reviews for: listing #36466 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Jewel by the Sea - Mika Lani - Snorkel Paradise
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $244 - $254 /nt
    $1,603 - $1,673 /wk

sort by:

What a paradise location!

Review submitted: June 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 3, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a property that was close to both the Hilo area and the volcanoes so this seemed in the middle of both. I liked the fact that it wasn't commercial with lots of people and seemed private.

What a beautiful property and the owners were very nice to deal with in setting up the reservation. They sent plenty of information that we needed in advance of our arrival.

Once we got to the island and located Mika Lani (excellent directions, by the way !!!) , we were amazed to find a wonderful home full of amenities and right on the water. No loud surf, but just the gentle tidal pools that were loaded with fish. Snorkeling was AMAZING and my husband used 3 rolls of films shooting the coral and fish in his underwater camera.

We had breakfast on the front lanai every morning to the amazing views and the birds chirping and fish jumping. What a relaxing place. You will love the serenity here.

The facility is REALLY clean, down to the BBQ Grill, hottub, and washer and dryer. There is nothing that you will need that this home doesn't supply. There are snorkel masks, fins, kayaks, towels, a nice welcoming basket of goodies and even champagne. The kitchen is VERY well equipped! Everything was thought of by the gracious hosts.

We will come back to the islands at some point and we will stay at Mika Lani again. We highly recommend this vacation rental!

Don't hesitate to rent this spot. For the price, you'll have a wonderful spot that would be hard to beat.

We highly recommend Mika Lani!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for sharing your enthusiasm concerning your stay at Mika Lani, Jewel-by-the-Sea. It makes us very happy to hear how our many guests have enjoyed this magical, little known paradise. It is truly Hawaii at its finest - and at its least commercial. We appreciate your taking the time to write about your vacation. It helps us to know what the guests like so that we can maintain our high standards. We look forward to having you back at Mika Lani. Aloha, Jamie and Lola

Helpful votes: 17 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beyond Spectacular!

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

It was the most incredible vacation we have ever had. No exaggeration. Your home is beyond spectacular! We would love to come back much sooner than our 10 year anniversary!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Getaway

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Beautiful, relaxing and serene. A great mother/ daughter retreat. Great kitchen, and the hot tub was much appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Peaceful!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

We can't thank you enough for the use of your home - a true jewel. Eric and I had the best vacation and fell in love with the big island. Your home is beautiful and we appreciated how comfortable and relaxed we felt while there. We loved the snorkeling, sounds of the birds and frogs, house geckos (we counted 4 on the lanai) and the sound of the crashing waves at night. I don't think I've even been to a more beautiful or peaceful place. We also enjoyed the town of Hilo, the stunning volcano, and we had fun riding the bikes to Champagne Pond. You truly thought of every detail and everything we wished for was provided (we were shocked to discover a salad spinner, something we love but weren't expecting to find). We had clear sky and sun most of the time and hope to return again someday. I told Eric we have to go back as we didn't see any sea turtles - next time! Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Mesmerizing!

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

Ditto the general consensus! Absolutely mesmerizing - especially during the early morning hours. I hope to imprint this view like a snapshot into my brain - it would be a comfort to return to when life gets too busy. We knew the accommodations would be 5-star after our stay at Mika 'Alua (down the road), & of course they were. Thanks for offering up this beautiful piece of paradise. We'd love to return some day. Also, a shout-out to Adan for his quick response. He's a gem with a smile!! Thanks, Jamie & Noi.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Dream Come True!

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

I had viewed this listing on VRBP for a couple years - dreaming of some day being here. Then everything came together last year for my husband & I planned a trip here. We were not disappointed. After the long cold, snowy winter we thoroughly appreciated this beautiful place. We enjoyed many parts of the Big Island but were always ready to come "home." Thanks so much. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Utterly Speechless!

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We are utterly speechless. This is our first visit, but won't be the last!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 6th Stay at Mika Lani!

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

Yes, Jamie & Noi have thought of everything. This is our 6th stay at the Jewel. It truly is a gem. The snorkeling was incredible, as always...This place is so awesome that we plan our days around our swims. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved Everything!

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

We loved everything! Others before us have said all the good words. All we can do is agree.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Phenomenal Experience in Paradise!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

We have rented properties dozens of times, and have never enjoyed a vacation as much as this one. A comfortable bed, two great showers (3 if you count the outside), Wifi, extremely well-appointed kitchen, and a flat screen TV highlighted the interior. However, we spent most of our time on the lanai, in the hot tub, or in the water. The snorkeling is simply unbelievable. We went at least three times per day during a week's stay and always saw something new every time we went out. Snorkel gear and kayaks are provided. We really enjoyed the drive down red road to Kalapana. Beautiful. Also, if you're here on Sunday, go to the Maku'u market and partake of some local foods and enjoy the vibe. If you enjoy gardens, the Tropical Botanical Garden north of Hilo is a great spot. Also, Pahoa has some good restaurants definitely worth the short drive. By far the most memorable and favorite moments of our trip were spent at Mika Lani, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Don't Want to Leave!

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

Please cancel everyone's reservation until we run out of money. We already don't want to leave Mika Lani. Oh, did I mention we just got here?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bali + Tahiti without the long flight!!!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a fabulous 5 days at Mika Lani. The house, location, wonderful wrap-around porch is stunning!! Jamie has thought of everything we might need: coffee, basic food pantry, wifi, sarong & robes, snorkeling gear, lotions...even a first aid kit (which we used after a nasty coral cut). The gift basket, fresh flowers, a bottle of champagne... all was very much appreciated. I loved the hot tub and outdoor shower. The snorkeling gear was well maintained and the cooler helpful when we made a trip to the market. This is a great location for people who have seen the island and just want a relaxing stay with wonderful water access and a chance to further explore the Hilo/Puna area. It is so lovely that you don't want/need to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Time!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

We had a great time! Thank you for making such a wonderful place to relax. For us it has been the 2nd time to stay on Hawaii. First time on Maui, 2009 was already exciting. But this vacation did clearly win the comparison. Especially the reef snorkeling directly from the terrace is unbeatable! We did it every day at least twice. Thank you for the very nice welcome basket! We are pretty sure to come back here in the next future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Awesome!!! Well appointed, clean, personalized for our stay. This house and the location were as close to perfect as it could be. Stepping down off the Lanai and with in seconds being able to launch into the tidal pools was absolutely the selling point of this house. The outdoor shower, the kayaks and even the porch swings were used daily!!! The local animal life was remarkable, from the mongoose that lives under the utility shed to the numerous little green gecko's that were scampering all over - we were certainly entertained.

