reviews for: listing #36402 - Treasure Island, Florida Cottage rental

Mermaid Pass Beach Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

laid back and relaxing vacation

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We couldn't wait to get to Mermaid Pass cottage. Our winter this year has been very cold and lots of snow. Imagine you are starving and thirsty and suddenly see this oasis that all yours! The cottage is adorable and very clean, with a large master bedroom that has sliding doors to the deck and hot tub. Great kitchen and eating area, living room and lots of closet space. One bath has an old claw foot tub which would be great for kids bubble baths. The owners have given you everything you need to have a wonderful, casual vacation. There are two tv's in case adults and kids want to watch different shows. Also, getting on the internet is very easy. Just look at the first page of the cottage rules book. But who wants to be on the internet when you can go shopping, swimming, fishing, etc.? Check out the "board walk" for ice cream, candy and shopping, especially the $10 Jewelry store at the far end of the walk. What makes this place great is the convenience to everything you could possible want! The beach is across the street but be careful when crossing. Use the left side to cross over so that you won't have to contend with the on-coming traffic that turns onto the main street. Lots of places to walk dogs or stroll with your baby. 7-11 right across the street for morning paper, shell store, bait and tackle, etc. Even with all of this around you, there is no noise and you are all tucked away from the road. We visited Ybor City with a long time friend who gave us a city tour after we had a tasty meal at the original Columbia restaurant. Be sure and have a meal there. The waiters are dressed in formal attire, the pictures and artwork are great, especially the 1905 tile work; and, the chandelier is gorgeous! But, the atmosphere is very casual. We ate a lot of our meals at Foxys; we discovered that place last year and loved it then. Good food and low prices. The servers are friendly and the owner is always asking how everything tasted, etc. We had our 2 small dogs with us and they were very happy with walks and being on the deck. Charlie is very responsive to any questions you may have about the cottage or surroundings. Just ask. This is a great place to chill out and have fun! We will definltely come back. Suzanne and Bob, Alexandria VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Week

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

What a wonderful week. Thank you for sharing MermaidPass and your hospitality. We loved the beach. It is beautiful and so close to the cottage (5 minute walk). The beach water is warm and refreshing. We also took in some area attractions. Busch Gardens in Tampa was fun and the Salvidor Dali Museum was very unique. We will recommend MermaidPass to all our friends and hope to be back soon!
Stan, Kim, Cassie, Sam and Tab

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another wonderful week at MermaidPass

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Another wonderful week at Mermaid Cottage. Great weather, warm water and cold beer. Wil be back soon.
Thank you Charlie
Tony and Maria from New Port Richey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Greatest Vacation Yet

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Greatest vacation yet!! Thank you so much for making everything so comfortable and cozy. Everything was perfect! Will for sure be back. We are already making plans for December. Then hopefully making the move down next summer.
Thanks again,
Larry, Rebecca, Jordan,Jayden and Jared

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorable Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This is our second year at MermaidPass, but this is the first time that we've had all four grandkids together. This year we went snorkling at Pass-A-Grill Beach. The babies were so happy enjoyng the sand and waves. The kids also enjoyed flying a kite on the beach. The sunsets were beautiful and the water was perfect. Thanks for a great memorable week
Donna

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

We had the best time time relaxing, The kids had a great time playing on a beautiful beach. Great time with our family and the weather was great. We had an amazing time.
Thank you Liz and Charlie.
Patricia, Art, Elizabeth, Slovomir, Adrian and Victor from Toronto

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Anniversary Again at MermaidPass

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Every year we celebrate our anniversary by spending a week at MermaidPass. Once again we had a great time relaxing and soaking up the sun! We always feel right at home here. We've made plans to come back in September.
Thanks Liz and Charlie.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Easter break getaway

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Would recommend Mermaid Pass to anyone. Our family(5 with 3 teens) had a great week together. Close to the beach, room to spread out, all the necessities provided, and very clean. The gulf was warm enough for swimming but the hot tub provided a nice quiet diversion each night. We grilled, stretched out, relaxed, made some day trips, and had a great week spending time together. Worth it: boat trip to Egmont Key! Don't waste your money: Parasailing. Thanks for everything! Steve, Jill & kids

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Charlie,

We had a great time at Mermaid Pass. The location was so perfect that I did not need to drive my truck the whole time. We would just walk across the road and we were at the beach. The kids enjoyed the fact that they could come back to the house and go on their laptop when they got a little tired of the sun, but I stayed at the beach all day. I also loved having the grill on the back porch, we grilled steak and shrimp nearly every day. We will definitely look you up when we are ready to come back.

