reviews for: listing #35974 - Banner Elk, North Carolina Cabin rental

Honey Bear Cabin:Perfect Ski Getaway! 1/2 MILE FROM SUGAR MT
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $185 /nt
    $860 - $960 /wk
    $1,500 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Jan. 6-8, 2012

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Best. Weekend. Ever.
My boyfriend and I came to Banner Elk to do some skiing adn celebrate my 25th birthday. Luckily, we happened upon the Honey Bear Cabin. It's amazing. After hitting the slopes at Sugar Mountain on Saturday, we returned to the cabin for a romantic night in. He bought a nice bottle of champagne and we amde our way to the hot tub. While soaking and sipping champagne, HE PROPOSED!!! I could not think of a better way to celebrate my birthday and our future together. We will always look back on the Honey Bear Cabin with warm memories. Thank you for allowing us to share such an important moment here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct. 21-23, 2011

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

Thanks for another nice getaway weekend! This year we did Grandfather Mountain. Perfect sunny, crisp Fall weekend. Enjoyed the hot tub, a movie, and steaks on the grill. Your place is perfect!
~From Johnson City, TN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feb. 11-13, 2011

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We loved your beautiful quaint cabin. While it took a while to get up the hill, we ended up having a great weekend. The boys skiied two whole days and Mark and I got a lot of alone time. He lives out of the country and he only gets home once every two months or so. Your decor is awesome and we would love to own a place about this size one day. If you ever hear of one for sale close to Sugar, we would be interested! Thanks again for being so kind when we called!
~From Columbia, SC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feb. 4-6, 2011

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

Despite the fact we started our trip with a speeding ticket and ended with a broken arm and the flu, we had a wonderful time. My husband managed to hold it all together. In all seriousness, the cabin is beautiful and were wonderful accomodations. I think we'll have to come back and try our luck again. Somehow it all managed to work out. Barb, I feel like I've made a friend - thank you so much for being so kind and accomodating. You were a wonderful hostess. Thanks again for sharing Honey Bear Cabin with my family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jan. 14-16, 2011

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Thank you so much for this opportunity to stay in your wonderful cabin. This house is great and very inviting, I know this won't be my last entry in this book because we have already made plans to come back! Thanks again for sharing your home with us, we will talk to you soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dec. 30, 2010 - Jan. 2, 2011

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

What a beautiful escape in the woods. Your cabin exceeded our expectations and was a wonderful way to bring in the New Year! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dec. 28-30, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

Our first real getaway together! Your home is so beautiful and perfect. It feels like home and your extra touches are so sweet and certainly noticed. We are dreaming now of how to create our own little cabin in the snowy woods. I smile to think of all of the lives that have been touched by this little magical cabin. We only wish we could have stayed longer! Thank you so much for sharing your magical little piece of solace with us and others. Many Blessings, and Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct. 1-3, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Thank you for sharing your cabin with us. We had an amazing time. With our 4 children it's hard to get away. This was the perfect GET AWAY! We spent Saturday in Blowing Rock and Saturday evening in downtown Banner Elk. We ate dinner at Sorrento's (it was great) on Sunday we left and hiked Linville Falls. What an awesome time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June 22, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a wonderful adventure. I've had the time of my life (remember that song)!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June 22, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

Thank you os much for inviting (or should I say Letting me invite myself) to your piece of heaven on the mountains! I love your cabin and the location couldn't be more beautiful! It was a great visit and was also the most fun I've had in a long, long time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feb. 13-15, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

I spy over one hundred bears an dbear related paraphenelia in this cabin, can you find more? After a long drive up from Atlanta, slowly conquering the treacherous roads, we came upon the sleepy town of Banner Elk. Now while I was forewarned that a 4 wheel drive vehicle or tire chains would be needed, being a proud upstate New Yorker, I scoffed at such an idea. "Chains?" I said that is only for Southerners who've never driven in real snow before. Well...I could not have been more wrong! We made it about halfway up the private road before our car started sliding backwards. However, after a short excursion into town and a painful hit to my wallet, we were golden, and finally made it into Honey Bear Cabin. When all was said and done, this cabin could not have been better. Between the privacy and the homey feel, we couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our weekend. Thank you so much and we will definitely be back again soon! Oh yeah, and GO GATORS!
~From Atlanta, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feb. 9-12, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

Amazing cabin. It makes you feel like you actually live here. It's romantic. It's simple and delicious. We had an amazing time here. We learned so much about one another. We did so much but nothing at all. It was so special. We had many firsts here. It was all so perfect. We hope to come back again to enjoy everything this place has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feb 4-7, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

We had a great time! The cabin is wonderful and so cozy. We felt right at home. We grilled out our first night. Then we skied Beech on Friday an dSugar on Saturday! So much fun! I highly recommend Stone Walls Restaurant in downtown. The food was great! It snowed the whole time we were here! So beautiful...it looked like a winter wonderland! Fact: When it snows, you will need a 4 wheel drive and chains!! You will not get to this cabin without them! Thank goodness for Ernie! He got someone to plow for us!! He was so helpful! We had a great time and would definitely come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jan. 22 - 24, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

