reviews for: listing #359257vb - Honaunau, Hawaii rental

Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Group from Vancouver

Review submitted: April 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

The house is ideally located, lots of sun in the spring and close to the ocean, where we can snorkel. We definitely enjoyed it wholeheartedly. My kids think this was their best vacation and I have to include their experience in this house. We got to enjoy the very unique backyard where all sorts tropical fruit trees are. Eating apple bananas, soursop just harvested was quite an experience. It is not hard to tell that the owners have put a lot of thoughts into the house, from body boards to bikes, from sandwich bags to hand towels. Very convenient! I have told a couple of my friends who are interested in visiting big island next time, I am sure they will be as fulfilled as we were. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super family get-away, with all sorts of extras!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

We stayed at Marci's Tropical Dream from March 18-24, 2014, and couldn't be more pleased. We brought 10 people in all, mostly family but also a family friend/couple. Our party included two married couples, two teenaged children from one of the couples, two seniors (the teens' grandmothers on both sides of the family, one of whom was in a wheelchair), and two additional single women. For two dinners, we were joined by additional family members who live on the island as well. The house easily accommodated all of us. The house was clean and comfortable, and in a great location. The kitchen came fully equipped, including a nice blender perfect for making tropical smoothies and blended drinks. The oven, toaster oven, microwave, dish washer, coffee maker, and large refrigerator/freezer met our needs well. The bedding was clean, high-quality, and comfortable. The house included both bath and beach towels, with plenty to go around. An added bonus is the variety of beach gear (snorkels, fins, boogie boards). We didn't use the bicycles, but they were a nice touch. The owners were wonderfully accommodating. We recommend this property highly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect multi-family get-away!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

We stayed at Marci's Tropical Dream from March 18-24, 2014, and couldn't be more pleased. We brought 10 people in all, mostly family but also a family friend/couple. Our party included two married couples, two teenaged children from one of the couples, two seniors (the teens' grandmothers on both sides of the family, one of whom was in a wheelchair), and two additional single women. For two dinners, we were joined by additional family members who live on the island as well. The house easily accommodated all of us. The house was clean and comfortable, and in a great location. The kitchen came fully equipped, including a nice blender perfect for making tropical smoothies and blended drinks. The oven, toaster oven, microwave, dish washer, coffee maker, and large refrigerator/freezer met our needs well. The bedding was clean, high-quality, and comfortable. The house included both bath and beach towels, with plenty to go around. An added bonus is the variety of beach gear (snorkels, fins, boogie boards). We didn't use the bicycles, but they were a nice touch. The owners were wonderfully accommodating. We recommend this property highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

How did we get so lucky to find this house for our vacation?

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

This is the place, stop looking for and waisting your time. It is awesome!
It seems to be in jungle, but same time next to the highway. The garden... to see how are growing the plants and fruits and geckos and all these exciting sounds. We made a recording of these and now in home it is possible to jump right back.
In this house, there is everything you need and even more, nothing is missing. And the photos represent it very well. The owners have furnished all like for home not for just rental house, you can feel the touch of creators. They always are willing to help and suggest and more, we were surrounded from their warm alohas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

I was fortunate enough to have been able to spend 1 month at Marci's Tropical Dream on the Big Island of Hawaii. Needless to say it was a vacation I will never forget. Chuck and Marci exemplify the meaning of aloha and made sure I was comfortable during my stay. They were able to make recommendations on places to go and things to do as well as restaurants to try. Absolutely everything I could have asked for was provided for me including books, movies, snorkel gear, boogie boards, coolers etc. This home is very spacious and clean and the geckos are friendly. It truly was a home away from home and I will miss it greatly. Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place of Respite and Relaxation with Fresh Fruit and Warm Aloha

