reviews for: listing #36184 - Cayuga Lake, New York Cottage rental

Forever Red: where wine trails and wildlife converge
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,350 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Excerpts from the guest book

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Pure delight when we got in and looked over this most comforting and spectacular home....
Slept in, head a leisurely breakfast, then read and lolled til nearly 11. Went to Rose Hill Mansion, toured and visited the tasting room next door. Went to Fox Run Winery, bought a mix of wines, found Wegmans and brought food home for dinner.

...went to Watkins Glen and walked up the Gorge trail- gorgeous, hahaha...
...sipped ruby port, looked at the waning moon....
..went to Sonnenburg Mansion and gardens...marvelous place.
...LIt the fire outside and the trhee of us polished off a bottle of white wine.
...went to Corning Museum of Glass...grand fun, Came home...looked at stars, moonrise, slept well.
...drove to Taughannock Falls State Park, visited the Women's Rights National Historical Park, strolled the stores in Seneca Falls...went to Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge- lots of Canada Geese, snow goose and then Montezuma Winery to taste meads....went in the kayaks- lake smooth little wind. Memorable vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely cottage

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

What a lovely cottage you have here at Forever Red! My husband, stepson and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are leaving with many fond memories. The three of us sat around the fireplace each evening telling stories and talking...something we don't tend to do at home at least not without electronics! I checked out all the antique shops I could find and visited the Seneca Falls Historical Society. We rented a fishing boat for the week at Cayuga General Store, and the boys caught several fish (pike). My stepson and I had some good laughs together as he navigated the Kayak and I used the extra paddle to follow him in the inner tube. We only wish our stay was longer. Thank you for a such a wonderful space that you obviously care greatly for!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

How can I express how much we enjoy our stay

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

How can I express how much we enjoy our stay at your cottage each year! The lake is wonderful and I find all the inspiration I need in the farm markets! I always leave wishing I had booked two weeks! Thank you for being a gracious host and sharing your perfect getaway "Forever Red"! We hope to be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful week..

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had a wonderful week both with my kids and without! This cottage began to feel like home half way through the week. The water was amazing, the colors and sounds of the water were breathtaking. We did both the beer trails and wine trails and had a blast seeing new sights and tasting new things. But the best part was coming back "home" to Forever Red. Our favorite restaurant was definitely Wolfy's just down the road. We even purchased their t-shirts! Wednesday night live music was great! Our favorite spot to sit in the house was definitely the table and high chairs. Breakfast, lunch or dinner the view was always perfect. The only thing we couldn't find were the life jackets. The bned in teh back bedroom was very firm. We disagreed on whether that was good or bad. :) Not east to get the firewood down to the campfire but we did and it was worth it! It seems there aren't a lot of sites with campfire spots! So we felt blessed to have that luxury. We even cooked marshmallows and made S'mores. All in all it was a wonderful week with lots of food food, great views, beautiful weather and a very comfy place to enjoy it all in. The only thing I wish I could change is tomorrow's date back to last Saturday so we could start all over again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful week..

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had a wonderful week both with my kids and without! This cottage began to feel like home half way through the week. The water was amazing, the colors and sounds of the water were breathtaking. We did both the beer trails and wine trails and had a blast seeing new sights and tasting new things. But the best part was coming back "home" to Forever Red. Our favorite restaurant was definitely Wolfy's just down the road. We even purchased their t-shirts! Wednesday night live music was great! Our favorite spot to sit in the house was definitely the table and high chairs. Breakfast, lunch or dinner the view was always perfect. The only thing we couldn't find were the life jackets. The bned in teh back bedroom was very firm. We disagreed on whether that was good or bad. :) Not east to get the firewood down to the campfire but we did and it was worth it! It seems there aren't a lot of sites with campfire spots! So we felt blessed to have that luxury. We even cooked marshmallows and made S'mores. All in all it was a wonderful week with lots of food food, great views, beautiful weather and a very comfy place to enjoy it all in. The only thing I wish I could change is tomorrow's date back to last Saturday so we could start all over again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a lovely time at Forever Red

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Dear Jennifer,
We have had a lovely time at Forever Red! This is such a home from home and we have all been so relaxed and rested here. The girls have enjoyed kayaking and just paddling in the lake. We explored the area and enjoyed hiking, wine-tasting and dining out! The Deerhead Inn was lovely and highly recommended.

Everyone we spoke to have been very friendly and chatty, it is a friendly neighborhood! We had never been to this area before- (we live in Oxford, England) although we have been to New England and Florida but we will tell our friends back home how nice the Finger Lakes region is and especially Forever Red! Thanks for having us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful space

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

What a wonderful space you have created in this lovely lake house. "Forever Red" is Forever in our hearts. The house has such a rejuvenating, healing, and comfortable feel. You can feel all the comfort that your thoughtfulness has brought to the house. Each space has a specialness to it. In all of our travels, this is by far the nicest house we have stayed in. It is located in a perfect spot.