We came back again after being here 2 weeks ago. We couldn't stay away!! We brought our son this time, he's 2-1/2, and had a great time.
~From Atlanta, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jan. 14 - 17, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

We came to Sugar Mountain to celebrate our girls 16th birthday. Monday the 15th we went snow skiing at Sugar, and we had a great time. During the break we ate at Nick's, and I highly recommend it. On Saturday we built snowmen, went sledding, and went tubing at Hawk's Nest. Friday night we grilled steaks...they were great, we had garlic biscuits, steamed veggies, and potatoes...it was wonderful. Every morning got cooked biscuits with country ham and biscuits with bacon. Sunday morning we had pancakes and bacon. Thanks for allowing us to come. We had a great stay at you cozy cabin. We also played wii.
~From Moulton/Speake, Alabama

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jan. 8 - 10, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

I think while we have been here this cabin has seen the most snow and coldest temperatures ever. I would estimate 1-1/2 feet of snowfall and the thermometer went as low as 1 degree....COLD! We got engaged 5 years ago on top of Sugar, so we came to celebrate that! My husband and I love to ski, so we skied in the day and ate and got in the hot tub at night. We have stayed in a few other cabins and this one definitely beats them all! The price is awesome, the location could not be better, and the cabin is perfectly cozy. We can't wait to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dec. 26, 2009 - Jan. 2, 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Again South Floridians here in North Carolina and already thank goodness for Harry - God Bless Harry! LOL We all had our first snowball fights in the snow and used all the snow to sled down in the backyard. Saw Harry helping our neighbors get up to their cabin next to ours - Good ol' Harry! Took a short trip over to Sugar Mountain to go tubing with the kids...FYI get there early. They loved it - but boy was it cold! 18 degrees! Oh and with wind chill, COLDER!! We all went on a horse ride - Banner Elk Stables. Definitely would recommend them. The veiws were incredible! And Stonewalls is a great steak house here in Banner Elk. Skied in Sugar Mountain - what a rush! Overall, we had a wonderful family vacation. Your cabin is great. Very much like home! Thanks and Happy New Years!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas 2009

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

Well let me begin our "Griswold" adventure, LOL! We are native Floridians and I wanted my 7 year old daughter to see a white Christmas. WOW!!! She got it! Friday we were snowed out of the cabin, we actually didn't make it past north of Charlotte and they closed the roads. We became quick friends with Harry, thank God for Harry! He ended up driving us up to the cabin. We stayed in cabin til MOnday, once again, snowed in!! We spent the next few days skiing, skating, tubing, horseback riding, and a lot of card playing. Christmas Eve we had an ice storm come through and here we sit. No power, no water! We are having so much fun just cracking jokes about our week!
Well, we packed in the dark and played spades by candle light. Power came back on at midnight. Hallelujah! We are ready to head back to Sunny Florida! But this had to be the most memorable and fun vacation we have ever had!! Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

October 3, 2009

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

Thank you so much for giving my husband and I the chance to stay in your beautiful home! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Everything was perfect. It made our anniversary so special. We can't wait to come back and tell all of our friends and family about the cabin!
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

April 5-11, 2009

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

We flew into Charlotte and had a beautiful drive up here. As we approached the mountains it started to snow. It painted a beautiful picture as we pulled up to the cabin! What a great, cozy cabin. They are calling for 8 inches of snow between the 5th and 6th. From what I understand, back home in Delray Beach, FL, we received a "cool" front as well. Not warm enough for the beach, no quite cold enough for a turtleneck. So this was a perfect choice for the girls Spring Break. Experience nature. We went to Linville Caverns, the girls love it! We went up to Grandfather Mountain. Another must-do. Today the temperature got to 60 degrees so we have experienced both extremes of weather. Thank you for the cozy atmosphere. We loved it!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

February 12-18, 2009

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2009

Thank you for everything!! First time kids saw snow!! Be back again next year with kids!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

February 3, 2009

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2009

LOVE, LOVE it! Beautiful cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

January 25, 2009

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2009

We had a wonderful time. The place was awesome! The only thing that was a bit of a bummer was the 4 person hot tub didn't fit 4 people (comfortably). Hope your stay was as memorable as ours was!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

January 16 19, 2008

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2008

Came up here with my boyfriend, his aunt and uncle, and their 7 year old son. We saw our first snow in years. There was about an inch. We tried out skiing, but eventually the cost of renting gear got us. The road up to the cabin got iced on our last night so the cars wouldn't make it up the hill. We ended up walking to the cabin. It was an adventure, but the snow was worth it! We loved the cabin, and it was a very nice vacation. We had a lot of down time to play games, so we all got closer. Thanks for letting us stay here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

January 4, 2009

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!! My son and his friend are college students at the Citadel. They worked very hard this past semseter and got snowboards for Christmas! We were able to celebrate their achievements and let them use their presents...and what a great way to do so! We love your cabin and we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

