reviews for: listing #3622 - Cudjoe Key, Florida House rental

Tropical Blue Adventure Waterfront at Venture Out
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Venture Out Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $157 - $172 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,960 - $4,320 /mth

sort by:

Great option for fishing the Keys

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

We opted to stay in this small condo instead of the usual motel. It was a great improvement as it gave us a common area to hang out during the downtime. The porch is great with a great view.

Good choice for parties of 4 or less.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad you had a great time!! The fantastic view is one of the best features of our home! If you are an early bird like me, watching the sunrise off the deck while drinking my coffee is one of the best, most relaxing times of the day for me. It can be absolutely stunning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Needs new beds! Most uncomfortable for the price!

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

I have just returned from this property, and had my first good nights sleep in 5 days! It is a lovely house and Venture Out has great amenities, unfortunately the house is seriously let down by the sleeping accommodations. At the price we paid for a four night stay, I would expect a decent bed. If this was a hotel I would have demanded a new room! The guest bed is claustrophobic, noisy and very uncomfortable. So much so, that my husband even tried to sleep in the upper bunk! The second night, we tried the equally uncomfortable pull out couch. Mattress is so thin I felt every spring. The next 2 nights were spent on the couches! The broken blinds and lack of air in the guest room, (it only drips large amounts of condensation) just add to the lack of comfort. Both bedrooms have a rather funky smell, we later realized that was probably from the flooring, maybe new? The couple we travelled with said the master bed was not great, but just okay. As I had read all the reviews, I made the comment prior to booking that the negatives were about the beds. As those comments were a year ago, I would have thought they would have been resolved. As they have not, I would not recommend this property as is. Shame, because a few dollars invested would increase the value to match the cost of rental. I don't feel we got our money's worth. There is far too much else available in the same park to settle for the accommodations we had. We looked at other properties during our stay and will enquire about those again next year. By the way, some sharp knives would not go amiss!

Owners response: Thank-you for your comments. The unfortunate thing about beds is that what is comfortable for one person, is not comfortable for the next, as everyone likes different mattresses. The master bedroom has a pillow top Sealy mattress that is less than 2 years old. For the bed in the second bedroom, we just purchased less than 6 months ago a pillow top mattress cover, which we were told was very nice. It is however possible that it was too nice, and may have been removed by a guest or by someone else. This we will check into, and if it appears the pillow top mattress cover will not stay in place, we will have to do something else. I have slept in the second bedroom many times myself, and find it comfortable. Our adult daughter also slept on it for 10 days in January, and did not find it uncomfortable. As for the queen sofa bed, it is less than a year old. I have not yet myself ever slept in any pull-out bed anywhere that I would call very comfortable. It is the nature of hide-a-beds. A thicker mattress simply will not fold up into the couch.

We were just at our home in January, and there was nothing wrong at all with the air flow anywhere in the home, including the spare bedroom, and at that time there were no broken blinds. I have asked our property manager to check this out and to make any necessary repairs.

There is brand new flooring in both bedrooms, installed in January, so that might be what was had a slight "new flooring" aroma to it. This we did not notice ourselves when we were there, but some people are more sensitive to aromas. For the knives, there is an easy-to -use knife sharpener in the kitchen drawer. (Or there was in January). I will also have our property manager check on this, and purchase another one if it has gone astray.

Thank-you again for your comments!

Sincerely,
Jan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

nice place

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

House was nice as was the community and the pool. Canal can get full of sea weed which discouraged us from using kayaks. Dishwasher didn't work while we were there, but was supposed to be fixed. Overall it is a nice place and area. About 40 min to Key West attractions. Not a lot to do in immediate area, but you are away from the crowds also.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

As good as the picture shows!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

The view from the deck is of the beautiful water. There was plenty to do without even visiting the Keys. Our family kayaked with the two kayaks on the rental property and really enjoyed it. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and playing tennis on the courts. Everything was clean and orderly. The people we talked to were helpful. If you want a place for your family to stay, it's the perfect spot.
We spent our days in Key West going on a bike tour, parasailing, jet skiing, banana boating, and snorkelling off the reef. We also visited the art museum and light house museum. There are great restaurants to visit to eat the freshest fish and shrimp you've ever tasted. I would certainly recommend this place to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

