reviews for: listing #36790 - South Lake Tahoe, California Cabin rental

Tahoe Ski House...walk to the Skilifts and Tahoe Rim Trail
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Tahoe Village
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $99 - $299 /nt

sort by:

Family Reunion was a huge hit

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Larry, we had a blast and I wanted to thank you for making us such a deal. Our coworkers at Google had referred us to you and Jen. Sure enough of all the places we checked you both made us the best deal on the two homes we ended up renting for the three nights in April. We stayed at your other home in March and that one was great too.

You rock, you make it easy, nothing was cosmic, the whole process was "idiot proof" as you like to say. Our dad was a Viet Nam vet and his memories came back when he saw some of your aviation art and your photos from the Air Force, that made him so proud. Made our day as well.

Anyway, we will be back, loved the view, loved the location right on the trail, and loved your price, it was better than the hotel rate and we could all have dinner together every night. We salute you Larry!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for making us such a deal this March

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

Hi Larry and Jen, we just got home and wanted to thank you for the 5 wonderful days we spent at your Mountain View chalet. It was just what we needed and Frank says hello, he enjoyed meeting you on Wednesday. We have been to Tahoe many times but will book with you again because you made it so easy and allowed us to save the cleaning fee. Besides, at the $129 rate per night no one came close. See you next March. Jenna

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Super Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Thanks Larry. We had a great time. My kids enjoyed all the extra TV's in the bedrooms. They much preferred kids TV over the Olympics. Super prices, without a doubt that is why we are coming back. Brenda G

Sent from my iPhone

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great Summer of 2012

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Just wanted to give a shout out to Larry who was so helpful in making our Tahoe vacation this Summer terrific. Our extended family of 12 found the TahoeTerrace home asily and there was plenty of parking. The instructions for the keycode and the home were easy or as the Larry said "idiot proof!" The owner is an Air Force pilot and gives you terrific prices because he is flying real world missions so much that he cannot be up at the home every week. So we were happy to enjoy the large deck, had awesome BBQ, and our kids went up to the pool everyday as well. My son loved the owner's flying photos and when we checked out we were so touched because Larry offered to show my son his Air Force jet at Travis Air Force base and take him flying in the simulator. I still cannot believe that kindness, thank you so much Larry! Sue and family

Owners response: Thank you Sue, that's great to hear that you had a good time. I look forward to having you back up in Tahoe and let's get your son into the C-5 flight simulator soon to do some flying. Again, thanks for the kind words. BTW I think you submitted the review twice! :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Super 2012 Summer Vacation at the TahoeTerrace

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Just wanted to give a shout out to Larry who was so helpful in making our Tahoe vacation this Summer terrific. Our extended family of 12 found the TahoeTerrace home asily and there was plenty of parking. The instructions for the keycode and the home were easy or as the Larry said "idiot proof!" The owner is an Air Force pilot and gives you terrific prices because he is flying real world missions so much that he cannot be up at the home every week. So we were happy to enjoy the large deck, had awesome BBQ, and our kids went up to the pool everyday as well. My son loved the owner's flying photos and when we checked out we were so touched because Larry offered to show my son his Air Force jet at Travis Air Force base and take him flying in the simulator. I still cannot believe that kindness, thank you so much Larry! Sue W and family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

I rented this house to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had 11 people ranging in age from 6 to 65. The house was very comfortable and had a nice deck with a view of the lake. We found the location to be very convenient to the casinos and sightseeing around the lake. We had such a great time that we want to make it an annual event and stay at the same house. The owner is extremely nice and easy to communicate with. I highly recommend this house..can't beat the price and value!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

Thank you for letting us use your cozy cabin in South Lake Tahoe. It was really quite and tranquil that you didn’t even feel like leaving the cabin during the day. Yet was close to the ski lift and we could walk to the Fox and Hound Grill...that was awesome! So we enjoyed a lot of the nice things that the area has to offer from a nice snow shoe hike to a fun concert at Harveys....thanks Larry and be safe out there when you fly your Air Force missions. James

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lakeview rocked!

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

Hi Larry,

I received the security deposit yesterday. Thank you! We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming up again for the summer. This time we will shoot for the Mountain View Chalet to mix things up.


