reviews for: listing #366823ha - Esterillos, Costa Rica rental

Luxurious Home W/ Private Pool Set in Hills Minutes to Ocean!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 225 - $ 300 / night
    $ 1,440 - $ 1,800 / week
  • sleeps  7
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Great place to stay in Esterillos

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2014

We had 3 adults and 3 kids in our group and this house was a great, comfortable place to stay. My kids loved the bunk bed room. The house is located about 10 to 15 minutes away from a very relaxed, quiet beach and there are plenty of little markets to stock up on essentials. The property manager met us at the closest gas station and led us to the house. The house is way back in a gated, security patrolled neighborhood that's a bit of a maze, we managed to take a wrong turn everytime we were coming or going. It's very secluded, which is really cool. You can't hear or see any other houses from this location.
Overall the house is very well maintained, luxurious, and a great place to stay.

Owners response: Always listen closely to the directions and you won't get lost. LOL
Happy you had a great time.Gerald, owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A SAFE EXOTIC PLACE

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

First of all we want to say that the owner is a real gentleman and very kind always ready to help as well as The house manager David.
We were 6 in the house and ALL was perfect and really peaceful and exotic. Very secluded place ,,,,only monkeys can see you. The house was great, clean and very spaceful.
In one word A 5 stars at reasonable price. The service for any request was speady and kind from the manager and the owner. Many good scoop for activities were suggest and helpful. The house is located in a very safe area with very king guardian at the entrance. They make a continuous 24 hours 7 days safety check of the houses and make us feel in total security.
The house is very near from everything to do with a rental car around. The beach nearby is very secluded for miles and the waves are very good with 86 F temperature of the water. You can walk miles without seeing many people.
We have cross the Costa Rica from North to south and it is a best trip ever made for us .
The scoop for the rental car is really good as we were really well served by that.
The crocodile and the monkey boat were very special experiences .
The nature around the house and everywhere was charming .
Manuel Antonio national park was great and the advise to take a guide serves us a lot.
We already recommend to many friends!
Thanks for all Gerald!
Sylvain

Owners response: Merci mon ami. Ce fût un plaisir de vous aider à planifier votre voyage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As close to nature as you can get.

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We are a family of five. We stayed there for 9 days and are very glad we did. The first thing that you notice is how nice the streets are and how few houses there are around. We saw only two people - once - during our whole stay! And the nature! Costa-Rica at its best. So many plants, birds, monkeys, mammals of all kinds etc. We had blue butterflies alongside as we were jogging. These are impressive creatures.

So the spot is for people who do wish a contact with the forest in its natural form, all the while living in a very comfortable and safe setup. Which brings us to the house : large, luxurious, well appointed, it made us feel at home very quickly. The kitchen allowed us to do all the cooking we wanted. We enjoyed the pool a lot.
Around the house we enjoyed some of the many attractions there are : guided walks on the forest, zip lines, beaches : many choices were available. Since it was a high season for tourism, we missed the horse ride we wanted to do, so make a reservation in advance if you want to be sure.

The owner of the place is a very helpful gentleman. We are glad that we followed his advices on different topics, like the car rental to do business with.

We left the place two months ago. It's been a very cold winter in Quebec and we have 6 inches of snow coming down today. No doubt we would love to see the place again.

YJ, Quebec City, Canada

Owners response: YJ was an ideal guest. He did his homework before going to a country he and family had never visited and asked good questions before leaving Quebec. It is pleasing that this family enjoyed our house for the very same reasons we built it. Jusqu'à la prochaine visite. (until the next visit).
Gerald K., owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical experience !!!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

We are a family of four that vacationned at Gerald's beautiful home from december 24th 2012 to january 14th 2013 (two adults and teen's 16 and 13). 3 weeks in haven... The home was spacious, beautifully decorated and had all the amenities. The only thing we had a bit of trouble with the internet stick... but than again weren't there to work :)
The house is located on a 450 acres development with about 16 house built but far away one from the other. So, very private. Once your outside you will find a covered terace with a beautiful wood table for six as well as two loudge chairs. There you will have great enjoyment of the outside and will you be able to observe gecko's at least that's we did as well as hear all the forest music and admire the wild life. You will also surelyapreciate the refreshing pool with a water fall(from 5 to 6 at the end of the day).But you wood not wanted to be on more than that since it covers the forest music...also two loudge chairs by the pool. It was our first experience in costa rica and we were so glad to have chosen this house since we were able to see so much wildlife; Tucan's, monkey's (and a lot of them) all kinds of beautiful buterfly's, gecko's, jesus gecko's as well. Just take a walk around the development or stay put on your loudge chair, they will come. It's a gated community. We felt secure. You are about 10 minutes from the Esterillos beach, beautiful by the way. You are 20 min approx. frome Jaco were you have two grocerie store's. You also have a smaller one in Esterillos by the beach were you will find almost evrithing and in Jaco you will definitly find all you need. Great place's to surf Esterillos, Playa hermosa(for experienced) and Jaco (smaller) Brett is the one who rented us our board's (we did not bring our own) no sense doing so since depending on the type of wave, you might want to change and Brett will gladly change it for you.People are very friendly. Conclusion, it was a dream vacation and Gerald's house contributed grately. Thank's again Gerald and Pura vida :) and if you want to give my name and number for reference's, no problem

