reviews for: listing #35963 - Folly Beach, South Carolina House rental

The Little Green Cottage by the Sea
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $225 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Vacation Spot

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

This was our second visit to the green cottage. Everyone had a wonderful time. The porch is fabulous. We spent a lot of time listening to the ocean and watching for dolphins.

The location is wonderful; it is near the end of the island, so we get to miss the hustle and bustle and enjoy the quiet.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: It always makes me happy when my guests enjoy their stay at the cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Small Family Gathering

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We spent last Thanksgiving at the Tides - our first visit to Folly. We loved it and immediately began to plan for Thanksgiving 2013. Since we are more nature lovers than tourist-town lovers, we looked for a small cottage near the light house. The Little Green Cottage is "six houses" from the end of East Ashley and has quick access to miles of protected beach depending on the tides, with great views of the Morris Island lighthouse, dolphins feeding in the inlet, etc. and sounded perfect for us. We had originally thought there would just be three adults (and two dogs, of course) spending Thanksgiving week on Folly - my husband and I from Asheville, and my brother from Cary. So our younger brother (age 50+) and his wife (baby in the crowd) who live in Florida were able to join us for part of the week, even though they would be sleeping on the pull out sofa. So considering were are all crotchety old folks, we had a great time! The cottage had pretty much everything we needed, and as other folks have reported, any minor concern was quickly remedied after a consult with Jack. Don't know how often 'mature' folks sleep on the pull out sofa, but Baby Brother suggests maybe a newer one might be in order. : ) But real kids probably wouldn't notice. The weather was up and down this year (very sunny and warm last year, so you never know) with temps at freezing a couple of mornings and shorts weather later in the week. Even when the rain and wind were roaring outside, the view from the sofa out the few feet to the surf was very cozy and such a treat for us mountain folk. And when weather was chilly, the cottage was warm and cozy.

Cary Brother is an early morning exerciser, so one morning he got a thrill. He was out for his walk around sunrise with the tide going out, so beach walking was excellent. Where a creek runs in to the inlet, numerous dolphins were feeding there, because the fish they were eating would have been coming out of the creek with the tide. He had the beach to himself. Wish us sleep-heads had been there! If you google 'dolphins stranding' and folly beach you'll see a video of this amazing sight.

So if you are looking for a small, simple, no frills cottage with a fantastic view and no tourist center hubbub - as well as a terrific deck on which to grill your Thanksgiving or Christmas swordfish, this is the place. Thank you so much, Jack.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Little Ol' Ladies Loved It!

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

These two little ol’ ladies from Wisconsin had a wonderful week in mid October at the Little Green Cottage. The weather was perfect for sleeping with the windows open so we could listen to the crash of the waves. The location on the end of Folly Island meant less traffic and noise from other folks. Some days we never left the island, either eating at home or venturing only as far as the Lost Dog Café or the Folly Beach Crab Shack. I must mention that both had delicious food, by the way. Your cottage is perfect for two people who wanted only to read, walk on the beach, work jigsaw puzzles, and unwind. Thank you for letting us stay in your cozy little cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The location of the cottage is perfect for a quiet vacaction. Located at the east end of the Island, it affords great views, and long walks on the undeveloped beach. I'm so glad that my guests enjoy The Little Green Cottage by the Sea.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Spot

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Mary from Kentucky

I happily stayed in The Little Green Cottage by the Sea with my two girlfriends, all of us visual artists and professors. Additionally, we had a dog and a cat along with us, who also equally enjoyed their stay.

We loved listening to the ocean so much that we spent the majority of our nights sitting and even falling asleep on the screened-in porch- a wonderful asset, as many of the cottages, we noticed, do not have this attribute! There's also a deck for grilling- we regularly purchased the fresh catch of the day and cooked it up on the grill provided... and then happily feasted at the cottage.

There are all the amenities one would need... even a tv, which we never turned on, as we spent our days combing the beach and enjoying all that Folly has to offer. We loved the simple charm of this place. Although The Little Green Cottage by the Sea has everything one could ask for, it is not for high society, luxury accommodation seekers. It's for footloose and fancy free spirits- or those who wish to embrace that lifestyle- even if for a week or two.

Located toward the end of the island, close to the old lighthouse, there are friendly neighbors, yet you will feel like you have landed on a spot that is quite remote.

Highly recommended. I hope to return again and again.

