reviews for: listing #36165 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

"Little Red House" A Delightful Pet Friendly Beach Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Little Lagoon
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $175 /nt
    $800 - $1,200 /wk
    $1,400 - $1,400 /mth

sort by:

Just What We Needed!

Review submitted: May 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

We were looking for a good place to relax and unwind. This is a good place to do it. My husband did a little fishing and we both road the bike trail almost every morning. Our son, his wife and the grandkids came and stayed for a couple of days and they really enjoyed it. The water was just right for the kids. The owners are very kind and gracious. The neighbors was nice and friendly. The only surprise is that the house is bigger than it looked in the pictures. But that was a good thing. This is definitely something we're going to try to do again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Red House is our Beach Home that has been the place of a lot of wonderful memories for our family over the years. We have been lucky to have such good people rent our home, leaving it clean and treating it as if it was their own. We are "Very Thankful" for you and all of our renters. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Thank You for your review!

Helpful votes: 71 / 73

 

Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

This was the first vacation my husband and I have taken in six years. The Little Red House on Little Lagoon exceeded our expectations. The weather was perfect and the house was amazing. It was such a delight to wake up early in the morning and enjoy the tranquil surroundings. My husband set crab traps and fished daily. We have family that live close by so they were able to come to the house to visit. I would absolute recommend staying here to anyone. This has been the best vacation ever. Thank you to Buddy and Peggy for sharing their piece of paradise with others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Red House is our Beach Home that has been the place of a lot of wonderful memories for our family over the years. We have been lucky to have such good people rent our home, leaving it clean and treating it as if it was their own. We are "Very Thankful" for you and all of our renters. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future. Thanks Again Guys!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous House!

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Had a great stay!
We had so much fun!
Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous House!
P & H, Slidell, La.

Helpful votes: 55 / 56

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Weekend !

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend! My birthday turned out great. Loved your house and the wonderful screened porch under the house. Thanks for sharing your fantastic Gulf house. We hope to do this again! Hattiesberg, Ms.

Helpful votes: 54 / 55

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time !

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We had a great time! We went fishing every day and caught all kinds of fish. Everything was so nice.....it was awesome! Can't wait to come back! Payton, Tn.

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect !

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. You thought of everything to make the visit perfect. Our favorite activity was fishing off the dock. We have spent more time outside this week than all of last year. Our son and his girlfriend went to the beach every day and had a blast. They said the Hang Out is "sick"! I pretty sure that's good!
We look forward to coming back soon. Thank you for our "Welcome Bag"! Our dog, Buddy, loved his toy. He carried it around the the entire time! Thanks again for the hospitality. Shellville, Ga.

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Had A Great Month......

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

I had a great month staying at your "Little Red House". Seeing the sunrise over the water, your wonderful decking & dock made for a great place to relax. Thank you for the gift bag. My guest and I found your furnishings very comfortable. We are already looking forward to our stay next year!
B. M.
West Bloomfield, Mi.

Helpful votes: 33 / 33

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Getting Away From The Snow

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

We had a great week just relaxing and getting away from the snow in Indiana! We did a lot of sight seeing since we had never been here before. We also went out on a charter fishing boat and caught a lot of fish. Our yellow lab Buck loved the lagoon! He was in it every day! We went to Mobile to the USS Alabama Battle Ship and that was very nice. They have a nice museum also. Lots of great food in this area and we had our share this week! Thanks for your hospitality! We would love to visit again!
M & L & Buck!
Galveston, Indiana

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly Relaxing!

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

This house is truly a relaxing place. Buddy & Peggy went out of their way to make us comfortable. Great for grandparents to bring there grand kids. the water and weather was perfect! Next time, and there will be a next time, we're planning for a week.

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect For Our Family!

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Our week was so much fun! We caught 18 crab, red fish & mullet. It was relaxing to sit in the screened porch area and watch the sun go down. the Little Red House was perfect for our family! This was the best! Right up there with our Disney vacation. The neighbors were all so nice. The dauphin cruise was fantastic and Waterville rocked! We hope to make this a yearly trip. we couldn't have asked for a better time!

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun Full Week!

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We had a great vacation here! The boys are already talking next year! Each boy hads to check "his" crab trap multiple times a day. We ended up with 23 grab. Fished off the pier every day and actually caught a few good ones. Mom (me) enjoyed her morning coffee while sitting on the pier watching the most beautiful sunrises. We some realy great meals at the local restrants. We home school so the Dauphin Island Sea Lab was a great "field trip". Civil War buff, Dad, got to visit both Fort Morgan and Fort Gaines. The guys went deep sea fishing and had a great time! They also fished off the new State Pier at the State Park. We also drove to P'cola to the Naval Air Museum. The Little Zoo is a must see! We had a full fun week at the Little Red House and are looking forward to next year!

