Windside Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $850 /wk

sort by:

Great getaway!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

I've stayed at Windside Cottage several times and had a blast. It's secluded just enough to make you feel like you have the entire beach to yourself, yet is only minutes away from wonderful restaurants, shopping and marina. The view from the kitchen over the patio and onto the ocean is spectacular at sunset, and the top deck has amazing views both ways. The vibe of Windside Cottage is very homey and welcoming. This the perfect spot for a family vacation, a girls getaway or a romantic holiday. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great getaway!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

I've stayed at Windside Cottage several times and had a blast. It's secluded just enough to make you feel like you have the entire beach to yourself, yet is only minutes away from wonderful restaurants, shopping and marina. The view from the kitchen over the patio and onto the ocean is spectacular at sunset, and the top deck has amazing views both ways. The vibe of Windside Cottage is very homey and welcoming. This the perfect spot for a family vacation, a girls getaway or a romantic holiday. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Ocean Getaway

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

Your Review
is Pending
Please read and confirm your review for Property #10844 below.









Review #5065982 Perfect Beach Getaway

My husband, son and I had a lovely stay at Windside Cottage recently. The house is the perfect size--not too large, not too small. The master bedroom upstairs was especially nice, and our two-year-old son slept perfectly in the room below. It was so peaceful.The place was immacutely clean, the kitchen furnished with everything we needed to cook our own meals. The view of the ocean was breathtaking. We also loved the private stairway right down to the beach. I had been here previously with a group of girlfriends, and we had a wonderful time during that visit as well. Newport has great shops, fun restaurants, deep sea fishing, crabbing, clamming and more. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

This lovely beach home provided an incredible getaway for myself as well as my family. The views are nothing short of spectacular, with complete privacy and full amenities. I found everything about our stay enjoyable; from the adorable ocean themed décor to the miles of virtually private beach – this was a vacation to remember. We loved sitting out on the private balcony that is connected to the master bedroom and watching the beautiful sunsets. There is also a large front deck that looks directly out onto the beach; in fact, there is a stunning view from practically everywhere in the house. We had hours of playing and exploring on the beach, and it was so nice to have our own private access. Unfortunately, we did not have time to visit all of the attractions the area has to offer, so we will be back next year for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Week At The Beach

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We had a lovely time at windside cottage, It was roomy, and very clean I would probably stay there again, But there are some things you should be aware of.
First and foremost, there are no blinds on any of the windows, except in the one bedroom down stairs, this wouldn't usually bother me, but when we were there it was beautiful and sunny and at some point as the sun comes down to set, you have it glaring into the living area. It becomes hot and unable to see the TV annoying, it also make it very difficult to sleep in, and if there's anyone on the beach they get to see you get dressed in the morning from the room upstairs.
The second is the stairs to the beach do not go all the way to the beach, they are about four feet short of the beach, and then you have to scale down about two and a half feet of boulders to land on smaller rocks and then the beach. I didn't find this very difficult to do it's just something you should know.
The third and the last is the mattress up stairs in the loaf is none existent, totally flat and not fit to sleep on, so please bring a air mattress.
These things are small, but they are things that knowing will make your stay less stressful.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Windside Cottage review

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

The property is kinda hidden from the 101, we had a little hard time to find the entrance of the drive way. When we walked in the house, the decoration and the million dollars view started our vacation. We had 4 adults and 4 chilren this time, the house was perfect to host our 3 days vacation stay. The deck is perfect to see the beach and ocean, but it was difficult to get down to the beach as the stair case wasn't built all the way to the beach. Too bad the dryer was not operational, and the deck by the master bedroom on the 2 floor was not accessable when we stayed. But the comfort and view were worth more than those little concerns, we may plan for another trip next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed our oceanfront cottage so much. The second floor deck is accessible and fully usable, but the property manger made an error in temporarily restricting it. The specialized dryer has taken time to arrive after ordering, but is now in the process of being installed. The private beach access/stairway exclusively for our guest's utilization is quite easy to use. The last couple of feet are "rock steps" because it is illegal for property owners to encroach on Oregon State beach lands, although some have done so. It is sometimes a minor challenge for the disabled which can be accommodated by the ramp just to the north. Thanks again for your feedback.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winside cottage

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

Such a lovely cottage! Great place for a family to hang out, then disappear down the steps to the beach for long walks on a practically deserted beach. Washer and dryer so soggy clothes can get washed, lots of space to find your own corner or play board games together comfortably. It's our second time staying there, 2 adults with 2 children and it was magical and enjoyable both times. Thoroughly recommend this cottage if you are looking to escape yet a very short jaunt into Newport with all of it's amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An awesome, enchanting place to stay!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

we came in late on a monday afternoon and the management staff might have been gone, but they stayed to help us understand how to get to the property and other details we needed to know. we really enjoyed the privacy of the property, how clean and well it was maintained,how what we needed was well provided for. we would highly recommend this property to all of our friends,the only small item to know is,though the description says two bathrooms, one is really only a half bath; also the last few steps to the beach is with the aid of a rope, maybe some with disabilities or with very small children should be aware of this. we were very close to all amenities in town, and thoroughly enjoyed every shop and cafe we frequented. there was access to all sorts of info in the cottage regarding places to go, to eat or anything else to do! we loved having the decks to view the ocean, the loft bedroom was very romantic. our stay in windside cottage was fantastic!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Windside Cottage

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

This is a very pleasant, cozy place and we had a great time here. Beach access is easy, and most of the time we had the whole beach to ourselves. I was somewhat distressed to find out there was no Wi-Fi; however, after a day I considered it a blessing as I was able to totally relax and not worry about email for a change. The house is clean and well-furnished with fabulous views of the ocean. If we had been there in the winter, we would have missed a fireplace, but for a summer getaway it was fine. The only thing we thought would have been nice was a dishwasher, strictly from a cleanliness standpoint, but I'm sure most people dine out more than we do.

We really loved staying here and would definitely return. It's perfectly located, close enough to Newport to drive in every day and enjoy the town, but far enough out that we felt like we had a lot of privacy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. The high speed internet Wi-Fi does work, very efficiently, but one needs to open the "available networks" function of your computer and you will be able to view the cottage's connection and connect to internet.
Owner

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review