Thank you for opening your hoe to us- so that we could experience Cayuga Lake to it's fullest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A real home from home!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had a lovely time at Forever Red.It was a comfortable,cosy home from home.The cottage was clean and well maintained and had all the amenities we needed.The view across the lake from the sunroom was wonderful from sunrise to sunset.Jennifer was very helpful and provided plenty of advice about the area.
Forever Red is ideally placed for the wine trail as well as sight-seeing but equally it was a place to relax and enjoy the lake.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you were able to stay at Forever Red and that I had a chance to meet you all- so very lovely. Please know you are welcome any time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Well better late than never is the saying. Going back again this year to enjoy this peaceful cottage on the lake. A working woman needs this get away at least once a year and this was it for me ,my children and friends. The cottage is immaculate,well air conditioned for those hot sunny days. Beds were very comfortable, and the kitchen had every amenity that you would need. Even a dishwasher. Deck spacious,with excellent deck furniture. Wonderful to have morning coffee on to watch the sunrise and a glass of wine at night to watch the sunset. Fishing is the one interest for my boys, they rented a boat and off they went while I sat back and enjoyed the calmness.

Lots of fun things to do... A little shopping and of course a trip to the McKenzie - Childs house and store. Friends and family had never been before and only a few miles from the cottage. Cannot wait to go back again this year.

Jennifer the "land lady" very nice to work with and caters to your every need. Thanks again for sharing your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely cottage, lovely setting

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Lovely cottage, lovely setting, very quiet and peaceful- just what we needed for a long weekend! Forever Red is a very well stocked (although a luggage holder in the bedrooms would be helpful) and comfortable. Thank you for sharing your wonderful cottage!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage was exactly what we were looking for

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Your "Forever Red" cottage was exactly what my husband and I was lookign forward to. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary- a year late as this is our 26th. Actually we called this our 2nd honeymoon as we really didn't ever have a honeymoon. The cottage was perfect in every way. We loved watching the sunrise each day and we even had a beautiful full moon to watch rise while we were here. Couldn't have asked for more. The cottage is centrally located to so many beautiful natural wonders. Wee certainly did our best to enjoy the scenery around this part of NY. Hopefully one day we will be able to come back and visit. We live in west central Illinois near the Missouri border so this is a very long drive for us. We are so glad we made the journey! Thank you for sharing this little bit of heaven with us. We return home "recharged to busy lives. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute House, Beware the Hair

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Forever Red is a cute little house in a great part of the country. The house is comfortable and cozy; the area is beautiful and offers a lot of activities for all ages. Our three-generation family really enjoyed our week. Sharing one bathroom was a little challenging, but you can always make that work.

Things a prospective renter should be aware of-
- Two of the three bedrooms did not have dressers. There is sufficient closet space to hang clothes, but otherwise some of us were living out of suitcases.
- You must swim off the dock, because the shoreline has a thicket of floating weeds extending some 10-15 feet out. No big deal, the water is only a couple feet deep at the dock. The many frogs and occasional dead fish in those weeds, however, make for a very noticeable “boggy” smell in the backyard area.
- Also strangely smelling off was the AC in the front bedroom, very moldy.
- Cleaning- the house literature clearly explains the cleanliness standards expected when you check-out. Hot-button areas to be aware of- oven (if you use it, you will be expected to clean the inside), fridge (make sure to remove drawers / shelves and scrub it out), and, not least- hair in the tub. Don’t just scrub the tub with cleaner, also make COMPLETELY sure there are no hairs ANYWHERE, or they will be found. Apparently not as big a deal when we arrived were the cobwebs in the corners or the piece of chewing gum on the back deck I stepped in and had to dig out…point being there is more attention paid to certain things. We spent quite a few man-hours cleaning before we left but were still assessed a cleaning fee. The response to my questioning this fee was, “Three of us arrived at the house and needed to clean for several hours,” which seems hard to imagine. Perhaps they clean at a slow pace. Since this fee comes out of your deposit there’s not much you can do. So it goes.

Overall, we had a very nice vacation though. We loved the area, would consider going back next summer. But since we do like to cook at the house (and are clearly not as adept at seeing all those pesky hairs in the tub), perhaps it will be best to find a house that has a clear cleaning fee and thus be relieved of this headache.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Although we can’t control the lake grass, frogs, fish, and spiders, (it is a lake house ?); we can ensure that the house is clean for visitors and that guests will arrive to a clean home. Fortunately in all the years we have shared our home with guests we have only held part of a deposit approximately three times. We do expect our guests to clean up so that the next visitors have the same positive experience upon entering the home. We do stress that if for some reason something is not to a guest’s satisfaction upon arrival to call us immediately. We will look into the smell of the A/C in the back bedroom and hope to find the perfect dresser for another bedroom soon! Except for this review we have been fortunate that no other visitor has complained of cleanliness, smells, the condition of the lake or their stay.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for the use of your beautiful cottage

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Thank you for the use of your beautiful cottage. My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. The view in the morning with the sunrise was amazing. ...Again, thank you for the use of your cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so GREATLY for sharing ...

