reviews for: listing #35902 - New Orleans, Louisiana House rental

5 Star Rated Architectural Uptown Work off Art off Magazine
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Uptown
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $265 - $490 /nt
    $7,420 - $12,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful place, perfect weekend

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

We stayed here with two other couples in March of 2010. It's a beautiful home and a great location, easy walking to some of our favorite NO restaurants (Dick and Jenny's, Casamento's, Petit Grocery, Lilette) and watering holes (The Columns, Tipitina's). If you've only ever seen the Quarter, this neighborhood will show you the real New Orleans you've been missing, and the house is fantastic. We hope to go again as soon as we can swing it! The owner was completely helpful and responsive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great house

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

We just spent a long weekend in New Orleans with our young adult daughters and their boyfriends. This house and location was perfect for all of us. An easy cab ride into the Quarter; right off of Magazine Street with its fun shops and excellent restaurants; and the house itself is a comfortable respite from the heat and hubbub of New Orleans. The owner is easy to work with and answers all questions promptly. The upstairs master bedroom and bath is huge and there is even a washer and dryer which comes in handy. This is our second time to stay here and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location and great house

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

Came to stay for week over Jazzfest. We were 6 adults and suited us to the ground as a great base. Handy location for lots of local food and easy streetcar journey into centre of French Quarter. Definitely recommend staying here for a holiday base!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed this charming home for a third time!

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

We love this home! We have stayed here for our New Orleans vacation for the past three years and, once again, we are already looking forward to another visit. The location offers easy access to the Quarter and is a half block off of Magazine and all of the great restaurants and shopping available there. We have found the owner to be very helpful and gracious. The home is ultra comfortable and we would recommend this rental without hesitation to friends and family or anyone looking to book a vacation rental in NOLA!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another fantastic stay!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed in the house in 4 years while attending a medical conference. Wow. We didnt think it could be better the 2nd time, but how wrong we were. All the AV equipment has been upgraded, the internet is faster and there's other nice additiions like the Nest thermostats for helping regulate the temperature.

Lots of good restaurants are very close by, whether you want breakfast, lunch or dinner. Obviously the kitchen in the house is also top notch, so if you want a night in with a home cooked meal and to relax and watch a movie, you're catered for on all fronts.

This really does have the feel of a home away from home. We stay in many rented flats and hotels on business trips, but this really is our favourite. We do hope we will be back to New Orleans and get to stay in this lovely house again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Rental!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

Great place to rent! Three couples rented this property for a week in October. Beautiful time to be in New Orleans. The property was everything we expected and more. The owner was very helpful to us. Would rent this property again when in New Orleans.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, Great House!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We rented this home for a week from Dr. Scott and it was very easy to understand where to find keys, when to take the trash out and how to operate anything associated with the house. Located just a block off Magazine Street we found the most beautifully decorated nail salon just, nice treat while vacationing. We found an amazing oyster bar and so much more just a block from the house. A few block walk took us to the trolly car, grocery store and anything you would need or want. We really enjoyed the ease of the trolly vs paying for parking. We spent two days in the French Quarter before arriving at this home and I can assure you the ability to sleep is so much better at this property. You will be thrilled with this renal.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful base for exploring!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We stayed at Scott's place for 4 nights while we checked out NOLA. It was perfect for us - plenty of room for 6 (4 adults and 2 children), an ideal location next to Magazine Street, easy to get to other parts of the city, great food and drink nearby (and a very well stocked supermarket in walking distance for eating in). The house is a real stunner - beautifully finished and very comfortable. We needed for nothing and had a fantastic break. Thank you Scott!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home base in NOLA

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

This house has become our home away from home as we are repeat offenders! My husband is from New Orleans and whenever we visit, this is where we want to stay. Not only is the house comfortable and well kept, it has every amenity you'd want in rental home. The location is also perfect - just off of Magazine Street, which offers great restaurants and shopping. Grocery stores are super close for those times you don't want to eat out. It's centrally located to most of what you'd want to do in the city (Audubon Park, French Quarter, Art District). To top it off, the owner is incredibly responsive and professional - a plus in the event you run into any issues or have any questions. Definitely recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

Excellent property in a quiet section of Magazine Street. The property was fantastic with plenty of space for our group, the house has been very nicely modernized. I recommend watching Scott's video to get a feel for the place. We can't wait to go back. For those not familiar with New Orleans, the house is in a great location for access to the tourist areas of the french quarter and wharehouse district, but not in the tourist areas. Quiet and safe to walk around with lots of local restaurants (Mahony's Po-Boys, Rum House, Nirvana, etc.) to choose from. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Repeat visitor

