reviews for: listing #36430 - Maggie Valley, North Carolina House rental

Brown Log Cabin Retreat (View, Hot Tub, Fire Place, Games)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sherwood Mountain
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

fall in the NC mountains

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

had a great week in this spacious and comfortable cabin. we always enjoy the many things to see and do. the cabin was well appointed and perfectly located off the beaten path but only a few minutes drive to town. the drive way is a little steep but not bad and I'm from flat south Alabama (ROLL TIDE).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed. Hope you return in the near future. Thank you again - Kathy & Stan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yearly trip to Maggie Valley

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Spent 3 wonderful nights in your home and we all loved it. The house suited the six of us great. The drive way was a little hard at first but we finally managed getting up the drive and down with our bikes. Can't wait to go back. I hope to be back in the mountains come April. Again, Kathy thanks so much for the use of your home.
Audrey A.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again soon. The driveway is okay once you get used to it. I ride my bike up and just remind myself to put it in low gear and do not stop. Love all the stories guests tell.

Thank you again and look forward to you returning.

Kathy & Stan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We just got home from four days at your cabin and we are so sad we had to leave. I knew it looked beautiful in the pictures but in person it is breathtaking. The cabin, your hospitality and the whole experience was better than I ever could have imagined. We had an amazing time enjoying all of the local activities but our favorite activity was staying at the cabin, starting a fire in the fireplace and taking advantage of priceless quality family time. You thought of it all by stocking the cabin with the gameroom (air hockey table, foosball table and ping pong table), board games, books and the hot tub. My youngest son cried the day we were going ice skating because he wanted to stay at the cabin and play games. When it came to accomadations there is nothing better out there than your home. It was more comfortable than our own home and there is nothing you didn't think of!!! I will always remember sitting in the hot tub after a long day of skiing and looking out at night at the lights on the mountain across the valley. The memories my family made at your cabin will be cherished forever and I am getting started on a scrapbook for our coffee table today. I have to admit, even though we just left the cabin yesterday I am on your website to book another trip. I would never stay anywhere else and you can count on us coming back soon.

Owners response: It was our pleasure to have you and your family visit our home. It means a great deal to us that we could make your stay one that you will not forget. I hope that you visit again soon for more memories. Thank you - Kathy

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 31, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We had a great time. Everything about the cabin was as good or better than expected. We had a little problem with the heater on the first day, but it was addressed immediately. Everything was clean and comfortable, and there were no suprises. Thanks for the hospitality.

PM

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again soon. Thank you - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 15, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We just returned from a five-day stay at the wonderful Brown Log Cabin in beautiful Maggie Valley. The only problem - five days was not nearly enough!! The cabin was perfect for three couples and we thoroughly enjoyed the area. Although we did do some sightseeing, we spent most of our time at the cabin and wanted for nothing (save more time to spend there)! Thanks to the Brown's for a great vacation experience.

Owners response: We are so happy that you had a great time. Please visit again soon.

Thanks - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We really enjoyed staying in your home. The accomodations suited our needs perfectly. King Size Beds (that are comfortable), Hot Tub, Complete Kitchen, Fireplace w/plenty of wood, Beautiful Deck w/frequent visits from Birds including Hummingbirds! Though the Driveway may appear daunting at first, we quickly got used to it. In spite of a tempory gas shortage & an emergency visit to Urgent Care (which by the way takes terrific care of you at a reasonable price) we had a wonderful and relaxing vacation. Saw Bear on the BRP for the first time in 20 years and saw and heard Elk for the first time ever. If you don't get a chance to view Elk at Cataloochee Valley, you just might see them off of 441 just north of Cherokee at twilight. We would definitely stay here again. Thankyou for the use of your Home!

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words. It's great to share our getaway with you. We hope you can visit again soon. Thank you again - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 29, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Absolutely gorgeous home. We were there during the Memorial Day weekend for the Corvette show (Vettes in the Valley) and greatly appreciated the parking you get with a private home. It is an intimidating driveway but is outweighed when compared to parking a show car in a motel parking lot with no hose to wash it in preparation for that show. We won a distinction honor, by the way! Thanks, again, for renting your beautiful mountain retreat.

Owners response: I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay. Congrats on the honor at the car show. I hope you visit again soon. - Kathy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 29, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

WOW-The cabin was amazing! All the comforts of home and then some. We hoped for snow and boy did we get it-about a foot on the ground and more falling the day we checked in. I think our next trip will be in the Spring or Summer, then we can tube down the river(not the snow)-my family already has me looking at availability and our schedules. A special Thankyou to your spa guy- he was an angel.