I've forwarded your contact info to my company-wide email. We own and operate ______ and about a dozen pet centric blogs. They are all great people here at work and I thought they would enjoy your properties as I did.


Best,


Kevin D

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Larry, this was a great holiday!

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

I love this place! This is my second time staying in this warm, inviting home. It truly is a great escape... just a few miles from the South Lake casinos but not near the traffic jams down there. Close to skking and trail attractions while still affording great privacy. There are spectacular views from the house. I love waking up to the beautiful pines and the birds chirping in the brisk mountain air. This is a place we expect to come back to again and again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfu Stay in Tahoe

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

I wanted to thank you for letting us stay at your cabin this winter. Everything was superb and very cozy. It was a charm to be a little more secluded and its amazing how many floors were in that cabin. I look forward to renting from you again and the stairs were no problem at all. So I thank you again for such a nice stay and being so informative about the trip.

To any prospective Tahoe guests...Larry makes a great deal...he will work with you depending on the size of the party. We had 10 guests and took the Mountain View chalet which had 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The price was only $169/night...high season in Tahoe...that's incredible.

Hope your find a good home. Email Larry and he'll send you his website.

Take care now.

Best, Martha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for getting that deposit back so quick

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 9, 2011

Larry, by the time we finally got back to LA after stopping at grandma's home in San Jose your deposit check and thank you card was already in our mailbox in Pasadena. That's impressive!! We loved the self cleaning option and really wonder why other owners don't offer that alternative to paying a cleaning fee. We did 4 days straight of boarding from the Stagecoach skilift...came home for lunch several days and that saved us a ton of money over the overpriced lodge food. By 1pm we were back at in on the slopes shredding it up.

Anyway, it was so nice dealing with you, the price you offer beats 99% of the rentals we looked at, and your location was just perfect at the top of the world.

We are telling our friends about your deals and thanks for the $100 off card you sent...we'll take you up on that one. Count it! See you soon...Jeff, Sue, Dave, Jimbob, and all of the kiddos.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coming back for sure

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

thank you larry we loved the cabin and had alotta fun
if i plan another trip i will definatly use one of your cabins preferably.

Be safe and good luck
take care!


Ryan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mountain View chalet was fab

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Hi Larry,

Thanks for providing us with a great place to stay and make our "home" for a few days. We look forward to staying in one of your places again for our annual trip.

Please be safe and take care.

Iris

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was great

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Larry, we really enoyed the Lakeview condo last week. The skiing was superb and we could actually ski down to the Boulder lift and lodge right from the condo. That was insane and fun. TX for making it so easy. BTW your instructions were all "idiot proof" like you said they would be. Must be a pilot thing! Cheers, Ron (P.S. Coming back next ski season if not prior)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Grad School Party

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

Hi Larry, we had a wonderful time at the TahoeTerrace. You have a lovely house and in such a perfect location. Thanks so much for making our vacation possible and affordable. Next time we want to try out the Lakeview condo, our group should not be as big as next time. P.S. All of the Stanford grads really loved your Naval Avademy diplomas on the wall!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So much fun last week

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Larry, we had such an AMAZING time. I've been ranting and raving about your place to all my friends at Bank of America. We will be back next year. Take care of yourself and be careful out there flying for the Air Force. You inspired my son to be a pilot, and when I told him that you would take him to fly the C-5 Galaxy flight simulator at Travis Air Force base he was psyched. Let's give him a few years. See ya soon. Elizabeth

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hiking the Rim Trail

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

Got back from Tahoe yesterday. Beautiful home, we loved the TahoeTerrace and had dinner on your large deck every afternoon. We hiked the suggested parts on the trail and you were right..the views were priceless. Gotta come back and hit some other sections of the Tahoe Rim Trail next time we come up. I will recommend this to my friends, thanks Larry for making us such a good deal. You truly seem to be one of the few owners who understand pricing and not fleecing folks with outrageous prices. Of course you fly for jetBlue, so you must have learned that at your company which never charges people high prices even for last minute plans. Hope to see you on our next flight.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kids paradise

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

Thanks Larry for such detailed information. It definitely helped once we got to Tahoe. I don't ski that much, but my husband enjoyed being so close to Heavenly and on the less crowded side as well. Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate that you've thought of children at the cabin. I did not bring any toys with me and so I was worried about having to entertain my son, but he was entertained for hours with the green truck in your vanity. The legos had my other son playing for hours. You saved me, thanks...