MSG

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our overall stay. The home is wonderful and the balcony faces the morning sunrise. It is also located in a large gated community and my wife and I enjoyed our morning walks. In addition, everybody we met were very friendly. Also, the Condo is centrally located to a small shopping mall that has a large Grocery Store. We also enjoyed the Kayaks and took them out on the bay several times. Only suggestions, the carpet in both the bedrooms are soiled and need replaced. Also, we stayed with another couple and they slept in the second bedroom and said their bed was not very comfortable. Being retired military, I have traveled all over the world and this was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable trips that my wife and I have ever experienced and would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: I am so happy that you had a wonderful, relaxing time! We actually did replace the bedroom carpets with new flooring when we came down last, as the beige carpets were very difficult to keep clean. There are now lovely wood-toned floors in both bedrooms.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Keys Trip

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

Very nice place to stay. We went with another couple and the house was outfitted well for that. I brought my hobie-cat, and could dock it right at the house which was very nice. The location is excellent being close to Key West and Bahia-Honda State Park. They only allow one car for parking, but the overflow lot is right there, so no big deal. Would definitely return! The kayaks were nice too. this is in a retirement community of sorts, but everyone was very friendly, although rule oriented. All-in-all a very ice experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay in a Great Community

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We took several friends to this place for a birthday weekend celebration and had an amazing time! It's right on the canal and you can see out into the ocean. They had kayaks for us to use. The community had basketball courts, tennis courts, bocce ball, putting green, not to mention a huge pool and nice hot tub too! They even had a pancake breakfast on saturday morning. The house was clean and roomy and the only complaint was that the guest bedroom bed was not very comfortable (thin mattress). Other than that, everything was perfect! We will definitely come back!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great view, comfortable

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

The best part of this home is the view of water channels, palms, herons, and sunrise from the deck; clothes washer and dryer (we used it a lot), fast wifi (included), and kayak equipment. Two bedroom setup is well designed for parents and small kids, or two adults. We missed measuring cups and spoons (to measure coffee, rice,etc), and knives (to cut bread) for the kitchen; also a patio umbrella would have been nice for the deck-- morning sun can be very intense. Master bed was not the most comfortable, and it squeaked. House is located in a gated community (mixed construction of homes and estalished trailers) that seemed mostly retired people. Had an excellent community pool.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Diane the Great! Thanks for your review! Unfortunately sometimes things go missing from our home, either intentionally or unintentionally. We were just there at the end of November ourselves, and all measuring cups and spoons were in place, along with an entire butcher block full of nice knives. However, we thank you very much for your review, and the items have since been replaced right after we got your review. The umbrella - we used to have a really nice one, but we could not get some guests to crank it down and bring it in when they left, or when it became breezy. The umbrella took off flying several times and finally we were told not to have one as it became a real hazard in case it might hit someone or something and cause damage or injury. It ended up way up in a palm tree once, and another time up on a neighbour's house! Thanks again Diane!

Jan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

FIrst time house renter

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

As a first time home renter, this was a good experience. The view was fantastic, water front spectacular sunsets. I am glad I brought my own linens and towels, this is not a four or five star hotel so set appropriate expectations. The trade off of hotel/condo luxuries is the ample space a house rental provides. As for the Venture Out complex, the pool, boat ramp, convienience store, etc were excellent, and I am told we went at a good off season time. We basically had the whole place to ourselves. I guess the bottom line is, we would definitely rent this house again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank-you for your review! It does help us to know what is needed if it slips past the property managers. Towels seem to disappear when people take them to the beach so we do have to replenish them on a regular basis. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Not as good as last year

