reviews for: listing #3650680ha - Uvita, Costa Rica rental

Casa Aracari, Uvita, Ocean Views, Fantastic Home, Pool..WOW!!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 150 - $ 295 / night
    $ 925 - $ 1,895 / week
    $ 3,399 - $ 4,650 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Your search is over.... paradise found!

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Where to start? Well, lets start six months prior to our stay at Casa Aracari. After making contact with the owners through this website I received a friendly response from Claire. Over the following months Claire answered all my questions not only about the house but other facets of our visit. Also the good folks at Uvita Information Center were outstanding in organizing our car rental and all the activities that we wanted to do. So, when we arrived at Parmer Sur our car was waiting at the airport. As you have probably gathered by reading other reviews, most of us are unprepared for that first trip up the mountain to the house. But don't let this put you off, if you're coming to Costa Rica you are going to be driving on unpaved roads, so get with the program! By the second or third day you'll be tackling it like a rally driver pro, just select 1st gear at the bottom of the hill and go for it, it's a blast!
Once you arrive at the property you're going to want to open all the sliding doors, step out onto terrace look out over the jungle and the outstanding vista which is the Whales Tail and Cano Island. Breathe in, breathe out and then go WOW!! Take a look at the beaming smiles on the rest of your party and congratulate yourself on making such a smart choice of destination. When you step out onto the master suite balcony and look out at this stunning scene the heavenly gates will open up and a choir of angles will sing. Think I'm kidding? Well there's only one way you're going to find out!
Claire has equipped this house so that your stay will not encounter any stress. All the modern conveniences that we all just couldn't do without and all the furnishings and decor are tastefully selected to enhance the experience. Everything is immaculately clean.
Now, some of you might be put off by the idea of your early morning alarm call being supplied by the resident Howler Monkeys but the reality of the situation is that it starts to get light about 4:00am and get dark by about 6:00pm. The nice thing is that you will transition into your new waking day effortlessly. Awake, smile, go out onto the balcony and just soak up that glorious new day. In that dawn light you can survey the beauty of the jungle, the distant sound of the ocean, nature unfurling itself as monkeys scamper from tree to tree and parrots call to each other. Yes... Pura Vida! And, after your day's activities, be they spent by the pool or exploring the area you will be ready for bed by 9:00pm.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Vacation Like No Other

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

The drive up was an understated adventure but let me tell you, it was worth it. After entering through the baboo gates, opening that front door and seeing the beautiful ocean right before our eyes, we knew we made the right decision. Claire is incredibly responsive to your emails and questions. The house is fully stocked with kitchen tools and appliances. The gardens are impeccable. You will have difficulty finding a favourite place to take pictures. We did miss more comfortable lounge chairs outside though, but other than that it was spectacular! The natural woodwork only adds to the Costa Rican experience. We loved the waterfall, walking down one day to have a well-deserved margarita! Rent a good 4X4 for sure and let your adventure begin! If you want to test the Costa Rican experience, this is the home to launch it from. It is safe and secure and tranquil and BEAUTIFUL! Make sure you stop at the grocery store in Uvita and stock up on your food supplies - the salt and pepper can be moist from the humidity and we brought our own spices from home. The water is safe to drink and there is tons of bedding and towels. Again - it felt like paradise from day one to day 9!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very well maintained and landscaped

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Casa Aracai was everything advertised. Lots of wildlife up close and far enough from the bustle of Uvita to allow solitude and privacy. Wonderful house with more than adequate furnishings and appliances. Perfect for relaxing and reading a good book or doing a day trip to San Isidro or Golfito. Bank, grocery,bakery,pharmacy, pizza shop, and tire place close enough by for comfort. Definitely get your 4wheel drive from reputable company and check the tires before you leave the car place.The mountain is formidable . Also Marvin the grounds keeper is a jewel and will give you hot tips on the area. We look forward to returning next winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very well maintained and landscaped

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Casa Aracai was everything advertised. Lots of wildlife up close and far enough from the bustle of Uvita to allow solitude and privacy. Wonderful house with more than adequate furnishings and appliances. Perfect for relaxing and reading a good book or doing a day trip to San Isidro or Golfito. Bank, grocery,bakery,pharmacy, pizza shop, and tire place close enough by for comfort. Definitely get your 4wheel drive from reputable company and check the tires before you leave the car place.The mountain is formidable . Also Marvin the grounds keeper is a jewel and will give you hot tips on the area. We look forward to returning next winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A touch of adventure and a lot of tranquility!

