reviews for: listing #36418 - Bonita Beach, Florida House rental

Directly on the Beach!!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,785 - $3,530 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful family vacation!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We were blessed to be able to spend the holidays/Dad's 70th birthday celebration at this wonderful beach house. The floorplan is spacious & offers privacy for multiple occupants, the house condition is impeccably kept, the setting is so serene & relaxing especially with the sound of the waves, and glorious sunsets can be viewed from a patio chair. We had a wonderful time strolling the beach for shells & found starfish as well, fishing (caught some catfish), watching the birds along the sand and diving into the water, and the location is perfect as it's so close to parks, restaurants, shops, etc. Last but not least, the owners are superb. They are responsible, communicative, and caring. I absolutely recommend this home if you are considering a vacation in the Bonita Beach area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Diana, thank you for such a glowing review!!! I'm so glad that you and your family had a wonderful time. Hope to hear from you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nature tour

Review submitted: November 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

Having stayed at the Beach house before, the re-modeling was an unexpected surprise. I enjoyed my first stay, but was a bit disappointed by the lack of sea life. Saw a few sand dollars, but not much else. THIS time: 8 dolphin sightings, an octopus, a starfish, a horse shoe crab and pelicans diving for fish every fifteen minutes!
We did use the kitchen for pastry baking (the granite counter top is great for rolling), and the house was a wonderful place for a 50th wedding anniversary. Thank you for allowing us to stay and get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dennis, thank you for posting a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the house and the sea life. Looking forward to having you back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love this place!!!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

This beach house is amazing. We have been traveling to the U.S. for the past 10 years, and this is the best we have ever seen. On arrival there was a generous welcome tray, and the house was sparkling clean. The owners have thought of everything to make this a home away from home. The location is stunning. The lanai runs the full length of the house, and looks directly over the gulf. Words can not describe how much we loved this home. It was perfect. Our memories will last a lifetime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Beach House

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

Valerie, the beach house is terrific. The welcome goodies were a nice touch. A fully equipped kitchen 'almost' tempts you to cook. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms spacious. We enjoyed a walk on the beach every morning, and sunset from the balcony every evening. We plan to come back for our next vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Our family celebrated several milestones: 18th birthday and graduation, anniversary, 70th birthday. Beautiful sunsets, comfortable accommodations, a great time was had by all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nancy, thank you for posting a review. I'm so glad that you and your family had a wonderful vacation!!! Have a wonderful summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic!!!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Thank you Valerie and Jeff for having such a clean, neat, well kept, and nicely appointed beach house. We were delighted to find a pet friendly house here in Bonita Beach, and particularly pleased to see how nice it was in person. The wine, fresh fruit, cookies and other snacks were a very nice touch. We will be in touch very soon with a request for another week here next year!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another great stay at the Crustacean...

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

This was our second stay at this great beach house and it was even better than the first. Val continues to add little extras that improve on the house and our stay. Still, the reason we go, and will go again, is that it is a great, clean, comfortable, spacious house in the perfect location with an awesome private "back yard" that will get almost as much use as the beach just beyond.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Dan, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! So glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to having you back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We have stayed at several beach rentals over the years, and this is the FIRST one that we felt was a "home." We would be comfortable living here. Great house - great venue! Thank you for a memorable experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay so much!

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Truly a home away from home - every detail was noticed. Loved being able to invite family over after all the wedding festivities for a day at the beach, with everything we could need or want already here for us to use. Thank you for thinking of everything. The welcome basket was a special treat. We will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Wollensack Women

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Great location! Away from crowds, but convenient to shopping & restaurants. The beach is wonderful - clean, quiet, restful, with lots of shells. The house is comfortable, clean, well-appointed and laid back.
Valerie and Jeff have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful setting

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

A beautiful setting! This was an annual girls trip - 4 generations. The house is beautiful, well-stocked & lovely linens. We've seen some lovely beaches over the years - Hawaii, Mexico, Puerto Rico, and this is one of the best. Beautiful here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Great Escape

