reviews for: listing #36867 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

A Perfect 10! Kona Pool Waterfall Ocean Views Beach Close
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Keauhou
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $495 - $550 /nt
    $3,465 - $5,000 /wk

sort by:

Great time on the Big Island

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Great time and great house for a large family like ours. reminded me of a Palm Springs motor Inn the way all the rooms opened up to the outdoor swimming pool. Quiet neighborhood and short drive to Sam Choy's that we ate at every chance possible. Thank you Tina for all your assistance and the extra mile that you went to to make sure our vacation was special. Your attention to the comfort and service made this a truly memorable and worryfree trip. Plus we loved all the geckos!!!!!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation 9/19/2010

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

This was my retirement and family vacation...this house was perfect for all of us. The house has a great layout...lots of privacy for the bedrooms. The house had everything we needed. Loved the pool and the sunsets each nite were amazing. The location was great for traveling to Kona and everywhere else.
Would definitely love to come back here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We had such a wonderful vacation based at this house. We loved having breakfast and/or dinner outside next to the pool. It was relaxing, often with a cool breeze, and the view of the harbor was a lovely backdrop. The kitchen and main living room were often a hub of activity for our family (if the kids weren't in the pool) and conveniently arranged. The master bedroom and bath were spacious and my husband and I felt pampered. We liked the fact that a grocery store, post office, and a popular snorkeling beach were nearby. If you have a car, even downtown Kona, Honaunau, coffee plantations, and Kohala beaches are a reasonable drive away.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Beyond Beyond AMAZING!

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

This house goes beyond expectations. The pictures do not do it justice. It's so homey...family friendly. This was a long-time coming family vacation. There were ten of us andthe Nohealani house was ababsolutely perfect! My mother who has a very hard time getting in and out of a tub, and two of the rooms had walk-in showers. The pool! Oh my goodness! How fun and perfect! The kitchen is FULLY stocked with rice cooker, blenders and crockpots just to name a few. We will most definitely be back!! Oh and I forgot the view....breathtaking! One note...bugs are a part of the Hawaiian charm (and they were not at all bad)....and geckos rock! Keep a clean kitchen and you won't have a problem. And lastly Tina...what a gem of Kona! She was always accessible and quick to react to any minor issue we had. She provided boogie boards...grass mats and more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Perfect house for our family (4 couples & 2 teenagers). The house is exactly as represented and very clean. It was easy to have private space or social time with each other lounging by the pool side and the view is spectacular. There's plenty of parking. You need a car to enjoy the best beaches, which were Hapuna and Kua Bay. Tina recommended we call Alfred to take us to Green Sand Beach at South Point. Alfred's tour was a very enjoyable, memorable event. We are already planning a return trip. Thank you Tina! `

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House and Location!

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

What a great place and location. Short drive to beach and very quiet neighborhood. House is very spacious, and rooms are well spread out so even with 12 people in our group, we never felt cramped or couldn't find space. The house is very clean and well kept. The kitchen is quite functional for a large group and has everything you need to prepare meals for a group. We mainly spent our time outdoors, either in the pool or gazing at the ocean and sunsets. We also enjoyed the private back yard for grilling and yard games. The owner of this place is amazing and so helpful before we got there just in getting us info about the island, and nice beaches. We will certainly stay here again. Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this house and the sunsets! Perfect for 10 adults

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

3 couples and 4 singles spent 9 nights at this house in early January and just loved the open concept and the privacy of the rooms in this house. The elevation was perfect for escaping the heat and getting the late afternoon breezes. A little chilly for the pool but at least 1 person used it daily. The sunsets each evening were perfect and the neighborhood was very nice. Location was perfect! Loved the birds every morning - the early risers spent the morning on the back patio watching the birds and the sunrise. It had absolutely everything we could ask for in the kitchen, including some leftover spices and oils from previous visitors. We cooked almost every night and found everything we could possibly need. We added to the mix by leaving behind anything we purchased that could be used by someone else. There were plenty of beach towels for pool or beach trips and we were thrilled to also find enough beach chairs and boogie boards for our group. There were also umbrellas and coolers and insulated bags for packing lunches and drinks to the beach. The only challenge was the steep driveway but we managed to figure it out. We had 2 SUVs so the vehicle with the most stuff would be parked at top for unloading of coolers and such. The driveway on the street is also a little steep so park at an angle so stuff in the back of SUV doesn't fall out when you open the back door. Most of us have been to Hawaii before so we knew there would be small "visitors". We LOVED the beautiful birds, the geckos and big moths. Only saw a couple of the big roaches - which is NORMAL for Hawaii, people! This is a tropical island - there are bugs! We had no issues with the tiny ants as we kept up on garbage, cleaned counters and kitchen floor on a regular basis...that is what attracts the ants. We found the signs and notes in the house helpful and not at all rude. There were 10 people so it was very helpful to remind us of the rules so we didn't have to keep reminding each other. We also liked that the fountain was on a timer so we could enjoy the sound sometimes and have silence other times. The Lanai was our favorite place to hang out and there was also someone in the living room and kitchen at all times when we were at the house. It was just great to go out and do activities and then return to such a nice place to relax before bedtime. A little hard to enforce the 9pm noise curfew but we were usually all tired by that time anyway :) Thanks Tina...we really enjoyed it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House for Family of 11 on The Big Island

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

We were very happy with our experience in this extensive and well laid out house. The pool was very large and perfect for a big family. Lots of room around the pool.