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and it blew our minds. Casa Aracari surpassed our expectations! It all started with the drive up the mountain…wow! Be prepared that although the instructions are good, you will be speechless and grip the edge of your seat quickly, especially on your first time up. The road is gravel/mud, very steep with many twists and turns, and usually wet and slippery from the tropical rain showers. You will need a STRONG 4x4 and every time you arrive at the top afterwards will become the greatest accomplishment of your day, though it does get easier and more fun with practice, LOL.
Once you get to the house though, the road becomes a distant memory. Casa Aracari is located in a private, serene setting with immaculately groomed gardens and breathtaking views of the valley below, the Whale’s Tail and ocean. The house itself is a gem with great design and layout, exceptional local arts, crafts and decorations cleverly placed about. You never tire of looking at the view whether you’re sitting in the sparkling infinity pool, eating in the dining room, or relaxing on your balcony off the master bedroom. The kitchen is fabulously equipped and provides everything you will need to make this your home. We went to sleep with the sound of the rainfall and the chirping of the house geckos, and awoke to the screams of howler monkeys followed by the singing of toucans and aracaris that greeted the sun as it came up and revealed the perfect weather every morning . We have seen capuchins in the trees, parrots, lizards, dart frogs, falcons, butterflies, and hummingbirds. The casita on the grounds with its own kitchen/bathroom is the perfect place if you want some privacy, and has its own patio overlooking the jungle.
We booked the ATV tour through ATV Motorsports in Uvita and had a fantastic time with our tour guide Diego, who took us into the heart of the jungle, passing by coffee plantations, and many waterfalls. We visited the Playa Hermosa and the Whale’s Tail beaches which were strikingly gorgeous and surprisingly bare of people, which made for excellent photo opportunities. The ocean waters were hot, as was the sand, so be sure to go early in the morning.
Overall, our stay and the experience were priceless and unforgettable. The new owners Claire and Bud provided excellent information about the house and area, and were quick in responding to anything we needed and dealing with any hick-ups. The pictures don’t do this property justice.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Place!!!

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

My husband, our two-year-old daughter, and I loved our stay at Casa Aracari! The place is even more beautiful in person! We woke up every morning with the howler monkeys, ate breakfast while watching the toucans fly from tree to tree, swam in the infinity pool after the sun came up, and checked in on the dart frogs by the gate each day before heading to the beach or whatever activity we had planned. The house is fully stocked with any kitchen items you could need, and the grocery stores in town had everything we needed. We loved stopping at the Waterfall Café on our way back to the house each day to have ice cream (we heard their chips and guacamole and fish tacos are fantastic too) and see the beautiful waterfall. We loved the Uvita area as well. Our daughter was a big fan of the beaches so we checked out quite a few. Playa Hermosa is the "free" beach just on the north side of Uvita where you can park in the shade and walk 20 meters down to beach any time. (The other closest beaches charge $6 a person because they are part of national parks, though this entry fee is good for all of them in the same day once paid.) We also loved walking out on the Whale's Tail beach, it's so unique with waves crashing on both sides. We ate at La Casona several times, which is the restaurant in the same shopping center with the Uvita information center where you pick up the key. The food was very good (we liked the "typical dish" and the chicken and rice). We also walked the nature trails around Hacienda Baru (just north of Dominical) and saw monkeys there. We had lunch in Dominical, which is a fun and unique little "surf" town on the beach. If you want to see crocodiles, stop by the crocodile bridge on the drive down to Uvita. It is north of Jaco, and you will probably see people standing on it looking down. As our guide on the mangrove tour told us, "You will see crocodiles, 200%." Getting to the house does require 4x4, our little loaded down Jimny was up to the task no problem (Alamo rental from airport was great with very transparent charges… the 3rd party liability insurance is required at $12/day, the CDW can be declined if your credit card covers it; most Visa’s do cover CDW including collisions off a paved surface, not the case for MasterCard). The instructions are mediocre, but they worked. Know that the house is 5km up the mountain; this will keep you patient as you follow the directions. So glad we got to experience this slice of heaven!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great home, terrific ocean views and lovely pool

