reviews for: listing #36408 - Taos, New Mexico Cottage rental

walk to Plaza - romantic cozy adobe. Ski nearby. AC. WiFi.
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $70 - $150 /nt
    $480 - $1,035 /wk

sort by:

Perfect weekend getaway!

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Casita Montoya was the perfect place for myself, a friend, and my dog to spend a winter weekend in Taos. I have high expectations and this place did not let me down. The best was more comfortable than my own at home, the separate living room/kitchen area provided an extra space to spread out, and the cute, little bathroom was just right for our needs. The cherry on top was the private yard with a lovely tree and no neighbors behind. I can't wait to go back during warmer weather and sit outside to enjoy it once more! Oh, and did I mention the location is perfect?!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: How wonderful that the word "best" slipped out instead of "bed." I'm grateful for my guests. When Alejandra comes back, she'll get a 10% discount as a "regular."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spot

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

We stayed in this casita and loved it. It is nicely organized with everything that we needed. The bed is super comfortable, just what we needed for s good rest after big days of hkihg and skiing. Ellen is a wonderrful host. The casita is a quick walk to the Plaza. We will definately return! We have stayed in the adjoining Casa as well in the past, which is also great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What can I say? Only the most wonderful people gravitate to our Casa and Casita and bless our house with their presence. I'm overjoyed and grateful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome adventure!

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

We just got home form a 5 night stay in the casita. It was my husband and me.The place was immaculate. We went to both Angel Fire and Taos ski Valley. We also went hiking to the gorge and also walked the plaza. This location was great! The casita was the perfect size. We didn't use all that was available but we could have cooked and sipped wine at home each day. We will definitely be coming back. I am not sure we would have walked to the Plaza after dark mainly because there were a lot of big dogs in the neighborhood that we weren't sure were friendly but it was certainly close enough. We didn't bring our dog but the yard would have been perfect if we had. Wonderful perfect stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We have stayed here more than a half dozen times and we find Casita Montoya to be charming, comfortable, well equipped and within walking distance to the downtown activities. It is perfect for us, thank you once again Ellen!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so blessed to have guests like Hector and Mary.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Walking Distance to Wool Festival!!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Did you ever wonder what Inigo Montoya did after he killed the 6-Fingered Man? He moved to New Mexico, of course! :)

My girlfriend and I got this cozy casita for the weekend to attend the Taos Wool Festival. We were very pleased to realize that we were just down the street from the free parking so we just left the car at the Casita and walked. The casita is also walking distance to a slew of yummy restaurants. We also would have scoped out some art galleries which are also plentiful and close, but we spent all our money on fiber!

Ellen is very responsive via email to all requests and inquiries. Her directions into the Casita (we drove in from Texas) were crystal clear as were the instructions on getting at the key. The Casita comes with everything you need - we should have taken better advantage of the fully stocked kitchen (esp as there was a grocery store within walking distance), but the meals out were just too good.

The Casita was spotlessly clean, the bed is nice and firm, the towels were fluffy, getting up on the internet was very quick, the neighborhood was quiet, and you can watch the stars while lying in bed. We would definitely stay here again.

(We did not have a pet, but the Casita is set up with a gated yard if your dog is OK with some alone time.)

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing in Taos

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

We really enjoyed the casita. My dogs we very comfortable there and I they enjoyed the big trees and shade. We look forward to coming back!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Magical Stay

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

I had the rare privilege of staying in Casita Montoya for a month while my home in Denver was undergoing renovations. The only thing more delightful than the casita itself is its owner, Ellen. She was so helpful, accommodating and friendly that I now consider her a dear friend.

And the casita! It is charming, beautifully and comfortably appointed, and everything you could imagine -- and some things you wouldn't -- has been thought of. Ellen's artistic eye and attention to detail is incredible. Yes, there's a meditation loft. And would you believe she provided a timer for it? How about paper, pens, stamps and even reading glasses in the little desk? Games and DVDs to go along with the TV and DVD player? Great books to read, a guest book featuring helpful tips from other guests, and pots, pans and utensils galore, all neatly tucked away so there's no feeling of clutter. Even a discount card for the local grocery store! Ellen has thought of it all.

