reviews for: listing #36031 - Napa, California Studio rental

BJ's Nest ~Perfect Romantic Getaway! Private Hot Tub!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Northeast city/Napa
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $170 - $230 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,415 /wk

sort by:

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

This was our second stay at BJ's Nest while visiting relatives over the Thanksgiving holiday. BJ's is the guest room you wish your folks had: plush, comfortable, private, and quiet. We're provided with a small fridge, toaster oven, hot pot and coffee maker, sink -- all the essentials for quick meals and late night snacks (hey, who cooks while visiting Napa?). There's a hot tub outside (separate towels are provided) and jetted tub inside a spacious bathroom, four down pillows, cable TV, and DVD player. The location on famed Silverado Trail is very convenient and with windows closed we did not hear traffic noise at night. The tidy yard was great for dog walking. Barbara, the owner, is a welcoming, but unobtrusive, hostess.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our best experience in Wine Country

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

We've been to the Napa/Sonoma valleys several times but this was by far our favorite.

Beautiful grounds, serene location, convenient to the Trail and downtown Napa, BJ's Nest the is perfect place for spending some time getting to know the Napa and Sonoma valleys. We stayed 11 days and each day when we returned from our tastings and travels, we felt like we were coming home. We've never felt that relaxed on a vacation, ever!

Barbara is a font of knowledge about the local area and a very gracious hostess. She is very friendly and approachable no matter the question or concern. She excels at providing a friendly ambience in her manner and in the space.

We're coming back for 9 more days in 2014.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private, comfortable, and most pleasant

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant 5 day stay. This studio is very clean, spacious and comfortable, and Barbara overlooks no detail in ensuring that her guests have everything they could possibly need. The towels and face cloths are plentiful and changed out every second day. The living area furniture and the queen bed are very comfy (did not try the day bed) and the studio has very good lighting throughout. Bathroom facilities are superb! The little kitchenette is stocked better than most, with good quality knives and cookware, even spices and teas. Barbara had also left lots of fresh ground coffee in the fridge for us - both regular and decaf. The hot tub was a wonderful treat for the fall evenings as well, and we found extra towels in the bathroom cupboard for the tub. The only thing that prevented it from 5 stars in our opinion was the proximity to a busy road which made daytime sitting on the deck a little noisy. Having said that, we were out and about most of the day anyway. Inside, however, it is totally soundproofed so excellent for sleeping. And sitting in the hot tub in the evening is fine too because the tub jets override any traffic sounds, and all the large trees around make it very private. Barbara also respects the privacy of visitors as there is a separate entrance and private deck so it's really your own space. We would not hesitate in recommending this studio to others and we disagree entirely with the comments from the previous renter. VRBO is not for everyone perhaps, but we have used it in many countries and really enjoy it. We have found that each place is entirely different and you have to be flexible and willing to adjust to individual practices. Otherwise stay in a hotel. Barbara is welcoming and thoughtful and offers a lovely oasis for her guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not so secluded...Negative Messages in Nice Frames are Still NEGATIVE Messages!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

10th anniversary trip in Napa! Excited to return and thought we'd try a new place. BJ's Nest, though charming in some aspects, was a real let down for us. Feared not getting our security deposit back the entire trip because of how we felt during our stay. House was about 30 yards from a very busy street & 2 others at the corner. Owner lives above & we could hear her throughout the evening moving around. For 2 adults, only 2 bath towels were provided & we were told they'd only be refreshed every other day due to water conservation in the area, even though we witnessed the sprinklers watering plants & grass several days (?). There were tons of decorative pillows, but few actual bed pillows (3). Luxury usually equates to multiple pillows & towels per guest, not scarcity. A day-bed had another pillow, but with all the cutely framed negative messages, we were scared to use for fear of losing our security deposit. Negative messages included, don't use the shams or decorative pillows as bed pillows (like she knows there's a shortage, but won't address it) or you might get dinged w/ a dry cleaning fee, Don't use the hot tub after 9 on weeknights and 10 on weekends (really??? We're in our 40's & can't enjoy), Take out trash and put it in the receptacles before you leave (what did we pay an extra cleaning fee for again??? We left the place spotless out of fear, not enjoyment). The hot tub itself had an unusually high smell of chlorine, so we didn't use it. I understand cleanliness, but I don't want to bleach my skin either - what an irritation! The light switches for the shower/tub area were hidden behind a bookshelf -very inconvenient. TV needs upgraded. And what about the SMACK of PET ODOR when you first open the door upon arrival -what a horrible 1st impression & it lingered w/ us as a result. Don't mind pets by any means, but the place has to be ODOR free!!!! Tons of locked doors & compartments -very strange and weird. And, let's not forget about the air conditioning. Though there was A/C & Heat, we had NO CONTROL over it. To raise/lower, the book directs you to call the owner (???? Really, who has time for that???)? We've stayed in very nice establishments throughout our life as I'm sure most people renting on here have. None of us need to be reminded of the things we shouldn't do in a rental. Tell us what there is to enjoy!!!! 2 water bottles in fridge -were those free? Wouldn't know -nothing told us? Truly a let down! Don't recommend as upper end.