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

This is our 3rd stay in this beautiful home! Of course now it is feeling like our home away from home! Dr. Scott is extremely accommodating, if possible, we have received early check in or late check out. The home is located 1 blk from Magazine St, so walking to shops, cafes or restaurants is possible. It is a very safe area, so never a fear of bringing our children. We love the outside patio (fenced in for our 2 mini pups) with ceiling fans, outside speakers and a grill. My husband and I have our coffee on the upstairs balcony each morning! I totally recommend this location to anyone looking for the perfect location to enjoy all the fun NOLA has to offer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

We stayed here with my mother and our two children and the house was even better than we expected. The rooms are spacious to enormous, and the house has been beautifully remodeled, with a cute back patio and 2 upstairs balconies. The master bedroom suite is luxurious. The house had everything we might need, including extra linens and kitchen supplies, and it was extremely clean and well kept. There is plenty of parking and the neighborhood is great. There are many restaurants, shops, and bars within easy walking distance. Dr. Scott replied promptly (usually within seconds) to every question we texted him. I hope we get to stay there again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

We rented this wonderful home for 3 days.Dr Scott has managed to take a turn of the century home and modernize it to make it outstanding.We enjoyed the wide open spaces. Each room had something unique about it. The location was very ideal to get to any part of the city. My family will always have fond memories of this long graduation weekend in the Big Easy.The beds were all extremely comfortable. I hope to always stay here on our return trips!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Orleans at its absolute best!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

This house was nothing short of PERFECT! Awesome location - close to the St Charles street car line and #11 Magazine Street bus that took us to the French Quarter and great jazz, and steps away from wonderful shops and first rate restaurants on Magazine Street. Pure ambiance. We were 2 couples - friends who came together from East and West Coast to enjoy some time away in the Big Easy. The layout of the house allowed us each absolute privacy, yet offered a huge space to gather - a well equipped kitchen and sleek living room combo with high ceilings, great tile floors and lots of light pouring in through 3 beautiful french doors out to the deck and patio. The upstairs bedroom was magical, with everything you could ever want in a getaway. The downstairs bedroom and bath equally comfortable. You must try the following restaurants - the first 3 within a 5 minute walking distance on Magazine Street - Casamento's (for the best ever oysters), Le Petite Grocery (everything was wonderful), Magasin Vietnamese Cafe (great pho) and Commander's Palace (elegant foie gras and soft shell crab) - a short 5 minute drive. Dr Scott was a pleasure to deal with - a great host, available immediately. The pictures are great but don't capture the essence of the feel of the house - you have to experience it first hand. We will visit here again, definitely! Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great rental! Fantastic location!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

This was our second year of renting this wonderful property. It is a clean, comfortable, lovely place to stay, exactly as pictured. There is great shopping, dining (Slim Goodies, La Petite Grocery, and many others) in this fun and safe walking area of New Orleans. For those wanting to visit the Quarter and downtown, the house is very well-located with quick access to either and quick access to I-10. The owner checked with us after arrival, making sure that everything was OK, etc. We would definitely rent again here, absolutely from this owner and absolutely this house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome home! Great location!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful home, which is spacious and has so many architectural details. The location was safe, and close to many great restaurants, within walking distance. We highly recommend this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home in New Orleans...Must stay here!!!

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

We had the most amazing time in New Orleans and this amazing home off Magazine only added to our stay. The pictures don't do it justice...we could not believe how big the house was!! The attention to detail was out of this world. Awesome backyard, porches, kitchen, etc. The bed upstairs felt like I was floating on a cloud!! We could not have asked for more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quintessential New Orleans Experience

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

Our production crew rented the property for Super Bowl 2013. It was the perfect home for our needs: Tons of character, amazing light, balcony's everywhere, modern furniture, appliances and entertainment centers. Sleeps 6 very comfortably and has great common areas.

The house is close to everything- great neighborhood. Definitely will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

we felt like kings (and queens)

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

Our daughter arrived ahead of us, and texted us on our arrival at the airport, saying "the house is AWESOME!" It wasn't long before we were able to wholeheartedly confirm her assessment... it is truly awesome, as was/is our host, Dr. Scott, and the location of the house (which soon felt more like a home than a house). We spent a lot of time just hanging out in beautiful rooms of the house and walking around the neighborhood. I LOVED the architectural detail in all the rooms, and the glorious flood of light into the major big rooms- most welcome for those of us who had fled the icy northeast! There was everything we needed in the house, and we are needy people, especially when it comes to technology. The big bed upstairs was the most comfortable I've slept in for years. I felt like Goldilocks. Apart from the gorgeous aesthetics of the house, the ample space is a fabulous feature- large rooms for lounging around in, and lots of little private spaces, especially outdoors, for being alone or with someone special. All in all, we would all highly, highly recommend this place and would certainly return if we ever get the chance. We loved our New Orleans visit, and a big part of that was this lovely house/home. Thanks, Dr. Scott!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

