reviews for: listing #36627 - Cayuga Lake, New York House rental

Upscale Town of Ithaca Cayuga Lake 3 Bedroom Lakehouse
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ithaca
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $1,100 /nt
    $1,100 - $3,600 /wk

sort by:

Excellent stay

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

What a wonderful stay at this house on Cayuga Lake. The house and view were just perfect. It was so nice to have a private house right on the lake and with everything included. The house is very up to date and clean which made it even better. The pictures are one thing but seeing it in person is so much better. I give it A+++++++. Also the owners were a pleasure to deal with and would recommend this house to anyone.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed the house and the view. I agree that it needs to be seen in person. However, it is always a pleasure for me to hear from tenants that the house exceeds their expectations and the view is even better in person. We hope to hear from you again. Carolyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ultimate in relaxation

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

The house is beautifully laid out and furnished, with stunning views on both floors of Cayuga Lake. Cooking breakfast looking out on the lake, and then dining out on the dock was serene to say the least. Carolyn was very helpful in coordinating the stay and working with me prior to arrival. I highly recommend a week in Ithaca!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. I also recommend a week in Ithaca! The house is designed so that it is easy to enjoy your meals out on the deck overlooking the lake. That is probably my favorite feature of the house. We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

This was our second stay at the house and we will definitely be back. The house was in great condition and we would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review! Return tenants now make up a significant portion of our rentals and we truly appreciate the loyalty. It is very gratifying to know that renters have enjoyed the house, the lake and the property and wish to return again. We could not be more pleased to hear it. Plus, the house is always improving so each time you return you will find something new to enjoy. Best, Carolyn & Adam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice House with Great Views

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

Great location near Ithaca, yet entirely private. House is very nice with terrific views of Lake Cayuga. Highly recommended.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. There is no doubt that our house has beautiful views and is extremely convenient to Ithaca. You can get downtown in five minutes yet you feel secluded on the lake. Its the best of both worlds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great time was had by all

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We enjoyed the house, location, area very much. The stairs were 'fun'; and the owner's pre-arrival correspondence gave us tips about the steep driveway which were very helpful. The house itself was very comfortable. Loved the views. The setting beautiful and quiet, right on the water, just gorgeous. We have older kids who loved the kayaks and canoe; we spent much time on the deck, dock, water, near the firepit, etc. Nearby hiking was great, and wine trail, and we booked a private charter with school's out boating for a sunset ride which was super. The house's kitchen was well equipped, and grill was convenient. Highly recommend for families with kids older than toddlers.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to review our house. We do provide a lot of tips for visiting tenants about the surrounding area. Thank you also for mentioning our steps to the house. While I sometimes wish we could drive directly to the front door, I, too, have learned to appreciate the hill.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

The house was even better then expected. The views were even better then in the pics. The house was large and comfortable. The property was well maintained. Loved the deck and the welcome guide was very helpful. The house is private but very close to all the restaurants and shopping. We will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you found the house 'better than expected!' It is both beautiful and private. If you are expecting a cabin, you will find it to be large and spacious because it is a true house. However, it only sleeps up to seven guests and would not be comfortable for a larger group.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a view!!!

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. It was such a pleasure to arrive at this beautiful house - clean, well equipped and so comfortable! Loved the location - so close to Ithaca! We couldn't help but spend time on the deck to enjoy the view - even in the winter! Carolyn was such a pleasure to work with - fast response to arrange the rental and very quick to return the security deposit. Thanks so much for a completely pleasurable experience!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for posting this review. I hope it will help future travelers who want a newer clean house on the lake that is close to Ithaca and the wineries. I am always so glad to hear that we provided a smooth and friendly experience. Please come back again. ~Carolyn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful house and wonderful location!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the house for our third anniversary. When we arrived, we found the house spotlessly clean and in excellent condition. The house is well equipped with everything that we needed including dishes, pots, pans, and much more. The location was excellent, just a couple of miles from downtown Ithaca. It was also very quiet and serene which made it easy to relax. We were also happy to find a private well kept yard with dock access. This was a great feature since we had our dogs on vacation with us! Overall, we had a wonderful experience. The owners were very friendly, helpful and easy to work with. I highly recommend this house for anyone who is searching for a relaxing retreat that offers a beautiful lake view with the convenience of being close to town. We will definitely be planning another trip soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for posting this thoughtful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house and took the time to share your thoughts with future guests. We believe that a dog friendly vacation rental can still be clean, modern and well appointed. Whether tenants bring a pet or not, we hope that they find the house well suited for an enjoyable vacation on the lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House on the Lake!