Owners response: The guests posting this inflammatory review have stated completely false information....not sure the "why", as during their stay (4/nights) they did not utter one complaint, nor request any assistance. The security deposit of $200 was returned to them within contract specifications - as they did leave the apartment nice and tidy.

1. Pet odor....since there had not been a guest with pet in over 2 months, a pet odor would be impossible. Plus prior guests to them would have said something.
2. Bath towels - 6 are provided, plus hand towels, plus wash cloths - every other day. Should any guest desire more, this is supplied w/o question.
3. Bed pillows - 6 pillows are supplied. Should any guest wish more, they are supplied, as well as pillows w/o down.
4. Hot tub - The City of Napa requires and posts time usage "rules". As a owner, I have no say on this. Guests are permitted to use hot tub even at later hours than the city demands, and all I ask is that guests be quiet, so not to disturb neighbors. Most guests simply ask.
5.All apartments have adjoining walls/ceilings (thus an apartment - not a cottage), so naturally soft foot steps can be heard.
6. Studio is fully sound proofed - ceilings & walls, so therefore very quiet within.
7. Street - Silverado Trail can be noisy at times, but this property does NOT have 2 other "busy" adjoining streets.
8. Framed notices/requests within studio - some guests need to be informed that decorative pillows are not part of the sleeping pillows.
9. A/C is automatic. Goes on when temp is hot, off when cooler.
10. We provide coffee/teas, sugars, spices, all paper goods/foil, bottled water, plus shampoo/condit, even many candles for guests to enjoy during their stay. And this is stated on the websites.
11. Security deposit of $200.is a low amount as we try to accommodate the average guest.
It is sad that these guests spent their time being "fearful/afraid" during their stay. Communication is available via email, telephone or simply knocking on my door. Should these guests have simply looked within the bathroom cabinet for the extra towels they were there - along with the hair dryer, hair spray, toilet paper, Kleenex etc. All of this information is stated within the studio notebook, and where everything is located.
My vacation rental is of high standards, as the many guest reviews show; fully licensed w/city permit.
Thank you. Barbara

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A warm and inviting studio home.

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

We loved our time spent here. It is in a great location, near downtown Napa and the grounds are beautiful. This vacation rental has everything you could possibly want or need for your stay. It is beautifully decorated and immaculate. We enjoyed our days at the wineries and looked forward to our time spent in the hot tub upon our return. We would stay here again and will recommend it to our family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An excellent place for a comfortable vacation. Very relaxing

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

I love this place. We felt very comfortable and relaxed. We thought Barbara did everything that she could do. She opened up her doors and made us feel right at home. Thanks we will definitely recommend this unit to family and friends.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved this studio!

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

Great location, immaculately kept, VERY private studio. The private spa is wonderful! Very close to downtown Napa and super convenient access to Silverado Trail and Hwy 29 if you're planning to go wine tasting. Minutes to the Oxbow Marketplace which has delicious food & wine options. This studio is so much more intimate than a hotel or B&B. It was so nice to have the kitchenette for our breakfast and snacks. The gas fireplace and jetted bath are extra bonuses as well. Barbara is an amazing host, very helpful with reccomendations for dining and wine tours. We definitely will be recommending her place to friends and family and will be booking our return trip soon!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Home Away From Home

