reviews for: listing #36300 - Oceanside, California Condo rental

Beach Luxury at an Economy Price
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  North Coast Village
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $50 - $130 /nt
    $100 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Great Beginning, Bad Ending.....

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

When we booked this property, we were a little hesitant, only because this was our first experience with a rental of this sort. When we got there everything was exactly as it was shown on the website. Very clean, nice, and most everything you would need for the beach was there. It was a wonderful weekend. Just what our family needed. Then there was a problem.

When we booked the property, we were told that our deposit would be refunded after we checked out. We checked out on a Sunday, and on Wednesday, our deposit was still not refunded. I had to contact the owner to find out why it had not been refunded. He then told me that there were damages to the screen, and asked me if I knew anything about it. I told him we did not know anything about it, and that we triple checked the condo before we left to make sure all was in order. It was. The repairs totaled $75.00 dollars, not a lot of money, and we would have taken full resonsibility if it were our repair, because we had plans to rent the condo in the future. However it was not. The pictures sent showed visible damage that would have been highly visible to us. We were told that we were the only ones who could have done this, because there was no one else in the condo. Well there were others, such as cleaning crews. I'm not blaming them, just suggesing another possibility. I was confused as to why I had to call to find out about my deposit. If there was damage to the condo, I should have been contacted immediately. I should not have had to inquire.

My deposit was refunded minus the $75.00. We were held responsible. We had definite plans to return, and were telling others how nice it was. We had to retract all great reviews to family and friends. A business relationship was severed over $75.00. Not my choice, but the landlords.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

had a wonderful time

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

I just wanted to thank you for renting us your condo and to let you know that we had a fabulous week in Oceanside. Our vacation was everything we had hoped it would be and your condo was a very comfortable place to call home for the week. We especially appreciated the closet full of beach toys.
Thank you again,

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

guest comment

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

I just wanted to send you an email to inform you that my family had a great time at the condo on May 4 -6, 2012. We we were able to take advantage of the amenities the complex has to offer. We had a barbecue and the kids swam in the pool. We played billiard, foosball, and ping pong. We also had a rare opportunity to visit Junior Seau's house. It wasn't too far from the complex

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

We had a wonderful five days at this condo. Clean and with great amenities from the kitchen to secured parking. Should of stayed longer. The grounds of the facilities are well groomed and well taken care of with a nice pool and jacuzzi. This was a working vacation and internet service was needed and as soon as we made a call about the internet being down, the owner was prompt to resolve the issue and followed up after. Takes care of his property and his renters. "Great stay"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Excellent Thanksgiving Stay

Review submitted: November 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Our family of four stayed here over Thanksgiving and enjoyed our stay. This condo is exactly how it's represented. It is well maintained and clean. We were two adults and 2 younger children (3 and 6). The bedroom was spacious as was the living area. I am doubtful that older children or adults would find sleeping on the pull out comfortable but my children didn't mind at all. The kitchen is tiny but served us just fine. We did most of our meals at the condo. This complex is 30+ years old but is clean and well maintained. It's a nice, quiet community.
This unit is very easily accessible to the beach and the pool, jaccuzzi and recreation room. Laundry is just one floor down. Many washers and dryers and a large clean room. Covered parking was a nice feature also.
The TV's have basic cable. I didn't see a play station as one review stated but we weren't expecting that, nor did we need it. WiFi was fine too, no problems at all.
Be prepared that the basic stores (grocery, drug store, etc) are in driving not walking distance and the kitchen is very, very basically equipped so you will need to plan to supply yourself if you are using the condo for cooking (foil, salt, pepper, extra paper towel, trash bags etc).
Overall it's not a 5 star accommodation but you honestly cannot beat it for the price and location and it's 5 stars for what it is says it is. I would recommend this to others and look forward to staying again. John is easy to contact and always responds to all your questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is a fair assessment of my condo. I pride myself on being one of the best priced condos in North Coast Village. I'm glad this family had a good time. This is a great condo if you're looking for a nice place to stay at an affordable price while you're enjoying your vacation. If anyone ever has a problem with anything at my condo, all they need to do is pick up the phone and give me a call and I'll get the problem taken care of right away.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Excellent for the Price

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this unit. The description regarding the condo and its amenities was accurate. Even though we did not have an ocean view. We had quick access to the beach and was able to take daily walks. The kitchen is well equipped with spices and we did our own cooking in the unit. This location is very accessible to the highways and was able to get to a lot of attractions easily. This unit is excellent for the price we paid. I would go back again. The only drawback is the slow wirelessness connection in the evening. Otherwise we were happy with our stay.

Owners response: Standard Internet, only person that has ever commented on it. Seems to be fast enough for everyone else.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Clean and well furnished with amenities

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2009

We liked the condo so much that we stayed here two consecutive years.

It is immaculately clean, very quiet and there are some great extras that you don't often get with rentals and never see at a hotel. There is a great welcome basket that the kids love. The owners throw in several beach accessories - folding backpack chairs, boogie boards and sand toys. The unit also includes WiFi, Cable and a PS2 video game unit. The kitchen is adequately stocked with cooking tools and spices. The balcony has a propane BBQ for grilling up a meal after your day on the beach.

The pool and facilities of North Coast Village are fastidiously kept. It has a tropical paradise feeling. The adjacent beaches and shops are beautiful and relaxing. The view from the condo balcony isn't ocean-view, but we didn't go to hang out in the condo and the price for this unit cannot be beat.

I would definitely book this condo anytime I am vacationing in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 30

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review