reviews for: listing #36869 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

Kona Paradise Retreat Ocean View 2 Pools Hot Tub Beach Close
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $575 - $700 /nt
    $4,025 - $4,900 /wk

sort by:

NICE FAMILY TIME TOGETHER FOR OUR 50th ANNIVERSARY

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We used the beautiful home as our base with two of our children, their spouses and two teens joining us. We had breakfast and dinners together most days and then each family pretty much explored the island the day taking advantage of the variety of things to do that suited their ages. We all loved the macadamia nuts and fresh avacados on the property and appreciated the help from the caretaker on finding the nuts and providing a little flour one evening to cook our dinner. The farm animals were delightful, even the roosters once we got used to them. We loved eating on the lanai and taking in the beautiful views. The home was just as pictured and the beds absolutely comfortable. The pool table got a lot of use, there were great a.m. and afternoon walks and runs. It was a wonderful place to spend peaceful family time together...we have many happy memories. Mohala,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

8 Days in Paradise! Fabulous Time, Gorgeous house, Wonderful View

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

We had a fabulous time in this gorgeous house.

We are 11 friends & family, ranging in age from 40-75. We had plenty of space and loved the pool table. The beds are very comfortable and the house was immaculate.

Thank you, Tina, for recommending Alfred to tour us to Green Sands Beach! That was a memorable day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of our best stays ever!!

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

We visited Kona for the first time and would highly recommend these accommodations to everyone. We have never stayed in a vacation rental that offered so many extra luxuries. We usually like to spend every second at the beach but it was so hard to leave the house as we were so relaxed and the grounds are beautiful. We completely lost track of time and experienced real Kona Aloha Spirit!!!
The beds were the most comfortable that we have ever slept in away from home. Everything was very clean and well equipped. We enjoyed walking up the hill at night and listening to the beautiful birds. We also loved sitting on the lanai and watching the sunset. If you want to experience relaxation and peace you will LOVE this property. Thank you for a wonderful vacation. We plan to come back to your property very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First Family Vacation Creating Wonderful Memories!

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This was our first big family vacation of 10 adults and 4 kids. This house had more than enough room for all of us. My son is in a wheelchair and was able to easily gt from room to room. He enjoyed being able to easily get to anyone/anywhere. Tina was wonderful and even did food shopping so we had supplies for our arrival. The house has everything. A shed full of beach chairs, umbrellas, snorkels, flippers and water shoes for all. Clean. Our favorite part of the day was enjoying dinner on the lanai all of us together watching the sunset and the stars. We could not have asked for more. I wish we used the beautiful pool more but we were always. Tina-thanks r making this a vacation full of memories in your wonderful home. We hope to return someday!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Our family of 8 adults and 3 children had a dream vacation staying in this home. The house was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. The owners were on the property and very helpful with directions, tools, even clothing when our daughters luggage didn't arrive. The home was well suited for kids, and Tina provided a toddler bed, porta crib, and even a walker for the infant. We all enjoyed the goats, especially Clyde! Because of the cooler temperatures we didn't use the pools often, but did enjoy the use of the hot tub several evenings. There is so much to do in the area, our two weeks flew by! We would definitely recommend this property, and hope to return for another stay ourselves in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Home to Get Away From Hustle and Bustle

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our family of 7 just returned from Hawaii and spending a week at this home.

The house and grounds are exactly as described and the pictures accurately portray the house and grounds.

We had arrived in Hawaii several days ahead of our time in the house and Tina was gracious enough to allow us to store our luggage early on our first day in the house in a first level room while they were cleaning so that we could all get into one car and explore. Both Tina and her son were on the property for our entire week but were out of site for the most part.

The house is well decorated, very well equipped and pretty well labeled. It has every kind of dish, serving dishes included, cooking pans, and kitchen utensils you can imagine. Same goes for beach toys, pool toys, coolers and beach towels.

Bedrooms and bathrooms are very spacious and comfortable.

Several things to be aware of. The higher elevation means a sometimes large variance in temperature between the house and the coast. It also means that you will get much more rain. Several times we hesitated to go on an adventure only to find when we "went down the hill" the weather was sunny, clear and hot, not raining.

