reviews for: listing #365879ha - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Batik, a Luxury Dream Balinese Beach Villa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 450 - $ 575 / night
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Relaxing and comfortable Balinese Villa in Playa Hermosa

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Just came back from staying at this Balinese Villa. The place is well decorated - looks just like the pictures. Enjoyed relaxing on the Bali style furniture and dipping into the pool when it got hot. Loved the open air style of the main area while sleeping in air conditioned rooms at night. The villa provides privacy and is a short walk to the beach. Dahlia and her husband provided us with recommendations for restaurants and set us up with a great surf instructor (Mauricio) as well as spear fishing. They came every morning to make sure we that we had everything we needed and answer all of our questions. We really appreciated all their help and hospitality. I highly recommend this beautiful and relaxing Costa Rican getaway. My family and I look forward to the next time we have the opportunity to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing holiday in a wonderful place with all my family

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My family and I spent three weeks in the astonishing Batik Blue villa from mid July to beginning of August. The house, with its unique architectural style, was very comfortable to live in, clean, well-decorated and furnished. My children greatly appreciated the pool, just in the middle of the house. The beach is only two-minute walk from the house and we had a great time playing in the ocean. We had a lot of interesting things to do, such as horse rides and guided tours, organised by the owners and their staff, who were always extremely friendly and efficient.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House and Location... We loved it !

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

I stayed at Batik Blue with my husband and another couple.

Before arrival, dealing with Cristina was a breeze. She was extremely responsive and very professional and cordial. She also put us in touch with Dahlia, the concierge, who was extremely helpful before hand and also very responsive and helped us arrange our yoga classes and Curu trip in advance which was great knowing that we already had some things lined up before arriving to avoid from worrying once we get there.

We rented a 4 x 4 car upon Cristina's recommendation which was essential considering the roads in Santa Teresa but we soon got used to it ....

Upon arrival, we were totally taken away by the beauty of the house and the nature surrounding it. The house is in impeccable condition with all ammenities in the kitchen and was one of the most beautiful set ups I have been in. We even said, we would be totally fine just staying the whole week inside ...

The beach is a very short walk away on a mud road and we did not realize before that it is actually one of the least rocky beaches. If you want to take Surf classes, we used Daniel at Surf 360. the beach rarely has anyone and walking along it is a great way to clear anyone's mind...

Our trip to Curu was a total success especially going to Tortuga islands which are truely serene and beautiful with great snorkeling and diving.

We bought supplies from the US and cooked several nights but there are some really great restaurants also there. Brisas del Mar is a clear winner.

Overall, we could not have asked from anything better from the people of the house Cristina and Dahlia and those we were introduced to including Nancy our wonderful yoga teacher and Jose our Curu guide. The beauty of the house helps you feel like you are in a truely special place also.

Thank you again Cristina and Dahlia and we hope to come back soooon to wonderful Costa Rica and to Batik Blue.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most unique, exotic house and location with the best service possible

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Just spent a week here with friends and only have great things to say
about the house and location. The architecture, furniture, and details
are magnificent. The pool is great and the deck and garden next to it
great for lounging in the sun or in the shade.

The home is steps from a wonderful beach, blends beautifully with
nature with an open air architecture that works well for the dry heat
of the Nicoya Peninsula. Decor of this home is world class - including
the functionality of the kitchen and relax areas, pool and rooms.
This is not your typical home, this is something very special, and
close to the heart of anyone who is ecological minded, and can
appreciate a different approach to architecture.
Skip the resorts. Skip Mexico (makes you sick) and Hawaii (makes you
sick of paying). Shop for groceries in the local store, meet the
people, speak broken spanish, surf the best waves in the world. Get
your 4x4, bring your suntan lotion and some books and pick the road
less traveled. Get there before the dirt roads become paved and the
resorts come in!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most awesome place I have ever stayed!

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

The place we are currently staying at is absolutely the most awesome place I have ever stayed at, anywhere. Seriously, I can not think of one thing I would change about Batik Blue. [...]

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Luxury Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Our family of five were going to Costa Rica for a long - really long -
vacation. We knew we were going to stay in one place for two months,
and we did a lot of research and considered several locations. We
spoke with several villa owners and knew we had found heaven on earth
when we decided on Batik. The owners were extraordinary from the
first point of contact - we felt taken care of from the first email.
And their dedication continued throughout our stay (we got to know
them well as they were also there for part of our stay).

