reviews for: listing #35916 - Galveston, Texas Condo rental

"Galveston Tropical Palms" at Maravilla-3 pools/hot tub
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Maravilla Condos
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $300 /nt
    $900 - $1,600 /wk
    $1,800 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

My husband & I really enjoyed our stay at the Maravilla, it was soooo relaxing we wish we had more time 2 nights just wasn't enough. Thx for accommodating us on such short notice, it was relaxing , romantic & very comfortable I can't wait to rent from the Swanson's again !!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you could visit on short notice. When we have a last minute opening we try to be as accommodating as possible AND reduce the rates for last minute guests. We agree - we find Galveston Tropical Palms relaxing and romantic. We look forward to your next visit in this condo or one of our other 5 condos - all a bit different. Larry and Marilyn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Condo with all the amenities!

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Maravilla and in Galveston, so much to do my son and I can't wait to go back for more. We loved walking to the Seawall, batting cages and mini golf course in the evenings and enjoying as much sunshine as we could get. Marilyn and Larry were so accommodating, and the condo had cozy towels and beds too. My son also enjoyed the island pool and hot tub oasis as he calls it. What a great place to relax and take it easy, listen to the ocean and enjoy natural beauty! Thanks again! Looking forward to next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maravilla Galveston Tropical Palms

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

What an incredible condo. It was absolutely beautiful and had everything we could have possibly needed or wanted. Parking was a breeze. Ocean views from the deck. The pools, hot tub, all were fantastic. We got some excellent restaurant suggestions and enjoyed one of them(although we wanted to try them all) while we were there. The weather was supposed to be bad but turned out beautiful. We were so relaxed that when we thought we'd take a break and relax on the deck we ended up dozing off and sleeping for a couple of hours. You can't do that unless the location is great and it was! Thanks again to Marilyn for being a perfect host and a great person to work with... couldn't ask for a better contact in Galveston. Can't wait to book again soon...

We so appreciate your hospitality Marilyn. It was a great Easter and we will plan on coming back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted that you were able to spend Easter weekend at our condo. We so enjoyed the Easter Sunrise Service this year on the Seawall. Maybe Easter in Galveston will become a tradition for you. We look forward to your next visit either at this condo or at one of our other 5 condos - all a bit different. Marilyn and Larry (owners)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Galveston Getaway

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Property is immaculate and first class, and it has been tastefully renovated. Huge outdoor balcony overlooking the beautifully landscaped pool and hot tub area. Great location with close proximity to the West Beaches, Schlitterbahn and the Galveston Seawall. I would recommend this property to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to experience Galveston Mardi Gras - always a special time on the Island. We look forward to your next visit. Maybe Mardi Gras 2015?

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

October sunshine with children

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

We could not have asked for a better place to stay in Sunny Galveston. The condo was lovely for me and my children. We were able to prepare delicious meals in the kitchen (everything we needed was there) and enjoy the food overlooking the pool on the balcony. There was plenty of room to sleep and play. My children especially loved the 3ft pool-perfect for kids. The condo is near a free "Sunny Beach" and we had so much fun in the sand and waves. Great ideas for fun places to eat for families--we loved "The Spot"
Condo was clean, relaxing, and everyone was so friendly!! We definitely recommend this condo as your go to spot in Galveston.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you and the children had a special Galveston visit. I have heard many people say that for young children the 3 foot pool is superb! However, I must say that Larry and I prefer like the larger and deeper "resort pool". BTW - the "Spot" is one of our favorite Galveston restaurants. We look forward to your next visit. Marilyn

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

June Fun

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time at your condo! There were 4 adults, a 5 year old, a 4 year old and a 19 month old! We even brought our poodle and there was plenty of room for all of us. The grandkids LOVED the pools. They would have stayed in the pools the whole time if we would have let them. It was really nice to be able to come back to the condo after running around all day and cook dinner and just relax. My favorite spot was the balcony. There was such a nice breeze blowing in the morning and then again in the evening. Thank you Marilyn for being so flexible with us and for mailing us the key we forgot! The condo is so convenient to everything too so we didn't have to spend a lot of time driving back and forth. Hopefully we will make a return visit next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Spring Break 2013