The sun finds its way in at first light, so an eye mask is almost a necessity unless you like getting up that early. The wifi connection was strong and constant, can't say the same for my phone signal, but being unplugged from my phone was a good thing!!

I would definitely put this house on the short list for my return business. It was paradise found!!!

Ohhh the one sorta less than good thing, the house next door, the big one to the right was occupied or rented, (not sure which) by a multi family group with probably about 4-5 small children, they were late to go bed and early to rise. At times they were a little loud but it was not a show stopper.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply the Best!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

Our week at Mika Lani was simply the best stay we have ever had on the big island, Hawaii. The house was every bit as described and photographed on the website, and the owners were fair and easy with the transaction. The site could not have been better if one enjoys spectacular snorkeling through coral gardens and a very wide variety of gorgeous, calm fish--we counted more than 50 species! Great sunrises every morning, sunny skies bracketed by puffy trade wind clouds on the horizon, great sunsets, and only a shower at night or very early in the morning. And, Hawaii Volcano National Park is reasonably close, where we had a life experience of visiting an active volcanic crater and hikes through sculptural, contorted, exotic fields of lava flows. We have already encouraged family and friends to put aside their daily chores, get on the internet, and make their arrangements to go to Hawaii and Mika Lani.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Place!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

What a beautiful place to wind down our 2 week Hawaii adventure. The breeze, the birds and frogs all entranced us into the Aloha feeling. If we ever make it back, this will be the one and only place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like Having a Second Honeymoon!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Thank you for letting us use your beautiful home! Everything was perfect! Thanks for the 25th Anniversary basket! It was great! The snorkeling was the best & one of the highlights of our stay. Breakfasts on the lanai were another highlight. Soaking in the hot tub & stargazing was amazing! Spending our 25th Anniversary here @ Mika Lani was like having a second honeymoon!!! The accommodations were above and beyond - from cooking amenities to snorkel gear, etc! We will definitely tell our friends about this paradise! Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second Stay as Blissful as the First!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Our second stay at Mika Lani was as blissful as the first with the addition of a huge turtle hanging out in the tidepools each day! We did some hiking at VNP - gorgeous! As before, the soothing breeze, the magical views of the water, and the comforts of the house have left us thoroughly relaxed and recharged. Thanks you for making this possible with your attention to detail and comfort and your aloha spirit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing View!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

My husband and I were in love with the amazing view the minute we got to this beautiful home. We spent every morning having breakfast on the lanai. In the evenings we watched the waves, snorkled, and relaxed in the hot tub. During the days, we tried to see as much as we could around the island. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Class House!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Wow - what can we add!!! A first class house. Many, many thanks - this was perfect - we have traveled alot - this truly was paradise. We traveled all over the island one week before landing here - traveled practically every road - nothing compares to the beauty and peace from sitting on this lanai - woke up at 5 am to view turtle twice - sunrise w/ coffee - at least a dozen diff fish swimming right in our pond & tidepool entry...Mahalo, Jamie & Noi.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Snorkeling Vacation Home Ever

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

I was looking for a property that was close to good snorkeling and close to the volcanoes. And guess what, good snorkeling doesn’t come close to describing this paradise. We loved the fact it is quiet and private, which is what we really wanted for this vacation. As for the volcanoes, we made one day trip and snorkeled every day.

Once we got to the island and located Mika Lani (excellent directions), we were amazed to find such a wonderful home full of amenities and right on the water. The pictures are an introduction, while the visible greeting exceeded our expectations. The tidal pools far exceeded what we were hoping for and the snorkeling was AMAZING. Between the two of us, we shot over 300 pictures with our digital cameras of the coral and fish in this beautiful underwater paradise.

At the risk of being redundant, what many others have said we also found to be true.

From one former guest, “We had breakfast on the front lanai every morning to the amazing views and the birds chirping and fish jumping. What a relaxing place. You will love the serenity here.” We are in 100% agreement here. What a way to be greeted each morning!

From another former guest, “The facility is REALLY clean, down to the BBQ Grill, hottub, and washer and dryer. There is nothing that you will need that this home doesn't supply. There are snorkel masks, fins, kayaks, towels, a nice welcoming basket of goodies and even champagne. The kitchen is VERY well equipped! Everything was thought of by the gracious hosts.” Again, this can’t be stated any better, and thank you very much for the champagne and coffee!

From yet another former guest, “We will come back to the islands at some point and we will stay at Mika Lani again. We highly recommend this vacation rental!” Without a doubt, we will be returning to Mika Lani in the coming years.

I could go on and on with more great quotes from others, but we need to close and say, “Many thanks to Jamie & Noi for everything provided at Mika Lani. Mahalo, Jamie & Noi, for sharing your paradise with us!!!”

The Carr’s
Barbi & Ric

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Secluded Paradise on the Big Island - 5 Star

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Very quiet location, great amenities, well appointed... we could not have asked for a better place to stay on the Big Island.

"Absolutely, I would recommend this accommodation to my best friend!"

My Detailed Ratings

Value: 5 of 5

Check-in: 5 of 5

Location: 5 of 5

Cleanliness: 5 of 5

Comfort: 5 of 5

Service: 5 of 5


I selected this accommodation because of

Beach/Sun, Outdoor/Adventure

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hard to Leave

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Mika Lani was everything we expected and so much more. We couldn't have asked for a better location - the snorkeling was fantastic along with the view from the lanai. Our entire visit to the Big Island was incredible but this was by far our favotire - So perfect for a couple. We only deal with blizzards at home so the news of Flossie's arrival was a little nerve wracking for us and we were really unsure as to what to expect from a tropical storm. On our way to Mika Lani, one of the roads was closed due to downed power lines and we had to detour - which turned out to be a gorgeous drive. As we drove, we were wondering if we would have power when we arrived. The first thing we found upon walking in to the house was a really cute note from Sara telling us the power was out. She had also set out tiki candles and flashlights. So thoughtful and immediately alleviated any stress about the situation. The power was on within an hour or so after we arrived so it was no big deal at all. A Big Mahalo to you for such a fantastic experience - we feel so fortunate to have spent a little bit of time in paradise! It was hard to leave. We really appreciated the gift basket with champagne, coffee and goodies. We will recommend Mika Lani to any friends or family traveling to the Big Island.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

True Gem

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We loved staying at Mika Lani. It was so lovely and relaxing. Your place is a true gem and the big island was fabulous.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Three Days is NOT Long Enough!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