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Relaxed on the beach - there was no need to venture any farther. The osprey next door was an obsession for us, while finding the perfect shell took over other peoples lives. Great sunsets! This location is amazing. We would come back in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this! Loved it - can't wait to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Crustacean Home

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Your home is wonderful. The welcome basket was a great touch. We had our new granddaughter over, and she loved rocking on the screened porch. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Crustacean Beach House

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

As always, we had a wonderful time! Your house is our "home away from home"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your incredible hospitality. We loved your beach house. It was the perfect accommodation for our young family. We have a 1, 4 and 5 yr. old, and we had a blast. The house was easy and safe and the beach was a dream.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Crustacean Beach House

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

This was our 5th year staying at the Crustacean house, time flies, and we are already planning our stay for next year. The beach is beautiful and the accommodations A+.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We had a great time with our family at the beach house. The layout of the house worked perfecly and everything was neat and ready for us upon arrival. The beach out the back yard was hit big hit with kids and grandkids. Definately wil consider this for an annual location for our family get to gether.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Al. I'm so glad that you and your family had a wonderful time. Looking forward to having you return in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful stay! Thank you!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here at "Crusty". Thank you for allowing us to host our small private wedding here, it was perfect, despite the threat of rain on the day! The house had everything we needed, and was so welcoming. Thank you for the fruits, wine and little luxuries that greeted us when we opened the doors. Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad that you had a wonderful wedding, and that you enjoyed the house. You are such a lovely couple. I truly wish you many years of happiness together. If you're walking the beach, and see that we're there, come up and say "Hi"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beach House

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Dear Valerie, We has a wonderful time at the beach house. The house is beautiful and stocked with everything one could need! The gift basket was espicaly nice. We also loved the screened in porch and got to watch the beautiful sunsets every night. I fell in love with the master bedroom matress- It Dear Valerie, We has a wonderful time at the beach house. The house is beautiful and stocked with everything one could need! The gift basket was espicaly nice. We also loved the screened in porch and got to watch the beautiful sunsets every night. I fell in love with the master bedroom matress- It was the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. We had several family members come visit and they lovedthe house so much, they want to rent it too! As yoy know, we were celebrating my 50th birthday, and we had the absolute best time at your home. The decor is charming and just what we were looking for. The downstairs apt. was great too, and the two girls that stayed down there were very satisfied. We wil definetly rent your home again!!!! Thank you so much.was the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. We had several family members come visit and they lovedthe house so much, they want to rent it too! As yoy know, we were celebrating my 50th birthday, and we had the absolute best time at your home. The decor is charming and just what we were looking for. The downstairs apt. was great too, and the two girls that stayed down there were very satisfied. We wil definetly rent your home again!!!! Thank you so much.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous beach house

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

We had an 8 person college reunion here and it was perfect. The beach couldn't be closer and everything was as advertised. Great location and beautiful property. Would return to rent again. loved it!!! Val is extremely responsive and helpful with any questions that came up.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent home

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

This house is very comfortable and very well-equipped. We love Bonita Beach...it is our favorite beach!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

The Crustacean House is the perfect place to relax and re-charge. It was our first week-long trip to the Gulf Coast and there couldn't be a better house - we would definitely return.
The Gulf view was outstanding and it was a beautiful postcard moment every hour of the day and evening. The greenery around the beachy backyard was an added bonus because there were lots of birds singing, making it feel like a tropical island.
The house was so easy to live in for the week that it almost felt like being in our own home. It was well-stocked and well laid out. Some of the other pluses were all the fans and stocked beach equipment locker.
Lastly, Valerie was responsive and informative as well as being extremely professional with our needs, questions, and management of the home. Better than most rental companies that we have worked with.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous and Family Friendly

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This was a perfect place to gather family for a week of celebration and relaxation. We decided very quickly to dine in as the sunsets were spectacular, and the kitchen is so well furnished. The beach is beautiful, and all the extra "toys" made it easy to entertain our grandson in the backyard as well as on the beach. We will cherish the memories made here. This is definitely a location to keep on the return list. Thank you Valerie and Jeff for sharing your corner of Paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed the house, and made memories to last a lifetime. It was a pleasure working with you both. Hope to have you back in the future. Have a wonderful summer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Excellent week! The house is great! Very clean and well stocked. We didn't need anything that wasn't already here.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Thanks for the quick return of my security deposit. Its your attention to detail and small stuff that will keep renters happy...well that, and an ideal location. We had a great time. There are so many fantastic places to visit in one's lifetime, but your place is the only vacation rental where we would consider a revisit. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

