reviews for: listing #36591 - Portland, Oregon House rental

Thompson St. House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Eliot
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $750 /wk

sort by:

Had a great time

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Had a great time in this house. Quiet, clean, great for cooking, super shower, safe location, easy to get around Portland. Appreciated that it is pet free and smoke free. Had a wonderful time with our family cooking, eating, playing games and just being together. Owner is friendly and helpful. Also a good place to read and enjoy the quiet.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

A Victorian jewel set close to Downtown Portland, nestled amongst many Victorian homes and central to transit, this little home stood out. The kitchen and bathroom has fresh and generous granite counters and elegance. The light switches heralded a bygone era and the floor plan invited space and movement. The gardens and cosy arbour at the side invited easy contemplation. Best of all was the beautiful birdsong in the evening. Our family found it just as pleasurable to stay, as to explore the many fascinating historical spots from its vantage. A real blessing all round! Phillip and Merilyn - July 7-14, 2012.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect home from home!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Catherine was an excellent 'landlady', providing us with plenty of information as well as a beautiful and comfortable home from home. Though the house is usually rented for just a week or two at a time we were able to book it for 6 weeks. We needed a base to visit, and have visits from, my sons and their wives, other family and friends.
We enjoyed the comfortable bed, excellent shower and kitchen and cosy sitting room and dining area. Having the dishwasher, washer and dryer we really felt at home. We enjoyed the back porch and pretty garden too. We did not have a car but used the nearby buses and MAX light rail daily, plus walking to the stores, and even to Downtown Portland. Catherine & Eddie made us feel at home & were always available if we had a query or need without in any way intruding on our privacy. We loved the bamboo floors.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely house in a great neighbourhood!

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Thanks for providing such a clean, spacious and well equipped place to stay in Portland. The location is perfect, with bus stops and the free max train very close by. Would recommend Russell st BBQ for great food, and there's a brilliant second hand bookshop on Knott st too. Much bigger inside than it looks. Loved the bathroom and special shower. Very comfortable place to stay.

It's perfectly suited to those with a car or without, we were able to walk to most places or hop on a max. NE Alberta just up the road is a great place to visit, with lots of coffee shops, boutiques and galleries.

Thanks for being so welcoming and friendly Cathy, I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thank you Cathering we had a great stay.

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

We loved staying in Thompson Street. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The shower was great. It was peaceful and felt very safe and the blossom in the street was so pretty.Also very near to transport and the centre of Portland so very convenient. We only hired a car for 3 days but managed to get around Portland very easily without one. However I wouldn't have missed the Coumbia River Gorge, the Multnomah falls and Cannon beach for anything so would recommend hiring a car. We also liked being near the leisure centre so we could swim and the library selling second hand books, cds and magazines (what a great idea!) We liked this area of Portland the most and enjoyed going to Mississippi Road and Alberta st areas very much. If Laura comes to live in Portland she would like to live in the area around Thompson St.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Marian - I'm glad that you and Laura had such a good time. You really know how to get out and discover a new place using public transport and your own love of walking about! Best of luck with everything. Hope you can stay with us again next time you're in town. Catherine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

We’ve just returned home after our third stay at the Thompson St. House. Did we enjoy it? Of course, otherwise we wouldn’t keep returning. In fact, we now schedule our visits to Portland for a time when the house is available for rent. It is very comfortable, marvelously clean, and ever so convenient. We always rent a car when we travel in America, but use the local bus to go downtown (bus stop 250 yards away going into town, 80 yards on the return trip), and often walk to Broadway for the restaurants or to the Lloyd Center for shopping (just under a mile away).

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Bill & Pam,

One of the perks of owning this rental is being able to connect with lovely, interesting folks like yourselves again and again. I look forward to your next visit.

All the Best, Catherine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It looks small but it is very spacious

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

We spent seven nights at the Thompson House. The house is lovely and cozy! The home is spacious; the beds are very comfortable and very stocked. We used this home as a base to visit our family in Vancouver, Washington. It was extremely easy to travel into and around Portland from this location. We would not hesitate to recommend this place. It is lovely, extremely comfortable, and in a great location. Thank you Catherine and Eddie. We had a great experience in Portland/Vancouver.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: I'm so glad that you had a good stay. It was great meeting both of you. I hope that you'll think of us next time you are in town. Best, Catherine

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ideal for Family

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

This home is perfect for families or groups traveling to Portland. We found the location very accessible even without a car. The whole house is perfectly stocked with so much attention to detail (extra soap, laundry detergent, pots and pans, butter, olive oil etc) that our stay in Portland was flawless. PLUS there is a steam shower which is incredible! My family and I came for a wedding and the bride had to come over for the steam shower so the Thompson House became the wedding prep center. Really great rental!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Ally and family. It was great to see you and your family having such a good time together in the house. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our time in Portland and "our" home on Thompson St. was a delight to stay in. Clean and comfortable and well furnished. Charming home, decor, neighborhood and landlords. We'd definitely like to return and stay again. Great location in the NE section and close to the heart of the city and the SE section. Great place to live (awesome bamboo floor!), sleep (great beds!), and eat (great kitchen!). Thank you Catherine and Eddie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Joe & Karen. You seemed to be able to visit with your son, have some relaxing fun and take care of your business obligations very comfortably in the rental. I hope we can be neighbors again sometime! Catherine

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Experience!

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our time in Portland and "our" home on Thompson St. was a delight to stay in. Clean and comfortable and well furnished. Charming home, decor, neighborhood and landlords. We'd definitely like to return and stay again. Great location in the NE section and close to the heart of the city and the SE section. Great place to live (awesome bamboo floor!), sleep (great beds!), and eat (great kitchen!). Thank you Catherine and Eddie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review