Three days is not long enough here - we're already planning our return. We were fortunate to have beautrifull weather. I have never seen so many stars in the sky as here - unbelievably clear nights. I recommend star gazing from the chaise lounge - better than the hot tub. The snorkeling was wonderful - the huge iridescent blue parrot fish were amazing. We hated leaving Mika Lani for even short trips. It's an extraordinary setting and everything has been thoughtfully provided for a perfect stay. Thanks Jamie & Noi for making this rental available and for doing such a good job in making this such a great place to come to. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Adventure and New Experiences

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

A little over a year ago, I Googled "Hawaii" and "Kayaks" - Mika Lani was the first hit that came up. We decided to come for our 8th anniversary. During the past winter we both bookmarked your webpage & when we were fed up with winter we would look at pictures and tell ourselves that we would soon be sitting on the lanai. Mahalo for offering this peaceful retreat. We've enjopyed every adventure and new experience we've had. It's been a restful week spent exploring the island, but mosthly enjoying the view, the fish, and each other's company.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Gracious Welcome!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

It has been extraordinary! What else can we say? Thank you & mahalo for such a gracious welcome. It has been truly devine to share your home. A welcome reprieve and refreshing experience. The sun was glorious!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Already Planning Our Return!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

We had a wonderful week here in Hawaii! The snorkelling in the tide pools is some of the best I've ever seen! We are already planning our next trip back to the Big Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sad We Have to Leave

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

My review of Mika Lani will certainly mirror the words of those who have stayed here before us. We are sad that we will be leaving this paradise tomorrow. Our "almost week" here has been the tops in relaxation and adventure. The best snorkeling ever. Many thanks to Jamie & Noi for everything they provided here at Mika Lani - the house is incredibly well-stocked. Mahalo, Jamie & Noi, for sharing your piece of paradise with us!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Words Can't Describe

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

Going to tell a couple of friends (well, everybody!) that we know would love to visit. Words can't describe how beautiful this place is - we only turned the TV on once (for the Academy Awards) and never again (and we watch TV at home hours every day!). We snorkeled every day - kayaked almost every day - played the tourist and saw some sights...I want to simply say Thank you. This has been the BEST vacation we have EVER had! I hope we can come back some day. A week was perfect...and will forever be remembered in our 35 years together!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Special!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

Brian & Leanne, I mirror your thoughts exactly. What can you say more? I fully agree with every positive word written about Mika Lani and especially Jamie & Noi, for thinking of everything and I mean everything! I have never felt more welcome anywhere in my life and I have been around for a while. You could put this house and your thoughtfulness in the desert and it would still be special. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Amazing!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Well....we are basically without words. Simply Amazing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 6th Year!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

Our 6th year here in a row, missing only one year, 2010, since Mika Lani has been available. We are sure there is no place on earth as close to Paradise as this. Sacred indeed! We experience such "nowess" here, just hanging out on the lanai and in the water. And so much warmer and lighter than home. I already look forward to next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

seachless

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Awesome place...exceeded all expectations the house and location perfect don't really know what to say that has not already been said except that its all accurate. I really want to make a point of how well prepared and well stocked the house was. I have stayed in quite a few VRBO's and Mika Lani is the best by far.I have been in the wine business for thirty years and rated and judged 1000's of wines but never rated a wine 100 points perfect...... Rather than trying to verbalize how nice Mika Lani I am rating it a PERFECT 100 points great job and thank you for a wonderful vacation. Highly Recomend

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

PERFECTION!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

I don't know what else to say! Every pix listed here is exactly what you will find! Mika Lani is away from it all and very QUIET! We arrived very late and were very glad to find a welcome basket. Directions from the airport were spot on and we parked in the dark not knowing what to expect. Once in the front gate, the motion sensor lights came on. Once in the house we found a welcome basket with coffee & mac nuts. The next day was so exciting once the sun came up - a beautiful sunrise off the deck to the left. We snorkeled right off the house-to the right is a little enclosed pool area with a cut out for the fish to go in & out. My hubby & I put on the provided masks, stuck our heads into the water & saw so many beautiful fish! Then we went onto the reef - AMAZING!!! We loved the hot tub & outdoor shower-it was quite invigorating because no hot water but worth taking a shower under the moon! So many small details: loved the guest book, SUPER loved the fish ID book/card (helped us ID fish we saw that day), a safe in the closet (only place we rented that had one), some pantry basics (sugar, salt/pepper, soup, cracker, PB&J, and condiments), games (only place we rented that had board games!), plus some office basics - stapler, paperclips, pens, & pencils. Also LOVED the clothes line...so retro & fun! The property was beautiful, well maintained, had recycle bins, clean, and many details I wouldn't have thought of.....all snorkel gear, 2 bike, an "owners manual" with tips & recommendations of places to eat, pantry staples, rafts & other stuff for the water. Location was great - about an hour from the volcano & Thai Thai restaurant (SUPER YUMMY!), about 2 hrs from Kona (no need to leave Mika Lani tho!), about 20 mins from Hilo (the best shave ice - Hilo Bay Sugar Shack!), and two seconds from the beautiful reef!!! We can't wait to go back...but we will stay @ Mika Lani the whole time and NEVER leave!!! Thank you Jaime!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So peaceful with all the fish right at our feet!

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Date entered: 11/25/2012

Very much enjoyed our 3 days at Mika Lani - so peaceful
with all the fish right at our feet. Ease of entry was such
a treat.
The sound of surf on the reef was soothing at night. This
is a very special spot and the house is well-equipped. We
hope to return!

Thank you

Guest city-state/province: BC, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It is by far the best VRBO that we have stayed in

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

Date entered: 11/23/2012

Jamie,

Thank you for opening up your wonderful Mika Lani for us.
It is truly beautiful. Your attention to detail and design
are amazing. It is by far the best VRBO that we have stayed
in. Adam came by once and helped us with the fan in the
bedroom that got stuck for some reason. We had a great
time. I even got some great footage of a green sea turtle
on my camera. Thanks also for the welcome basket and the
cold bottle of champagne. What an amazing welcoming
surprise! Have great holidays.

Mahalo!