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

This was my second stay at Marci's Tropical Dream House, and I will most definitely return again!
I really love this house. Chuck and Marcy have thoughtfully provided all the little extras to live comfortably. I picked this place because of its proximity to my beloved Honaunau Bay, I returned because Chuck and Marcy's Aloha Spirit and Eco-Consciousness aligns with my own. They are very careful, for instance, to only use non-toxic cleaners in the house, and small details like the solar panels and the composter in the yard show me that they really do care about the environment as a whole.
The house itself is beautifully decorated and filled with antiques, artwork, and plenty of charm. I always feel quite relaxed and at home here, and cannot wait to return again!!! Highly Recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Group of 8,Waterloo,Ontario

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

Marci"s Tropical Dream was quite perfect for the eight of us travelling. We found it was well represented in the write-up, comfy beds, nice linens, and lots of room to accomodate all our needs. We were amazed at the well stocked kitchen, extra amenities to assist with meal preps, all the fun equipment you would ever need for fun at the beach....and a wonderful stock of games and books to supply entertainment in the evening. We lacked nothing, and everyone enjoyed the supply of fresh fruit in the garden! We appreciated the directions and suggestions from Marci and Chuck on where to source local foods, coffee, groceries, etc. They are certainly warm and congenial, and most willing to assist, and we were delighted to make their acquaintance prior to our departure. Hopefully we will return, and enjoy this special place, once again.....it is a wonderful area to explore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house! Wonderful owner

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

We are delighted to have chosen Marci's Tropical Dream house. Clean, charming, comfortable, very well equipped and well located. The house is perfect! We felt at home right from the start and when we met Chuck and Marcy, we were imbued with the essence of the people on the island. Marcy and Chuck are more than charming; they are adorable and very helpful. A place to return without hesitation! Thank you Marci, Thank you Chuck,
The 3 girls from Quebec!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house! Wonderful owner!

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

We are delighted to have chosen Marci's Tropical Dream house. Clean, charming, comfortable, very well equipped and well located. The house is perfect! We felt at home right from the start and when we met Chuck and Marcy, we were imbued with the escence of the people on the island. Marcy and Chuck are more than charming, they are adorable and very helpfull. A place to return without hesitation!
Thank you Marci, Thank you Chuck,
The 3 girls from Quebec!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Camper

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Marci's Tropical Dream!! The house fit our needs just right. Chuck & Marci were very welcoming and so willing to help! It was great being so close to the beach and having so many places to go and see close to the house. And it was nice having such a great home to return to each day. We would definitely stay here again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy Camper

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

Marci's Troical Dream was an excellent place to stay! We really enjoyed our time there. Although we didn't require the help, Chuck and Marci were very open to helping us in any way and were very welcoming! We were very happy with the price and enjoyed being just a few minutes away from the beach. There was a lot to see and do not far from the house. It was nice to have a home to return to at the end of everyday.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Really enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Great location and loved that they have a couple bikes (it is on a road that isn't too busy and makes for a really nice bike ride with coffee farms and nut farms and other places to stop). The owners made us feel very welcome and the price was very reasonable.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home in fantastic part of the Big Island

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Our family of 6 loved staying at this very nice home. It was spacious, well maintained, equipped with great recreational equipment to use, easy to feel at home in. Beds are super comfy. Garden is a wild but fun (and spidery!) place to explore for kids. We loved picking fruit from the garden, and watching out for adorable geckos. The closeness to our favorite swimming spots (2-Step and Kealekuka bays) was fantastic. Kids toys and plenty of "basics" in the pantry topped off our enjoyment of the place. We are scuba divers, and there was plenty of room to clean and dry our gear in the yard.

We did find the bedrooms to be noisy at night--the car noise from the highway the house abuts combined with the "jungle noises" of Coqui frogs and other creatures meant earplugs were a necessity for us. That was our only complaint!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Oh, what a lovely place!