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

Let me just start by saying that we will be staying with Barbara the next time we're in California!! My husband and I decided to stay at BJ's Nest just by reading the wonderful reviews. They did not fall short. We loved the romantic ambiance as well as the privacy. Our stay was quite busy and hectic but every evening, we relaxed with a glass of wine in the hot tub. There's just no better way to end a day. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The jetted tub and granite shower was a huge plus!! She pays attention to detail. She's a gem when you meet her. Such a lovely lady. Thanks, Barbara, for making us feel like we have a HOME AWAY from home. The Shaffers of Boise, Idaho

Owners response: Hi Stephanie and Jerry....
You were a joy to have here! I so enjoyed being able to meet you, and talk about Boise. Am pleased you enjoyed the studio and property - means a great deal to me to hear this from my guests. Thank you for sharing the tamale's!

I look forward to seeing you and having you as my guests.
Warm regards, Barbara

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Napa Rental !

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

What a wonderful stay my wife and I had at Bj's Nest. We stayed two nights which was all the time we had but wish it was longer because of the accommodation. Each morning we had a hard time getting out of bed because of the coziness of bed. We slept with the windows open which was nice and peaceful. We felt like home the moment we entered the rental. Nice clean rental with awesome shower and bathtub. Attention to detail. We enjoyed the puzzles and blankets as we drank wine and talked about our day. Thanks Barbara for a wonderful vacation. See you again soon I hope !

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thank you Barbara!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

As so many others have described in earlier reviews this accommodation was simply wonderful. It was well appointed for all of our needs and the bath / hot tub / shower were all first class.
The extra space of a small apartment setting was much appreciated after a day of wineries, San Francisco, Muir Woods and other adventures throughout the week. We could relax on the deck and relive our day with a glass of wine and some cheese and crackers, or curl up with a book.
The location is perfect......right on the entrance of Siverado wine trail and about a mile or so from shopping and downtown Napa.
The best way I can sum up our stay is to say that it exceeded our expectations and that is saying a lot based on the description and the beautiful pictures on the website.
Thank you Barbara for sharing your "nest" with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet Retreat

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We spent a week in Napa and had a wonderful time. BJ's Nest was the perfect place to return to after a day of touring the valley. It was clean, quiet and comfortable - it was as described. BJ was a gracious host - always available and willing to answer our questions about the studio or the area in general. If you are planning a trip to the Napa Valley and are looking for a quiet getaway, we would recommend this property. You will not be disappointed - we weren't.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for 2

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

This was our second time to stay at BJ's Nest. Again, It was perfect!! The place is perfectly located just a mile or so away from downtown, and from the Silverado Trail. Easy access to wine country. The Hot Tub, Private Balcony, and comfortable living area, great Bathroom, make this a perfect place for couples to get away and forget about troubles. Thanks again Barbara!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect way to visit Napa valley

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

BJ's Nest exceeded our expectations. It is prettier than the pictures and is located on a residential street just off the Silverado Trail, which is the scenic way to travel up and down the Napa valley. The studio is a superior alternative to a hotel room because you have more space, a private outdoor patio, a kitchen for breakfast and lunch in/room, and a lovely gas stove in the corner of the living room for taking the chill off when you come in from an evening of wining and dining outside. Barbara, the owner, is a gracious hostess who strikes the perfect balance between being wonderfully accommodating while affording you respectful privacy. We will absolutely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bonnie & Charles - you were super guests,so easy! Warm and friendly. Am happy you were able to visit with your family, and new grandbaby. I am thankful that I was able to accommodate your special need of "no stairs" entrance to the studio.

Thank you for the referrals, and it will be a pleasure to have you back again.
Warm regards, Barbara

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couldn't ask for anything more

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

But one word --- Perfect! Centrally located with easy access to everything available in Napa Valley, including Napa (wineries, balloon rides and more), Sonoma (more wineries, a brew pub and more), and Santa Rosa (safari, beer manufacturer and more) while nestled in lush gardens surrounded by pine trees and a secluded, private hot tub. Could not have asked for anything more! "Nest" is the best word to describe this studio "apartment" that provided more than sufficient space for the two of us and would have comfortably housed two more. The owner, Barbara, provided everything we needed for "our home away from home" including a personal-sized refrigerator, an excellent set of knives, cutting board, toaster, toaster oven, spices and everything else we needed to enjoy a special vacation. She also thought to include the "personal touches" like signature pillows, soft throw/blanket and even a rubber -ducky for both tubs. Barbara, thank you for a wonderful vacation...we cannot wait to book another visit at BJ's!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Michael & Kara - It was such a delight to have you as my guests! Am so pleased that you liked & enjoyed the accommodations - and so pleased that you appreciated the professional knives! I, too, like to cook.
I enjoyed getting to meet you, and look foward to having you return.
Warm regards, Barbara