Valerie made everything easy. Accomodations were great and clean. Nice beach area - screened in veranda a plus. The age group in our family varied from 2 years old to 60 years old. The young couples enjoyed it as well as the children. Thank you Val for the lovely welcome basket.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

It was a wonderful week - we had a fabulous time. Everything was easy to find, and all of the instructions were great!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Our stay at your "Crustacean House" was wonderful. I would like to commend your cleaning crew, they do a great job. All the toys, umbrellas, chairs and little kiddie pool were a great bonus. Along with the computer and Wi-Fi...I don't know what more to ask for. Keep up the good work!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

As always, we had a wonderful stay at the Crustacean House! We LOVE the updates you have done, and your house is always very "homey" feeling! We always look forward to the next years Florida vacation and our stay at your beach house. The weather was perfect for the entire 2 weeks! Our favorite part is walking up to the sound and the wonderful ocean view.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love this place!!!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

It's like coming home to the beach. I look forward to this beach retreat every year. Comfy, cozy surroundings prevail. Listening to the waves slapping against the shore is serenity in itself. Every year I come "home" to this beach retreat and thoroughly enjoy!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Pat...we love having you back year after year....a terrific lady, and wonderful guest!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favorite Florida beach house

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

We stayed in this home Spring Break 2009 and could not have enjoyed it more. It is in the perfect location and has a great "beachy" feel to the whole place. It is nicely appointed without being overdone. Very relaxing. My teenage son particulalrly enjoyed the downstairs "suite". Val was very accomodating throughout the entire process.

We can't wait to get back there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

Thank you for the best vacation we've had in a while. The House was emaculate, the views spectacular, the water warm and clear. We could not have asked for a more relaxing time. It felt like home with all the amentities. Thank you so much Jeff and Val

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 8, 2009

I highly recommend this wonderful beachfront rental
for your next vacation. Great location and love the
porch views! Thanks, Jeff and Val, for making our
vacation in Bonita so special. :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

Our family has stayed at the beach house several times. It's attractive, warm and cozy. Val and Jeff are gracious hosts. Waking up to the sound of the ocean great way to start you day. Sunsets ae awesome. Thanks you both. Hope to see you soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

We recently stayed in the upstairs unit for the second time in the past year. We have two more weeks booked over the next year. Needless to say we enjoyed our vacations and are looking forward to our future visits. The unit is neat, clean and very comfortable. The view from the lanai is breathtaking...especially the sunsets over the Gulf. I also want to add that Valerie and Jeff are very nice people who make you very comfortable both in their home and in their business manner. Simply the best vacations we have ever had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

We have stayed downstairs several times and just love it. The personal touches are well thought out and unique and the location is perfect for local activities. Plus, you can't beat the view.
Val has always been very accomodating and easy to work with. We will be back!
W & D, Lauderhill, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 13, 2009   Date of arrival: May 13, 2009

I want to share with you alittle moment I had while staying at your beach home.
One evening I went to sit down by the beach all alone. It became a very special moment I will never forget. I looked across the vast panaromic ocean and sky from left to right. To my left I saw a lightining storm streaking across the sky. Flashing and striking the ocean in the distance. In front of me a full moon was appearing from behind a white cloud and off to my right the remanants of a beautiful sunsets colors lingered in sky. What a VISUAL....I just sat back and thought when will I ever see so much beauty at one time again???
I want to tell you what a wonderful time we had but I dont want to write a book so I will condense...
Views, sunsets, dolphins, manatee, relaxing, soothing, peaceful, happy, SLEEP, a real vacation. Thank you we will definately be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 12, 2009   Date of arrival: May 12, 2009

We had a group of 7 high school classmates that just wrapped up a lovely week vacation at the house. What an incredible place to stay! Comfort, cozy and steps away from the beach. A great environment for seven "40 year olds" to hang out and enjoy some beverages and each others company.