Owners response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that you can visit in the Spring or Summer as there are so many things to do in the area. Thank you again and I'm glad taht you and your family enjoyed your stay. - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

My family and I had a great time at your cabin. The ping pong and the foosball table were really enjoyed by all of us. It was a very relaxing stay in the cabin with beautiful weather for most of the week. We had a great spring week with temperatures mainly in the 60's and 70's right up until Friday. Friday came in with a cold front and Friday night it snowed (probably about 2-4 inches). It snowed enough to scare this South Florida family about how to get down the mountain from your cabin Saturday morning. After initially delaying our exit time by an hour or so we decided to slowly go down the mountain. Our fears were worse than our experience.

Your cabin is really nice, I just do not like the one lane road on the side of the mountain and the driveway takes some getting used to. I'd go back again as long as I can rent a Hummer H3 like I had.

Owners response: I'm very glad your family enjoyed our home. Our other home Browns Creeksong Home is not so intimidating to get to. But, I'm a Florida gal too and the driveway scared me at first. But, even with my minivan and our motorcycles, I have gotten used to the one lane road and the steep driveway. Thank you again. - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 7, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Dear Kathy,
What an awesome cabin! It was the perfect size for two families of four. The kids loved the game room and we hooked our Play Station up down in the basement so they had they whole first floor to themselves.
It didn't take us long at all to get to the slopes at Cataloochee.We all learned to ski and the kids are begging to go again next year.
The kids agreed it was better than Disney! We loved your personel touches around the house. Instead of searching for Mickey we had fun spotting all the roosters around the cabin.
Thanks again! I would highly recommend your cabin.
Lynne

Owners response: Thank you so much. We do hope that you visit again soon. - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 9, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Kathy and Stan what can we say but WOW. My family thoroughly enjoyed your wonderful log cabin rental retreat for people to enjoy. We spent the week from September 29th through October 7th and enjoyed the changing of the leaves and seasonal weather. Some of the nights were in the forties which enabled us to utilize the cozy fire place. Thanks for having the wood handy the kids enjoyed making smores. Your guest book with places to see and visit is a great touch we enjoyed horse back riding for my daughters 12th birthday, went to Cherokee about a 30 minute drive and did some gem mining and even were lucky enough to see the Cherokee fall carnival and parade. There were plenty of ping pong and Yatzee tournaments. The dining in the area was very enjoyable and reasonable. We spent one day in Gatlinburg about a one hour trip and rode the cable cars to the top of Ober mountain what a view. The kids enjoyed riding the flume down the mountain, go carting and ice skating. We visited your other two homes and can only say that we enjoyed the views and warmness that you have built into the homesites. We cannot wait to visit again next year maybe Thanksgiving or Christmas in the Smokeys.

Owners response: Thank you Bill. We are so happy that you and your family had a great time. We do hope that you can enjoy our home again next year. Thank you for the kind words. - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 18, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We all had a great time at the cabin. Everything about it was incredible. We loved the ping pong table. All the men throughly enjoyed Deals Gap,an awesome ride coming from the flats of Florida. We'll be back, and thank you.
Doreen Keenan

Owners response: Thank you. We are looking forward to you visiting our home again. - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 1, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Dear Kathy,
My husband and I and our three children stayed at your cabin the week beginning July 17th, 2006. We were in awe of the place. It was truly a wonderful time there. We adored watching the birds and squirrels and the mountains and trees from the spacious front porch. The place was warm and inviting and we spent time in the hottub, cooked steaks on the grill roasted marshmellows in the fire afterwards(controlled fire):))and found a miniature air hockey table which our 5 year old fell in love with in the basement next to the ping pong table. We took a walk down the street and found raspberries growing wild! and the most beautiful daisies. The driveway was a thrill in itself and a challenge to my video game expert husband. We played Yahtzee into the wee hours in the morning. Thank you for having all those activities to enjoy. We found a couple charming local family restaurants including the Maggie Valley Restaurant and the Maggie Valley Pizzeria. We also traveled to Sliding Rock through winding mountains to brave the cold spring waters and to Deep Creek near Bryson City for some tubing. It was great fun. The mountain views in Maggie Valley were spectacular and breath taking. It was a memorable time for us. Thank you for the warm home that was very beautifully decorated and sparkling clean. We really appreciate it so much. We hope to visit again next year maybe to see some snow.

Owners response: Yvette - glad your family had a great time. Also, glad that you roasted marshmallows in the grill, as outside fires are not allowed. I try to have something at the house for everyone. Hope you come back to see the snow, it's beautiful. Thanks again - Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 1, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Totally enjoyed the cabin, what a beautiful place, very peaceful. The driveway, well quite a struggle for my little saturn car, but we did it. Yvette and I would love to go again (with a bigger vehicle). Thank You, for the week of relaxation.

Owners response: Thanks. I to am from Florida and wasn't sure about the driveway. But, once you realize you just have to not stop and give it gas, it's a piece of cake. I've even done it many times in the snow too. Can't wait for you to come back. Yvette said the kids had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review