Thanks again,

David

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd year

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

Review Submitted May 6, 2011 Date of Stay April 23, 2011
This was the third year we stayed at Mermaid Pass. This trip was the best ever! 90 degrees every day, the Gulf water ws 81 degrees! First time we ever got to "play" in the Gulf. We were so much more relaxed this time. It was much needed. We lost my mother-in-law the first of the month and we needed a getaway. It is always so peaceful and relaxing on the deck and we always enjoy the hot tub in the evening after watching a spectacular sunset. I love the new panel blinds in the bedroom! Great Job! Thank you both for making our anniversary vacation seem so much more special. We have already told the realtor to put us down for next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Anniversary Vacation

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

Charlie and Liz,

Roger and I just wanted to say thank you for making our anniversary vacation so special! We were both so touched by your special extras! We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stress-free week together.
We noticed all of the things you had done over the year. Nice!
We really liked coming later this year, it was so much nicer! We would like to put our name in for next year, 04/23-30/2011.
Thanks again for being such great hosts!

Till next year,

Julie and Roger
Columbus, Ohio

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

"After 2 weeks at Disney we were ready to hit the beach for a rest and Mermaid Pass was the perfect place for this. We arrived to flowers and chocolates, strawberries and grapes, a lovely touch that made us feel right at home. We even met Charlie (we arrived early) making the cottage spick and span for us and he gave us some helpful hints and places to eat, our favourites in the end were Caddy's, a laid back beach front bar/cafe and Sea Hags. The beach was great, we had lots of fun jumping waves in the sea (it was quite rough). When not on the beach, we enjoyed relaxing on the sundeck and the hot tub. The realtors were helpful and friendly and the cottage had everything we needed (including the kettle). All in all we loved our week at Treasure Island, there was lots to do and see, including dolphins in the bay on our way home, a perfect end to an amazing holiday.Thanks Charlie and Liz!"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Winter Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

My Husband & I had a wonderful week long vacation at Mermaid Pass. It is wonderfully appointed with mermaid decor & seashells, giving you that feel of a beachside cottage. It has everything & more than you would need including beach towels & chairs with a large deck when not on the beach, (so you can pack lighter). We had a couple of cooler days the first part of the week, so the protected large deck was very useful. We still were able to walk daily on the beach & enjoyed looking for different seashells. This place is definately a home away from home with an awesome kitchen & comfortable King bed. It comes with a wine cooler & wine glasses. The activities, attractions, & restaurant brochures were very helpful that are provided. We enjoyed the restaurant Sloppy Joes! The Aquarium was really fun to go to also. The listing description was very accurate & Charlie was very quick to responding to our questions. We definately would recommend Mermaid Pass to others & hopefully will return with friends & stay here again. Thanks Charlie & Liz!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a Great Time!!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Mermaid Pass is a nice quiet cottage with all the amenities. It is perfect to spread out a bit, rather than be stuck in a super small hotel room. It is a very short walk to the beautiful beach, but you do have to cross Gulf Blvd which can be kind of risky (there is crosswalk farther up the street, but not where you would naturally cross). We were a bit worried that it would be noisy because the front of the cottage is behind a row of businesses, and there are rentals close on each side and Caddy's bar (popular spring break bar)has extra weekend parking nearby, but it was extremely quiet and very peaceful. The kitchen was well appointed and we had plenty of towels and beach items. We only really had 3 minor complaints..the hot tub was extremely dirty so we didn't touch it, the dryer left black marks on our clothes, and the shower pressure was non-existent (can't even get shampoo out of your hair!). It is a great place for the price and we had a wonderful time. The area is beautiful, the water and beaches are gorgeous and there is plenty to do. I would rent this cottage again. Have fun!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful cottage. I love the decorating with the mermaid theme & all the shells displayed in many ways. Having the full kitchen was wonderful. We had our breakfast & evening meal their daily, since we like to eat lighter when traveling. The king bed was awesome to sleep in. Very comfy & just like home. I especially appreciated the back deck to lay out on when the day at the beach was cooler & breezy. It allowed me to be protected thus warmer & still able to come home with a tan. Don’t worry, we still got our daily walk of the beach in & it was so convenient to get to with the cottage being so close.
Thanks again & we would definitely stay in your cottage again in one of our returns to the area!

