reviews for: listing #3630 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Deluxe Celebrity Home, 7 Bedrooms, hot tub, WiFi, BBQ
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,150 - $2,000 /nt
    $8,050 - $11,900 /wk
    $15,000 - $15,000 /mth

sort by:

Huge disappointment

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

It looks great on paper but in reality it is mess and certainly a long way from "deluxe."

The place was built in 2003 and looks like nothing has been done to maintain it since then. The paint is dinged up and the walls are bashed in in many places. The appliances are old and several did not work, or had been replaced by much cheaper versions. The furniture is dirty at best and torn in places.

In spite of all this, there are notices everywhere from the owner warning you about getting evicted for various reasons, and the myriad fines you risk when you leave the place. There are also plenty of notes saying how the owner takes such pride in the place and visits it every month to do repairs. I find this hard to believe.

And the kicker? After alerting the owner to our concerns, all he offered was "you got your deposit back." Huge disappointment and not recommended.

Owners response: Thanks for spending the time to review our home since it always helps us to improve. The appliances we have in this home are high end: Dacor Stove and Viking Fridge, and Jennair Grill which is outside but the gas is connected to the house. I always like getting more expensive appliances since they break down less often, but even the high end brands do break down. The stove was not working, so we sent up a repair person from San Mateo - 5 hour drive each way to fix the stove. That was expensive, but necessary since South Lake Tahoe does not have anyone that can fix these types of appliances. But the repair guy made the drive on Christmas eve to fix the stove. I hate when things break down, but we are quick to try to get them repaired.

It is true we have rules in our welcom book, but I always tell guests to disregard if it does not apply to them. Most people who rent this vacation home treat the home nicely. However, we have had guests who threw beer bottles into the woods, broke a TV, ripped doors off by the hinges, and broke multiple windows, or had large parties with lots of extra guests. South Lake Tahoe has very strict rules regarding vacation rental homes, so we are required by law to explain about eviction if there are too many cars or too many people in the home. However, the majority of our guests are very nice!

We do lots of upgrades to the home. For example, on my last visit up to this home (Jan. 2014), I bought 3 brand new large flat screen TVs, new DVD players, and upgraded the internet from 3MB to 25-30MB speed. I also upgraded the TV package to add many more channels.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Wedding!

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

This house is absolutely amazing! My family and I stayed here for my wedding 2 weeks ago and were VERY happy! The whole 3rd floor was perfect for me and my wedding party to get dressed and do hair and make up and take photos. The view from the decks is amazing and we also hosted a brunch the next day for friends and family and it was perfect. I would (and will) stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Absolute Magic

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We had decided to get married in Tahoe. We rented the Black Bart House for Labor Day of 2011 to house us and some of our friends that were going to attend the wedding. Once checked in, we realized that this house was spectacular. Not only would the house house fit most of our guests, we also quickly realized that it would be the perfect location for the ceremony.
The back yard overlooks a beautiful meadow with a meandering stream. The ceremony was at 7 pm, just in time for a picturesque sunset shining over the meadow.
As impromtu as the wedding was, the house made it seam like we had planned for months.
With everyone in the same house and guest house, the gourmet chef's kitchen was perfect to feed all occupants and guests for the weekend.
There are a bunch of perks with the house that make it one of a kind. The house has amazing features... the pool table, the fusball, the hottub, the jetted tub in the master bath, the list goes on and on... but it was the simple little things like the coffee maker, that was a huge hit and perfect for such a large number of people.
Charles was very accommodating and worked with our needs for the wedding with such short notice.
We are definitely DEFINITELY going to stay there again.
It made our special day SPECIAL in every way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being our guest at the Black Bart house. I do think it is a beautiful home and perfect for a wedding or family reunion in South Lake Tahoe. In the summer it is only a cuple mile away from Lake Tahoe and in the winter it is 2 miles from Heavenly Ski Resort. And, if you want a little night life as well, the Casinos, such as Harrah's are 3 miles away. I really love the house and the location! So, .. I am glad when guests love it that much too! :)

We hope you will stay with us again. And.. congratulations and best of luck on your marriage!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Huge rental cabin - will definitely come again!

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

The Black Bart vacation home was huge, clean and lot's of fun. After skiing at Heavenly (5 min. from the Cabin) this house is perfect for both relaxation and activity! We enjoyed the fussball, ping pong and hot tub while staying here. Also if you enjoy cooking, this house offers a huge gourment kitchen.

I can really recommend the Black Bart rental if you are a group of people looking for luxury cabin rental in the South Lake Tahoe area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tahoe is nicer at the Black Bart House

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

What a great place to stay... I wish I could live there!
I stayed 3 nights and we saw the lake nearby, and really enjoyed the
house comforts - spa, movies, pool table.

The beds were also quite comfortable!

Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to unwind !

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

My friends and I stayed 3 blissful nights at Black Bart house, and I loved how spacious the house is. Also we were entertained by pool, endless free movies, the hot spa, the great views.

The lake is close by, and the windows face a peaceful serene meadow.