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

The condo at Maravilla was wonderful! All the comforts of home. My husband and I took our 8 year old son, niece and nephew. The set-up of the condo was perfect for us. The kids really enjoyed the pool area. The extra large patio was an added bonus. I would highly recommend booking through Marilyn for your vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad that you had a wonderful spring break holiday at our Tropical Palms. Wow that Galveston weather was incredible and perfect for enjoying the balcony. We look forward to your next visit....maybe this can be a spring break tradition.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Secluded, Quiet & Restful!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

My wife, 10 year old son, and golden retriever simply had a WONDERFUL time staing for 4 days in this condo right during the first 4 days of January! Our stay was secluded, quiet and restful! The unit was larger than what we anticipated, and the lay-out was spendid for a busy family. Beautifully upgraded kitchen fully stocked with utensils, dishes, potwares, etc. We enjoyed sitting in front of the big Tv and watching DVDS as a family (a large selection of DVDS were avalable for our use!). Roomy bedrooms....large walk-in shower.....lot's of closets.....and HUGE patio with comfy furniture!!

The property is located in the more quite, western part of the island.....nice, friendly neighbors.....convenient parking.....near all stores.....very safe! It was truly a "home away from home". Our business interactions with the private property owner, Marilyn, was easy & friendly.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! We're hoping to come back again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Tropical Palms. We too enjoy the huge balcony and gazing at that special tall palm tree when the moon is shining. Likewise we are pleased that you enjoyed our DVDs. We have over 125 different DVDs that we rotate among our five condos so there is lots of different choices from classics to chick flicks to kids DVDs to some "mild" adventure. We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Summer Holiday

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Condo was clean and comfortable.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Perfect for get away

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

This was my fourth time to rent at the Maravilla and each time seems better than before. The condo was spacious and equipped with every thing we needed to entertain ourselves. The patio is always our favorite spot to gather and soak up the beautiful scenery and weather. I have never seen the Galveston bay water so blue and inviting. Thank you again for sharing the Tropical Palms. I'll be back and soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We so enjoy our repeat visitors (who become our friends). In addition, we appreciate their ideas and suggestions to make our condo even more inviting. We look forward to your FIFTH visit next year! And I agree, Galveston Bay has been particularly blue this Fall.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

THE PERFECT PLACE TO STAY!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

The Condo was great! Very Spacious inside and out on the balcony. We had 5 adults and a 22 month old with us and we had a great time! The kitchen was well equipped for enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner. The balcony is huge and you can get there by either the living room or the master bedroom which was very convenient! The pools and spa were fantastic also! You can't go wrong renting this condo any time of the year. Marilyn is very nice and makes it so easy to rent and walk right in. Thanks for a great stay and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Likewise you were perfect guests - so glad you could enjoy Galveston and our condo. We look forward to your repeat visits.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Thanks!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

We enjoyed our short Spring Break trip to Galveston, thanks to Marilyn and the use of her wonderful condo! We were really pleased that our Hawaiian-born, beach loving dog could come with us! We all loved the huge lanai that overlooked the pool. The condo was really relaxing and comfortable with beautiful upgraded bathrooms and kitchen. My girls were excited about the amazing pool. My husband and I appreciated the restaurant recommendationso. We have already passed along the condo information to some friends and would definitely return to Maravilla! Thanks for a great family mini-vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great place to stay

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

The condo is great and with everything you can need. Very clean and organize, I would recommended it to other travelers. Definitely I would stay there again.

