reviews for: listing #36299 - Sarasota, Florida House rental

(Old Florida) Bayside Neighborhood - Vintage Pool Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ballentine Manor
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $550 - $950 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Great Home and Location

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

The house was very spacious and clean. It had all the amenities we needed to make our weeks stay very pleasant. The pool was a great added feature even after coming home from the beach. The locaion of the house was perfect. Easy access to many resturants, shops and beaches. Siesta Key was a hit with us.
The neighborhood was very nice and quiet. Great area for walking and beautiful sunsets. Can't wait to go back.

The owner and the people I dealt with at the Rosebay were very helpful, responsive and easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We always strive to make the stay of our guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible. You experiences with our location, our large pool, the convenience of restaurants and shops, the quiet neighborhood, and the beautiful sunsets make a perfect Sarasota vacation experience. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation home in the perfect location!

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We come to Sarasota ever year to see my husband's Grandparents. This is the first time we rented a home to stay in. My parents also stayed with us. They fell in love with the area and plan to buy close by soon. The house is so spacious and beautiful. You will fall in love when you enter. Loaded with everything you would dream of needing. The pool was very nice. The bay is walking distance with a stunning view of the water. The owner was very sweet and helpful with the renting experience. Lots of places to dine out or shop close by. Various beaches within a short drive. Overall we all agreed it is a wonderful home and property. Very luck to find it and wish to Thank Mr.Lyon for sharing his home with us..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our Sarasota "Old Florida" Vintage Pool Home is an ideal location for family gatherings when the entire property is rented [the house and guest cottage can accommodate 7 comfortably]. Privacy, and the many amenities offered make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Bring your pet and avoid expensive boarding costs. The neighborhood is friendly and ideal for walking exercise, a jog, cycling in Ballantine Manor, and viewing stunning sunsets across Sarasota Bay. Come, enjoy, and relax!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

this is a great home.

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

This home has a great lay out. Just bring your clothes,food and bath room items.It"s well maintained and service is outstanding.
The neighborhood is safe and friendly and your not far from places to shop,to eat and from the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many of our guests return to experience our "Old Florida" Vintage Pool Home with its tranquil setting, easy access to Sarasota Bay and the many wonderful white sandy beaches, family oriented venues, the arts, nearby fine restaurants, golfing, and other recreational activities. This is a great place for family vacations or gatherings, and very near the Powel Crosley Estate & Museum and the Ringling Museum of Art. Our location on a one block residential street west of the Tamiami Trail, provides a friendly neighborhood that is a great place to cycle, walk or jog, or explore an 'older' Florida vicinity of Sarasota.

We look forward to your return visits.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sarasota 2012

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

Everything was wonderful. It didn't take long to feel at home away from home. We were able to entertain several guests and everyone replied that they'd like to use this rental for their next trip to the area! So glad to have found it! Thank you for offering us such an enjoyable, clean, well maintained home for our vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We continually strive to make our Sarasota home our guests' "home away from home” with all the amenities, comforts, and cleanliness that one would expect. Our attention to detail, and response to the suggestions of guests help us maintain a most desirable property that guests continually return to enjoy the ‘comforts of home’.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Our first visit to Sarasota....house was perfect!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

This was our first visit to the Sarasota area for our nephew's wedding at the Powell Crosley Estate. When I found the house I knew it was the one! It was located a mile from the P/C Estate which was so convenient the day of the wedding. We also loved the central location within Sarasota so we could explore Siesta Key, St Armand's Circle, Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island. So easy to get to all of these places! The house and cottage arrangement was perfect for our family. Our adult girls (ages 18 and 21) stayed in the main house with their own bed and bath and my husband and I stayed in the guest cottage. Very comfortable arrangements for all. Appreciated the beach towels, beach and pool accessories, privacy of the pool, laundry facilities, and all around comfort of the homes. I don't think there was anything missing! Both of the homes are very well kept and tastefully decorated. The owner was wonderful to work with and the Property Management company was very attentive. I would stay here again if returning to the area. Thank you for making our home away from home so welcoming!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We take pride in our attention to detail with a variety of amenities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. Our property has an excellent team that includes RoseBay International property management, a very thorough and attention to detail cleaning service, a great lawn, landscape, and maintenance person, plus a reliable pool service. The team effort to make a stay in our Sarasota (Old Florida) Bayside Vintage Pool Home & Guest Cottage memorable and comfortable is our goal. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you for your kind review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful property!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Lovely home, well-maintained with a fabulous pool! Very close to Sarasota Bay but no access to the water as the property is privately owned. Several manatees travel in this area, it's just beautiful. We rented the house and cottage and wouldn't want to rent the house or cottage alone as you would have to share the screened in area, laundry area and pool with strangers. Not sure about the company handling the rental since the kitchen had large roach-like bugs and ants all over the master bedroom and bathroom. There was no grill assembled and the grill in-a-box had to be assembled but there was no gas on-site to use. We washed up all the dirty towels and put them away, washed up all the dishes, swept the floors and basically cleaned both houses but were still charged substantially more than we were quoted for the cleaning fee. Communication was very difficult once we left and receiving the remainder of the deposit was not an easy process. Therefore, we won't stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Our goal is to always have a well-maintained property when renting our Old Florida Vintage Pool home in Sarasota.