Great view of the Pacific Ocean and Kona. Kitchen well laid out and easy to work in. Good off street parking. Comfortable living room. Short distance to Kona's airport. Easy grocery shopping nearby. Straight forward driving to beaches. Privacy in 4 master bedrooms surrounding the pool. Bedrooms downstairs for some of the kids. Propetry was clean and in close to optimal condition.

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill nearby excellent restaurant! Fun visits to Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory and Greenwell Coffee Plantation. National Volcano Park 2 hour drive, but totally worth it.

Only drawback,we did have difficulties communicating with the owner,before and during our visit, but not sufficient to hurt our stay. Is necessary to have a car. We had three, one for each family, to optimize flexibilty in our adventures.

Would recommend to other members of our family or friends.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

RENTER BEWARE!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

ABSOLUTLY,HANDS DOWN, THE WORST RENTAL EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE AND THE FOUR OTHER COUPLES WHOM PAID ALOT!!!! THE HOUSE IS RUN DOWN, BROKE DOWN, BUG INFESTED! You can sit in your bedroom and watch cockroaches run in/out of the room under the door jams; the basement bedroom is the worst, when you turn lights off down there, the roaches start hissing! There were centipedes in the beds under the sheets, and it stinks, as it is attached to garage where the garbage is. We did not leave garbage out laying around, as the owner will tell you. There are nasty notes on everything-"if you break this blender you will pay $50," or "if you leave the lights on, the bugs will come.". The fountain was broken in the pool. Attempts to contact the owner, before & after we arrived, were nearly impossible! She would not give us a credit for the basement being uninhabitable. My husband and I, and 2 children, had to rent a condo separately, basically paying double for our vacation, because we could not make our children sleep in the filthy, bug infested basement. House not represented well by pictures: carpets all stained. We did get our cleaning deposit back, but the place was basically cleaner when we left than on arrival (but I'm sure she will tell you otherwise). Owner took listing off of vrbo after our stay so we couldn't make a comment. Just want to warn everyone else that this lady is not honest!

Owners response: We always make every effort to accommodate our guests and make them comfortable. Please read our comments, though, as we've discovered a small percentage of guests do not like the way this house is laid out. 95% of our guests love the home and find it very comfortable. They love the "open" design and outside lanai. The other 5% are just not easy to please, no matter what we do. They don't feel comfortable with the "open" concept of each bedroom wrapping around the pool and access to bedrooms being from the outside lanai. There is no door from the entry hall to the pool lanai. Thus, a bug can fly in. The house is on a strict pest regime (inside and out). This particular guest seemed to arrive in Hawaii unhappy, appeared to be trying to squeeze more people into the house than disclosed on his reservation and did not mention anything about being unhappy until 4 days after arrival. He then demanded that we pay for the cost of him and his wife and 2 kids to stay at a hotel. (maybe they didn't get along with the rest of their group?) He came up with many ridiculous complaints. We tried to make him happy. Often we've seen one person out of the group of guests resort to extortion by saying "we'll make a bad comment if you don't give us money" after their entire group has taken full advantage of the home. Usually this occurs at the end of the stay and I think it is after they have collected money from their family and friends that came with them. If you feel you are in the 10% of guests described above, maybe you would be better suited at the Hilton or in a 2nd floor condo with air conditioning.

We did compensate this guest when he said his kids didn't like the basement and gave him $400. If you note the date the guest stayed and the date he posted a comment --it's over 10 months later! The house was not offline for 10 months. There have been a great many guests at the house since March 2013.