Guest city-state/province: Sunriver, OR

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise found at the Jewel by the Sea- Mika Lani

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Mika Lani is a wonderfully memorable vacation home. It was even better than the description and photos, with every detail the owners included from the welcoming gift basket and tropical flowers to the lovely glassware and dishes; the kitchen has everything we needed to make meals.
You can see the pride the owners have in their home, by the care they have taken of this property. We felt very special being able to stay in such an awesome place.
We were on the island for nine days. We boated on the Kona side, traveled over the Saddle Rd., took the helicopter tour to see the lava flow and water falls; but the best part of our trip were the four days we stayed at Mika Lani. The snorkeling was amazing; the first time in the water, we were immediately greeted by a school of butterflyfish. We could not count the different variety of fish we encountered in Wai Opae tidepools; parrotfish, spotted puffer, needlefish, moorish idle, turtles, and a zebra moray, just to name a few.
The owners thought of everything we might need, right down to very clear instructions on how to get to Mika Lani, and suggestions on places to eat and other attractions to see locally.
The only negative was not being able to stay longer. We are raving about this place to all our family and friends. Can't wait to go again.
Kudos to Jaimie and Nori. Mahalo! Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful & quiet - a little slice of heaven.

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

We've visited the Kapoho Tidepools three times now, and we've rented a different waterfront house each time. So I speak as an experienced Kapoho traveller when I say that Mika Lani - Jewel By The Sea - is the best rental house in Kapoho by a country mile. It's well-appointed, it's solid, it's cosy & comfortable, it's secure and it's blessed with a beautiful view over water and bushland (you rarely see anyone outside, even though other houses are nearby). It has an excellent wrap-around verandah with a spa, and beautiful grounds with chairs & a wading pool. Overall it's just a delight to spend time here, if you want a peaceful break from the world. You need a car to get here from Hilo airport (Jamie supplied detailed instructions) and to go back and forth to the local supermarkets in Pahoa (15 minutes away) for supplies. But once you get into Mika Lani, you've arrived in a kind of safe and secure paradise. This single bedroom house is both secure (combination locks on gates and doors) and very well equipped. A handyman lives nearby if anything goes wrong, but nothing did while we were there. It has a great kitchen (with awesome views), two big bathrooms and excellent wifi.) As others have said, it's an ideal place on the waterfront for a couple, or for a single guest to spend quiet time. Jamie even had champagne and goodies as an extra gift for us when we arrived. We spent a very calm and relaxed week here, and nothing troubled us. I was so calm that, when we launched their kayak and went for a paddle, then discovered it had a hole in it which filled the hull with water and rolled the kayak over tipping me out ... I simply floated free & calmly swam back to the house pushing the kayak ahead of me - no problem. They had a second kayak available for us anyway (plus snorkelling gear and pushbikes), but we spent most of our time relaxing on the verandah, cooking easy meals, reading, watching TV, exploring the district on foot or in our car, and mixing with my partner Kathy's US relatives who had rented a house nearby. It was heaven. After a week there, we were sad to pack up and head back to Honolulu. I must also add that Jamie was very fast to refund our full deposit after we left. So all in all, we had absolutely nothing to complain about and we had a terrific time at this wonderful cosy waterfront house in Kapoho. We thoroughly recommend it to others. Indeed, we'll happily rent this excellent Jewel By The Sea again every time we come to Kapoho in future.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was perfect

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

Date entered: 10/17/2012

Dear Jamie,

We had a wonderful week in your beautiful home!
Everything was perfect.

Thank you so much.

Hopefully we will be back next year.

Best wishes

Guest city-state/province: Queensland, Australia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The house is a vacation in itself"

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Date entered: 08/20/2012

Whenever we stay in a perfect vacation home, we use a
quotation from a long-forgotten book: "The house is a
vacation in itself". Truly, Mika Lani fits this quote. We
didn't get to all the sights on our list because all we
wanted to do was relax on the lanai, feel the balmy breeze,
watch the fish and the play of sunlight and clouds on the
water and enjoy the perfect setting you have created.
We rarely stay in hotels, preferring the space, comfort
and unique vibe of vacation homes. Mika Lani is hands down
the most thoughtfully planned and best equipped vacation
home we have ever experienced. Every detail, every need a
guest could have, everything to delight the eyes and the
senses - you have thought of it all!
We ate one meal out - lunch at Kaleo's (wonton pork!) but
otherwise we so enjoyed cooking with a stunning view in the
lovely & well-stocked kitchen, then having dinner under the
stars. On our final night we were treated to the glow from
the Volcano! A perfect farewell.
Your recommendations for the "Red Road" and the Maku'u
Farmer's Market were excellent. We saw a huge pod of
dolphins swimming off the coast and we thrilled with the
offerings at the market: Huli-Huli chicken, icecream beans,
dragon fruit, lilikoi and Big D's pasteles (they look ugly
but we oh so tasty!).
We commend you on the attention to detail, the style, the
Aloha vibe and the pure joy of Mika Lani! It was a magical
visit!

Mahalo!

Guest city-state/province: Alexandria, VA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Already recommended this place to everyone

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Date entered: 08/08/2012

We came here for our honeymoon. It lived up to all of our
expectations. We snorkeled, kayaked, biked and lounged. I
have already recommended this place to everyone we know. I
can't imagine a more peaceful, relaxing place on earth. We
have to return again some day.

Guest city-state/province: LaPorte, Indiana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I had to pick my husbands jaw up off the ground

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Date entered: 07/30/2012

What a special place Mika Lani turned out to be. The
pictures in vrbo did not do it justice. I could not have
been happier upon my first walk through the front gate and I
had to pick my husbands jaw up off the ground. We have been
using rental for over 10 years and Mika Lani was by far the
best stocked rental as well as the condition of the house
and the location on the tidepools. We enjoyed every day we
had in this amazing location. It was very interesting to
watch the changing tides and the snorkeling here was the
best we did on the Island. We did a bunch of different
things; biked, hiked, ate, slept and just enjoyed the slower
pace of island. Thank you to Jamie & Noi for use of your
paradise.

MAHALO,

Guest city-state/province: Arcadia, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wow" This is the best place I've ever stayed

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Date entered: 07/20/2012

When we walked in the front gate my husband just said,
"Wow". It's hard to believe we were really here, this is
such a dream-like island paradise. Of course, we snorkeled
a lot, but we also biked along the coast, star-gazed, hiked,
drank wine in the lounge chairs,... The house is also really
well furnished. The kitchen has everything you could want.
We found everything we needed easily. This is the best
place I've ever stayed.