Val was excellent to work with and always available if needed.

I can't wait to bring my family back some day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

We love this place! We have only stayed here one time, but there was no hesitancy to book again for this year! So clean, everything in working order, fans in rooms (we have often hauled ours to other places), just so comfortable! Valerie is such a gracious person and makes one feel so welcome in her home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

We stayed at Val's beach house back in September 2008. From start to finish we had the perfect getaway! This home had every amenity and was very clean. The beach was beautiful!! We got to see dolphins, turtles and even a manatee. We look forward to spending another vacation here!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 28, 2009

We have stayed at Val's beach house several times in the last 2 years and each time it has been great. The house is immaculate and the owners have thought of everything you need including leaving a nice welcome basket full of goodies and menus to local restaurants. The house is very comfortable and the views are amazing. Right off the beach we have seen dolphin and manatee on several occasions. Thanks Val for allowing us to share your home. We hope to be back again very soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

I have stayed at the beach house on four different occasions with my family. It is our home away from home. We love it!It has everything you could ever want ,or ever need. The owners are very accomidating, and very wonderful people.The location is excellent, and the views of the sunsets are gorgeus. I will come back year after year as long as the owners are renting it out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

The house was just as described, and it was wonderful to be right on the beach. The screened porches were our favorite part. The house was very clean, comfortable, and everything you need is provided. A great rental property we highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

We shared this home with two other couples in Feb. 2008. It was very well appointed, there seemed to be nothing lacking. The location is wonderful, the beach amazing, and the sights better than pictured. We loved the screened porch and the privacy of the front yard beach. We saw dolphins and magnificent sunsets. Best of all it was the home to many laughs and memorable times!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

We've stayed at Val's the past two seasons and are very satisifed. Kick back and enjoy the Bonita Beach sun, play a game of Bocci, or walk down to Doc's Beach Bar. Great location! Can't wait to go back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

Staying at the Bonita beach house was one of the best decisions we have made in years. We stayed upstairs and the view was absolutely amazing. Both the beach and the house were immaculate.
Everything we could possibly need was already there and provided for us. We made memories that will last us a lifetime. We still haven't stopped talking about all the fun we had. Thank
you Val.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 25, 2009   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

We stayed in this beach home with our friends, the Fahy's in Feb. 2008. It was absolutely heavenly. The beach home was clean, accommodating, and the location was terrific. We especially loved the morning walks on the beach. We had many breakfasts and visits on the screened patio. Val, thank you for sharing your piece of paradise.

Becky and Gary Townley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 23, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

What a Beautiful place.
We stayed in the downstairs, while friends of ours stay upstairs, last year 2008. We loved it. Val is more than willing to help make everything perfect. The Beach is great and the home is very clean and comfortable. Would go back again and again. Hopefully we are going to go back next year with the same friends. They have rented 2 years in a row. Cant go wrong with this home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

*Fantastic location - you could stumble onto the beautiful beach.
*Ease of grilling on charcoal grill
*Porch was the place to read the morning paper, watch the sunset in the evening, and just spend the day.
*Big sliding glass doors that make the porch part of the house.
*Very, very clean!!!
*The completely two independent apartments make it great for families (grandparents, children & grandchildren)or for several couples.
*Beautiful, beautiful beach
*All the beach stuff you could want.
*Computer with DSL access.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We rented this home in March/2009 and had a great time. Everything was just as described and the pictures are 100% accurate. Val the owner is a genuinely nice person and very easy to deal with and contact. She answered every one of my questions the same day I asked. We have traveled a lot over the last few Spring breaks and my kids all said this was the best time the have had. It is a beach house that is neat, clean and up to date and we felt right at home from the minute we walked in. Don't hesitate because I guarantee someone else will rent it if you don't. Thanks again Val, we miss being there!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

This place is FABULOUS...and it actually is even nicer than the photos you see on the website. Sunsets are absolutley gorgeous...and we have had perfect weather for 2 years in a row.
Love it!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review