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We were only there 2 nights, but wish we had arranged to stay longer. On the first night, we were 4 couples, the second night, three couples. The place is lovely, and the photos represent it well! It is truly tucked away in the jungle with a yard for alfresco dining, sunbathing and just generally lounging outdoors. We used all of the lanais - a travelling party around the house, and were very comfortable in the living room when we settled in with a freshly-purchased ukeleli! The location is fantastic, for the great shops in Captain Cook and the connected towns, and for heading down to the beach.
We'd like to thank the owners - they were kind and accommodating! Highly recommended.
By the way, the little restaurant - about 1 km away - fabulous!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best place to rent (Owner Chuck and Marci were very helpful and live close by the rental prop.)

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

Overall a great experience. We enjoyed our stay at Marci's tropical dream as we got to enjoy the great tropical fruits everyday. The owners are very carrying and has everything you need in the house. If you like quite and relaxing place, look no further.

Thank you Chuck and Marci for all your help!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Marci's Tropical Dream was a great place to stay and the description was very accurate of the house.

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We arrived on May 25, 2012 and the house was well-maintained gorgeous. I will say the pictures do not do the house justice. It is more magnificent in person. Marci & Chuck were very kind and courteous and made us feel right at home. They took time out of their day to make sure we were settled in and explain and answer all of our questions. I was very impressed with all the amenities Marci & Chuck have provided for their guest. Like board games, electric foreman grill, washer/dryer, snorkeling gear, beach towels, coolers, chairs, outside patio furniture, hammock upstairs in the master bed room and sitting area, bathroom amenities. I am recommending this house to all of family and friends and next year we will be returning. We had an awesome time at Hookena beach & Two Step snorkeling and even got to see local guys catching fish with nets. The Farmer's Markets had great music, good food, and nice gifts to take home. We got to interact with the locals and everyone is so friendly and kind. We visited Solomon's & Canaan's local coffee farm that is family own and they hand pick all their coffee beans. Old Kona is an awesome place if you would like to more on the modern side of things with great beaches and a Farmer's Market on Wednesday that is cool. We went out on a fishing trip through LInda Sue II and caught a Ono Fish, We grilled and ate that several nights. We cooked breakfast and dinner at the house. The kitchen was fully supplied with cook ware and we took advantage of it. We ate out only a few times for lunch at the local restaurants like L&L Authentic Hawaiian Restaurant & Super J's they both serve authentic food. We had dinner on our last night at Manago's Hotel, it is a 3rd generation hotel that serves a great New York Steak and Pork Chops with great side dishes.
Mahalo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rest - Relaxation - Rejuvination & Play

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Marci and Chuck, What and incredible home away from home you have created. You really did think of everything. From the comfy inviting colorful decor to all the great water toys, you made it all so easy. Everything is sparkling clean, well stocked and well organized. I rested in the sun and in the cool shadows while listening to the wonder nature sounds of Hawaii. The light and bright views from every window and door as well as the master lani were so inviting and the colorful decor truly makes one happy to experience. The home is wonderfully located for exploration of the island and a peaceful, restful place to come home to. I enjoyed your local knowledge and specific input on things that might be of interest to me personally. Also I loved the sign in book with info of your many other guests on their own island favorites, (food, fun and adventures). The home is a wonderful reflection of the beauty and nature of Hawaii and I will recommend it to all my friends, family and contacts. Everyone will find some special aspects of your Tropical Dream Vacation Home enchanting. Thank you for sharing your dream home and Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nature's Beautiful-Peaceful-Restful-Dream

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Yes! Yes! Yes! Marci and Chuck, What a wonderful dream you had. And, thank you for making it come true for all of us who have had the opportunity to stay in your space. It is enchanted. I have read your many comments and can only say that I agree that it is a 5Star+ destination. The home is a vacation in itself and I did not want to leave it. From the wonderful creature comforts and beautiful art to the detail of all the water day conveniences, you thought of it all. Nestled in the beauty of the lush Hawaiian hillside, I was able to blend into the peaceful setting of nature that is magnified there. I was perfectly happy just lounging, dreaming and reading. I will recommend it to all my friends on island and off for its preferred location and charming warmth as well as your own. Aloha...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

My husband and I rented this house for our family (2 young kids) and the grandparents. The house is lovely - the interior is beautiful as are the grounds (we had to spend a fair amount of time inside during nap time). I especially loved the master bedroom. We ended up not even using one of the bedrooms - the house is well laid out and quite spacious.