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our last night at BJ's nest

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

It has been a wonderful week - went all too fast. BJ's Nest is the perfect getaway in wine country - far better than a Studio, Barbara has put a tremendous amount of attention to detail and comfort. She thought of everything! There is a notebook on the table with excellent recommendations on dining, hiking, wineries, you name it. We tried almost all her top picks and they were execellent. I highly recommend BJ's Nest to any couple who wants a week in wine country.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxation at it's best!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

As first time travelers to California, and Napa, my husband and I were looking for a place to stay that was larger than a hotel room, yet smaller than a rental for a group. We decided on B.J.'s Nest, and were very pleased with our accommodations. This studio, which is close to everything Napa has to offer, was a relaxing retreat that made you feel like you were home. It was impeccably clean, tastefully decorated and filled with anything needed for our week's stay. With a comfy bed, jetted tub and deck jacuzzi, we were always rested and ready for the next day's adventure. The beautiful gardens were a delight to the senses...overflowing with trees, flowers and tranquil water features. Owner Barbara could not have been nicer - she was warm, gracious and very helpful in giving suggestions for the many questions I had before and during our stay. As we were grilling out on the deck the last day of our trip, my husband looked at me and said "This was a great vacation." Thanks to Barbara, it was.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cindy & Dave - You were the best guests! A breath of fresh air!
I delighted in helping out with information & recommendations for your time here in the Bay Area.

Am most happy that you shared your experiences - that you enjoyed the studio as well as the grounds. Most of my guests do comment on the yard, many trees, & serene/peaceful feeling of the property. Thank you so for chosing my place for your vacation getaway. I hope you will return one day - it would be my utmost pleasure in seeing you again.
Warm regards, Barbara

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely spot a short distance from napa centre

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

A really nice spot to stay, v comfortable and cosy, made a great part of our honeymoon. Some v good recommendations for the area including a great wine tasting place. For self catering it's fairly well appointed (although could have benefited from a proper cooking hob) but if you want to eat out it's only about a mile to walk into town- the nearby oxbow market is worth a visit - amazing pizza! We would happily recommend this accommodation to our friends as a good value and a excelent choice for napa and the surrounding area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Charlotte & Chris!
It was a pleasure having you as my guests on this special occasion. I hope you enjoyed the dozen red roses that were on your bedside table too!

My studio apartment is nicely appointed, but does NOT have a full kitchen (which is stated on each web site listing). Does have an ample selection of pots/pans/hot plate/electric skillet, small convection oven, etc to cook with.

Am most happy to hear that you enjoyed the Oxbow Market shops while here. It is "new" to Napa, and most welcome to have. Napa downtown is just 5 minutes, driving, from the apartment, so we are very close to all downtown activities, and our wonderful restaurants.
Best regards, Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Napa Getaway

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Great place to stay! It was easy to find and close to downtown Napa but felt secluded. Extremely comfy place - clean and well-maintained.

We met Barbara as we were getting in on our first day and she was very friendly. She leaves a binder of info on the area, which is very helpful when deciding where to eat.