P.S. Some advise to snorkelers: I noticed that most people
around here were tryng to swim while snorkeling. This isn't
the best way to go about it.. You expend too much energy,
and all that thrashing scares away the fish. It's better to
keep your arms still at your sides and kick gently with your
fins. Move slowly - Hang out over holes and crevices. Be
still for a few minutes. The longer you just hang there,
the more stuff you'll see. With this method, you can stay
out for hours if you want and see scores of fishes.

Guest city-state/province: Pittsburgh

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular start to our 22nd honeymoon

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Date entered: 07/07/2012

Dear Jamie & Noi - (&Adan!)from Ilene & Kenny

Thank you for the loving care of this beautiful Jewel By
The Sea. Our first morning we awoke to a soft breeze and a
double rainbow. Our gecko hosts are shy but attentive.

Spectacular start to our 22nd honeymoon.

Guest city-state/province: Santa Cruz, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Old world charm meets modern conveniences

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Date entered: 06/30/2012


The dream becomes reality here at the amazing little house.
The renovation is remarkable. Old world charm meets modern
conveniences. Killer snorkeling!!! Ideallic setting. I love
it.
- This place is dialed in!!

Guest city-state/province: San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

If paradise is half as nice as this heaven

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Date entered: 05/06/2012


If paradise is half as nice as this heaven that you take
me to who needs paradise?

Thank you for this gem, everything was perfect!

Mahalo, we'll be back...

Guest city-state/province: Austria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jewel By the Sea

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

I can only echo what many of the people have said before me. This house was amazing. My wife and I went here for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of it. The house was immaculate. The views were amazing. Every detail was thought of, from the snorkeling gear, kayaks, to anything you could need to cook. Additionally, the house and neighborhood were very private. I have recommended the house to all of our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is the best vacation we have ever gone on

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Date entered: 08/08/2012

Jamie,

We have really enjoyed our stay. Both of us agree that
this is the best vacation we have ever gone on. I had hoped
to see more of the island, but we mostly stayed at the house
and in the neighborhood because it was so beautiful and
quiet here. One day we ventured to the Black Sand Beach,
South Point, Green Sand Beach, and Kona.

We hope to return someday.

Thanks,
Nick

Guest city-state/province: Laporte, IN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!!!!!!!!! I cannot say more than that

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

Date entered: 07/31/2012

Hi Jamie~

WOW!!!!!!!!! I cannot say more than that. We are back,
unfortunately, from our vacay and back at work already. I
just wanted to say mahalo for everything. We could not have
enjoyed our vacay more!!!

Mahalo again.

Aloha,

Guest city-state/province: Arcadia, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise on the Big Island

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My husband and I have been to the other Hawaiian Islands but never the Big Island. I did a lot of research and we decided that Mika Lani was the place for us. Upon entering the front gates our jaws dropped at the beautiful setting in which the house is located. AMAZING is the only way to describe it. We have been doing rentals for over 10 years now and this house was the most well stocked rental we have stayed at. The decor is fantastic, the bed so comfortable, the snorkeling incredible and the amenities are beyond plenty. I was shocked at how at home I felt! The location of the house is off the beaten path which for us is ideal. We do not want to feel like we are in the rat race while on vacation. I was very happy with the Aloha spirit that Jamie provided to me and my husband throughout the entire booking process and the few questions I had once we reached the house were answered right away by the property caretaker Adam. The house sits in the south eastern side of the island so that access to the various activities you would want to do are not too far away. We truly enjoyed Mika Lani and would recommend this house to anyone looking for a getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing sea turtle encounter!!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Date Entered: 07/15/2012


Thank you so much! Had a truly wonderful stay, including an
amazing sea turtle encounter!! We will be back...

Thanks again,

Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

Guest city-state/province: Santa Cruz, Ca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great job on renovating the property.

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Date Entered: 07/11/2012

The property was amazing. It exceeded all of my
expectations.

Great job on renovating the property.

We will be back.

Best regards

Guest city-state/province: Spring Valley, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

I kept thinking, "I can't belived I can afford something this spectacular!" The house is beautiful and in wonderful condition. The kitchen has everything you could want. The view is amazing. The snorkeling is wonderful, with walk-in access. We biked, and star-gazed, and drank wine by the waterfront. We saw dozens of different types of fish. A perfect romantic and relaxing week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantasy becomes reality at Mika Lani JUST AMAZING...

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

When deciding where to spend my honeymoon the photos and description of Mika Lani caught my eye. The reality was even better when I got there. First and foremost the setting can NOT be beat. If you love the water as much as I do you will be very happy here. Access to the snorkeling is literally 15 feet from the lanai porch. Sure you can get that in French Polynesia but the snorkling below the huts there does not compare to this. The variety of coral and sea life truly suprised me. Visibility was in the 60 foot plus range everyday. The charming vintage home is restored to an extremely high level with everything very well thought out which makes for a comfort level I which I had in my everyday life. The nearest Surf break was very close (about 5-10) drive. I was so relaxed and feeling lazy so I did not even bother surfing on this trip. WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE!!! There are very few places on the face of the earth that compare to this if you are a lover of the ocean and what it has to offer.................

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a nice time would be soooooooooo understating

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Hello Jamie~

To say that we had a nice time would be soooooooooooooo
understating what an amazing time we had at your home. When
we first arrived the gift basket and champagne was so
appreciated it brought tears to my eyes. After our arrival
we just sat - champagne in hand - on the Laina and listened
to the sounds of nature all around. We spent most of the
time there for when we went out, we could not wait to get
back to snorkel, cook, or just read a book...or beat Vic in
Scrabble... :)

The hot tub, outdoor shower, washer/dryer, cooking utensils,
BBQ...etc...the condition of everything was so top-notch.
The wildlife - the "aquarium" the pet moray eel, the little
mongoose, geckos, and the sounds at night were so wonderful,
it puts you in touch with what is real in life...thank you
sooooo much.

I also have to say that whoever does your cleaning does a
exceptional job!!!! I can be a bit of a neat-freak and I
was more than impressed.

Jamie, we will definitely be back. Also do you know if
anyone along that strip rents out their homes? We would
like to bring Vic's parents with us. Vic's Mom "walks" into the water
from your home would be ideal for her.

Thank you again for opening up your home. I have traveled
the world and never, never had such an amazing place to
stay, have fun and just relax!!!

Guest city-state/province: Snohomish, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The location was amazing!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Jamie,

We had a fantastic week at Mika Lani! The unit was
everything we had hoped for, and the location was amazing!
Attached are some pictures we took.

We are already checking our 2013 calendars to schedule
another visit to Mika Lani!