The house is clean and well maintained and we especially appreciated the extra items for the kids - Chuck and Marci provided us with a pack and play and child's bed as well as a booster seat and high chair. Plus there were some toys at the house for the kids to play with. On the adult side I really appreciated having all the beach stuff at hand - towels, mats, umbrella, snorkel gear, sand toys, etc and a well stocked kitchen.

This is a great place to be if you don't want to be on the beaten touristy path. We spent a lot of time at Ho'okena beach, visited the local mac nut/coffee farms, the peace/botanical garden, the place of refuge park and of course the volcano park. We also checked out the local farmer's market and the South Kona fruit stand.

The only reason I gave this 4 stars and not 5 has nothing to do with the house itself or Chuck/Marci - the house is close to hwy 160 and it can be quite loud when a truck or motorcycle goes by. The first day it bothered me a fair bit but by the end of the week I didn't even notice it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fruit, snorkeling,super comfortable beds-the perfect holiday place!

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

The house was perfect for our group of 4 adults and 3 kids who wanted to be a little away from the typical tourist rush but close enough to access things easily. Two step beach was phenomenal- we went down at least once every day- sometimes just for a quick hour before heading off on a day trip- easy as its so close. It was wonderful having the use of snorkeling gear, bikes etc. we also really appreciated the fruit and coffee waiting for us when we arrived! The house was very well stocked and the kitchen was fabulous. We cooked most of our meals and the kids were out every morning checking out the fruit trees! Chuck even came down to find grandpa something to open a coconut with! There's a great coffe tour - bayview- just down the road ( actually there at least 4 on the road) and at the co-op coffee place 4miles away there's a fruit tree setup with samples of over 50 tropical fruit trees. Hookeena beach was also very close and great for sand and boogie boarding. We would definitely recommend the house and be quick to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

We stayed six nights for the Kailua-Kona side of our vacation. The home is very comfortable with plenty of space for our group of 8. All the rooms were very comfortable. The lanai off the master bedroom upstairs is beautiful with a hammock and chairs to enjoy the tropical yard. Our kids especially liked hunting in the garden and looking for geckos everywhere. It was short drive to Two Step for snorkeling and there was a small beach right next to Two Step where our younger kids enjoyed the water. We were fortunate to see sea turtles close up one day at low tide. We really enjoyed staying here as it was very family friendly. The owners were very helpful and thoughtful during our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Like a dream

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

Waking every morning to the sound of the birds in the back yard and then just opening the door from the master bedroom and walking out on the upstairs lanai to look down on the yard was paradise. Walking the yard seeing all the plants growing with the fruits on them, banana cacao papaya and then seeing the Kona Snow without having to drive anywhere was fantastic. My friend and I couldn't have had a better time. Just about everything you need is already at the house you don't need to bring anything with you except your clothes. There are many wonderful places to eat nearby, within 6 miles. That's nearby in Captain Cook. It was just the 2 of us but this is a great home for several couples or a family.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Lush, & Bountiful

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

The 4 of us (2 couples) had a wonderful time stay at Marci's Tropical Dream House in Honaunau. As soon as we got there, we were impressed by the numerous beautiful fruit trees surrounding the house from cacao which chocolate is made from to avocado, coconut, banana, soursop and even the mysterious Monstera deliciosa! There were already a fresh-picked pineapple, avocado, & papayas waiting for us inside when we arrived, and Chuck came over and greeted us soon after with tons of good local info.

Inside we found absolutely everything we needed it was so well stocked. We cooked several meals there and every utensil or kitchen appliance we needed was readily at hand.