The neighborhood is the best of all worlds: walking distance to town and the grocery store (which, BTW, has the best wine selection in Taos), yet on a quiet residential street that is so peaceful at night you can hear the coyotes in the distance. The landscaping is lovely and varied and the home itself is clearly well cared for.

Casita Montoya is not a huge, shiny, marble-tiled hotel room. It is a quaint, cozy, charming and welcoming little place that will feel like home every time you walk in the door. I will most certainly return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Frequent Guest

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

My wife and I are frequent guest at this charming casita which is walking distance to Taos Plaza. This is the first time that we have stayed here in the summer. It was perfect, the trees in the property provided excellent shade and kept the casita cool, we didn't have to use the air condition.
Reason why we are frequent guest:
A) walking distance to Taos Ski Shuttle in the winter
B) proximity to the plaza, grocery store .3 of a mile
C) enclosed yard for our dogs
D) gas range cook top
E) just a cool place to hang out!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy & Comfortable Casita!

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

We had the most wonderful time at Casita Montoya this weekend!! Taos was gorgeous, and we really felt that we'd come on a perfect weekend... the weather was so nice!! The little backyard area was excellent - we ate almost every meal at the little cast iron table and chairs, and enjoyed hearing all the various birds in the trees!! We saw many ravens, and didn't know until this weekend how common they are in New Mexico! What amazing and graceful birds!! The only reason this review gets a 4 instead of a 5 is that the bathroom was tiny - the shower stall was very narrow, and the sink area didn't allow much room for primping. Not a ton of 'elbow room'. However, the rest of the casita afforded excellent space for relaxation. Much thanks to Ellen - we'll be sure to pass along information about this wonderful casita to our family and friends!!
Sincerely,
L. & C.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ah, we're so blessed. We get wonderful people staying at our casa and casita. They're right - the bathroom is tiny. A full length mirror in the bedroom has more space around it for primping than the mirrors in the bathroom.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful week in Taos

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

We enjoyed our week in Taos so much, and the casita was perfect for our needs. (That shower stall would be a bit of a challenge for a larger person, though!) We met some lovely people and had some wonderful hikes and meals. Your casita was a great base of operations, easy walking distance to a good grocery store, the main Plaza, and restaurants, including Doc Martin's.
Sorry we left socks!! Thank you for offering to send them on. Very kind of you.
On our way to Arizona today.... thanks again for your thoughtfully-furnished, quiet, comfortable casita. We will recommend it to friends. Best, Liz and Dallas

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy, charming, and everything needed

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Casita Montoya provided a cozy stay for my small family for three nights. We were able to accomodate our infant daughter sleeping in her pack n play. The kitchenette provided everything we could possibly need to cook our meals, the bed was comfortable, and the entire place was spotlessly clean. We hope to stay here again, and we highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sweet casita in Taos

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Attention to every detail, a beautiful yard and a gracious and kind hostess made our recent trip to Taos the best ever. We needed local wisdom on a number of issues, including massage therapist referrals, restaurant recommendations and more. Our hostess was helpful at every turn. She made our stay super easy. We have a new friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The only surprises were good ones

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Ellen

We love your little place. Quiet. We walked everywhere! The yard was perfect for our doggie and we were lucky enough to see air balloons, from the Taos Balloon Rally, through our skylight early one morning. Thank you!

Brent and Deborah, Golden CO

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Convenient and Comfortable

Review submitted: October 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We enjoyed our time in Taos. We visited the Taos Pueblo, did the High Road loop, the Georgia O’Keefe house at Abiquie, the Ghost Ranch and the loop from Chama back to Taos. Casita Montoya was a welcoming, convenient and comfortable headquarters for all our activities, which included some quiet time for reading and chilling out.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable, better than the photos!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

I felt safe and peaceful in this charming, immaculate casita. I loved the attention to detail with wood floors, art, movies and books. I was comfortable on the couch, at the table and in bed!! The kitchen had everything you would need even though I did not cook in it. The yard with the grass, trees, table and chairs was so inviting. Grahams Grill and El Meze are delicious restaurants, Millicent Rogers museum is excellent. A lovely place to rest and enjoy a beautiful area. I would stay again.