Best Regards,

Guest city-state/province: Danville, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had an absolutely wonderful time!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time! Thank you so much
for allowing us to visit your beautiful home, and I'm sure
we will return again as soon as we are able.

And please give our thanks to Sara, she did a great job of
making the house perfect for our stay. We ran in to her on
our way in, and she was really nice.

Thank you again,

Guest city-state/province: Corona, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful place

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

A wonderful place, with many happy memories.

Thank you,

Guest city-state/province: Corona, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

Best vacation ever! Loved the snorkeling and coming back to
the house to sit in the hot tub and on the lanai. Absolutely
can't wait to come back!

Guest city-state/province: Corona, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible way to celebrate our 10 yr anniversary

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We love everything about Mika Lani! As we sit in the
lanai with our morning coffee, listening to the birds & the
ocean, taking in the breeze & the changes in the ponds with
the incoming tide. We thank you for sharing your most
amazing home with us. You have thought of everything and it
is most appreciated!
We loved the snorkeling, the paddling, the biking, the
birds & frogs, the hot tub, outdoor shower, the goodies bag,
the champagne. What an incredible way to celebrate our 10
year anniversary.
We took the Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour, one of Hilo and
that was a great way to see lava and how the volcano has
changed the landscape. Fascinating & highly recommended.
We loved our sunsets. So when we went to Volcanoes
National Park & watched the Sunset, or should I say waited
for the sunset to see the orange glow of the sun. That was
a unique way to celebrate the end of the day.
Last night we rented a 4-wheel & went to the summit of
Mauna Kea for the sunset. That was crazy! The drive up is
not for the faint of heart, but well worth it! Back to the
Visitors Center you can look through the huge telescope &
actually see Saturn rings. You can even take a picture of
it with your phone or camera.
We also went to Kens Pancake House one night after 2 tours
for some local flavor. Steve tried the Original! Loco Moco.
Thank goodness he didn't go for the Sumo Moco, but it sure
was fun to yell "Sumo!" whenever they rang the bell. So
fun!
Thank you for sharing this slice of heaven with us!

Guest city-state/province: Kennesaw, GA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It will be a moment I will cherish and always keep

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Thank you for making this trip my wife & I took - amazing.
It will be a moment I will cherish and always keep. The
margaritas at the Mexican restaurant were excellent. I love
Pahoa village. Thanks again. We will return next year.

Guest city-state/province: Texas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to returning

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Jamie & Noi,
Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. It truly
is a "Jewel by the Sea". The trip was perfect. It was an
amazing way for us to celebrate our anniversary. I will be
sure to tell all at home how amazing this place is, and how
much at home you feel here - despite the scenery changes.
We look forward to returning.

Guest city-state/province: Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The snorkeling here is the best on the island.

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

Jamie & Noi,
We had a fantastic week enjoying your beautiful home &
discovering this side of the island. We opted for a
seriously relaxing vacation, so going to Hilo was as far
away as we ventured! Well, except for the drive to & from
Kona airport.
The kayaks were a lot of fun at high tide. The bikes are
perfect for the neighborhood & the snorkeling here is the
best on the island.
Thank you for all the personal touches. It was a special
week.

Guest city-state/province: San Carlos, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing, Unreal and Indescribable were uttered

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

Everything the previous guests wrote is all true. The
snorkeling, the stars at night. I wouldn't trade this in
for any vacation past or future. The words amazing, unreal
and indescribable were uttered over and over again. Every
morning we would wake up at 5, enjoy the sunrise and take in
all the beauty. It is gonna be so hard to say goodbye to
this place, so instead we will say ... see you later!
P.S. Thanks for the goodies... We had our champagne with
pineapple juice... YUM!

Guest city-state/province: San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

In the middle of paradise

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Everything was perfect, that was the only problem: How to explore the island when you have rented such a gem? So we just did the closest things the surrounding offered and spent as much time as possible with snorkeling in the lava pools, relaxing in the whirl pool and reading on the terrace at sunset... And next time we will stay one week or longer!
The house was fully equipped and we loved to read all the activity tips in the thick folder and the guiding books, it made our vaction so much easier. We also loved the experience to explore the surrounding on the bikes, and I miss the frogs at night!

Thanks for the hospitatlity and the great service, we'll definitly come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We feel like we're in paradise

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Date entered: 04/27/2012

Jamie,

We arrived late yesterday afternoon, had a nice dinner out on the deck, a walk around the lagoon and the neighborhood, then slept for 12 hours!!
Your house is beautiful, and you have made it feel so welcoming and so convenient...we feel like we're in paradise. We work very hard at our careers, and this is a perfect get-away for us.
Thank you for going into the rental business! You are fantastic at it, and we are so appreciative. This is a personal place. It's special. And your guests feel that.

Thank you. It's lovely.

(typed while sipping very yummy coffee :))

Guest city-state/province: San Carlos, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Most Magical Week

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

May all the Ritz Carltons and Four Seasons of the world be damned! I've never seen a more perfectly picturesque location in all my travels. If I could propose to a house, I'd ask for Mika Lani's hand in eternal bliss! Thank you for the most magical week. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One more word to describe "The Jewell" - Eden!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Thank you so very much for the use of Mika Lani. It was our first visit but I suspect it won't be our last! We enjoyed every minute. Everyone already has said it all about this place. All true! We did get to see a turtle along with the other beautiful fish. Thank you for the welcome basket and bubbly. We broke it open for our 31st anniversary. That was a great way to celebrate it. Ah there is one more word to describe "The Jewell" - Eden!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have not stopped smiling

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Good Morning Jamie.

I just wanted to ask how it feels to make so many people so blissfully happy. We have not stopped smiling since we walked through the gates at Mika Lani.

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I'd ask for the Mika Lani's hand in eternal bliss!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Date of stay: March 16-22, 2012

May all the Ritz Carltons and Four Seasons of the world be dammed! I've never seen a more perfectly picturesque location in all my travels.
If I could propose to a house, I'd ask for the Mika Lani's hand in eternal bliss!
Thank you for the most magical week.

Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stay in what is truly the Jewel of the Wai Opae

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Dear Jamie,
Thank you for the welcome gifts. An even bigger thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay in what is truly the Jewel of the Wai Opae and Ponds area.
Please accept our thanks and a departing gift . We look forward to our next visit.