I'd definitely recommend this house for any group of up to 8 people as a great retreat just a short walk from the gorgeous Painted Church, Place of Refuge snorkeling, 12 trees fruit orchard, Kona coffee collective, and much more!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Lush, & Bountiful

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

The 4 of us (2 couples) had a wonderful time stay at Marci's Tropical Dream House in Honaunau. As soon as we got there, we were impressed by the numerous beautiful fruit trees surrounding the house from cacao which chocolate is made from to avocado, coconut, banana, soursop and even the mysterious Monstera deliciosa! There were already a fresh-picked pineapple, avocado, & papayas waiting for us inside when we arrived, and Chuck came over and greeted us soon after with tons of good local info.

Inside we found absolutely everything we needed it was so well stocked. We cooked several meals there and every utensil or kitchen appliance we needed was readily at hand.

I'd definitely recommend this house for any group of up to 8 people as a great retreat just a short walk from the gorgeous Painted Church, Place of Refuge snorkeling, 12 trees fruit orchard, Kona coffee collective, and much more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Crystal and Lorne

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

Our family spent 10 wonderful days in Hawai'i, and we loved being able to call Marci's Dream our "home away from home". The home and property were absolutely fantastic, the kids enjoyed picking fresh fruit for breakfast, and the house was very roomy - it didn't feel like we were tripping over each other (there were 7 of us). The amenities were very thoughtful: the beach towels, raingear, boogie boards, snorkel gear, bicycles, and especially the use of the washer and dryer! Marci and Chuck were so helpful in telling us of the best places to boogie board, snorkel, relax, and sightsee, and they gave us lessons in cacoa eating and local wildlife. They made sure that we didn't hesitate to call them if we had any questions or concerns. The house looked exactly as the pictures showed, and it was clean and well stocked with spices, fresh coffee and fresh fruit, toiletries and towels. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Marci's Dream to family and friends, but part of me wants to keep it a well kept secret...it is like finding a gold mine! Visitors should be sure to snorkel at Two Step, visit The Place Of Refuge, see the volcanoes, and grab a pizza at Boston Basil's in Kailua-Kona! I simply cannot wait to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Garden of Eden

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Everything at Chuck and Marci's is as advertised. Clean, spacious house with well maintained proptery and helpful exra stuff ( beach chairs,games, bikes, etc). A nice walk up painted church road leads to various fruit on the ground, the lovely church, a place on the side of the road to watch the sunset, Bay View coffee farm (must check out!). 2 step is a fantastic place to snorkel and Captain Cook was a great kayak trip.It was great meeting the owners and they provided helpful information, fruit, and......COFFEE!!!
what a treat. Foraging for fruit in the yard is a fantastic daily adventure and a game of extreme croquet is a must (in the lower hilly area of the yard). Or a more pedestrian game of coconut bocce ball in the grassy/driveway is good for a laugh. Thanks for a great time! We'll never forget our stay with you and hope to make it back some day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

Marci and Chuck have a gorgeous and spacious home that's perfect for families. It's well supplied with everything you could possibly want--but make sure to stop at Costco en route from the airport before arriving to stock up on food for your stay, not that you wont want to buy more later.
The patio area is relaxing and comfortable and there's plenty to explore below in the badminton area, like all the tropical fruit trees--incredible. Two Step beach is conveniently close and perfect for snorkeling. The variety of sea life there is out of this world. I never imagined I would ever swim with sea turtles or such a variety of beautiful fish.
Really, everything you need to have a wonderful stay is right here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas in Hawaii 2011

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We rented Marci's Dream House for my mom's 75th Bday Celebration, and it was wonderful! Yes the description on VRBO was accurate; beautiful clean house, lots of exotic fruit trees, a view of the ocean, and just a great place to hang out with the family. Marci and Chuck were both friendly, helpful and responsive.It is about 2hrs to the volcanoes, 3.5 hrs to Hilo (via saddle road which IS paved), and 45 min to the airport. Many beaches close by. Try Big Jakes BBQ and do visit Greenwell Coffee farm (check out the Chameleons on the orange tree)! Check out the Peace Garden's galaxy garden. Thanks for the Oka Kokoleka Marci! Hope to be back again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical Dream!