+

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Gorgeous Sunsets

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

This house has a great location and gorgeous views. The neighborhood is extremely quiet, both day and night. Having the pool right outside the bedrooms was a plus with our family of 11 (8 adults, 3 kids). Kona is just a short drive by car, especially the Farmers' Market. Those are the pluses. Now for the negatives. I had a very difficult time getting the owner to respond to emails or phone calls once payment arrangements were finalized, and this was extremely stressful to me. The listing included the presence of a full size crib, which was in fact not accurate, but we were told we could rent one from a place in Kona or we could use a pack-n-play. We decided on the latter because we did not feel we should have to rent anything that was listed on the site as available. We did not feel that the owner was especially helpful at all. Also, when we arrived at the house, we did not have the correct code for the lock box, despite an earlier email asking if the one we had was correct. After finally reaching the owner by phone, upon entering the house, we found all sorts of notes attached to walls and appliances detailing the cost of replacement if anything was broken or if the garbage wasn't taken out on trash day. This had been detailed in the rental agreement, and we found the presence of these notes to be quite unwelcoming. All in all, we were all stressed the entire week spent in the house. This was our first unsatisfactory stay in a vacation rental house. The pictures are artfully staged, but the overall condition of the house is in need of some updating. The geckos were charming and my grandsons enjoyed trying to catch them, but the presence of numerous other crawling visitors was not welcome. I would not rent this particular house again.

Owners response: Aloha,
Regarding response from owner: We are not sure what this guest is referring to here. We counted our chain of 22 emails to her and her emails were always answered promptly. In looking back at the chain of emails, she said she was having problems with her email account at lycos.com and had problems opening our PDF attachments. (no one else has had problems with our PDF files) Maybe she needed to check her spam account or get a different email host.
Regarding access: We change the lock box code and key frequently to avoid any problems for our guests. Our phone number is clearly labeled on the lock box and we respond to the phone promptly.
Regarding notes: Friendly notes inside the house will familiarize you with house policy, what light switches are for what, and other system operations, since we have found the organizer/guest who reserves the house often fails to provide the rental agreement to all other adults in their group.
Regarding the full size crib: Our cleaning manager delivered a pak n play folding crib AND a rollaway bed to the house the day this guest checked in. Previously we had informed this guest that a full size crib was not available, although she could rent one from a local company, she chose not to. We also informed her that we had several blow up Aero toddler beds because she said the 1.5 yr old was a very large child. When the pak n play crib was delivered to the house, she said it was fine. She had also asked if we had a recliner chair for her husband who was recovering from shoulder surgery, we told her the house does not have a recliner. A few weeks later, we informed her that we located a recliner at Costco, on sale, for only $249 (we took a picture of the chair for her to see it) and would deliver it to the house for free - if she wanted to purchase the chair. She declined to do so.
It is our desire to make your vacation enjoyable and our house is impeccably cleaned and maintained. We've had many good reviews and return guests over the years who found our house exactly as advertised and described. If you should find anything about our house that does not meet you expectations, it is better to tell us at the beginning of your stay rather than wait a month after your departure- in order for us to address your concerns while you are here.
Mahalo nui loa,
Tina

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Good House on Hawaii for Large Family

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

Very happy with this house. 11 of us from three generations stayed here. House was roomy and comfortable. Pool exceptionally large and easy to use. 4 master bedrooms for our families. More bedrooms downstairs for some of the kids.Comfortable living room. Kitchen spacious and easy to work in. Two refrigerators helped out for large group.

View of the Pacific and Kona was excellent. Lots of room around the pool.

Convenient to grocery shopping, beaches and sights by car. But car is absolutely necesary. We had one car for each family to facilitate flexibiltiy in doing various things.

We visited Greenwell Coffee Plantation and Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory nearby. Highly recommend Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill for dinner. Excellent food and customer attention.

Only minor problem was difficulty communicating with owner before and during our stay. But it did not interfere with our visit nor reflect negatively on the quality of our stay.


Property was clean and close to optimal in condition.

We would recommend this home to other members of our family and friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time was had by all!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

This house suited our needs very well. With 6 adults and 5 kids (4-15) that was a tall order. The wives loved the kitchen, kids loved the pool and us men got away to the golf course just down the hill. We would definately go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

68090

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

WOW! Our party of fourteen just spent 12 nights at this wonderful rental. The accommodations exceeded our expectations. The home was clean and well equipped. The kids (and adults) enjoyed the pool and view from the terrace. The home was close to shopping and beatiful beaches. Tina, thanks for making the additional beds available. We had a wonderful time and hope to return again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

Our entire family of 10 loved the house. The view is fantastic, not just for the beautiful evening sunsets but early morning views while sipping morning coffee by the pool was one of our favorite activities! Great amenities, furnishings, beds, and baths made our stay truly memorable. Terrific location, great access to local attractions. While the house is in a gorgeous neighborhood, the property gives great privacy and a feeling of seclution. We hope to get back some day - highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 5, 2009

We couldn't have hoped for a better experience. The owner thought of everything for our comfort...beach towels and toys, snokeling gear, cooking tools...all the little amenities on top of the most lovely of accomodations. The neighborhood is quiet, and the house was well maintained and very clean...it is everything the web site says it is!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 5, 2009