Mary Jo, Petaluma, CA

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are blessed with great guests like Mary Jo. Please understand that the kitchen is small with an under the counter fridge and a two-burner gas stove. Coffee machine, blender and other small appliances.There is a toaster oven, but not a full sized oven. Very well equipped for light cooking, including olive oil and vinegar, ketchup, mayo etc. but you couldn't cook the Thanksgiving turkey here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay in the downtown area

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We stayed here while attending the Taos Solarfest. Easy, convienent, and charming.
Very comfortable and fully equipped home. Enjoyed morning coffee and afternoon class of wine in the shady courtyard.
Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

They Said We'd Love It and We Really, Really Did!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We had three nights at Casita Montoya and were just enamoured.

The Casita is adorable and perfect for two people. It is warm and welcoming. The owner had thought of just everything to make our stay enjoyable. We would race around during the day, hiking, shopping and gallery hopping and then return to our quiet oasis. Evenings we would make ourselves presentable and head out again for more fun.

This is a great, great location and you can scoot out either end of the street, depending on where you are going, and beat the weekend traffic crunch.

Thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming Casita...We Loved It!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We loved this little casita tucked away on a residential street, close enough to walk to the plaza, decorated with love and charm. It was perfect for two! It had everything we needed and way more space than a hotel room or B&B room!!!! We felt perfectly safe in the neighborhood, and I took a walk by myself each morning. We will come back anytime we are in Taos!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Took one look and left.

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We were scheduled to spend two nights in the Casita Montoya. However, after driving through the immediate neighborhood, we were not impressed. Then when we saw the place we were to stay, wedged in between two not-so-nice properties, we didn't feel like we were on vacation. We went inside, and my husband felt claustrophobic, it was so small. I will say it was very clean and nicely decorated, but unfortunately, that was not enought to get us to stay. It is too bad photos of the street and surroundings are not posted on the Internet - only those photos that show the subject property in its "best light".

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: I'm sorry that the guest did not approve of our rental. How can I respond? Taos is not an upscale resort town for the wealthy. It is fun and energetic and funky - lots of
'artsy' charm. You have nice dwellings mixed with funky dwellings everywhere - that's the charm of Taos!
Our other guest reviews say it all - our guests love Casita Montoya and many come back regularly. The price of the Casita justifies the size (our rates are extremely reasonable especially for being so close to the Plaza) - a medium sized bedroom and a smaller living & dining area, a meditation loft and of course a bathroom. And there is a nice backyard. I'm sorry this guest did not feel our place was upscale enough, but I am reassured to know that the majority of our guests love our Casita and come back. Warm Regards to the guest who wrote this review. Winton

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Great casita near Taos Plaza

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Casita Montoya. Though small, the casita is decorated with exceptional taste and is thoughtfully outfitted with everyone one could need. The bed and furnishings are very comfortable. It is a short walk to the plaza and to other shops and restaurants. We highly recommend the casita.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Uncle and nephew who worship the outdoors

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

This was my nephew's graduation gift from the University of Colorado. He is an avid snowboarder and can now enjoy what Taos Ski Valley steeps and challenging chutes have to offer. He fell in love with Casita Montoya the moment we walked, he loved the privacy that the loft had to offer. We enoyed being minutes from the restaurants and night scene that Taos has to offer within easy walks. The young man has embraced all that is Taos and the casita was an added atraction to keep him coming back. We left early Sunday morning when we found out that TSV had 5 inches of snow the night before, sorry about not dryng the dishes. Thank you for making our stay a very wonderful postive experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We love this little house!

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We absolutely loved staying at the casita and would absolutely come back again. Very clean, well-stocked, close to everything. Umbrellas if it rains, a grill with charcoal if it doesn't. Having internet was a nice plus. We made this our home base and took day trips into the mountains. What a wonderful house to come home to.
Thank you for offering such a great alternative!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

So Sweet!