Also, we are considering going up to Tahoe again at the end of this year. I assumed we left the place spotless since you sent us the deposit back so quickly. Thanka again, Sue

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So easy

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

On behalf of my friends as well as myself, I would like to thank ou for a wonderful and peaceful time at your Mountain View cabin. The location and proximity to all points of interest is truly unbelievable. The shuttles were surprisingly excellent. I really missed South Lake Tahoe after all these years. We want to come again this coming Winter, I will check your online calendar and be in touch. I hope we can get your repeat renters $100 discount!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lakeview

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

Thanks so much for the condo usage. It was just what we needed. The views were spectacular - when we could see the lake through all the snow - can't believe we got that much powder. The kids went to the ski school at Boulder Lodge and it was perfect. Totally comfy Lakeview condo...we will contact you n the future. K Walnut Creek

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you!!!

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

We did have a great time, it was a gorgeous weekend and the place was fantastic in every way. We could not ask for more and your prices Larry, they are right on the money. See you next year. Mike from Novato

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Short and Sweet

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

Thank you so much!! We plan on doing it again next year! Sent from my iPhone

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

March Madness

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We has a fabulous time at your place in Tahoe. We wish we were staying there for a couple more days. Just got the deposit check back today...wow, that was fast. I have nothing but great things to say about your home and the ease of dealing with you. WE WILL BE BACK! Thanks, Sanjiv

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wow

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

I just wanted to let you know that my sons and I had a wonderful getaway in your home with our friends. This could easily become an annual outing. We usually stay in North Lake when we visit, (just us three) but we had the best time in the red cabin.

It's truly like being a guest with your decor, photos, and memorabilia about your aviation experiences. Your father was also a pilot? My sons' interests were peaked after you stopped by and we enjoyed conversations about flying during our stay.

So again, thanks! The Views were stunning and thanks for making us such a good deal, a nice change of pace from other owners.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Winter Snow

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

Larry,
Well hello again from New Zealand we have been wanting to contact you but the easiest way for us to contact you with email was when we arrived back. We got back this morning to a very hot summers day, a huge contrast to the last month. We are all struggling with the heat.

We certainly hope you can make it down our way sometime in the future there will always be some accommadation for you and a cold beer. Hope the Tahoe snow is treating you well and you have had some time for skiing. There certainly has been plenty of that white stuff your way recently.

Speak to you soon
Cheers Patrick and Kay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Simply Perfect

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

Yes it was AMAZING...I've been ranting and raving about your place to all my friends.....Will have to come back soon...Take care of yourself =)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Summer

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay in the cabin!. We didn't get there until about 10:00 pm on Friday night, but we had no trouble finding the place and we cleaned up and checked out at about noon today. We read your book on the nearby hiking trails and hiked the Tahoe Rim trail Saturday, one of the most scenic hikes I have ever experienced by far, and we also visited Zephyr cove beach; stunning and beautiful!.

We fell in love with your cabin and would like to know if it is available for New Years Week and if so what would be the rate for that week?. It would be 4 of us my wife and me and our 2 daughters. Also I was really interested in the pictures at the beginning of your book depicting the Baghdad Airport and the plane Saddam use to use and was wondering if you could send me a copy of them if they are downloaded on your computer, only if it is convenient.

Thanks Again,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Fall Vacation

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

Sorry I don't have a chance to contact you when we left your house. Actually we had a wonderful time at this trip. Thank you so much for letting us to stay in your house. I would like to say your house is owesome and perfect to us. We really enjoy staying at your house. I want to come back if I get a chance to lake tahoe again. If you don't mind, I would like to introduce this good place to my friends. Very thankful for providing this good place to us. We did leave the place in spotless same as we enter before. I believe next guest will have a good time as well. You can keep my deposite until next guest has no complaint about the condition.

Have a happy thanks giving!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

I just wanted to say thank you again for the amazing deal you gave us to stay at your place. We had a very relaxing and productive time, and the condo could not have been more hospitable and cozy. We all talked about becoming regulars there with our individual families and will certainly recommend your place as a premier place to stay for skiing and recreation in Tahoe.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review