Cheers.
Mahalo Nui Loa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great location

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Why would anyone want to stay at a hotel or resort when there is Mika Lani? It was all we hoped for & then some. We really appreciated all the little things (spices, snorkel gear, soap & sponges), kitchen gear, and a very nicely appointed place. And what a great location; anniversary dinner on the lanai beat any restaurant (and not just because we're cheapskates). A lot of people left wherever they were staying to sit on the rocks surrounding our little lagoon; we didn't even have to leave home

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Knew your "Jewel By the Sea" would be first class

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

After spending a week at your "tree top" home we knew your "Jewel By the Sea" would be first class. this place is everything and more than we anticipated. We have thoroughly enjoyed every minute here!! We did not leave the first day.
We liked both Champagne & Hot Spring ponds. Experienced Kehena Beach & saw the lave flow. Best of all was the snorkeling and no neighbors. The other islands are under flood watches & T-storms while we have had sunshine & tropical breezes. Paradise!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous view, great design, tastefully furnished

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

Dear Jamie & Noi-

Thank you for creating such a sublime spot. Your home is the perfect spot. Gorgeous view, great design, tastefully furnished - just about everything (plus more) that I would ever imagine for my perfect vacation home.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The snorkeling out the front door was fabulous

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We have never stayed on the Hilo side of the island
before. We loved it and plan on coming back - especially to
Mika Lani!!! We would like to thank you for for all the
extra touches and effort you put into making your home feel
like our home. The thoughtfulness of the champagne, basket
of goodies, fresh flowers, bath gels, laundry soap, even
down to Q-tips in pretty containers in the medicine cabinets
were very much appreciated. The view from the kitchen is one
we will never forget...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a breathtaking setting and an ideal house

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

Date entered: 04/01/2012

Hi Jamie -

Robin and I enjoyed our stay at your house so much. What a breathtaking setting and an ideal house; we will be back ASAP. Robin wants to know if there is a frequent flyer program (she wants to return this year). She was so busy snorkeling she forgot to write in the journal. Next time.
Thank you for the incredible memories.

Guest city-state/province: Folsom, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Personifies Aloha

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Mika Lani. Everyone is so correct in that the pictures do not do the place, nor the location, justice. What's more, the pictures don't convey the amount of Aloha that the owners provided. They left a lovey welcome package with yummy island treats, had plenty of spices on hand, and even provided us with a really lovely bottle of champagne to watch the sunset from the deck. The water at this property is crystal clear!!! You can see tons of fish by just walking around the front yard, but it is a prime snorkeling spot as well. The hot tub was spotless, as were the laundry amenities. We really appreciated that we each had our own bathroom here. Location was PERFECT. So many places to see within an hour. Have so many positive things to say, but am running out of space. I must say that another big plus about this property was the owners gave us our deposit back with lightning speed (before we'd even left the island). Highly recommend this property! Class and integrity all around. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were really impressed by how nice you keep

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Date of Review: March 18, 2012

We were really impressed by how nice you keep the place. Mahalo very much. We hope you'll keep it a long time because we'll return.

Sent from Xfinity Mobile App

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nothing comes close to Mika Lani

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

Aloha Jamie,

We want to thank you for providing us with a wonderful
vacation house. Of all the places we have stayed, nothing
Comes close to Mika Lani. Not just the house but the
location also. Having rented Mika Mizu two years ago and
Mika Lani this year, Its comforting to know when we rent
from you we will be staying in a first class vacation home.

Mahalo again

Sent from my Kindle Fire on March 13, 2012

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

The most striking thing about our stay was how beautiful the location is. Whether you're sitting in the house or sitting on the large wrap around porch, the view is magnificent. About 100-200 yards to the left huge waves can be seen, and as they break the most beutiful color of blue I have ever seen appears. The water from the breaking waves and ocean comes in to a lagoon only a few step from the house. Whether you snorkel or just walk down to look in the water there are several brightly colored fish.
The house itself is clean, comfortable and well equipped. There was nothing that we needed that wasn't there: mustard, ketchup, mayonaise, coffee, coffee pot, linens, towels, pots, computer with internet, printer, office supplies, snorkling gear, kayaks, grille, bicycles etc. The house was so comfortable and the view so spectacular that we ate most of our meals in.
A huge plus for us was the assistance given by the owners. They helped with places to shop, sightseeing suggestions, dining out recommendations, hiking suggestions.
About 8 miles from the house is a quaint towm called Pahoa where we did go for dinner. It is a small town with a few restaurants. We went to a Mexican restaurant that was occupied mostly by locals. The bar had several men with ponytails quietly talking among themselves and with the bartender. Our waitreee told us about her trip to Kona the previous day. The food was great !. My wife and I both enjoy getting off of the tourist track and we had a great time.
When we got back to the house I made myself a drink and went out to the porch where I noticed a few stars. I went down to where there are lounge chairs and looked up and there were hundreds, if not thousands, of the brightest stars I had ever seen It was so bright that you could almost read a book by the light from the stars. I reclined on the chairs, enjoyed my drink, and watched the stars for a long time. Incredible sight.
It is a perfect area for a walk. We walked around the neighborhood and over to the next neighborhood to a place called Champagne Pond, and then out across a lava field to the ocean with beautiful surf and interesting people. One gentleman was walking around with a ukelele and told us he was from Arizona and renting for a year so he could paint.
We went as a one time trip but had such a wonderful time we are hoping to get back next year. I'm 70 years old and we have been on several vacations. As my wife said, "This was the best vacation ever"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The hot tub was a lifesaver

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Thank-you Jamie & Noi for allowing us to live in paradise
for 2 weeks. We have been planning this trip for over 1
year, and we were not disappointed. Your home is beautiful
and so very relaxing. A perfect place to be in Feb when you
live in northern Michigan! (BRRR) It was very quiet here. The snorkeling was fabulous, so many beautiful fish. We did see a turtle bobbing his head up a few times.
Thank you for your gifts and all of the thoughtful extras.
Mika Lani will definitely be part...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was our 3rd visit to the Jewel

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

Aloha & Mahalo to Jamie & Noi,
It is the most wonderful place. We love it & are already talking about our next trip. The Jewel will definitely be a part of it.
The owners have thought of everything when it comes to
making their guests feel at home. We love funky Pahoa town
with its earthy people & shops. our favorite restaurant is
Keleo's. Great atmosphere & food. Finally caught the Makuu
market. It was fun.
We can't say enough good things about the Jewel, Kapoho &
surroundings...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Could not believe all the luxuries bestowed to us

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We arrived in the dark and appreciated the detailed
directions. Your home was just wonderful this in no way
seemed like a rental. The detail and love you have for this
place shows in every inch of this place. Mike and I arrived
around six thirty and could not believe all the luxuries
bestowed to us. As I layed myself down onto the memory foam
bed and slept until the dawn when I first saw the lagoon. It
took my breath away.
We fall in love with sea view...
Thanks so much