There were 11 of us in our party. This house worked out great for large parties. We came over for Christmas and New Years and had a great time. Although there is not a dinning room table we did eat out side and used the table out there. It was really nice to have 2 dryers with all us washing our clothes. Yes there are a few gekco that did vist us the kids really thought they were cool. We had a great time at the house. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We couldn't have hoped for a better experience. The owner thought of everything for our comfort...beach towels and toys, snokeling gear, cooking tools...all the little amenities on top of the most lovely of accomodations. The neighborhood is quiet, and the house was well maintained and very clean...it is everything the web site says it is!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

There were 11 of us in our party. This house worked out great for large parties. We came over for Christmas and New Years and had a great time. Although there is not a dinning room table we did eat out side and used the table out there. It was really nice to have 2 dryers with all us washing our clothes. Yes there are a few gekco that did vist us the kids really thought they were cool. We had a great time at the house. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The lay out of this home is perfect. Every bedroom has it's own bathroom and a sliding glass door to the pool. We spent a lot of time in the pool. The geckos have wonderful coloring!
We really enjoyed our stay.

Thank You Tina!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The lay out of this home is perfect. Every bedroom has it's own bathroom and a sliding glass door to the pool. We spent a lot of time in the pool. The geckos have wonderful coloring!
We really enjoyed our stay.

Thank You Tina!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: November 17, 2008

WOW! What a great place to spend some time relaxing by the pool, tons of privacy, and minutes away from Kailua-Kona. We stayed with 8 other friends for 2 weeks. Plenty of room for everyone,(king beds, separate bathrooms, and TV's in every room) and the veranda was large enough for everyone to enjoy. The home is well equipped, located in a very nice area,(just high enough to stay comfortable in the hot of the day) and Tina is the best! We highly recommend this vacation home. And we'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

WOW! What a great place to spend some time relaxing by the pool, tons of privacy, and minutes away from Kailua-Kona. We stayed with 8 other friends for 2 weeks. Plenty of room for everyone,(king beds, separate bathrooms, and TV's in every room) and the veranda was large enough for everyone to enjoy. The home is well equipped, located in a very nice area,(just high enough to stay comfortable in the hot of the day) and Tina is the best! We highly recommend this vacation home. And we'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 1, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

What a great house for a large family! We took our 4 sons and they had a fantastic time. The pool was wonderful. The view is beautiful, especially at sunset.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 1, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

What a great house for a large family! We took our 4 sons and they had a fantastic time. The pool was wonderful. The view is beautiful, especially at sunset.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 24, 2008

This is a very clean and comfortable place. The area is lovely and quiet. It is just as described. I would stay again when we come back. It is very well equiped. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

This is a very clean and comfortable place. The area is lovely and quiet. It is just as described. I would stay again when we come back. It is very well equiped. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2008   Date of arrival: February 17, 2008

Our stay at Nohealani was great! It is very clean and well equipped just like home. The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are quite large. It was nice to be able to lounge in complete privacy around the pool. It is a very quiet neighborhood and the view of the ocean was wonderful, especially the sunsets over the water.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Our stay at Nohealani was great! It is very clean and well equipped just like home. The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are quite large. It was nice to be able to lounge in complete privacy around the pool. It is a very quiet neighborhood and the view of the ocean was wonderful, especially the sunsets over the water.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 10, 2007   Date of arrival: December 10, 2007

The place was lovely, and perfect for several couples. The kitchen was fairly well-supplied with tools and dishes; it made the whole vacation a lot more pleasant to not *have* to eat out every night. A word to the skittish - the open plan of the house allows for lots of "extra houseguests" - the geckos were kind of fun but there was a very large spider who gave me quite a start one morning. Close to everything, but still private. The neighbors shared their starfruit with us as well!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 10, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

The place was lovely, and perfect for several couples. The kitchen was fairly well-supplied with tools and dishes; it made the whole vacation a lot more pleasant to not *have* to eat out every night. A word to the skittish - the open plan of the house allows for lots of "extra houseguests" - the geckos were kind of fun but there was a very large spider who gave me quite a start one morning. Close to everything, but still private. The neighbors shared their starfruit with us as well!

Owners response: We left this guest comment in for a reason. There are screens on all the windows and doors to prevent pests from coming inside the home--but they only work as long as you keep them closed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 22, 2007   Date of arrival: May 22, 2007

We had such a wonderful vacation based at this house. We loved having breakfast and/or dinner outside next to the pool. It was relaxing, often with a cool breeze, and the view of the harbor was a lovely backdrop. The kitchen and main living room were often a hub of activity for our family (if the kids weren't in the pool) and conveniently arranged. The master bedroom and bath were spacious and my husband and I felt pampered. We liked the fact that a grocery store, post office, and a popular snorkeling beach were nearby. If you have a car, even downtown Kona, Honaunau, coffee plantations, and Kohala beaches are a reasonable drive away.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2007   Date of arrival: May 7, 2007

wonderful house,very private,close to everything,beautiful sunset views from patio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 7, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

wonderful house,very private,close to everything,beautiful sunset views from patio

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review