Absolutely a great deal if you are visiting the area - so much better than staying in a hotel!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful place to relax

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

We enjoyed our time at Bj's nest very much. Traveling in Napa with children (age 10 and 12) is not everyone's idea of a vacation, but with such a wonderful home away from home, everyone was relaxed and calm. Bj's nest had everything we needed for a great short family get away for my birthday. Barbara was so hospitable and made us all feel like family. We will certainly be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We had a wonderful trip to Napa thanks to the hospitality and comfort that we enconterd at BJ's Nest. We were there for the Napa Marathon and the accomodations were perfect. The bed was so comfortable and the setting was so nice and private and peaceful. We travel with our small dog, Dave, and he loved it there as well and felt at home. Thank you to Barbara for making our stay so nice and relaxing. Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a week at BJ's Nest in December. The location is great, easy to get to downtown and right at the base of the Silverado trail. The rental is very spacious and private. Unfortunately the weather was not nice enough for us to spend a lot of time out on the deck and in the gardens, we'll have to come back in the summer. This place is an excellent choice if you want to be close to the wineries and downtown Napa.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

November in Napa at the Nest

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

My fiancée and I recently stated the Nest for our visit to Napa. I must say the place was great and Barbara is a fantastic hostess. She has everything needed to enjoy your stay in clean comfortable surroundings along with a guide book of nearby restaurants and attractions. We were there for a couple of days of wine tasting and after spending the day visiting the wineries it was nice to come back to the Nest for a relaxing evening in the hot tub and a glass of wine on the deck. The Nest is in a great location with easy access to downtown and the Silverado Trail. We plan on telling our friends and family about the Nest and look forward to staying here on our next visit to Napa.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

nice place

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

nice clean well looked after, fantastic bathroom and a good place to stay

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Great Comfortable Place

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

We had a terrific time at BJ'S Nest. It was very comfortable and well appointed with all the amenities we needed. It is in a great location in Napa Valley. Barbara is a wonderful host. Will definately return !!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful romantic getaway

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

My companion and I wanted to spend time together enjoying the wine country but not going too far. BJ's Nest was perfect. The private hot tub was a wonderful treat for us in the evening, the bed was comfortable and everything was clean and well appointed. We definitely plan to return when our schedules permit.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wine, Sun, Napa and BJ's Nest

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

We recently stayed for 5 nights at BJ's Nest and thoroughly enjoyed the very well appointed apartment. The furnishings and appointments are all top notch. The bathroom shower and whirlpool tub are a great way to start and end your day and the deck with a westward exposure allows for a nice afternoon rest on the deck.

It is central to everything you could want to do in Napa and surrounding area, and Barbara gave us good tips on travel and dining options.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BJ's Nest

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at BJ's Nest in Napa. It was a relaxing and wonderful return from a day of wine tasting and sightseeing. My wife and I would highly recommend BJ's Nest to our friends and family.

Rob and Lori,
Ft. Collins, CO

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay at BJ's Nest

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We recently enjoyed a relaxing week at BJ's Nest in Napa Valley. We were there to golf and wine taste and found this to be a great location at the end of Silverado Trail. It was easy access to anywhere we wanted to go. The apartment is very clean, tastefully decorated, cozy and welcoming. So much better than a week in a hotel! The kitchenette had everything we needed for eating in or packing a picnic. The bathroom has a shower as well as a wonderful jacuzzi tub. Perfect! And for cool evenings in, there is a wonderfully warm gas fireplace. We also enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the garden. Barbara is simply a wonderful hostess and has put a lot of thought into the "nest." All her suggestions for restaurants were great as well. We will definately stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Stay at a Private, Cozy Retreat

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We loved our stay at BJ's Nest. I've stayed in other lovely hotels in the area, but nothing can beat the privacy of having your "own place" to stay... and at a great price! Through the French doors we were met with a large, lovely studio complete with all you could ask for- a full kitchenette, an amazing bathroom, a cozy fireplace and large, very comfortable bed. You really feel liked your on vacation in a home away from home. After a long day of wine tasting we returned to share a quiet evening on the porch in the hot tub overlooking a tree-filled yard. The location is perfect-- very close to downtown Napa, but also right off the Silverado Trail, so convenient to getting around the Valley. The owner, Barbara, is as nice as they come. The whole rental process was so simple, and she really goes out of her way if you have any special requests. She also provides a binder filled with helpful tips about the area-- places to eat, maps of the wineries, etc. Overall, I highly recommend BJ's Nest.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Canadians in Napa

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

After a long day's drive from Palm Springs, we were delighted to arrive at this apartment with its spacious interior, up-to-date, stylish furnishings and private setting overlooking an immaculately maintained garden. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the comforts of the apartment during the mornings and evenings while touring the area in the afternoon. We had some cool, wet weather so enjoyed the gas fireplace/stove and warm bathing in the large soaking bathtub and separate shower. The apartment was very clean and well maintained by Barbara who was very helpful and responsive to our questions about the apartment and the area. Our small poodle also enjoyed his stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay at BJ's Nest.