I have bragged to all my friends about this great home and hope they too enjoy it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Black Bart House

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

The house was very modern, it had all the amenities needed for a big group vacation, such as jacuzzi, washer and drier, pool table, wifi among other things, and an excellent location which was only 5 minutes from downtown and around 10 minutes from the Lake. What I like best was the house itself since it was so beautiful and comfortable and what I like the least was that I was not able to enjoy all the amenities because my time was limited (I was there only for 2 days)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Black Bart House in Tahoe

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The house was very modern, it had all the amenities needed for a big group vacation such as jacuzzi, washer and drier, pool table, wifi among other things, and an excellent location which was only 5 minutes from downtown and around 10 minutes from the Lake. What I like best was the house itself since it was so beautiful and comfortable and what I like the least was that I was not able to enjoy all the amenities because my time was limited (I was there only for 2 days)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin, great area, great stay!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

I had the pleasure to stay at the Black Bart House for a weekend in July and loved it. I usually go to Tahoe for skiing, but this time it was to scuba-dive in the lake. The yacht harbour (yes there is one in South Lake Tahoe!) is right around the corner as are the shopping facilities. Hanging out in the hot tub watching the snow peaked mountains after a long day of activities is priceless. The house is fully equipped with amenities from a small gym and table tennis table to pool table and table football. Perfect place for an active weekend with the guys or for a weekend of pure relaxation with the family. Will definitely be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin, great area, great stay!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

I had the pleasure to stay at the Black Bart House for a weekend in July and loved it. I usually go to Tahoe for skiing, but this time it was to scuba-dive in the lake. The yacht harbour (yes there is one in South Lake Tahoe!) is right around the corner as are the shopping facilities. Hanging out in the hot tub watching the snow peaked mountains after a long day of activities is priceless. The house is fully equipped with amenities from a small gym and table tennis table to pool table and table football. Perfect place for an active weekend with the guys or for a weekend of pure relaxation with the family. Will definitely be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

I have stayed here several times and are always amazed at the size and amenities. It is also located conveniently close to South Lake Tahoe and Heavenly.
A great thing about this house is that it is actually two houses, which is awesome for privacy, and long good nights of sleep.
There's an outdoors hot tub under the stars, and a huge TV with tons of channels, a pool table, basically anything you may want.
This is a great place I can not recommend warmly enough. I'm looking forward to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

South Lake Tahoe Home--We loved it!! :)

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Wow! What an amazing place!!
A group of 11 stayed here a few weekends ago.. Great location in South Lake Tahoe... Thie kitchen is incredible- total gourmet... perfect for family style get togethers/entertaining.. Hot tub, pool table, foosball table.
Totally stocked with everything we all needed.. towels, kitchen untensils, waher/dryer,etc.
I will recommend this place to all of my friends!!!
NICE!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

South Lake Tahoe Home--We loved it!! :)

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Wow! What an amazing place!!
A group of 11 of us stayed here a few weekends ago.. Great location in South Lake Tahoe... Thie kitchen is incredible- total gourmet... perfect for family style get togethers/entertaining.. Hot tub, pool table, foosball table.
Totally stocked with everything we all needed.. towels, kitchen untensils, waher/dryer,etc.
I will recommend this place to all of my friends!!!
NICE!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great South Lake Tahoe Getaway

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Very beautiful home - new appliances, well kept, plenty of activities. Kitchen and lounge areas were very large, which were great for group dinners and relaxing. Plenty of furniture for a large group. Guest house was fun - lounge area with television and couches, very large master bedroom, guest room, large bathroom, washer/dryer and kitchen. More than we could ask for. Also, lots of activities - pool, foosball, hot tub, hikes in the backyard, and only 5 minutes from Heavenly Valley. We can't wait to go back to this home in Tahoe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House!

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

This South Lake Tahoe vacation home was the perfect weekend stay. We stayed here with a group of friends and had a wonderful time. The Black Bart House lends itself well to large group. We had a very nice dinner prepared in the nicely appointed kitchen, played ping pong, enjoyed the pool table and jacuzzi, and walked around the nearby wilderness. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a great weekend in South Lake Tahoe.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Luxury Home

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

The home (and guest house!) were beautiful and fully-equipped with everything you'd ever need--bbq, hot tub, comfy beds, pool table, ping pong, gorgeous views, fooz ball, Ipod station, cable, wireless and so much more. The place is conveniently located (close to the lake) and easy to find. I couldn't recommend the place more for large groups and families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

This was my 2nd stay at the Black Bart House. Once again it was perfect! Very relaxing with the hot tub and numerous decks to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful day.
Great hikes right out the back door and casino's only a few miles away. Some of our group went skiing and others rode the Gondola and went tubing at the adventure park at Heavenly.
The kitchen is a joy to cook in and is equipped with everything one could possibly need. The house was very clean and exceeded all of our expectations.
Thanks Charles! We will all be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots of Coyotes

Review submitted: November 7, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

My family and I had a great time at this vacation home. I was very impressed by all the amenities including nice bottle of wine, chocolate, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. Some of the children were scared by the coyotes howling in the early evening but I thought it was charming. I would highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Big Enough For All

Review submitted: May 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

We loved staying at this vacation rental, it has all the comforts of home and more. We had 16 adults and 2 kids and the house was more then roomy for all. The home was fully equipped with all your needs, just bring your clothes and toothbrush and you all set.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review