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 25th

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home. We had a wonderful time. We will cherish the memories made celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary here. We hope we can arrange to stay next year as well! Thank You, L & C

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My Get Away!

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

First off, I want to Thank You for making this a special vacation. You was so nice and understanding for letting my daughter-in-law and two grandchildren come down at the last minute. I feel like I have found new friends. The house was everything we expected and more. The kids enjoyed crabbing off the pier and chasing me with them! Lots of great memories! Thank You and we'll be back!

FSM From Bradley, OK

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

We Know A Secrete!

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

The 'Secrete" is the Little Red House and the Little Lagoon! We absolutely loved it. I don't know where to begin. The house is great. Just the right size for my husband, two kids and me. Downstairs under the house and out on the pier is where we spent most of our time. The water was a little nippy but it's early Spring. The kids fished, caught crabs and fed the birds on the pier. My husband and I enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. We toured Fort Morgan and some of the other historic sights in the area. We ate like Kings! I don't know of any other area of the country that has better food than what we found here! The owners, Buddy & Peggy have just a whole host of brochures and information to help you find anything you may want to do.
We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Red House is our Beach Home that has been the place of a lot of wonderful memories for our family and friends over the years. We have been lucky to have such great people rent our home, leaving it clean and treating it as if it was their own. We are "Very Thankful" for you and all of our renters. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Thank You for your review!

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

Miller's Time

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Enjoyed springtime on the Gulf Coast! The Little Red House was a very nice place for us to get away from the snow this year. We were able to bring our two dogs, which is a must, and it made it seem like a home away from home. The owners are great and very helpful! If we come back to Gulf Shores we will check for availability at The Little Red House first!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Red House is our Beach Home that has been the place of a lot of wonderful memories for our family and friends over the years. We have been lucky to have such great people rent our home, leaving it clean and treating it as if it was their own. We are "Very Thankful" for you and all of our renters. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Thank You for your review!

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

Keeps Getting Better!

Review submitted: January 17, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

This is the second time we've come down to Gulf Shores and stayed here. We came down this time for the Shrimp Fest and it was great! This house is located just right for what ever is own your agenda. The last time we came down my husband brought his boat and him and the kids fished and went tubing the whole week. I was finally able to have me some quite time. I practically lived in the screened in area under the house listening to my CDs or laying out on the pier soaking up the sun. This is the best value we have found and Thank You for making us feel at home. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Red House is our Beach Home that has been the place of a lot of wonderful memories for our family over the years. We have been lucky to have such good people rent our home, leaving it clean and treating it as if it was their own. We are "Very Thankful" for you and all of our renters. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Thank You for your review!

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

Fishing & Crabbing @ The Little Red House

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

I just wanted you to know we had a great time at your place. We caught over all a couple of dozen crabs, we weren’t as lucky with the fish but the small ones were enough for the boys to enjoy. We do plan on coming back and will be checking the calendar for times when the house is open. We are thinking about a fall trip with a long weekend. Thank you for the crab traps and the use of the cooker. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Red House is our Beach Home that has been the place of a lot of wonderful memories for our family over the years. We have been lucky to have such good people rent our home, leaving it clean and treating it as if it was their own. We are "Very Thankful" for you and all of our renters. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Thank You for your review!

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: August 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

Hello Buddy & Peggy, It was absolutely perfect for us.We had a wonderful week. The weather was good, the neighbors were friendly & the fish were biting. I received my deposit check in the mail and thanks again for your promptness. The air condition worked really great,we had to keep it turned on low all week long. Thanks again from myself ,wife ,& family. Hope to be talking to ya"ll again next spring or summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Red House is our Beach Home that has been the place of a lot of wonderful memories for our family over the years. We have been lucky to have such good people rent our home, leaving it clean and treating it as if it was their own. We are "Very Thankful" for you and all of our renters. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Thank You for your review!

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

Vacation Experience

Review submitted: July 31, 2008   Date of arrival: July 11, 2008

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the little red house! The owners were very pleasant to talk with and the location was everything I had hoped for-quiet and relaxing! Wish there was a cover at the end of the pier but the atmosphere made up for it! I hope to spend many more vacations there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The Little Red House is our Beach Home that has been the place of a lot of wonderful memories for our family over the years. We have been lucky to have such good people rent our home, leaving it clean and treating it as if it was their own. We are "Very Thankful" for you and all of our renters .We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Thank You for your review!

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review