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Eva and Warren, Casa Aracari is incredible. We loved your house and the location. The house is beautifully designed and built with every attention to detail. High-end appliances and fully equipped; from the kitchen to all the linens one would ever need. The towels and sheets are what you would find in a luxury hotel. The pool was a great relief after a day of exploring, especially with a slight coolness when you first get in. The view from the house and pool is breathtaking. We spent much time just gazing out over the ocean, whale’s tail and jungle. There was a beautiful visitor to the tree in the distance (a black and yellow toucan) surprisingly about the same time each day at lunch that we enjoyed watching from the table. During a short walk down the road we spotted a group of monkeys in a tree. Uvita is a great location that offers many activities and adventures to keep you entertained. The drive up to Casa Aracari the first time seems to be an adventure in itself, but is very typical for Costa Rica and the amazing views and jungle wildlife make it worth it. We definitely give your place a five star rating.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Luxury in a heavenly rain forest

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2010

A heavenly rain forest indeed... Filled with flowers, butterflies and beautiful parrots soaring thru the trees... Staying here was just like being transported into "Avatar" land of amazing natural wonders. "Casa Aracari" was perfectly designed to enjoy this environment while being pampered in luxurious accommodations. It is an incredibly beautiful & comfortable villa with every detail thought of with an artistic eye. Even the dishes and linens were fabulous! I especially enjoyed the lovely touches like the hand painted sink basins in the bathrooms and the custom lounging day beds in the loft that were so relaxing during a rainy afternoon with sounds of rain coming down on the metal roof... I loved every minute of my evening walks with the fireflys and awaking at sunrise to parrots flying across the horizon with soaring views of the pacific. The drive up to the house is a fun adventurous ride complete with a conveniently located road side waterfall to shower under! I will definitely be back... soon I hope and perhaps next time with a car full of groceries, supplies & a stack of books so I will never have leave the leave property... This is a very hard place to leave!!!! I highly recommend this property to any one who expects high standards and loves nature.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My Costa Rican dream

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

Spectacular! This unique truely Costa Rican Casa is a dream come true. Beautiful, breath taking views. Amazing jungle and wild life experience. So peaceful and accomodating. Great retreat for honeymoon or couples. But just as fun for family and friends. Love the location, fun experience to travel too. So much to do close by, scuba, snorkel, fishing, zipline, river rafting and gorgeous pacifc coast beaches. Yet such a relaxing home to return to. If you want to experience the true Costa Rica this is the location and home for YOU! Owners host and hostess are fantastic to work with.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Home - I want to go back next year

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

We have rented homes in the US and other countries for vacations many times. This was the best home we have ever rented. The pool was fabulous, the view was magnificent, and the home was well decorated. Our teenagers loved the separate little house as their accommodations. The kitchen had more items and appliances than we do at home. I would recommend this property as a wonderful place to stay.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Month in Paradise

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

My girfriend and I stayed at Casa Aracari for a month in July 2011. Being a meticulous planner I contacted many homes and asked many questions and Casa Aracari was definitely a great choice. Driving up to the house the first time was a thrill in of itself; you definitely need a 4X4. The home is beautifully decorated and modern. I had to work while in CR and the USB internet stick at the house got the job done although not very fast (Cant complain too much considering the location of the house). The home is definitely luxurious both inside and out and very comfortable, which is even more impressive because you are literally in the jungle. We were woken up around 5am by the howler monkeys followed by the birds at 5:30. The ocean view and whale's tail is amazing and you never get used to it (even after a month). We saw toucans daily and howlers a few times week in trees in front of the house. Also saw dozens of unique insects and birds around the house. The staff was also great. The gardner Marvin is one of the nicest people we met in Costa Rica. Massi and the property management staff were also responsive and took care of any issues that came up (just email them). The new washer and dryer at the house were very useful. Kitchen was stocked with more conveniences than mine at home. I thought not having an A/C would be an issue for me but the house's altitude and the way it is built makes so you do not need one. The fans in the rooms were more than enough. Pool was clean and refreshing. Lots of places to eat in Uvita although it doesnt look like it from the road. Favorites were chicken and pizza at La Fogata, breakfast at Soda Viajero, and check out NY Deli in Dominical if you get home sick for an amazing philly cheesesteak. Check out Ojochal for French inspired food. The best restaurants were there (Exotica was best meal). Your are about an hour and 15 min from manuel antonio door to door. Def check out the Osa Peninsula to the South for the amazing wildlife. We did encounter many bugs because the house is up in the jungle. We found keeping lights off in the bedroom at night til you are ready to go to bed minimized any inconvenience. Another issue is you may have to stay at home if there is heavy rain because it is difficult to go down the mountain in bad weather. Fortunately that only last a few hours.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful property!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful, relaxing week here. The house is just what we were looking for: well appointed, private, gorgeous views and just all around fantastic. It was just the two of us but this would be a great value for a family or larger group, especially if you use the casita. We rented an automatic 4x4 and didn't have any problems on the road, although it is an adevneture in itself! I wouldn't recommend driving up to the house in the dark, especially not your first time. We loved the Uvita area as well. Good food and friendly people but plenty of deserted beaches to enjoy.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unforgettable!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