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Thanks for the snorkeling and boogie boarding gear, we did not have to rent a thing. We also really enjoyed all the fruit on the property, esp. the bananas, mangos, and papaya. FYI, in the winter the best place to see fish in relatively calm waters is Kalalu'u. There is sand there to and shade! P.S. Don't forget to try all the Kona Coffee!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Thanks, Marci and Chuck, for being such wonderful hosts! Marci's Tropical Dream is so thoughtfully stocked with not just the amenities, but all the things that make this truly a home, from organic shampoo to bandaids to condiments to fresh local coffee beans to boogie boards and snorkels. Not once did we catch ourselves feeling like we were missing anything. Location was superb - just 10 mins away from the Place of Refuge (great historical park) and the best snorkeling on the island (Two Step). The house itself is so spacious and comfortable; we had 5 adults and 2 children here, and there was plenty of room for us to do our own thing, or have a sit down meal with guests. The kids loved their room, especially the stuffed animals (thanks, Marci), and all the kids' books available. Every morning, they'd wake up and scour the garden for ripe fruit - mangoes, avocados, apple-bananas, cacao fruit, papaya - wonderful!!! When it was time to leave, my son said "I don't want to leave this house!" We would definitely not only recommend this to anyone we know, we'd come back ourselves in an instant!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Thanks, Marci and Chuck, for being such wonderful hosts! Marci's Tropical Dream is so thoughtfully stocked with not just the amenities, but all the things that make this truly a home, from organic shampoo to bandaids to condiments to fresh local coffee beans to boogie boards and snorkels. Not once did we catch ourselves feeling like we were missing anything. Location was superb - just 10 mins away from the Place of Refuge (great historical park) and the best snorkeling on the island (Two Step). The house itself is so spacious and comfortable; we had 5 adults and 2 children here, and there was plenty of room for us to do our own thing, or have a sit down meal with guests. The kids loved their room, especially the stuffed animals (thanks, Marci), and all the kids' books available. Every morning, they'd wake up and scour the garden for ripe fruit - mangoes, avocados, apple-bananas, cacao fruit, papaya - wonderful!!! When it was time to leave, my son said "I don't want to leave this house!" We would definitely not only recommend this to anyone we know, we'd come back ourselves in an instant!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay in the Real Hawaii!!

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Chuck and Marci's house for several days and didn't want to leave.
Our usual Hawaii experience is at resorts, so this experience was really an eye opener! To have fresh fruit in such abundance right outside your door was amazing. And my husband can't stop talking about snorkeling at Two Step, one of the best places he has ever snorkeled with the variety of fish really incredible. We felt very comfortable in the clean and spacious house and yard, and felt like we truly experienced what the real Hawaii is. Chuck and Marci are most accommodating, and your comfort is at the top of their priority list. We would recommend everyone to experience Hawaii in this most relaxing residence.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House: Great Place for Hosting Retreats, or for Families, or Groups of Friends