The property is just gorgeous - true luxury nestled in marvelous
surroundings. The villas (and we stayed in two of them during our
visit) are wonderful - beautifully designed, Bali-style. They are
very spacious, with wonderful open-air living rooms, and tremendous
attention to detail. True homes, which invite lounging, relaxing,
sunbathing, entertaining. And as if the property and the great
swimming pools weren't enough, you truly have gorgeous Playa Hermosa -
a fantastic surfing beach - as your backyard. Our three kids (11, 7
and 7) had a blast, whether we spent the day on the beach or in the
pool.

The service at the property is outstanding - the owners, the concierge
and the staff were all extremely helpful; we felt we became part of an
extended family. Our whole stay was absolutely flawless, a huge
testimony to the quality of the property and its staff.

Given our long stay, we truly got to know Santa Teresa, Playa Hermosa,
and Mal Pais. We visited other properties, got to know the other
beaches and just about everything else about the area. The magic of
Batik is its privacy, you are a few minutes drive from the "center" of
Santa Teresa, but you live practically in the jungle, surrounded by
wildlife and vegetation, in incredible peace and quiet. We cannot
think of any place in the area to match Batik. We are certainly
coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Bryon and Linda, Daryl and Brenda

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

This is a five star location with 5 star staff and owners. Christina made us feel like long time friends. Dahlia and the staff were always available and most helpful. The house was well beyond all expectations. The open concept truly makes you feel like you are living in the middle of a tropical paradise. The beach, the surf and the sunsets, virtually right out your door are all spectacular. The local restaurants were first class. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing retreat!!!

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

I want to share my experience, because I found this incredible gem, Batik in Santa Teresa, and it's truly a place to remember and to go back to!
When we arrived, (10 of us) we were so pleasantly surprised by the beauty, the large spaces and the elegance of this place...the pictures just show a little bit, but you cannot imagine the magic atmosphere!! We had a fantastic week, and it felt like a special retreat from the world. The beach, amazing playa Hermosa, is only a minute walk from the property, and on the path leading there we would see monkeys every morning! We didn't have to pay beach front rates, but it felt totally beach front!! The houses are incredible and the service amazing, we really felt like in a 5 star resort but with the privacy of our private villas!
Thank you for a great experience!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place on Playa Hermosa

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at this property in Playa Hermosa. The house was beautiful. The open living spaces we're a unique experience for us. We felt part of what was around us - listening to howler monkeys, watching parakeets in the yard and seeing an occasional iguana in the nearby field.

The beach is a 5 minute walk away. A couple times we saw howler monkeys between the house and the beach. Took surf lessons from instructors recommended by the owners and learned a ton. We are beginner surfers and found the walk from the house to the beach (even with surfboards under our arms) easy. On the beach you can walk for a long distance either direction.

Owners were helpful in identifying restaurants, shops and things to do in Santa Teresa and elsewhere on the peninsula. I can't remember the names of all the restaurants: we liked the bakery in town; there was a great restaurant at the top of a very steep hill; we enjoyed an Israeli restaurant and an Argentine place, too.

If you want to cook your own meals, there a couple good size grocery stores and a great fish market with whatever was caught that day.

The property was very clean, well equipped and well maintained.

We drove from San Jose and took the ferry to the peninsula. Driving was part of the adventure for us this time. But if you want to save time, you can fly from San Jose to the peninsula and rent a car there, too.

We'd recommend this property to friends and hope to go back ourselves sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in style !

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

The location, 100 yards to one of the best beaches in CR; the style and class of the place, Bali style, minimalist, with lush vegetation, private pools, etc., makes this a very relaxing and beautiful location.
Private surf lessons on site, some of the best yoga and massages nearby, etc..
A perfect place to forget about work and all other stress for a while.
The owners are super friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended !!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great owners great home and experience

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

We recently stayed at Batik Blue with our adult kids, six in total, and could not have asked for a better holiday. Cristina made us feel very at home and was avaliable to book or help us arrange any activities we wanted to do. The house is beautiful, had all the features you could want and was a few hundred yards to a beautiful swimming, surfing beach. The local Howler and Capuchin monkeys close by let you know you really are in a tropical rainforest. We had a great holiday,our family loved it and we would like to thank Cristina for a beautiful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Batik experience

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

We spent a wonderful week at Batik!.., it's been like staying at a good friend luxury beach house: the owners were very helpful and friendly, since it was our first time in Santa Teresa, they suggested a great surf instructor , and the ideal place for yoga. The house always clean and well kept, gave us a great feeling of tranquility and privacy, exactly what we were looking for. Playa Hermosa is one of the best beaches in world, the sound of the waves has been the ideal background of our vacation and sky the roof we always dreamt about...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review