January 1, 2009

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We had a great time/stay. Our family enjoyed the cool weather and bathing in the jacuzzi in 30 degree weather. We really got to know the whole area. We drove to Linville Falls, which was beautiful. We did gem mining in Linville by the cavern. My daughter enjoyed her discoveries. We hope to be back again next winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

October 26, 2008

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2008

What a great weekend! Your cabin is cozy and cute and it was perfect for our getaway. We enjoyed the hot tub often and even indulged in some of your movies. The weather was drizzly at first, but then cleared off to a crisp fall weekend. We drove through Banner Elk and to Valle Crucis and saw gorgeous color and picturesque barns and scenery. We also LOVED Zuzda on Friday night. Great tapas eats, live jazz, and cool atmosphere. Thanks so much for a relaxing stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

September 1-October 17, 2008

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Thank you so much! It was a true cabin feeling! We enjoyed our stay, it was most comfortable! We also had the pleasure of seeing our first BEAR!! Walking up the road! 300 lbs I think, it was awesome! AND the 5 point deer I saw when I opened the door to go outside! It was a real treat. Thank you, thank you! We love it in Banner Elk, and we bought a house here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 1-3, 2008

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The cabin is so wonderful! It's a perfect getaway. We really loved everything here. This was our first time away together without our 2 year old, Kayleigh. We enjoyed it, but she will be here with us next time. It's gonna be hard to get my fiance to leave, he loves the outdoors and all the fresh air. The hot tub was wonderful, too. We also sat around and played uno. Something we both have not done since we were kids. It is so cozy here. We loved the wood and rock work inside. The bed was so comfortable. We will most likely be back in the fall or winter. We will recommend this to people we know. Don't know how anyone couldn't have fun here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

February 29-March 2, 2008

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2008

We came up here just to find snow and as soon as we pulled up to the cabin, it started snowing. We actually got to snow tube on the road outside due to no other traffic up here at the cabin. Also while here, we went to town and fed the ducks. We went to Sugar Mountain and went snow tubing at night. We had a great time for a mini-vacation. The cabin was just perfect for the four of us. My kids had a great time in Banner Elk.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

February 22-25, 2008

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2008

We had a great time staying in this adorable cabin! The weather was unusually warm when we got here, and a few days later it was snowing! We got a couple days in skiing at Sugar Mountain. We rode the 2000 foot zipline with Scream Time Zipline. This was awesome and a must-do! As always, it was much too short of a weekend. We are already talking about coming back in the summer and/or fall. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

February 19-21, 2007

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2007

We had a wonderful time in the mountains. This was our first time away alone without our children. We went skiing at Beech Mountain. We ate at some awesome restaurants. Both were Italian- Bella's and Sorrento's Bistro. Sorrento's is downtown Banner Elk across from Banner Elk Cafe, and the food was awesome. I highly recommend it. Bella's is across from the Food Lion. This is a very warm and cozy cabin, and we thank you for allowing us to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

December 29-31, 2007

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2007

Thank you so much! We had a wonderful time and LOVE the cabin! God's blessings to you and yours in 2008!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Decemter 19, 2007

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2007

We had a great time at the cabin! This is really a beautifl place. Next time we'll bring a 4-wheel drive so we can actually drive up to our cabin instead of walking...(icy roads). Thanks for letting us stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

November 21-25, 2007

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2007

Great get away. We enjoyed our time so very much. Thanksgiving was wonderful and gave us an opportunity to give thanks to God for this beautiful place. Thanks for allowing us to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

November 16-18, 2007

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2007

Wow, the cabin is beautiful! It was much better than I even expected. My husband only has 18 days of R & R before returning to Iraq, and we couldn't have found a more relaxing place to spend a long awaited weekend alone. I wish we could stay longer. It was so quiet and peaceful. We didn't even want to leave the cabin. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

October 18-22, 2007

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2007

I felt at home immediately. My sister, Ellen, and I shared many hours relaxing in the lovely home you built. I enjoyed my first Wooly Worm Festival. What fun! People here are so friendly. The highlight of my visit to Banner Elk was the vision of the fall season, which actually peaked Oct. 20th(ish). The fall foilage was truly a sight to behold and our drive through the Blue Ridge Parkway was amazing. We were in the midst of a beautiful painting. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer of 2007

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2007

What a great, cozy, sweet cabin in themountains of Banner Elk! When you sit on the back porch, you almost feel like you're in a huge tree house up high in the forest. We were the first to rent the cabin and are from Delray Beach, Florida. What a far cry from the flat sandy beaches! We took the boys trout fishing at the Grandfathers Trout Farm...the trout was FABULOUS! They clean it for you and smoke it if you'd like. Our week was full of adventure. We drove for miles looking at fishing holes around the high country. We found great places to hike, fish, and picnic. Julian Price Park Vally, Crucias City Park, Banner Elk Dog Park, Upper Creek Falls (great place to swim!). We went white water rafting with a company that we highly recommend: River and Earth Adventures. They served lunch that was great!! Grandfather Mountain was unbelievable. Being so high was amazing! We stayed a full 2 weeks and truly did not want to leave. We will miss the cabin and the beautiful mountains that surround us so beautifully every day!! Thanks for a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review