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

We can't say enough about how great it was staying at BJ's Nest. Barbara thought of everything to accomodate us. It was so peaceful, warm and very "homey" there. We appreciated the private and quiet setting. We have recommended BJ's Nest to our family and friends and hope to stay there again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay in Napa!

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 30, 2009

This is a great place to stay, especially for a couple (even though there is enough room for four) to stay while visiting Napa and the surrounding area. The location was perfect for us, as we toured wineries during the day and then downtown for dinner in the evenings. The place is clean, well-maintained, updated and has all the amenities you need. The owner is wonderful to work with--we definitely recommend this place. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We had a lovely 2 night stay in this attached, quite large studio. It was plenty big for the two of us and our adult son. The jacuzzi tub, with bath salts and bubble bath provided, was great. Everything looked new and clean - the bath towels, bedding and bathrobes were plush. The complementary bottle of wine, coffee, tea and hot chocolate was a really nice touch. The location was just a short car ride into downtown Napa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

My husband and I recently returned from a surprise trip that I planned for him and he was just as pleased as I was with BJ's Nest. It is centrally located in Napa which made it easy to get to restaurants, shopping, etc. The Nest is nicely decorated and quite cozy. I really can not say enough good about BJ's Nest. It was so much better than having a hotel room. We hope to use the bar-b-que and take advantage of the back porch a bit more next time. The gas fireplace takes the chill off in a hurry when you come in from the hot tub with the cool night air. Barbara goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable and welcome to the valley. We both can't wait to return to Napa and another stay at BJ's Nest will be a must for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

We had a girls' vacation and found BJ's Nest with our first experience on VRBO. We were thrilled with our choice! Barbara was so helpful and went the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The decor and gardens were so pleasing that we drove to St. Helena for picnic supplies & drove back to our cottage for lunch on the deck. BJ's Nest & Barbara made our stay in Napa a wonderful memory and we hope to come back again next year. I would recommend a stay there to any of my friends headed to Napa. A wonderful experience!! Thanks Barbara..
Deborah Riggins
Callahan, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

We had a wonderful visit in Napa made even better by
your hospitality. We loved having your little "nest" to
come home to each night. It was so much better than
a hotel room! Your warm and inviting decor is
beautifully maintained. We enjoyed the spa and spa
tub and even used the great BBQ. THANK YOU!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

My daughter and I had a Mother-Daughter get-
away at BJ's Nest and it was fabulous. The
apartment was just perfect. Lots of room, beautiful
setting, luxurious bath, and wonderful location.
We fixed breakfast every morning - with fruit from
a nearby produce stand - and enjoyed the hot tub
and the jetted bathtub at night after a long day of
wine tasting.

I would recommend this apartment to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 19, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

What a wonderful stay, my only regret is that it was only for two nights. The condo is a perfect home for a couple wanting to enjoy a trip to wine country. Very spacious for a studio. Close to all Napa has to offer, yet the surrounding trees and landscaping make you feel secluded and private. The grill is perfect for picking up steaks and sides to go with those bottles of wine you've acquired during the day. Any what better way to cap off a day than a dip in your own private hottub. I will certainly be staying again on my next trip to the Bay area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

This attached studio apartment is as pleasant as it looks in the photos. Barbara has thought of everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible. She has surrounded the grounds with beautifully kept gardens and places necessities like milk and coffee in the fridge. The hot tub is great, very clean with powerful pumps to relax weary bodies after a day of wine tasting. Additional items like plush bathrobes and a complimentary bottle of wine and water made our stay perfect.

Owners response: Marne & Mathew: Thanks so much for this great review. I so enjoyed meeting you, and that precious pet of yours! Do visit again - would love to see all "3" of you. Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

What a fabulous retrete! My husband an I spent a
week in this lovely home. We played golf, spent
time on the wine trail and even went to Calistoga
and spent a day at a great spa.
What a treat to come home to this beautiful
setting,and spend time in the Hot tub and on the
lovely patio.
We plan on coming back!
Thank you Barbara for making our trip so special

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review