We are just finishing up a family reunion that involved two of us from New Jersey, one from Florida and another from Queensland, Australia. We are all Australian expats. We came to our "new home" on a Sunday and Dr. Scott was great in arranging for an early check in for our daughter, who had come in from Australia. We arrived later that day and immediately began to enjoy the comforts and resources of this great home away from home. Immediately we began to work our way through the restaurants Dr. Scott had recommended and many were within comfortable walking distance. The highlight of the restaurants was Cafe Atchafalaya!! It was a real delight. Unusual and high end--the owner was pleasant and attentive and the wait staff were on the ball. The food was exquisite and the mixed drinks were an adventure. The Audubon zoo and park also are close to this residence and well worth a visit.

We had ample hot water, laundry facilities, cable TV with a good selection, DVD replay facilities, and lots of spaces. We loved the private balconies for quiet reading, writing and basking in the sun. The wi-fi was strong and available too!

The house itself is conveniently located and has any resource we felt we might have needed. From convenient food markets, coffee shops, to restaurants--all are within a short walk. Also, the St Charles trolley cars are just 5 minutes away.

There is no doubt that this "home away from home" was the hub for a great visit to Nawlins. Thanks Dr. Scott.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

My husband and I come to New Orleans about once every other month. We have stayed in many rentals over the last few years. Always searching for the perfect one! We think this may be the one! The home is beautiful, very clean, light, open and contemporary designed. The beds are extremely comfortable, and we love the upstairs master suite and the Apple TV (we feel as we are home listening to our own music)! The location could not be better, 1 blk off a great area of Magazine St. We love the privacy of the patio, and the upstairs balcony is perfect for morning coffee! We cook, so having the gas stove and open kitchen was a plus! We loved it so much, we booked for the next available spot in Feb.!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time in New Orleans over Thanksgiving week. This home is so comfortable and in a great location. You can walk everywhere or catch the street car down to the French Quarter. Shopping and restuarants are a easy walk. Thanks to our great host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place to stay in New Orleans

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

I cannot begin to say enough about how great this rental was for us! Dr.Scott was in constant communication with me before our trip and once we arrived at his home we were amazed- the pictures definitely don't do it justice! The home was amazing, down to every last detail... My husband and I stayed in the upstairs "suite," which was a giant open space with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in- nice little wet bar and a great bathroom with an awesome shower. Our friend stayed in the downstairs room which was great as well and has its own bathroom as well. We loved having the backyard area and porch to hang out and the kitchen speaks for itself. The location was perfect, we took cabs where we needed to go our just walked- nice area and we were happy to not be staying right near Bourbon Street- this house was pure relaxation and I would never stay anywhere else when we go back. Thanks Dr. Scott!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Attentive owner, great location

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Well kept property, great location. Owner very attentive to needs and promptly attended to a broken microwave. Quiet and safe neighbourhood.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming, spacious & great location...very upscale

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

Two couples and a single stayed here and had plenty of room. The location is superb. You can ride the streetcar (trolley) to access the French Quarter, Canal Street or the Riverwalk. It's a short walk to St Charles and only a block from Magazine Street. The house has upscale furnishings and beautiful decorative features. There is so much natural light that just floods downstairs. The kitchen is really nice and has everything you need. The house is so comfortable. The patio is lovely too. The upstairs bedroom and bathroom are just huge and have balconies and a wet bar area. The bed is super comfortable. A person could live up there! There are 2 bedrooms downstairs and two bathrooms. It felt like you were in a really nice home. We would stay here again in a heatbeat!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So much better than a hotel!