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

My experience at Marcy's Dream House began with my very first phone conversations with Chuck and Marcy. They are so sweet and kind and welcoming and helpful, I felt like family right away.
The house itself is perfect, plenty of family/community space, as well as lots of bedrooms for privacy. We hosted a bit of a retreat here and found the space to be perfect for that.
We loved the personal touches that were included, like the provided organic shampoo, conditioner and body wash, and the fact that Marcy uses all natural cleaning products (no overwhelming chemical smell here!) We also really enjoyed the fresh made lilikoi jelly and locally produced artisan kona coffee. Oh, and the apple bananas, right from the land: pure heaven!!!
The bedrooms are decorated comfortably and eclectically, and at least for us the bedroom choices happened naturally as individuals found the rooms that called to them: one loved the soothing calmness of the peach room, while another loved the so-called kids room, and others loved the downstairs room so they could have their own bathroom...we loved the master bedroom: a gorgeous hand carved and very comfy bed, the chaise lounges, the balcony deck with a hammock, all created a wonderful place to hang out "away from it all."
We picked this house because of the fresh fruit growing in the yard, because it was reasonably priced, but, first and foremost due to its proximity to the spectacular Honaunau Bay. Oh my goodness, this bay is my favorite place in the world! So beautiful, so much to offer, so much to see and do just within five miles of this house. What can I say, I loved it so much I want to move in!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jungle Living

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Coming from the mountain West, we so enjoyed the various jungle noises as we drifted off to sleep and awoke in the peaceful morning. Marci and Chuck's house had everything we needed, even a good place to hang our well-used swimsuits to dry. We snorkeled at Two Step and used the boogie boards at a sandy beach near Kailua-Kona. We played a fierce game of badminton. Made smoothies out of garden fruits. We created many nice memories in this well-loved space. Thank you, Marci and Chuck, for being gracious hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Wonderful Place to Get Away and Relax!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

We snorkeled down at Two Step, and saw Green Sea Turtles, and lots of colorful fish. Also went snorkeling at Kahaluu Beach Park and enjoyed nice weather. We walked up the road to the Painted Church and stopped along the way to take a few pictures. We really like the bent coconut palm!

What a Wonderful Place to get away and relax! Thank you, Marci and Chuck for your hospitality. Little Leah especially loved playing with all of the stuffed animals, and having her own 'big girl' bed! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo Marci and Chuck!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

Thank you so much for the beautiful and gracious accomodations. We all look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Week in Paradise

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

Our stay in this tropical garden home was a wonderful experience. The listing is very accurate in showing the beauty of the home and the grounds surrounding it. You could hear cars at times because it is close to the road leading down to the Place of Refuge, but there is so much vegetarian that you do not see anything past the beautiful gardens. The owners were very helpful and available if we needed to contact them. I would recommend this rental to anyone who wants to experience the true feeling of Aloha instead of staying at a hotel or resort. We were minutes away from the Place of Refuge where there are Sea Turtles and Spinner dolphins regularly. A favorite breakfast stop was a mile away....The Kona Cafe and just around the corner was a great place for fresh fruit smoothies which were wonderful. Hope to return next year...Mahalo Chuck and Marcie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place for a large family

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

Our family of nine stayed here to attend a memorial service on the big island. The house was comfortable for all of us to relax, talk, cook meals together, and enjoy the beauty of Hawaii. Bedrooms on both the ground and top floors of the house were a bonus for our multi-generational family. Marci and Chuck were gracious and compassionate hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. We all enjoyed the peaceful lanai, picking papayas and avocados in the yard, and using the snorkeling gear down the road at Two Steps beach. Truly, a lovely and well appointed house that allowed our family time and space to reflect, connect and rejuvenate our spirits.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mid-October visit...

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

This house and its location are ideal; it is truly a "tropical dream". A comfortable, roomy, fully-ammended home with a large tropical and "jungle-ized" lot. Fruit trees in abundance, pick-your-own papayas, bananas (several varieties), avocados, and citrus. Coconut palms sway in the breeze. Wake up to the sounds of doves and mynas and the neighbor's chickens. This house has everything you need for your stay; large living/dining room, full kitchen, full bath (2), 4 bedrooms. Washer/dryer,etc. Patio with table, chairs, BBQ. They have it fully stocked with boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach towels...everything you need to hit the beach. 2 miles down the road is the Marine Reserve; it contains some of the best snorkeling on the island (complete with spinner dolphins). Up the road is the Painted Church; a must-see. And...up the road from that is "The Peace Garden" (not to be missed!). Chuck and Marci are gracious hosts, and have gone to great lengths to provide all that you need for your stay on island...you will not be disappointed...all you need to bring is your swimsuit and your aloha. We'll be back...Mahalo