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

Perfection! We LOVED Casita Montoya! It is perfect for a single person or couple -- beautifully decorated, welcoming, comfortable, private and convenient. While possible to walk to the Plaza, we felt driving was more convenient - and easier to transport all the lovely things we bought! We would definitely return and recommend this to friends. The "vibe" here was great, from our first email contact to our departure, we felt taken care of. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love Casita Montoya!!!!

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Upon entering Casita Montoya, my daughter exclaimed, "I want to live here!!" It was absolutely perfect. Winton thought of absolutely everything that we would need to make our vacation home comfortable and welcoming. It even smelled delightful! It's also within walking distance of the square, which was an added bonus. Yes, it's small, but the space is used extremely well and we had more than enough room for the two of us to spread out and be happy. My teenaged daughter loved sleeping in the loft and liked that she had some private space. The couch, bed and linens were more comfortable than my own, and everything was immaculately clean. The kitchen was nicely stocked and was easy to cook in. The only thing to know is that the fridge is quite small, so don't buy too many perishable items at once, if you're planning to cook. It was perfectly adequate, but it's good to know it's small. Thank you Winton for making our stay perfect!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Casita Montoya is a perfect accomodation for one or two people. It felt like a home away from home the moment I walked through the door. A great deal of attention to detail has been given to details, including reading glasses, a first aid kit, umbrella, etc. It's charming and warm and beautifully appointed and cared for. The location is perfect for walking into town. I heartily recommend escaping to Casita Montoya and all that Taos has to offer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Post Holiday Get Away

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

Casita Montoya was wonderful! Upon our arrival we were greeted by the neighbor dogs. They were so cute and one came by each morning with a smile and a wag.

The casita was perfect for the two of us. We loved the kingsize bed and the wonderful bed linens. It was very comfy and we slept as if we were in our own bed. The owner had all of the necessities we needed from wine glasses and a cork screw to the good, 2 ply toilet paper that we use at home.

It's located not far from the historic plaza but we drove each day due to the amount of snow on the ground. It's convenient location to everything made it easy to run back and forth when necessary.

The only downside was the shower. It was very small and I couldn't take one without getting my hair wet. A shower cap is needed.

The casita was clean and cozy. A great place for 1 or 2 to enjoy and relax. We look forward to our next visit.

Paige & Ruben

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderfully romantic stay!

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 7, 2008

We spent a few days in the casita and it was wonderful! They have all the amenities one could think of, a very comfy bed, a fenced yard for our Yorkie and so close to downtown! We walked to the Plaza every morning for a latte, then shopped and strolled before returning after lunch for a siesta. Winton was so helpful with directions and advice. We had a wonderfully romantic trip, both Taos and the Casita were fabulous and we'll definitely be back!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 14, 2008

We spent a few days in the casita and it was wonderful! They have all the amenities one could think of, a very comfy bed, a fenced yard for our Yorkie and so close to downtown! We walked to the Plaza every morning for a latte, then shopped and strolled before returning after lunch for a siesta. Winton was so helpful with directions and advice. We had a wonderfully romantic trip, both Taos and the Casita were fabulous and we'll definitely be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Restful cottage

Review submitted: April 22, 2008   Date of arrival: April 9, 2008

My husband and I just returned from visiting Taos for five days and stumbled up on this jewel beforehand. This cozy little getaway was just perfect, the owner was quite meticulous in providing for a traveler's unexpected needs. Everything was laid out so well and it was sparkling clean, it was a comfort to come home to every evening after days of walking, driving and generally exploring the surrounding countryside. We walked a couple of times from the house to surrounding restaurants and the plaza, of course, but also made day trips to Abiqui, Ghost Ranch and Angel Fire. It was even warm enough to sit outside and drink our morning coffee most days. I was very happy overall with our stay. Thank you , Ellen.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Serenity Defined

Review submitted: February 22, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We spent 4 wonderful nights at Casita Montoya while skiing at Taos Ski Valley. I was slightly injured the first day and did not ski the other 2 days. I so appreciated having everything I needed to relax, rejuvinate and recuperate in this compact space. From watching a movie from Ellen's collection to snuggling under the wonderful down comforter, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The casita is perfect for a romantic get-away, close to the wonderful Plaza for shopping, dining, or visiting friends, and the wireless Internet made it easy to keep "connected" on our schedule!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review