Our property is meticulously cleaned and ready for the arrival of guests. Should there ever be a problem while guests are present, it requires a line of communication with the property manager to address or resolve any issues that may arise during their stay.

A grill is available for those who wish to BBQ. The storage of one-pound propane gas containers could be a safety issue, and therefore, a supply of extra propane gas containers is not available, as many guests choose to frequent many of the famous and nearby restaurants during a week’s stay.

Every effort is made to expedite the return of security deposit funds once the property is cleaned, inspected, and bills received by the property management company. Quoted cleaning costs are always approximate. Sometimes the costs do not always meet the approximated quotes due to extensive time needed to launder, dry and sort bed linens for both the house and guest cottage.

Every effort is made to address any concern guests may have as efficiently, appropriately and promptly as possible. We want to make anyone’s stay as stress-free as possible.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

This house is amazing!!!! We all loved our stay in this spacious lovely home. The private swimming pool was the best... my kids were in it every day!!!! It’s a short drive to Lido beach and if you want to see the sunset all you have to do is walk less than a block and your able to see the Sarasota Bay.

The house had it all... tons of towels, linens, the property seems to be very well maintained with updated kitchen appliances, and so much more... I am highly recommending this place to friends and family.... We are hoping to come back next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We offer a very spacious home with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths to accommodate families who wish to enjoy the quiet residential neighborhood in which we live. A 1 bedroom guest cottage with 2 full baths is available on the property for extended family stays. The large in-ground swimming pool can provide hours of fun or relaxation. The courtyard has a place to relax in lounge chairs, or around a table for meals under an umbrella. The large screened porch provides a welcome break from the sun with a couch, table and chairs. The air conditioned laundry/utility room permits for the needs of the traveling family. Pet towels are provided and located in the laundry/utility area. The pool toys are stored in the garage for easy access and enjoyment.

We want guests to enjoy their time in Sarasota/Bradenton, Florida.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the house!

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

We loved the house!
Our stay was great.
We had a great time and if we are in Sarasota again will be a return customer.
Thanks,
Rob

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

All-Round Good Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed ten days in the one-bedroom cottage that is next to the big house.

The hallmark of this property is the well maintained lap pool that is positioned between the two properties. The patio area has ample lounging space and is quite private, with a white picket fence surrounding the pool and patio area. The cottage itself is clean, modern and comfortable. The larger of the two bathrooms has a two-bowl sink counter, which we always appreciate. The kitchen is well equipped. There is a screened-in porch for morning coffee.

Tom, the owner, was in town and doing maintenance while we were there. He was considerate in helping us navigate an issue with the wi-fi service, which was spotty during the time we were there. He really did do his best to solve it to the point of inviting us into the big house (which was vacant at the time) to use the wi-fi for our work.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It's near the 'museum area' of Sarasota and although close to most sight-seeing, a car is an absolute necessity.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: As owners, we always strive to provide clean, comfortable and private accommodations in a relaxing tropical environmental setting along with the amenities appreciated and needed by today's traveling guests. The heated in-ground swimming pool is one of many features enjoyed by guests during any time of the year. For those who choose to stay with us for a week or two, or a month or more, every need is considered for an enjoyable stay while enjoying and participating in the many activities and cultural venues of Sarasota and Bradenton.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review