Mary, Professor of Fine Art from Kentucky

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: All of my guests seem to like The Little Green cottage by the Sea. I hope to see the same appreciative guests next year, as I have many guests that come back year after year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing cottage vacation

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

Once again we had a great stay at The Little Green Cottage by the Sea. This was our third stay and hope return. Folly Island has everything we need for a relaxing beach vacation. Tasty seafood,we especially like The Crab Shack and Bowens Island Restaurant as well the local flavor of Planet Follywood. And this cottage adds to the relaxation factor, it has an ocean views, salty air, you can listen to the surf, watch beautiful sunrises, dolphins swimming by. The cottage is clean and well maintained, Thanks Jack for a nice place to visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: I always do everything that I can to make my guests feel at home. I am so glad that they enjoy their vacations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A relaxing stay at the beach!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

My husband and I and our two dogs really enjoyed our stay at The Little Green Cottage by the Sea. It is very comfortable and cozy with a fantastic view of the ocean and only steps from the beach. It is located at the quiet end of Folly Beach which made our stay very peaceful and relaxing. We were very impressed at how clean the cottage was!! We would definitely return on our next visit to Folly Beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: It makes me happy, that you enjoyed the cottage. Please come back soon.....I will give you the VIP treatment.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Beach Getaway

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

You can hear the ocean waves from your the bedroom and see them from the living room and the nice screened in porch. Perfect, simple getaway with beds, stove, and a shower all right on the beach. Washer/Dryer downstairs=very convenient. There's a TV too if that's your thing. Great spot to read, relax and enjoy some downtime on the beach!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed it, come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week!

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

Jack- great location for enjoying the peace and quiet! Thanks for allowing a dog also. The cottage is just the right size for a family of 4 plus pet. The East end of Folly is a great area. We'll be back! Thanks again...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Little Green Cottage by the Sea.
Come back soon.
jack

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We had a great time at this cottage. We had 5 young ones, and it was so close to the beach. Jack was a great host, and very attentive when a problem did come up. While he wasn't able to attend to that problem during our visit, he was quick to compensate us for it, without us even pointing it out. It was a great stay, and we would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect little beach house

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

The perfect getaway for a family that doesn't want to leave their furry family members behind. We absolutely loved the cottage - rustic, quaint, the perfect retreat by the beach to enjoy the sounds of the ocean, lazy walks on the beach, and the occasional trip into Charleston for some shopping/dining. We loved being able to enjoy our morning coffee and watch the beautiful sunrises - we couldn't have asked for a better beachfront location. We hope to make a visit to "The Little Green Cottage By the Sea" an annual event.

Thank you Jack - we had a great time!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Y'all are to kind. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 29, 2013

We rented the Little Green Cottage by the Sea for one week and decided to stay for two. The location was perfect for us and our two dogs. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the beach, waves crashing as we drifted off to sleep, reading on the outdoor patio, and long walks on the deserted beach (we visited in the winter). The cottage is located at the east end of the island and is very quiet. Jack, the owner is very friendly and accommodating - it was an easy relationship. Folly Beach is a small, quiet beach town with a few good restaurants and many dog friendly locations. Charleston is very close if you need a little more action. I would recommend Taco Boy for grilled chicken taco's and Hurricanes, Blu for their omelette and burgers, The Crab Shack for crab stuffed flounder and Bryan the waiter and the Lost Dog for crab cake eggs Benedict.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: That was a great commentary on The Little Green Cottage by the Sea, and Follly Beach.
i hope that you will return soon.
jack

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fall vacation

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Just got back from my first visit to Folly Beach and the Little Green Cottage by the Sea. The location of the cottage is perfect - great beach access, convenient for a lovely walk to the lighthouse, and only 3 miles to restaurants, the pier, and shopping. My favorite part was that Jack allows dogs. We had a great time. The cottage is not fancy, but very comfortable and perfect for a small family. I enjoyed having a kitchen w/ utensils so we could eat some meals at home instead of going out every day. The cottage has very cool Air Conditioning, nice flat screen TV w/ cable, and a wonderful screened porch and a sun deck.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed the cottage. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

What an Amazing Vacation!!