Unforgettable in every sense of the word! Well designed for your every comfort yet designed to feel close to nature and the raw beauty of Uvita Costa Rica. Perfect to relax on the deck and enjoy the stars in the inky black sky accompanied by the serenade of jungle noises. Loved every minute! Close to every adventure you may seek on your own or with happy, helpful tourist adventure guides. Twice young guides rode with us in our car to an adventure site and they shared local info and insights to the local way of life. We always felt safe in this location. Recommend you don't try the road to Casa Aracari at night just in case your rental car might stall and at night it would be very difficult to back downhill in the dark. If your have a larger SUV this wouldn't happen but we had a small 4x4 SUV which was perfect for 2 people but didn't have alot of horsepower for the climb. Don't let this scare you away from the most beautiful home in an absolutely enchanting location. Discover Casa Aracari for yourself! We usually grilled but did enjoy Citrus in Ojochal and a great little Italian place at North end of Uvita on oceanside of hwy just past the gas station. Highly recommend Bahia Adventures for tours or Dominical Surf Adventures. Nauyaca Falls is an extreme hike in the heat but the Falls are worth it. Reserve ahead for horseback. Coming or Going out of San Jose - Be sure to stay at Grano de Oro Hotel & Restaurant. Worth every penny - don't miss the rooftop jacuzzi. This is a hidden jewel of San Jose - Under-priced Luxury!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! Wow! Wow!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

Wow is the word for this incredibly beautiful home in Uvita CR. It is everything you could possibly want in a Costa Rican vacation rental. The Jungle location has the most amazing view of the whales tale at Balliena National park and the pacific coast line. The owners are so hospitable, they have taken care of every detail to make your stay comfortable yet authentic. The Road is a blast! (my husbands favorite part) unpaved and bumpy but very doable with 4x4, a unique adventure in itself. Each season has a unique road travel experience in all locations of CR. Just use common sense when traveling and enjoy the ride. The home is well stocked with necessities but do pick up groceries/beverages at the store in Uvita. You won't want to leave the mountain for a few days once you arrive as the sights and sounds of wildlife empress you everyday. Toucans, green parrots, howler monkeys, frogs, toads, butterflies and so many more interesting creatures that create this magnificent oasis called Casa Aracari. As others have commented the pool view is the most relaxing place on earth morning, noon or night. We did Qigong on the lawn over looking the vast pacific coast, so uplifting, filled with energy. A very romantic location. The breezes blowing through the home cool you off comfortably day and night. We stayed 10 days and took many day trips to Uvita, Quepos, Ohochal, great restaurants, beaches, activities etc. The people of Costa Rica are so kind and helpful. We will definitely be back to Casa Aracaria an amazing botanical wonder on the central pacific coast of CR. Thank you Eva and Warren for creating a dream environment for all to share a one of kind incredible experience

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unbelievable tropical oasis!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