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is the first French Canadian family to rent our house. I am so glad they enjoyed themselves and hope they will spread the good word to other Québécois friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

We are owners of a nearby lot and rented a week in 3/12. We had another couple (and their car) as guests. All of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful. Very nice pool and patio, excellent kitchen, and spacious throughout. Furniture, especially the tables made of native woods, is great.

We loved the Scarlet Macaws in the almond trees at the Esterillos Oeste beach--and at the nearby mating tree. Also had great time at Carara National Park (with a guide) and at Damas (boat ride) and Manuel Antonio NP.

Walks on the roads in the early morning or the evening are enjoyable and rewarding.

Owners response: It gives us a great sense of satisfaction when guests enjoy their stay at Casa Blanca and notice the decorative touches that were all hand picked by the owner. Hope you will visit with us again and recommend our casa to your friends.
Pura Vida. Gerald K., owner.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful accommodations near Jaco, Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Our family stayed here for the Christmas-New Year's holiday season (2011-2012) and simply loved it. The house is very spacious with a modern kitchen and indoor and outdoor dining locations. The house is secluded in a security-guarded location with neighboring properties located at a distance -- you feel like the whole area is your own. Good probability to see local wildlife like monkeys and exotic birds while traveling or walking around. The pool is an added bonus and we used it every day. Every room has it's own individual AC for comfort and a washer/dryer so you can pack less clothes and have room for gifts and the like. About a 20 minute drive to the tourist town of Jaco and a few hours to the Manuel Antonio National Park. About 10 minutes from the beach.

Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfection

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

The pictures on the website do not do this home justice. I have been to Costa Rica several times and stayed in several homes and Gerald's home is, by far, the best home in which we have stayed. The home is very modern, clean and safe. I was traveling with a friend and my eldery parents and the home was very accomodating for all. If you are looking for a quiet location, this is it. The only sounds were the sounds of the local wildlife, which included a variety of beautiful birds and monkeys. After a long day of exploring Jaco and Manuel Antonio, which were both very close, we loved lounging in the pool. Dave and Kate were very helpful and responsive and helped make our experience very comfortable. Thanks to Gerald for sharing your home. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hola Rodney
When guests enjoy their stay at our home, Casa Blanca in Esterillos and take the time to tell others about their experience, it makes all the hard work worthwhile.Hope we can be a part of your next Costa Rica vacation.
Pura Vida
Gerald, owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet, secluded and private

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed a week at Casa Blanca March 19-26 of 2011. At first we were a little disconcerted by the seclusion but within a couple of days, we relished it. The house is fabulous with a covered patio next to the pool where we could sit 24/7. The master suite has an extremely comfortable king sized bed and space was abundant, including a very tall ceiling with a skylight. There is also a decent sized safe to secure valuables while we were out. I could put most of my SLR cameras and equipment in it. The living room has a big screen TV and DVD player. There is no cable or internet service but a vacation away from US news and entertainment is not a bad thing. The next time, I plan to take some additional DVD movies and add more books to my Kindle. (Many local bars and restuarants have wifi). The development is gated and the security guards came by daily to check on things. There is a covered car port and an electronic lock system that allows each visitor to use their own code, negating the need for keeping up with keys. We did not cook very much but the kitchen was state of the art. The resident property managers had left a list of local restuarants, some of which we tried and enjoyed.

Speaking of the property managers they were extremely accommodating, allowing us to move our stay up by one day due to a problem we had a local hotel and they handled issues as they arose.

We had lots of visitors but few were human. There were deer, coatis, toucans, parrots, scarlet macaws, owls & iguanas. We were told that there were resident monkeys but they were shy that week. However, we saw more animals there than at Cararra Park. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience and we highly recommend Casa Blanca.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome !!!!!!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We had such a Great time Thank you for sharing your home with us, We can't wait to tell our friends about your home

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to have you as my guests and to personally introduce you to my home. Would love to see the pictures of the record setting fish caught on your excursion near Manual Antonio on your last day before leaving.
Hope you visit again.
Gerald
Owner, Casa Blanca in Esterillos

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It was Great!!!!!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We had such a great time, the place was better then the picture's , we can't wait to tell are friends about about your house thank you for sharing it with us

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were thrilled that your group enjoyed your stay. Very happy also that your fishing trip was so successful. Hope you will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review