reviews for: listing #36227 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Cute and Cozy 2 Bedroom and a YARD TOO!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $200 /nt
    $700 - $1,400 /wk
    $1,800 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Cozy and Convenient

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! We stayed in a 1 bedroom with living room and kitchen. The kitchen had all the amenities and appliances. Overall it was VERY clean. The fenced in yard was lovely, we did not use the outdoor fire pit but would love to next time! Only suggestion and certainly not a deal breaker, maybe some blackout curtains in the bedroom since the nearby parking garage light is quite bright. In the end we were very satisfied and would definately stay here again and often.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stop looking and book it

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

What a great place. If you have little kids this place is perfect! The house is clean and a short walk from everything. The outside couryard is perfect for outside meals and late night casual cocktails. The owners are on property and could not me nicer. Thank you for all the great memories that we created!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

This was a great setting for our family vacation. The owners are readily available at anytime and are gracious enough to make sure you have everything you need and will answer any questions. We were pleasantly surprised to find everything we needed and more. The kitchen met our needs and we were able to complete 3 home cooked meals a day for a family of four with no problem.
Our kids, ages 7 and 15 enjoyed every aspect. We played cards and ate most meals in the beautiful yard, enjoyed daily trips to both the beach and the bay, spent a day at Belmont Park (all just a few minutes walk), and relaxed reading books in the yard or in the living room. We made great use of the sand toys and were pleased to see a variety of other beach toys we could have used if we had wanted to. The garage parking was a blessing as the area gets quite crowded and the convenience of coming and going as we pleased was perfect for our plans. This vacation spot made it hard to return home, back to work and the real world!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you Chris, for your kind words. We enjoyed having your family stay downstairs from us and hope to see you again soon! Have a great summer...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

we had a great time here

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Mein Mann und ich (37 und 32 Jahre) verbrachten im September 2011 einen Monat in diesem wunderbar gelegenem Apartment. Die Wohnung ist ideal zwischen der Mission Beach und der Mission Bay gelegen. Traumhaft! Morgens besuchen wir die Sprachschule um unsere Englischkenntnise zu verbessern und am Nachmittag genossen wir das Leben an der Mission Beach / Bay. Das Apartment ist einfach, aber sehr gemütlich und man hat alles was man braucht. Das es sogar zwei TV's hatte, 1x DVD Player, Stereo Anlage, Mikrowelle, Grill, Strandtücher , Beachbikes, Buggyboards etc. hat uns sehr positiv überrascht. Es hat uns an nichts gefehlt. Für uns stimmt das Preis- Leistungsverhältnis vollkommen. Wir haben uns aber vor allem wegen den super freundlichen, sympathischen und hilfsbereiten Vermieter, welche im selben Gebäude wohnen, so wohl gefühlt. Vielen Dank nochmals für alles an Familie Ruane!

Reto & Yasemin, from Switzerland Zurich

My husband and I (37 and 32 years old) stayed in September 2011 one month at this charming apartment, which is ideal located between Mission Beach and Mission Bay. In the morning we studied English and in the afternoon we enjoyed the beach life. The apartment is clean, cozy and it had everything what we needed. We were positively surprised that there where 2 TV's, 1 DVD Player, Microwave , grill, beach towels, beachbikes, buggy boards and a great garden. We felt very comfortable and like home because of the friendly and helpful Family Ruane, our landlords, who are living in the same building. We hope we can come back again! Reto & Yasemin, from Switzerland Zurich

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and Family Friendly

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We had a great time in San Diego and felt very welcome and homey staying here. The property owners were very friendly and helpful, the property was clean, had pretty much any water/beach item you needed. Our kids (10, 12, 14) had a great time hanging out in their yard when we weren't at the beach. One of our kids had a swim suit malfunction while there and the property owners saved the day by giving her one of their swim suits to wear! The same week we were there, there was another family staying in the other unit and they too were very friendly, just the whole atmospher was very family friendly and relaxing. If we ever make a trip back we would for sure stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and very welcoming

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We had a great time in San Diego and felt very welcome and homey staying here. The property owners were very friendly and helpful, the property was clean, had pretty much any water/beach item you needed. Our kids (10, 12, 14) had a great time hanging out in their yard when we weren't at the beach. One of our kids had a swim suit malfunction while there and the property owners saved the day by giving her one of their swim suits to wear! The same week we were there, there was another family staying in the other unit and they too were very friendly, just the whole atmospher was very family friendly and relaxing. If we ever make a trip back we would for sure stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family with two toddlers traveling

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

We were here for 4 nights of Spring Break with a two year old and one year old. The place was really cute and the kitchen had all of the basic dishes necessary to cook an easy meal. The babies loved the small bedroom with bunk beds. The owner did not think a playpen would fit in the small bedroom but it did, in the corner, and we just used the other door to the bedroom (there were two and the playpen blocked one). There were board games and cable so my husband and I could relax after being out all day with the kids since the kids go to bed early. The owners have a garage for your use. This might sound silly but I never even considered parking an issue until I got there and saw everything close together - no big deal as we just pulled right into the garage. We were a couple of houses from the beach in either direction. One side of the peninsula is the Pacific Ocean, the other is Mission Bay. We spent one entire day at the beach but we did it on the Mission Bay side. If you want to take small kids to the beach, stay here and go to the Bay side. There were tiny (a few inches high) waves and the two year old loved running through them, but not waves or an possible undertow like you saw on the beach side. They had the beach experience without me worrying a wave would push them over and wash them away (yes, I was two steps from them at all times but mothers worry). Older kids would love the beach side. The owners have sand toys, boogie boards, bikes for you to use. The fenced yard has grass, a tree swing, lounge chairs, a patio table. I would give this place 5 stars with no hesitation for our stay but the couch and bed were both uncomfortable. The bed was way too soft for my taste and the couch is a futon - sits too low to the ground and no armrests. Good as an extra bed but not comfy for sitting. I felt I didn't get a good "sit" or "lay down" the whole 4 days.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Value in Great Location

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

his has been my family's home away from home for over seven years. We had stayed in a few others before that but once we found this, we stopped looking!
Our now twelve year old twins love the yard and having other kids on the courtyard. The owners are incredibly on top of things and keep the place running very smoothly while maintaining the laid-back beach attitude we value. They have tons of beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, etc for our use. My kids spend as much time on the bay side as the beach, getting to experience a whole different aquaculture.
The garage parking is an added plus and the location is very convenient for sightseeing. There is also public transportation within a short walk.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our new "home away from home"

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

We fell in love with this little "cottage", the owner's family, and the location of this rental. This was the perfect spot for our family -- we have a 3 year old -- because we were steps from the bay, a block or so from the beach, and short walking distance to 3 play areas, as well as so many other amenities. It made it easy to be out and about but yet easily come back to the house for naps and snacks.

The owner's family is fun, gracious, and always available to answer questions. They provided beach towels, chairs, and toys, which proved to be a great benefit. We also loved having garage parking for our rental car. The grassy yard was one of our favorite features as our son was able to play outside in the afternoons without having to go back to the beach (more sandy feet!)

We feel that the rental price was an excellent deal for this location, and we are already planning another stay at this property. I would also recommend this property for a couple or two friends traveling together because of its location.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

family friendly

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

Perfect beach cottage with all the amenities you could want. Super friendly owners. Clean. Perfect location close to everything, quiet and safe neighborhood. Very family friendly. We were very comfortable with everything and did not feel like we had to be soooo uptight. We loved it and hope to plan another trip. Recommended to all our friends with kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review