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Listening to the soothing waves

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

The Jewel is truly paradise. Last year we stayed at Kona
for our entire visit. This year, we decided to see what life
in the Hilo area was like. We love it!
The Jewel is just that - a perfect escape, a charming
home. Even washing dishes with the view was a pleasure!
Listening to the soothing waves in the morning and rains
at night, was so relaxing.
I can say, we will return and hope to stay here again.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better snorkeling than the Virgin Islands

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

Thank you for letting us stay in your fabulous place! We really appreciated all of the attention you have put
into the design & decoration of this house. We enjoyed the use of your kayaks. We expected the snorkeling to be very good - but it was even better than expected. We saw an incredible variety of colorful fish & corals. Much to our surprise, we enjoyed the snorkeling here more than snorkeling on our previous outings to the Virgin Islands & the Grenadines. This place is paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Is this Heaven?

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

As I write this, I am watching the snow come down in northern Michigan. Seven days ago and 70 degrees warmer, we were enjoying the beauty of Mika Lani. The 2 weeks that we spent there were wonderful. The weather was perfect and snorkeling was amazing. The house is so beautiful, very comfortable and relaxing. I read 3 books while sitting out on the lanai! Since my husband used the hot tub first thing every morning and each night before bed, I think that will be our next investment. Unfortunately, Pele' decided to stop the lava flow, so we missed out on that adventure, but others such as whale watching, black sand beaches and volcano hiking are in abundance. For 2 people, this is a vacation destination not to be missed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snorkeling! Fascinating and safe

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

Our last, slow, sunny breakfast on the lanai. It's quiet
after the exuberance of the Thanksgiving weekend.
We're thankful for the peace and sheer beauty of this
lovely piece of paradise. Every moment has been memorable - from the bubbly surprise chilling in the fridge to the basket of Hawaiian goodness to the nightly serenade. And the snorkeling! Fascinating and safe with a new
discovery each time.
Thank you for sharing.
Aloha

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Forget the fish. It's the coral

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Date entered: 02/05/2011

Magical world below especially out just before the waves -
Layers of flattened tawny mushrooms
Bright yellow gold cauliflower
Bright orange 15 pronged spikes
Florescent purple paint
Forget the fish. It's the coral.

Guest city-state/province: W Vancouver, BC, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This really is a Magical Plac

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

Scotty and I are still here in the "amazing space" for
another 5 days, but I have to say many Mahalo's to you Both.
This really is a Magical Place. All this was a surprise to
me from Scotty, and I have to say with tears, happy one's
that I absolutely love it here! I had no idea where we were
going, and this this is so wonderful. Mahalo, for the great
"welcome basket" and the champagne, how thoughtful and how
nice. The fish in the Lagoon and Pond have been something I
will never forget.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your place is just...WOW. Beyond words

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

Opening the front gate and stepping into a dream... I felt
like the little girl stepping through the wardrobe and into
a magical world of beauty, wonder, and surprise. Seriously
Jamie & Noi, your place is just...WOW. Beyond words. Thank you for thinking of and providing for every last little detail at your perfect beach refuge and for making it accessible for a person of relatively humble means. I never would have thought I'd be able to stay in a place like this.
Thank you, thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is that place

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

There are times in our lives when, somewhat planned, some
what unexpectedly, when through time and place and spirit we
connect or re-connect with people we love. This is that place. And it happened for me and Jennifer, over her birthday. Thank you for everything and, I hope you know, understanding on some level, cherishing deeply perhaps, the effect you have on other people's lives through your wonderful home.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Aloha and Mahalo.
We'll be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is truly living like Ali'i

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

Date entered: 12/12/2010

Mika Lani is AMAZING. This is truly living like Ali'i. We
arrived at Mika Lani, then things really got relaxed. Thanks
for the gift basket! This is our last day, then we'll be
heading home to Hoop River & historical amount of snow Yay!
May Madame Pele spare this paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snorkeling in the "backyard"

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

Date entered: 12/06/2010

We spent a lovely week here at Mika Lani. We especially enjoyed hiking around Kilauea Iki crater and visiting Volcano National Park, snorkeling in the "backyard", sitting in the
hot tub under the stars on our last night, and enjoying Passion Fruit pancakes! Thanks for the memorable vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautifully and thoughtfully designed & equipped

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

Date entered: 11/13/2010

Thank you. We had a wonderful time in your delightful
house. Beautifully and thoughtfully designed & equipped.
We hope to come back!

Guest city-state/province: Ont, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What could be closer to heaven?

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

At home I enjoyed watching HGTV. I see the amazing vacation homes and ooh and ahh over them. Well, now I've stayed in one of them! Your home here is as beautiful and incredible as those I've seen and dreamed about. The first night here we were lying out in your lounge chairs looking at the incredible array of stars and Jim said, "What could be closer to heaven?" Jewel by the Sea is indeed heavenly. We've used the time to relax,be still, walk and swing (love your rope chairs).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house is so amazing and beautiful

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

Date entered: 10/28/2010

Mahalo for everything you provided on our vacation,
Especially the little thoughtful things - They were so
appreciated and the staff was very attentive. Kudos for them.
Your house is so amazing and beautiful, I hardly wanted to
go site seeing, Just staying here and enjoying the spa and
setting on the lanai.
A Big Mahalo,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The reef flips my wig!

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

Date entered: 10/05/2010

Enjoyed this place immensely as always.
The reef flips my wig!
The design of your house is as lovely as the site.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the house was even more beautiful

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

When we left Rochester, NY all our friends said, "take a
lot of pictures. We wanted to see if the house looks as
nice as the website." I'm so glad to tell them that the
house was even more beautiful than any picture could ever
portray. What a wonderful way to spend our 30th
anniversary. We loved everything, snorkeling, kayaking,
bicycling. Even all the sounds of nature were inviting. We
certainly don't want to leave but we most certainly will
return. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house couldn't be any more perfect

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Mahalo! We had a fabulous time! The house couldn't be
any more perfect. We used this as our base to explore the
entire Big Island & were always glad to come back here at
the end of the day! Thanks for the tips about farmers
markets! They're great for fresh fruit & goodies & for
people watching. For future guests we highly recommend a
Lava Boat trip. You have to get up really early, but they
take you closer to the lava flowing into the ocean than
you'd think is possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review