Thanks Marilyn.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing place to stay

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

We loved our stay here. The condo was so cute, it had a big balcony with a great view. The pool was amazing. We enjoyed just staying at the condo all day. It was so relaxing and very comfortable. The rooms are great. We can't wait to come back and stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

July 4th

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

My fiance and I and two other couples stayed here of July 4th weekend. We had a great stay here. The condo fit 6 comfortably, has an awesome balcony, and awesome pools. Also had a great view of fireworks from right in front of condo. Great condo...great value

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place to Stay!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

I just wanted to let you know how much my family and I enjoyed our week in Galveston. We had a blast!! Thank you for allowing us to rent your condo at Maravilla. My daughters and their friends had a great time. My eldest daughter, Emily, did receive an engagement ring during our stay, so once she has completed college, we'll be planning a wedding. It was certainly nice to relax, enjoy coffee on the balcony (my personal favorite), watch a movie, play games and swim in the awesome pool every day. My daughter's fiance made the comment that "This was the best vacation ever!!" Thanks again for your hospitality.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

~Beautiful, comfortable, and Marilyn is Wonderful!!

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

The condo is absolutely fabulous!!! We had so much fun, the pools are gorgeous and very, very clean!
The condo is also super clean, spacious, and full of modern updates!!!! Marilyn is so wonderful to work with!!! We will come back for sure!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

5 Star Condo! Absolutley must stay here!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

The moment I spoke with Marilyn on the phone I knew that my husband and I would have a great experience in Galveston Texas….and we did!! This spacious condo has all the comforts of home, with many amenities, as well as a view of the ocean and the tropical lush landscaped property and pool. Speaking of the pool….it is enormous, with a swim up bar, and is very well maintained. My husband and I also enjoyed the hot tub and lounging on the large patio that was equipped with a large patio table, lounge chairs and plants…..all the things needed for a romantic dinner, grilling with a group of friends, or sunning and sipping on a cold beverage! (Preferably an alcoholic one) ?

My husband and I have found our “romantic getaway” and will be back and would not think of renting anywhere else!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What fun it is to get to know our guests! When Edie told me she had posted her "Galveston Vacation Photos" on Facebook, I asked to become her "Facebook Friend" - what fun to see pictures of our condo on Facebook. We enjoy sharing our condo with new found friends.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect place to stay in Galveston

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

From the minute I contacted Marilyn, I knew this would be a wonderful experience. Her warmth came through immediately. We were coming to Galveston to support my son in his first Ironman Triathlon and we needed a comfortable place to stay close to Moody Gardens. Marilyn's condo provided that and more. The location was convenient to everything and the condo was absolutely lovely. We were greeted at the front desk by a very friendly woman and felt welcomed immediately. The condo was warm and welcoming. The updated kitchen provides all the amenities you need to make great meals during your stay. Even comes with plenty of wine glasses and champagne flutes for entertaining. The bedrooms were spacious and the master bedroom was especially nice since it has a sliding glass door that leads to the balcony. And speaking of... the huge balcony was the perfect place to sit, drink a glass of wine (or two) and enjoy the beautiful view. The grounds were clean and the swimming pool was inviting. I highly recommend this condo for anyone who wants a relaxing get-away. Marilyn's condo provides all the comforts of home and then some. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect place to stay in Galveston

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

From the minute I contacted Marilyn, I knew this would be a wonderful experience. Her warmth came through immediately. We were coming to Galveston to support my son in his first Ironman Triathlon and we needed a comfortable place to stay close to Moody Gardens. Marilyn's condo provided that and more. The location was convenient to everything and the condo was absolutely lovely. We were greeted at the front desk by a very friendly woman and felt welcomed immediately. The condo was warm and welcoming. The updated kitchen provides all the amenities you need to make great meals during your stay. Even comes with plenty of wine glasses and champagne flutes for entertaining. The bedrooms were spacious and the master bedroom was especially nice since it has a sliding glass door that leads to the balcony. And speaking of... the huge balcony was the perfect place to sit, drink a glass of wine (or two) and enjoy the beautiful view. The grounds were clean and the swimming pool was inviting. I highly recommend this condo for anyone who wants a relaxing get-away. Marilyn's condo provides all the comforts of home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Round two at Marilyn and Larry's condo.