Pam & Duane

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Gulf Coast Retreat....

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Wow.... First off Checking in was a breeze... No lines, no waiting. The Photos do not do this Cottage justice... It is spacious, clean and well appointed, big enough for a large family's needs. Everything was provided, a fully equiped kitchen, and all the linens needed.
The White Sand Beach was just Awesome, clean, sunny and best of all just a few steps from the cottage, our days started out with fishing by the Bay which is almost outside the back door, and yes even my 12 year old caught enough fish for a fish fry, and then walking over one block at the front of the cottage to the best beach in Central Florida...
I have already reserved my time for next year, my family and I had a ball and we could not have asked for a better place to stay, we have stayed in many places over the years but this one was truly one of the best. From the cottage itself, the awesome hot-tub spa, the beautiful beach and the comfortable surroundings... I cant wait for my next trip.
Charlie thank you for having us, see you next year...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're happy that your family enjoyed their vacation at MermaidPass and we agree that our beach is the best on the west coast of Florida.
Look forward to your visit with us next year.
Liz and Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Christmas Holiday Vacation

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

"We enjoyed the time and our stay in your wonderful, warm and cozy home:). The kitchen and the master bedroom with the deck was wonderful. Thank you for letting me bring Cindy our dog, she was mostly with us and so she enjoyed the Friends and Paw's Beach at Ft. Desoto. Next time I would leave her home, since we were limited to what we could do with her.
We loved your charming cottage. Hope to come again sometime this year and we appreciate you working with us on the dates."
Monika, Tom and Sarah"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

We loved the location and everything about the house. Everything was perfect the way it was! Wouldn't change a thing!

Having stayed in numerous rentals down there, I think Charlie and Liz really have it together. Their house was warm, inviting, and immaculate! They know how to do it right and I was very impressed with everything. They had all the little 'extra' amenities. I think it was nice that they provide chairs and beach towels, too.

I'd give them an A+ rating!!

Specifically, we liked: the location, the quiet beach, the hot tub, the patio, the colors of the walls, the kitchen table, the big big comfy bed, the walking-distance from so many things, the front entry-way, the washer/dryer, the price, the mermaids, paying a cleaning fee so we didn't have to clean at 5am, the cozy family room, and just how easy it's been to arrange this with them. Couldn't have been better! Thank You!!!!

It proved to be a grand location for the group since everyone was rather on separate schedules—all could come and go to the beach or wherever on their own.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Ladies

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

This vacation was fantastic! Myself and 5 of my girlfriends spent the week at Mermaid Pass. It was so awesome! Right from the get-go, Charlie was very patient with us. Having this many females, means a lot of special requests, inquiries, and organizing. Charlie was there to answer whatever questions we had - and his email responses were always super quick! Then, after a REALLY long drive and all of our patience running thin, we were able to find the location to pick up the keys and settle in right away. There was no waiting around or organizing payment...we got to enjoy our weekend and deal with it on the following Monday (as we arrived on a Saturday). Then, we walked into the cottage. What a beautiful place! The pictures do not do it justice...it is just so open and welcoming. The King Size bed might be the MOST comfortable bed I have ever slept in. But the whole place is very comfortable and comforting. It has everything you may want or need (including books to read, movies to watch, internet connection, most kitchen appliances you would need). Great layout, great decor, great location! Close to EVERYTHING! Whatever kind of shopping you want to do...everything is right there. Convenience stores, grocery stores, liquor stores, etc. And then the beach......so great! Yes, it is not RIGHT on the water...but it might as well be. It is pretty much right out the front door. And ... if you don't feel like going to beach, you don't have to. There is a nice big deck out back where you can soak up the sun or jump into the hot tub (which is quite large). Plus, at the end of the week, when no one is very exciting to head home...there are just a few things to do...then the cleaning team comes in for you. That was soooo great! In the end, we had an amazing time; we are already beginning to plan next year! And if Charlie will have us (hehe!), we will be planning to visit Mermaid Pass AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN! Thanks for everything! It was fantastic!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Entry

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

"We loved Mermaid Pass. It is clear that you and your family loved this place. Even my sister-in-law, the quintessential MontreaL CLEAN FREAK gave it her seal of approval.