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tropical Garden Paradise!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

In August I visited with my family. We wanted to be away from the tourist areas, in a place we could enjoy the local culture, and be within driving distance to local attractions. Marci's Tropical Dream met that requirement perfectly, located south of Captain Cook, surrounded by macadamia nut trees and coffee farms, it sits at 800 feet on the side of Moana Loa, overlooking the ocean. We visited the home's VRBO site, and read some great reviews, but nothing prepared us for how wonderful it was to be there! The owners are very pleasant, and easy to work with. They answered all of our questions, providing much information about the home and property before our arrival, including a very accurate detailed set of driving instructions from the airport. We have stayed at vacation homes all over the country, and in some foreign countries. Usually, it takes a while to get used to a home. You are very aware that you are living in someone else's place. You have to poke around, figure out where things are, what works well and what does not, what you wish you had that is not there. You have to adjust to the place. Marci's Tropical Dream is definately different. From the minute I entered the home every thing was where I expected it to be, there was nothing missing. Everything worked. There was local fruit in a basket on the table, complete with a bag of local Kona Coffee, snorkel and beach gear for our upcoming adventures! We spent hours one afternoon, deeply at peace, watching the late afternoon sky, enjoying a parade of wild turkeys making their way to some trees for the night. We have never stayed in a place that was so meticulously arranged in wonderful island decor, and maintained in the same manner. To me this was paradise at its finest, and I think it will be the same for anyone that visits!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

C & M

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Home is very beautiful, clean and has a lot of room. King size bed is wonderful! Location is very close to beach. I loved staying there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place for families with young kids!

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

We stayed there with our toddler and it was a perfect match!
There was plenty to do just on the grounds. Our toddler loved picking fresh bananas, avocados and pineapple. There was plenty of space to play and explore outside. Chasing the chickens, watering the many flowers, and breakfasts on the lanai were some of the many memorable moments on the property.

With such a great kitchen onsite we saved money by cooking and eating at home and supplementing all our meals with freshly picked fruits from the grounds.

We were so close to all the things we wanted to to do that activites were easily managed with little ones in tow. We could get up, head down the road and go snorkeling with the turtles and the dolphins or just play in the sand and head home for morning nap without any stress. Longer afternoon trips were also easily managed. We packed picninc lunches and saw some amazing sites. Boogey boarding, famers markets, volcano national park, the zoo and coffee or nut farms are all short distances from the house.

The house is so complete and peaceful that it truly felt like a home away from home. There is lots of space and it is kept immaculate. The furniture is in great condition and the place is just so homey. With all the gear, games, and amenities on the lot we literally needed to just show up and enjoy our vacation.

We definitely want to come back with our little ones and bring the grandparents with us. There is plenty of space for everyone to relax and enjoy family time in Hawaii. Having two levels of bedrooms with bathrooms makes for easy multi-generational living. Especially with the downstairs bedroom & bathroom being easily accessible for people of all abilities.

Marci is the best host you could imagine. She went out of her way to make sure we had an incredible visit.
If you are going to visit Hawaii, make sure to stay with Marci!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

Had big family get together and needed more space. Found Marcies place on VRBO and we were very delighted with it plenty of room for all. Excellent kitchen, cooked all our meals at home and saved a bundle. The grounds are very lush and tropical with fresh fruit available on the property. It is just up the hill from "The Place of Refuge" and Honaunau Bay where the best snorkeling on the island at "two Steps" is and just 3 more miles to Captain Cook Monument at Kealakekua Bay. Close to several Organic fruit stands and also a supermarket. Chuck and Marcie have a wonderful place here and are readily available if needed as they live nearby. We recommend there place and will use it for our next family get together.
D & B-Captin Cook

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review