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

Thank you so much for renting us your beautiful house this past weekend. Even though it rained and was chilly, my family and I had a wonderful time. My cousin, my sister and myself all went to Ithaca college and this was the first time we had been back since we all graduated. Spending the weekend on the lake side in this up-to-date cozy house was a great way to reminisce and share stories.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for family vacation!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Great accommodations for a relaxing family vacation! The house was move-in ready for our extended family of two couples, two kids (ages 3 and 8), and one grandma- well-kept and upscale while remaining cozy and comfortable. The kitchen was incredibly well-equipped with all needed amenities and some nice extras (e.g., spices, oil etc.). The layout- two bedrooms and a living room upstairs; one bedroom, bathroom, laundry, and kitchen with walkout to a huge deck downstairs- was ideal for our party, providing both common and personal space for together time and privacy. Indulgent vacation eating habits are counterbalanced by multiple trips up and down the lengthy but well-kept staircases from driveway to house and house to lake. Deck gets morning sun that's perfect for coffee al fresco (umbrella required on hotter days) but becomes shady in the later afternoon and evening for cocktail hour. Excellent views of Cayuga Lake and Cornell- dock and small pebble beach are great for jumping, fishing, and swimming. Grassy area with fire pit offers lots of room for play (for both kids and grown-ups!), can easily accommodate most common tailgate games, and is gated from the beach with safety in mind. We will definitely be planning a repeat trip!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome time at the lakehouse!

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

Just wanted to say thanks for an awesome time at the lakehouse. So enjoyed waking up to the beautiful fall foliage surrounding the lake and the dew in the air. Walking out to the dock in the morning is the best way to start a day, for sure. The views from the panoramic windows were stunning and amenities made everything super comfy. What a treat. I will definitely be back and have already recommended your place to others seeking respite from city life. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

The views from the deck and living room are beautiful! We enjoyed watching the Cornell crew team practice every morning and evening. We brought our dog and we all loved Cass Park. The location is perfect - very close to Ithaca yet you feel miles away when relaxing on the dock. We explored the area and saw a spectacular waterfall and toured a couple wineries. We would recommend this home to anyone wanting a relaxing vacation. We were very pleased!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful location - awesome view

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

We stayed at this rental in the Spring of 2010. Everything was just starting to bloom. The deck and the dock were great. We enjoyed fishing and feeding the resident ducks! The location was perfect. The windows make you feel as though you are right there on the lake. We enjoyed being able to bring along our dog and letting him out onto the deck where he could run down into the fenced in grass area. That was a real convenience!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place for total R&R with all the amenities

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

What a great place to stay! The home is beautiful and offers lots of privacy, all while being only a 5 minute drive to downtown Ithaca, Wegman's, tons of restaurants, etc. The views of the lake were fantastic, and our dog had the time of his life between the Ithaca Dog Park and swimming in the lake.

The home was clean and offered everything we needed to be comfortable. The kitchen is gorgeous, and we loved being able to walk right out onto the deck. When outside, we especially enjoyed laying on the dock and using the kayaks that were provided.

Again, we had a wonderful time and are counting the days until next year's stay with you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Vacation Spot!!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

The house was beautiful, extremely well maintained, and in a perfect location between downtown Ithaca and the Cayuga wineries. We loved that it was both kid and pet friendly, yet perfect for adults as well. Thank you for a wonderful week!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review