The washer-dryer were a big plus. Had I realized they were there (my fault probably), I"d have brought half as many clothes major plus with kids ).

Thanks for sharing your loved house with us......Trudy"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Simply the Best"

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

"Mermaid Pass was absolutely the best vacation my family and I have had in years! Everything was wonderful! I have a mother who has emphysema and uses a wheelchair at times, and the beach access had a wheelchair ramp. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance. There was waverunner and kayak rentals within walking distance as well as the snorkeling and dolphin watching boats. I barely moved my car after we arrived. There is a trolley to take you to John's Pass for shopping. The cottage is sooo perfect, the pictures don't do it justice!! My family and I didn't want to leave. We are DEFINITELY booking again for next year because we couldn't have asked for anything more. I walked on the beach every morning and came back to the cottage to sit in the wonderful hot tub, and we relaxed in it every evening too! This vacation gave us memories we will cherish forever. We loved the cottage so much I have already recommended it to a co worker and also patient of mine. Thank you Charlie."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

Charlie, I want to thank you and your wife for a fine vacation. Our accommodations were as described. We love the interior of the rental. We are remodling one of our rentals and will use some of your ideas which enhance available space. Access to the beach was not a problem and the fishing off the sea wall was great.
Thanks again for a great experience."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacation me and my family will never forget

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

"We stayed at Mermaid Pass June 2009 and we loved it ! The pictures of the home does it no justice it is so much nicer !!! It has such a wellcome home away from home feeling. Quite area, so close to everything from shopping to nice places to eat. I highly suggest Sea Hags it is a great place to eat ! This home and Island is going to be a place we visit offen :) because we enjoyed it so much. And the home owner and Reality are very nice and make you feel so wellcome to the area. Thanks for a great vacation that we will never forget !!! "

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This will be our second home

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

"I grew up in Florida, however, I have lived out of State for my entire adult life. So when I had a chance to take my new family to the beach for the week, I chose the beach first. Treasure Island, for their very private beaches. Then I found Mermaid Pass Beach House, what a place! My family loved this home, my wife's first words were: "I could live here". We expected a tiny little "cottage" no bigger than a hotel room, with the sq. feet approx to include patios, and walk ways. Boy were we wrong. This is a great home. We slept better at Mermaid Pass than in our own beds.
I can't say enough about this beach house, it will exceed all of your expectations. My wife and I are already planning another beach trip to Treasure Island and would not choose another place to stay. Thank You Charlie and Liz, your home is beautiful and well worth worth every penny. We look forward to staying at Mermaid Pass again.

Sincerely,
Jeremy"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Find

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

We loved our vacation at Mermaid Pass. The cottage was everything we had hoped for and more. The greenery and gardens were beautiful. The inside was clean and spacious. Everything we needed was right there in the house! Fresh strawberries and chocolates on the table when we arrived, made us feel so welcome. Puzzles, books, games and movies, plenty to entertain ourselves when it rained. The kitchen was first-rate, new appliances. In the evenings we really enjoyed the hot-tub and grill on the deck. We were so comfortable and relaxed. Thank you so much for the hospitality!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

"My family and I love the beach. The cottage was just the right size for our group. I love the idea of having a washer and dryer, along with dishwasher for use. The house is decorated so fittingly. Lots of great eating places around. I would recommend this rental to anyone. We wanted to take the king size bed home with us, it is more comfy than our own. Thanks Charlie and LIz for allowing us to use your charming place. We actually got to meet Charlie, and what a very nice man. Thanks again, Trish and Jeff"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon Perfection

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

"My new husband and I spent our honeymoon in this adorable house. It was absolutely perfect. Everything we needed was there waiting on us and the walk to the beach was even shorter than I anticipated. My husband and I had the best time and if you want a nice quite retreat the place is definitely perfect. "

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review