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My family loved this house! The location is perfect for visiting the garden district, walking to the streetcar or driving to the french quarter, and the street is quiet - no traffic noise. There are plenty of restaurants nearby - we liked Gott Gourmet Cafe for brunch - and Wholefoods is only a ten minute drive if you want to self cater.
At first, I was slightly concerned about the lack of curtains in the master suite, but I actually loved waking up and seeing the trees through the french windows and the light is not bright. The other two bedrooms do have curtains.
It was pretty warm in New Orleans during our stay, but the house stays lovely and cool, with the high ceilings and fans, and air conditioning. We were able to enjoy evening meals outside in the courtyard, as the porch ceiling fans kept us cool.
We had a great stay and would definitely rent this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House, Nice Location

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 3, 2011

We stayed at this property during Jazzfest and we had a wonderful stay. In response to other reviewers, that house was clean when we arrived and looked just like the photos/video! It is truly a beautiful home. The 3rd bedroom does only have a curtain, but we knew that in advance and it was not a problem for us. The bed in there seemed full-size (but smallish) it had a tempurpedic mattress and our friend found it quite comfortable. The upstairs mastersuite is beautiful- I only feel sad we didn't use the balconies more. I was a little worried about the mention of outdoor cats, as I am terribly terribly allergic, but they do not seem to hang out on the back patio hammock or furniture (at least not when people are around!) so it was no problem.

The location is great -- right on the busline, walking distance to restaurants and bars (including Tipitinas), the st charles streetcar, biking distance to the french quarter and fairgrounds. Our group did bus passes and bike rentals and both worked out great for getting around town. Don't skip Surrey's for breakfast -- a 10 minute walk. We ate there 5 out of our 7 days!! Amazing fresh juice and great food. No bloody marys, but the place next door (le bon temps roule) had great bloodies you could buy and bring over. A great location to feel a little further out from the craziness of the quarter, but still easy enough to get to everything.

All in all, great stay and we would recommend to friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Magazine Street location and value

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

Our family of four has stayed at this home twice, when visiting our son who lives in New Orleans. It is a lovely, comfortable layout with many unique architectural features. The pictures are very accurate. The upstairs masters suite is especially pleasant, with a lot of natural light and a balcony. We appreciated the excellent washer and dryer on our longer visit. Close to many good restaurants on Magazine St. and easy drive downtown. We have been very pleased and will be booking the home again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing house and location!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

My friends and I stayed here during the Rock & Roll New Orleans Marathon. It was in a great location and close to so many great shops. We loved uptown and liked having access to everything. The house was nice and the owners were great.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Holiday

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Our family stayed during the 2010/11 holiday. The description of the house was deceiving! No curtains, No privacy! The house was VERY dirty! Would not recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Owners response: There was NO deception. My photos and the video clearly show that all windows have curtains or roll up shades. "No curtains, No privacy!" is simply incorrect. Please be sure to view these. I think the good reviews speak for themselves.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not a real 3 bedroom home.

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

This home is not a 3 bedroom home. There is a small 3rd room without a door, just a see through curtain with no closet and a futon. It's OK for a child but not an adult. The 3rd adult in our party had no place to hang clothes (we were there for a huge expo) and couldn't get comfortable on the futon. We tried the owner's blow up mattresses but they leaked. There are outdoor cats that someone comes to feed daily and the owner lives in the home year around. It was not a comfortable arrangement for us to live among someone else's home. We don't think the home was cleaned prior to our arrival yet we were charged a cleaning fee. I would not recommend this home.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: "It was not a comfortable arrangement for us to live among someone else's home." I think that this statement made in the review by the renter shows why a poor review was made...they apparently were expecting hotel or small condo. If you prefer a hotel or condo, I suggest that you pick another property. This IS my home and I make this very clear IN the description of my home. She wasn't going to be happy with my home BECAUSE it is "someone else's home". That being said, there ARE 3 bedrooms, and the futon has been replaced by a regular full bed in the smaller bedroom since their stay. My photos AND video show and state clearly that this bedroom has a curtained entrance; it DOES have a small closet with a spot to hang clothes (their statement is incorrect). I have had the same 2 ladies for the last 3 years spend 6 hours thoroughly cleaning and preparing the outside and inside prior to EACH new renter (I pay them $200 but charge the renters $195) and they are good. I also realize that NO level of "clean" may be acceptable to some very "meticulous" renters, so please keep that interpretation in mind. I have many regular repeat renters over the years and cleanliness has never been an issue. As a veterinarian, I understand the importance of proper cleanliness, and I expect it in my home at all times. The good reviews speak for themselves. Always feel free to contact me personally with any concerns or questions.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Uptown House

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

I stayed here with my family over Tulane graduation weekend. The house is on a quiet street steps from Magazine St. and it's shopping, restaurants, and 2 blocks from a coffee house and within walking distance to the St. Charles streetcar line, which we felt safe walking at night. You are within walking distance of Ignatius, Lilette, and Le Petite Grocery, which are just a few of the close by businesses. Your are a short streetcar ride to the French Quarter or farther Uptown to the zoo, Tulane or Loyola campuses. The house is exactly as the photos show and the house was clean and well maintained. The owner lives in town and left contact info. I would highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review