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

What a great time at "The Little Green Cabin by the Sea!" Amazing view with just a short walk to the beach. We spent the entire week relaxing on the beach or deck or playing in the water. The cottage is at the east end of the island and we felt like we had it all to ourselves! Folly Beach downtown is just a short bike ride away and there are a lot of great places to eat (I suggest Taco Boy)! The owner of the cottage (Jack) is really easy to work with and super friendly! From start to finish this was exactly what my wife and I were looking for. Nothing fancy, just a great place to unwind and be comfortable!! This was our second visit to the cabin and are already counting down the days until we can visit again. I can not recommend this cottage to you any higher. You are in store for a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What nice things to say.....please come back soon. I think that you will be due the "perfect renter's discount".

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice time!

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

This was our second stay at The Little Green Cottage by the Sea and hope to enjoy future vacations in this cottage. This is a no frills, clean, well kept cottage. Jack is available if needed but not at all intrusive. The simplicity of the cottage is part of its charm but the location is the real deal breaker - ocean front, easy beach access for folks who can climb stairs, just a few lots away is a preserve that provides a nice walk to Morris Island Lighthouse. The porch and deck provided us many hours of peaceful reading and relaxing time while watching and listening to the ocean. Restaurants are only a few miles away for good food. Our dogs enjoyed their stay as well!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for those thoughts concerning The Little Green Cottage by the Sea.
Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sweet Week at the Beach!

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

This will be our 3rd visit this year to the Little Green Cottage. We look forward to enjoying the cozy cottage’s gorgeous view of the ocean….just steps away. The cottage has all we need for relaxing beach week. And we can even bring our dogs! It’s also convenient to “downtown” Folly Beach, as well as our favorite healthy supermarket and charming Charleston. And the owner, Jack, is a most gracious and helpful host. We can’t wait to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Mary Anne,
I'm so glad that you have enjoyed your vacations at the cottage. I will look forward to seeing you this summer.
Best regards,
Jack

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sweet little beach house!

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Such a sweet little green house, right on the beach. Fantastic view of the ocean...just a bitty walk to the beach. The house is almost all redone and very clean. Our only problem was that there weren't very many pots and pans or jugs to make tea or anything with. Little things. No big issues...we had a great time (4 friends) and really enjoyed the house. Darling!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Just wanted to say we had a awesome stay!!! Exactly what we were looking for, cozy, beautiful views and extremely comfortable. During our stay we had scheduled events at the Citadel and Boone Plantation which are both a short drive.

We are planning on coming back next year and would highly recommend staying at the little green cottage...we are sure you will leave with lasting memories.

Best Regards,

Al and Wanda
Palmyra, Virginia

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Our family had a really nice time! The view was great and the beach was wonderful. Our dog really loved the surf and running with our girls. The cottage is really close to the water. The cottage is well maintained for a beach cottage, really cute. Within a few minutes are many restaurants. We recommend Taco Boy and the Lost Dog Cafe. Have fun in your travels.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time at The Little Green Cottage by the Sea.
Please come back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our best family vacation thus far!!!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Our family of four (five including our Dog) Thoroughly enjoyed this place, so much so, that we quickly began referring to it as "our cute little beach house". Perfect location to the water, great value,(especially w/dogs)and very private (which is ALL of what we wanted). But you might consider bringing some bug repellent along (the mossquitos were biting when we were there). Jack was also really attentive to us and our needs and just a great guy to deal with. We hope to be able to return next year!:)

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I' so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Little Green Cottage by the Sea. Please come back soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun at the Cottage

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

We enjoyed staying at the Little Green Cottage and plan to go back soon. We spent time on the screen porch when it was too hot to go outside on the deck. The cottage is close to restaurants and downtown Charleston. We liked having the space under the house to keep our boat. Very convenient.The owner is very nice and easy to get along with. Love having the washer and dryer but most of all, it is dog friendly. We also like being on the ocean front. It made walking on the beach so easy. Can't wait until our next trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always so nice to see that people enjoy their stays at The Little Green Cottage by the Sea. Hope to see you in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The little green cottage that wasn't

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

The house was somewhat lacking in supplies in the kitchen. We had to purchase a coffee pot, there was a coffee maker but no pot, so instead of purchasing just the pot we purchased the whole thing and then it came home with us, not like I needed another one since I have 3 in my house already. Then we had to purchase forks, spoons, knifes and then after fishing on the pier we had to scale the fist with a potato peeler. Also you had to have an ice chest and plan on picking up a bag of ice per day since there was only one ice tray in the refre.

the futon was broken when we got there, my husband and a roll of duct tape got it back up and together for the grands to sleep on. The sitting area on the screened in porch was no only uncomfortable but down right dangerous since the stales in the couch moved and caused the couch to come apart. but thats ok you really could not be out there and be bug free since the screen was off the screen door so it was as open as the deck.