Casa Aracari surpassed my expectations. This place is dialed in. It is clear that the owners put their live and energy into the creation of this home. The gardens are gorgeous, the pool is sparkling with ocean views. I woke up and had my coffee and breakfast in the pool at the pool table, and then took a shower in the outdoor shower, all with panoramic views of the ocean. We saw so many bird... toucans, and yea aracaris! We also saw and heard the howler monkeys in the mornings. The restaurants near by were great, we loved the coconut mahi at tortilla flats in Dominical. Sofia at the tourist info in Uvita across from BM supermarket set us up with a super fun ATV trip past waterfalls, and a crocodile filled mangrove boat tour! The road requires 4 wheel drive, but it is a fun adventure with a waterfall that you can cool off in right off the road. This place gets an A+ and we will be back!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa Aracari exceeds expectations!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My family and I booked Casa Aracari for 10 days and it was everything we expected and more, with the exception of the road getting to the house. When they say you need a 4x4, they aren't joking. Be sure you get a 4x4 with GOOD brakes! The town of Uvita is very cute and the BM (supermarket) has everything you'll need, but you'll want to stop there before you head to the house. There is a little pastry shop across from the BM that was always open - treat yourself to a fresh croissant and some coffee. The house is amazing. My husband and our two children had more than enough room. My mother stayed in Coco Loco (the guest house) and was very comfortable. We ate several meals at the house, however, we did keep all of our food in the fridge due to the little bugs that invade anything sat on the counter. After 10 days we put 1,078 miles on the rental car. In and around Uvita has a lot to offer. We highly recommend getting out there and truly experiencing Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Trip

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

The house and area exceeded our expectations! My family of 4 (2 kids 10 and 12) just spent 5 fabulous nights in this home in Uvita. The house is beautifully designed and decorated and you never get tired of the view. We woke early every morning to the sounds and sights of animals all around us. We spotted parrots, monkeys, toucans, and aracaris right from our house. Our family enjoyed swimming in the pool daily and grilling out a home. You will find everything you need for preparing meals in the well stocked kitchen. We did drive to Ojochal one night for dinner at Azul and highly recommend for the food and view. Do make sure that you have a STRONG 4x4 for the drive up to the house. Make sure to stop at the waterfall cafe on the drive up the house to explore the waterfall and pools below- the homemade chips and guacamole were excellent too. We booked the ATV trip with Will at Adventure Motorsport and it was the highlight excursion of our trip. During our 5 hour trip we crossed mountain ridges, saw remote villages, stopped at a coffee farm, drove through rivers, and swam in waterfalls. Our guide Diego was top notch!! A must do excursion. We also booked Don Lulu's horseback riding waterfall tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. My kids even climbed and jumped off the powerful Nauyaca Falls. Breathtaking! Overall, it was a trip of a lifetime! Don't hesitate to book this home. Do keep in mind that there is no AC. We were comfortable for the most part and only got warm a couple of times. You also have to be careful not to leave crumbs out-as the small ants and bugs will be everywhere. I had to remind myself that we were in a jungle. Thanks Eva for your help with explaining the house and area. Also thanks for the memories!!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tranquility and Relaxation in the Jungle

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We are back from Casa Aracari a week tomorrow and I have to say, I still have my "tranquillo" head on from the extreme relaxation that was provided at this wonderful home. I was just looking at the photos of the home posted here again and was brought back to the cozy, at home feeling my husband and I had for our 8 night stay. The grounds are immaculately kept by Marvin the gardner with multiple places to be and relax. Hammocks scattered throughout the property provide a tranquil spot to stare at nature, your book or the backs of your eyelids at any time of the day. The day starts in the 2nd floor bedroom which overlooks the beautiful blue ocean. Well, actually it starts at the break of dawn when the howler monkeys announce their movement through the jungle in the very early morning light. I can't believe how we JUMP out of bed to go downstairs and open up the doors leading to the pool and outside to drink coffee and watch and listen to the jungle wake up. (Getting out of bed at 7 at home is torture, right?) We would count the toucans and aracaris til we had no more fingers or toes. The house is very well stocked with everything you need to retreat for hours or a whole day without going anywhere. We took advantage of the barbecue grill a few nights which is a true amenity that no house we have ever rented down here has had. (We are frequent visitors to Uvita and this was by far the most special home we have rented.) I would definitely get the recommended 4x4 as the road is definitely the most adventurous part of the rental. It's worth every bump and turn when you arrive at the paradise that is Casa Aracari.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Entomologist Dreamer

