reviews for: listing #36040 - Claytor Lake, Virginia House rental

Beach Bungalow at Claytor Lake
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $140 /nt
    $800 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Nice House - unfortunate water and mold problem

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

The owners were very nice and easy to work with, the house is nicely furnished, the view was lovely, the kitchen had all the needed tools and supplies and the bed was very comfortable. It's also very convenient to our daughter at college. Unfortunately, there is a water seepage and overall dampness problem in the center of the house that seems to be creating a very strong moldy odor and made one of the bedrooms unusable due to water on the floor. Even a dehumidifier running constantly did not reduce the moldy odor or dampness.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review Revised

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Since my original review was written, the owner did refund 1/2 of the deposit. This was a nice gesture, and is gladly accepted and appreciated. It does help me in the possibility of staying at th Beach Bungalow again in the future. The proximity of the dock does make it very worthwhile.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay. Best deal on the lake!

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

Me and my 4 friends had a great time here. It was great weather and we had a great time on the lake. The dock gave us easy access for our boat rental and let me and my friends sunbath. The fans and window ac units did the job when we needed to take a break inside. The outside fire pit was stocked with wood so our fire could last all night. It even had a horse shoe pit for us to use. Overall we, had a great time and will be back next time we visit VA. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good business??

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I am upset at losing our security deposit due to the dock not being built correctly. Our lease agreement said "Damages: Guest is responsible...., which resulted from negligence of Guest or any member...The dock came apart where it was nailed. It should have been bolted like the other side. We did nothing inappropriate with the dock. We docked boats. Also had the shore been cleared of driftwood, the dock probably would not have come apart. So I feel that this is not negligence on our part.
Additionally, for our group of men, the place was passable but not ideal. Beside the mold on the walls in the hallway, the place was old and not particularly clean. I swept off the deck of old leaves, in order to enjoy the use of the deck and to keep from tracking in the leaves.
I am generally easy going and would have considered renting in the future, but not now after being charged for poor maintenance on the homeowners part.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing place right on the water

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

It's great to find a place where you can walk right into the water from the home. Relaxing time and perfect to connect to family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

Enjoyed boating and nice fires at night before bed. Relaxing and a great family time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

first time renting a home away

Review submitted: May 12, 2009   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

This was our first time renting a home away .The whole family enjoyed the stay because there was always something to do.Claytor lake is a beautiful lake with good fishing and boating opportunities.The Beach Bungalow that we rented was just the ticket,we felt right at home there.A nice long dock was good for fishing off .We rented a pontoon boat one day and fished other parts of the lake as well.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review