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We chose to stay here again because we had such a great experience last year. However, we were disappointed this year because:
1) cooking utensils (pans, dishes, etc) were very limited
2) the kitchen and appliances did not seem very clean
3) only one of the paddles with the kayaks was in working condition
4) the canal was filled with grass and trash all week at our end - we complained and it was cleaned out FRIDAY ( we had to be out Saturday AM)
5) the deck furniture had cracks which made it hard to sit down without being careful not to break the furniture, something that makes it a challenge to fully relax
6) VERY limited TV channels despite having DirecTV - no baseball for us that week!
Other than those inconveniences, we enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Cudjoe Key Vacation Base

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Property is located in Venture Out Resort and was a great location for a boater. Home has all the basics and is in good condition for a rental. VO has a good boat ramp, marine gas on site, pressure washer, fish cleaning station, pool, and other amenities that make it convenient for outdoor activities centered around boating. Cudjoe Key is near Looe Key, Big Pine (Key Deer), Bahia Honda and Key West making it a good central base for lower keys exploration.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean and pleasant

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Description of the property was very accurate. The location is perfect to have a laid back restful vacation, but close enough to Key West to add some excitement to your week. The property was very clean, although many of the items were broken or not working. The kayak paddle was broken in half, the umbrella for the backporch was broken and not usable and in the direct sun the porch was unusable during the day as there is no shade, and the cable TV was not running so we could not watch TV at all. The DVD player was broken as well, although when we called to let the property rental company know, they offered to replace the DVD player so we could rent movies. The pool on the property is very nice and well maintained. This would be a good place to stay if you had a boat as it is right near the channel with easy access to fishing and snorkeling areas. This would be a good place to stay if you wanted a relaxing, non-stressful visit to the keys and wanted to save money by having your own kitchen. Other than the dissappointment in the broken items, it was a very pleasant stay.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay in Cudjoe Key

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Had a great stay, enjoyed the rental unit, had the waverunner tied up in the calm canal. Very relaxing and close enough to Key West to enjoy it all.

Everything in the unit was clean and functioning as promised, with a view that beautiful and relaxing anytime of the day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay at Venture Out

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

We were pleased with the house, but the mulit-cup coffee maker was broken. Luckily we found a 2 cup coffee maker, so we had to make 4 pots a day - time consuming. Also, when we arrived, we noticed 1 of the paddles for the kayak we had available to us was broken. We called Thurs. morning about these things and Jamie said that she could probably help with the coffee maker, but not the paddle & life vest and that she would call me back. I never received a call from her or anyone. We never received a coffee maker, dealt with the small one every morning. On Monday sometime while we were away, the new paddle & life vest arrived. Unforturately, Tues. am we had to leave, so we never took advantage of the free kayaks, which we were looking forward to.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome View!!!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at your beautiful home in Venture Out! We loved that you are close to Key West for a night on the town, but far enough away in a safe gated community to be quiet at night when we want quiet! The pool and hot tub are both wonderful, and so close to the unit. Our favorite thing to do is to sit up on the deck for happy hour in the evening or for coffee in the morning, and look at the wonderful openwater view off the deck overlooking the ocean. We also loved the kayaks you provide for your guest to use at no charge. Thanks so much for letting us rent your home! We will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not Too Good

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

People renting the place etc. were all nice enough but arrived to find rodent droppings all over the condo. Quickly asked to be moved to another available condo. Overall place isn't very conducive for kids. Hot tub is over 18 only. Tennis courts are 14 and over only. Playground is small. Based on my experience, this is a retirement community, not a vacation destination.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: I am very sorry you had a rodent visitor at the time of your stay! We have never had a rodent in our property before, and in fact there was a guest in our unit only a week before your arrival who had a wonderful stay and were thrilled with the property - the beautiful view, the clean secure facility of Venture Out with all its amenities. The pesky rodent is now gone - we quickly called an exterminator after you were moved to another unit.

Our own kids love Venture Out. They love that they can play basketball, tennis, pool, ping-pong, and many other activities, and that these are all in walking distance of our unit in a safe, gated community. There is a very nice kiddie pool for young children beside the main olympic-sized heated pool. We do have other guests who's kids don't want to stay anywhere else, and come to Venture Out year after year.

Thank-you for your review - we do appreciate feedback!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review