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

Well, we tried it again after the hurricane after the repairs and it is still AWESOME! This time around my son is 3 and my husband was able to join us, his parents and some other family joined us and stayed in the condo next door so we were able to cook in the condos and dine together on the spacious deck as well as spend some time by the pool and walking the beach (it is so close). From the master bedroom you can hear the waves at night! :)Marilyn and Larry are gracious hosts who have thought of many amenities and made their condos comfortable and cozy all in one. There are even enough champagne flutes for 8 to make a toast! The condo was clean, plenty of towels, my son particularly loved the sizable shower. I would highly recommend this as a vacation destination for families or couples, there are so many fun things in Galveston, we were so busy with family we only hit a few but I am anxious to go back and really relax and try to do more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you were able to return and experience Galveston, post-Ike. We look forward to your next visit. Remember all repeat guests receive a 10% discount from our published rates. We look forward to sharing our home away from home with you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

"Wonderful and relaxing and the eather was perfect. We enjoyed every moment at our place, much more than we expected, we never left except to walk the Seawall and hang out on the beach. The kitchen and shower are wonderful and all the colors made it so comfortable. We hope to be regulars in the future. Thanks for a special weekend."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

What a great condo! Lots of extras! Our grandaughter Hailey loved the balcony and pool. We hope to come back. Galveston in October was great! We like the beach in the fall. An added plus was Amos and Shooter (our grandpuppies) were allowed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

Since first staying at the Marivilla in 2006 weve never considered staying anywere else the units were outstanding and Marilyn has become a true friend always handling any problem quickly however minor it was.
We were scheduled to stay in unit 353 this year when 3 days before our visit many of the units in back were destroyed by fire, unfornately i was the bearer of bad news as Marilyn was away on business,we were grief stricken right along with her as the Marivilla had become a home away from home and Marilyn has become more like family and our thoughts and prayers have been with her. Come stay at the Marivilla you wont regret it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Condo is very clean and comfortable and offers latest in updates. The complex is heading for restoration but still offers fantastic pools. Beach is across the street and condo is accessible to all sights.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

We stayed in Marilyn's condo on July 17th thru 19th 2009. Hurricane nor fire can keep us away. This was our third year to stay and it was just as nice as before. Our girls(ages 6,7 and 9)loved the biggest pool and the tikki island as they called it was great. The condo truely felt like home. She has alot of extras you do not expect.... We will be back

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 7, 2008   Date of arrival: September 7, 2008

We just got back from our super relaxing vacation. Your condo was beautiful and just the ticket for a much needed getaway. We loved the views and how conveniently close to everything it was. We especially loved the large and secluded pool and hot tub. The large balcony was perfect for watching the sun set every night and for just relaxing outside. Thank you, thank you for providing such a wonderful place and for the fun experience the last night we were there. We will be back for sure!

*Please tell Larry his corned beef was to die for!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 12, 2008   Date of arrival: May 12, 2008

What a wonderful way spend a weekend get away. Your beautiful condo,conveniently located, with the spacious balcony and perfect spot above the large pool and view of the Gulf of Mexico was just the ticket. You have taken care to provide all the necessities and then some. The kitchen is well equipped for fixing those vacation meals and the balcony is huge and a perfect spot for entertaining. We look forward to coming back again on our next Galveston vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 24, 2007   Date of arrival: September 24, 2007

What a fantastic place to enjoy my 37th birthday. There is nothing better than a wonderful place to relax in, fantastic friends and plenty of sunshine! The condo is just beautiful. We Loved the VIEWS! You've thought of everything on the inside as well. Thank you for allowing us to have a getaway in your little piece of Heaven. Marilyn, you're a jewel. We'll talk again real soon.......

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 30, 2007   Date of arrival: May 30, 2007

Just wanted to leave a note saying what a wonderful
time we had at Maravilla, the condo was spacious
and really worked out great for our group. The
location is perfect for many of the assets the island
has to offer. Not to mention the views from the
patio, I am not sure which was better, being able to
watch the kids in the pool or watching the sun
slowly sink into the ocean.

Also, thank you for providing so many extra
ammenities, it is obvious you enjoy sharing your
condo with others and want us to enjoy it too. We
look forward to making this an annual trip and will
be in touch next year, be sure to save us a spot.
Thanks again-
Alyssa Morrissette

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review