The mattresses were all in need of being replaced. If you have a bad back or just need a good night sleep you want get it at this house.

Owners response: The Little Green Cottage by the Sea is a small, rustic, beach front cottage. I accept pets, and sometimes they jump up and push out the screen on the front porch. I have replaced the screen no less than 5 times in the past several months. My contractor is to replace it tomorrow.
I'm happy that the reviewer gave me a heads up about the flat wear. I have resupplied knives, forks, and spoons.
The coffe pot was broken by the previous tenant, and has been replaced.
I have never had a complaint about the couch on the porch, or my bedding,and
didn't realize that the futon separated at the bottom of the underframe, so as to render unusable. It has been in this condition for several years, and I've never had a complaint, nevertheless, my assistant is going to replace it with a wooden frame as soon as possible.
The frig doesn't have an ice maker, and most renters buy bags of ice, and put them in the freezer.
The cottage is 40 years old, rustic, quaint, small, but very comfortable. The rental price is very inexpensive, for a beach front house compared to prices on Folly beach.

I have a guest book that is filled with complimentary notes from satisfied renters, and I have many repeat tenants.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Little green cottage

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

My husband, 4 year old son, mother-in-law, golden retriever and myself stayed in the little green cottage for a week. It was exactly what we were looking for. No, it isn't a brand new condo with all the amenities. But this house has the beach and that is what we wanted. The screened in porch was as close to the ocean as the website says. It was my favorite spot! It is a hassle to provide your own linens, but the washer/dryer make it easy to do other laundry and not return home with a mountain. The owner was pleasant and easy to deal with and the deposit was returned promptly. this cottage won't be for everyone, but for people with kids and dogs who want to be, literally, right on the ocean it is perfect! P.S. If you are planning to cook, you may want to bring your own cookware. The pots and pans looked to be a bit used and abused.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great spot for a relaxing beach trip

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

This little cottage is great for a beach getaway. It is on the small side and does not have any fancy frills, but the price is great and the location is quiet and perfect. Best of all, pups are allowed! Having both a screened/covered porch and uncovered porch to sit on an enjoy the ocean views will make your trip. The cottage is located on the far end of Folly Beach, away from all the hustle and bustle (don't book this place expecting to be in walking distance to the shops and restaurants on the main drag) and near a wildlife preserve-making weekday trips to the beach almost like you are on your own private island. Great places to eat on the island include Lost Dog Cafe for breakfast or lunch and Bowen Island for for amazing seafood dinner with sunset views. This cottage is great for a small family, a romantic getaway, or a girls beach weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

The house was very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our time at the house. The furniture was arranged so that there was plenty of room and seating. The views of the ocean from the house were awesome. It was a little chilly during our stay to enjoy the deck, but it looked like we would have enjoyed it. The location of the house was perfect. It is located at the end of the island, which means little traffic by the house. It is also located about 5 houses down from a nature preserve and trail to a light house. The public access located by the house needs some improvements. There is about a 5' drop off with large riprap. Stairs are definitely needed. We had to take my grandmother down the beach to another access location for her to get to and from the beach. We had never been to Folly Beach before and it was defiantly a great place to visit. Very clean beach. Also if you spend time touring Charleston, you will past many restaurants and grocery stores on the way back to the beach which was very convenient. It was a great place for a family of four and a dog to spend a vacation. We had a great time. It would have been even more wonderful if we did not have to bring our own towels and sheets, it would have given us more room in the vehicle to have done more shopping while on vacation. Also checks and credit cards were not taken as payment of the house, which made me a little leery, but Jack Burg was great to work with, and everything was great.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best part of the beach

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

This was a great little cottage on a quiet part of the beach. It is clean and cozy with a vintage flavor. If you like quiet, wildlife and the historic lighthouse, this is the best place on the beach. We were lucky to see a mother and baby dolphin, pelicans feeding on schools of fish in the morning. The cottage is comfortable, try sleeping on the sleeper sofa for the best sleeping place. The owner is very nice and a fine person with whom to do business.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 56 / 57

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review