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Casa Acari! What a fabulous place! We have traveled Costa Rica for 12 years, staying in many nice properties. This property is one of the very best! Amazing view of the Whales Tail greets you as you enter the living room looking thru the Glass doors..past the pool to the Pacific Ocean. We knew the journey was going to be special, because on the dirt road to the house,as dusk is settling in, thinking we were lost, a Blue Morph butterfly flew by our car. We stopped to watch it flutter around and one of the locals on an ATV drove by us, stopped and asked us if we were lost. We said we were looking for Casa Acari and she said to follow her. We followed her thru the jungle in darkness and 20 min. later she showed us the gates of Casa Acari! I think without her we would have been lost that night. We woke up the next morning, fresh brewed coffee that was provided and watched the Toucans in trees, as we went for an early morning swim. The house is truly spectacular. The furnishings are awesome with local Tico craft work which are just beautiful. We utilized the Casita which gave both couples complete privacy. The Casita, with its own kitchen and bath is a great set up for those who enjoy there privacy..Our friends were celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary and we gave them the Master Bedroom, with it's amazing balcony views. Our friends had never been to Costa Rica and were totally blown away at the beauty of our setting at Casa Acari. Activities are plentiful..Ziplines at Baru, Sierpe river tours, Cano Island tours, Horseback to the falls at Don Julo's, hanging out at the spectacular sea caves at Ventanas Beach or swimming at the warm , protected waters of the Whales Tail. But nothing beats spending a day just hanging out at the house, buying some just caught Dorado at the fisherman's beach and finishing the night on the BBQ making Dorado with a fresh Mango Chutney. It just doesn't get any better!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casa Aracari superseded our expectations !!!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

Since we had a long way to go from Sweden to Costa Rica, Uvita we where really fussy checking the different houses on homeaway.com After a loooong process carefully checking the houses on the west coast we finally decided to get in contact with Eva to rent her Casa Aracari, and wooow. After travelling around the globe in different places for more than 25 years this was one of two places really superseding our expectations when arriving. The garden, the nature, the house with right equipment the pool, all was more than we expected before coming here with high expectations. Despite being on our own as a family our 6 year old son just loved this vacation On top of all this, the service and all the useful information provided by Eva made life sooo much easier on spot, and also helped us avoid the traps and get the best out of the trip by car from San José to Uvita I can strongly recommend this house to type of family, couples, families with children etc. I was supposed to make a reservation for another 5 weeks this winter, but some other lucky family managed to do that before us,(!!), you will not be disappointed. Eva, Saludos cordiales y hasta luego!
La familia Andréasson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!! Speechless. Nicest home in Uvita!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Casa Aracari was absolutely stunning. From the front gates to the backyard, this tropical getaway was more than any of us could have asked for. On one side of the yard you are sitting in the brilliantly designed infinity pool with a spectacular view of the "whales tail" and the pacific ocean as well as toucans and aracaris and species of birds I never knew existed! On the other side of the yard you can hang in hammock looking into the mesmerizing rain forest listening to all the sounds and watching howler monkeys, white faced capuchins and squirrel monkeys playing in the trees. We had a blast! For the drive up to the house you will definitely need a 4 wheel drive vehicle due to the rough terrain and steepness of the hill but do not fret, the drive is gorgeous and actually very fun. There is a waterfall half way up that is fun for all ages to get out and cool off before finishing the drive up. The home is one of a kind. Fresh air flowing through the house all day b/c of the vented ceilings, the beautiful tree truck stairway, the plush tropical gardens located throughout the property, the pool and the outdoor shower made this home unforgettable. After staying in Casa Aracari anyone can see that Eva has put her heart and soul into creating something you can get anywhere else! Everyone looking for a vacation rental that makes you feel like you are at home... choose Casa Aracari! We will definitely be back! Again, absolutely stunning!! Thanks Eva!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Outstanding!!!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We stayed 5 weeks in this most beautiful house during June/July 2012. It was very well supplied and the details and care taken made this feel like more than an impersonal rental, it felt like we could live here. The loft up stairs easily fit 3 additional people so don’t let the fact that it’s listed as a 2 bedroom fool you. There are 2 full bathrooms upstairs and a half bath near the kitchen as well as a full bath in the Casita out front making it very comfortable. From the master bed we often watched the electrical storms at night (Rainy season) with awe. Horses sneaked in the yard like dogs. I had to convince a humming bird to get out of the kitchen window…like you would a sparrow. Eva helped us so much to begin to see the nature around us by supplying all kinds of field guides and we used them. By the time we left we were able to spot and identify so many varieties of birds, insects and even monkeys. I never knew just how much you could feel connected to nature. What a wonderful creator we have in Jehovah! This house helped us enjoy it more. Thank you so much! We will always remember our stay with fondness.
The Bromiley Family

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review