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Thank you so GREATLY for sharing your beautiful home with us for the week! We were all so comfortable and happy, we agreed this is the best house we've stayed in yet :) We fished everyday, kayaked and most of all sat on the porch and enjoyed the lake and wonderful peace. Thank you again for your accomadation and a lovely vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Here we are again

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Here we are again...three years in a row! We always have an amazing time when we come to the cottage. Thank you for "fitting us in" this summer, it just would not been complete without a stay at Forever Red!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We can't thank you enough

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

We can't thank you enough for sharing your lakefront paradise with us. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting to get married. Our only complain is that the days should last longer than 24 hours here. Please work on that because we plan on coming back to Forever Red.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing your home

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Thank you for sharing your lovely home. We enjoyed the lake view every day. One day there was a kingfisher, flicker and osprey that landed on the deck railing. we hope to bring our children with us next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Began as a journey ended as a spirtual journey for

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

What began as a journey for my husband coming back to the lake where he grew up, ending up being a spiritual journey for both of us. We loved the sunrises and the beautiful clear night skies. Your home gave us everything we could need. Thank you fro sharing it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful week

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We had a wonderful week. Thank you! The house is great- cozy an dwarm and comfortable, and the view off the deck is priceless. Great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another great week

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Another great week at the lake re-connecting and making more family memories!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another amazing week at your house

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Another amazing week at your house- so glad we came back, even better this time than last time! Thanks so much for always providing an environment that is peaceful, relaxing, and fuan- we can't wait to come back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another amazing week at your house

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Another amazing week at your house- so glad we came back, even better this time than last time! Thanks so much for always providing an environment that is peaceful, relaxing, and fuan- we can't wait to come back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second stay

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Our second stay at your lake house was as terrific as our first visit last year. We had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. My husband caught an amazing fish that made him very proud! Thanks again for sharing your little slice of heaven on the lake!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, relaxing long weekend

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We had a wonderful relaxing long week-end.. Your cottage is lovely and teh view even with the ice was breath taking. For those that are visiting make sure you go to Mackenzie Childs in Aurora. Take the tour of the house. I loved waking up to th geese every a.m. I've waiting all winter to hear bird sounds. We leave tomorrow with good memories, having had a relaxing time. We would like to come again! Visitors make sure you go to the Women's rights history museum.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Birthday Celebratin

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

This property was used in conjunction with the neighboring property to accomodate all my family members (9). Forever Red housed 4 adults and could have held 6 easily. The rooms were well furnished with the back room overlooking the lake. The kitchen was fine and had a small table for two. Bathroom was quite spacious.

The best feature of Forever Red for us was the outside. The upper lawn is very spacious for a lakehouse (large and flat with trees separating from the neighbors)and the lower yard jutted out into the lake and featured a large firepit and boat dock extending further into the lake. Perfect for us as we brought a small boat and a kayak. The property offered us of their kayaks but we used our own. We spent 3 of the 4 evenings enjoying a fire (brought our own wood) with the lake lapping at the seawall. Beautiful! There is a large wrap around upper deck that featured an umbrella table for up to 6 with full views overlooking the lake. Best place for morning coffee with the sun sparkling on the lake! The lower deck was mostly under cover which came in handy during the evening rains we experienced. The staired walkway between decks is in need of refurbishment and one had to take care when going up or down the stairs. Lower deck access is also available thru the lower level of the house where there is a washer and dryer. Both decks had plenty of chairs for relaxing and taking in the lake views that we took full advantage of.

Parking was fine for two cars (or one car with boat trailor) plus bikes. Restaurant & State Park (with boat ramp)was easily walkable. Neighbors are very friendly.

Overall, this is a wonderful property with everything we were looking for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

healing energy

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

Your lake house has a peaceful, kind, and healing energy. Thank you for sharing this beautiful space. It was perfect as a get away and a re-start!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing long weekend

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

We had a wonderful relaxing long weekend. Your cottage is lovely and teh veiw even with the ice was breathtaking. For those that are visiting, make sure you go to Mackenzie Childs in Aurora. Take the tour of the house. I loved waking up to the geese every am. I've waited all winter to hear bird sounds. We leave tomorrow with good memories, having had a relaxing time. We would like to come again. p.s. visitor make sure you go the the Women's Rights History Museum.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

amazing house on the lake

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

Thanks so much for letting us enjoy your amazing house here on the lake! What a wonderful place this is-so peaceful and in a fantastic location and with every imagined amenity! Our kids had a great time in thewater and it was so awesome to be able to have our boat hear and use yours! We can't wait to come back next year. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We had a wonderful time here at your cottage- it is beautiful! The view, the lake, peace and quite, friends and family. We had a great time and created memories not to be forgotten. The weather was fantastic, swam daily! The week went by so very fast- Thanks for sharing your little piece of heaven with us. We hope to return next year. Take care.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

Thanks so much for the use of your wonderful lake house! We had a terrific time and great weather. We relaxed, swam, went boating and so much more! We hope to come back next year. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great week

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

We had a great week here at "Forever Red"! We did get to enjoy the kayaks and got out on the lake. YOu have a beautiful spot on the water! We hope to return next year. -Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Thanks again for the use of your lake cottage. We had a great time re-connecting and making new memories. HOpe to do it again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review