Another thing is the temperature of the pool. It was one of the reasons I first picked the house since I was bringing two small grandchildren. The pool is not heated and in mid June was so cold we only went in once. This may have been due to some cloud cover, but we had not expected it to be that cold.

Be sure to heed the instruction sheets that Tina provides that advises you to put food in the fridge. We missed reading the instructions the first few days and had to throw away bread, rolls and bagels that molded quickly. Also be sure to tightly cap any medicines or vitamins you might bring. There is much moisture in the air at this elevation.

Some folks are skeptical about not having air conditioning. Being from Coastal Georgia we were. But with fans in every room and many windows we were always comfortable.
We did finally end up closing the bedroom windows at night because of a rooster crowing every morning around 4:00 but even then we were comfortable.

My grandchildren loved seeing all the animals everyday and enjoyed having space to run and play.

We enjoyed our time and and appreciated being able to spend it in this beautiful environment.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Spacious House and Grounds

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We are belated in writing this review since we visited last summer, but we still think back fondly to a GREAT vacation in this lovely home. The ten of us had plenty of room to spread out, and we loved having dinner each night on the patio overlooking the wonderful yard. The kids enjoyed the two pools and badminton court, as well as the local horses and goats. Thanks for helping us create great memories! This was an amazing house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for large family!

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

This house was perfect for family of 11 on vacation. All requests prior to arrival and during stay were met in a very timely manner. Tina was very helpful and thorough with information needed during our stay. Only word of caution is the drive to and from town has about 3 miles of very curvy road. Other than that, it was a very beautiful and wonderful place in paradise! Thank you Tina!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful house for family gathering

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Our family of 11 stayed in the house for 5 nights while celebrating our parents' 50th wedding anniversary. The house was perfect, with everything we needed for a great vacation for travelers ages 7 to 73. The house is on a beautiful hill directly inland from Kailua-Kona (about 15 minutes drive).

Tina was such a helpful host! She lives in another house on the property and did so much to make our stay enjoyable. We were anticipating a late arrival, and she offered to pick up some essential groceries for us at Costco so we wouldn't have to go shopping before breakfast! One of my daughters left a small makeup bag when we checked out. Tina called us and immediately shipped it back to the mainland. It arrived one day after we did!

All the amenities of the house were great! We especially enjoyed the billiards table, the hot tub and the shed full of beach toys including boogie boards. Also, each bedroom had a TV which was nice. We used the gas grill several times to cook amazing meals at sunset, and the kids enjoyed playing croquet on the lawn!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

the 13 guests from BC, Canada

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

The owner could not have been more accomodating for our large group, the vacation home was just perfect for our large family vacation. This is our second time here as it was so wonderful the first time the year before.
The facilities are just awesome with the pools, hot tub and numerous bedrooms. The pictures and accomodations were just as decribed. Being up on the side of the mountain was just wonderful with the view of the Kona Coast below.
The owner took our kids orange and avocado picking, then showed the kids where the macadamia nut trees were so they could collect nuts to crack and eat. She did everything possible to once again make our stay as relaxing and wonderful as possible.
If you have a large or small group this is the perfect vacation spot on the Kona coast for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

The house was beautiful, very clean and organized. Many cabinets were labeled, which made it very convenient to find things. 5 out of the 12 people who stayed for the week were kids under 6. They all were very comfortable at the property.

The house is located about 1000 feet in elevation in the Kona Coffee District. It takes about 10 to 15 minutes to get to down town Kona. You need a car if you are staying here.

Also the owner lives on the property (In another house), which we didn't know before arriving. We hardly knew she was around other than the two times she walked in the backyard to relay a message instead of knocking on the front door.

With all that said it still was a good vacation. I would recommend it for a family style vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are so happy to hear our guests were happy with our house! We want to make this the best ever vacation experience for our guests.
These guests (w/5 kids) arrived 6 hours early (just off plane from CA) the day of check in. Although we had a turnaround (previous guests leave at 10:30 AM and new ones in at 3 PM) the cleaning staff helped them stow their luggage, gave them a spot to change into bathing suits, gave them beach towels, ice & cooler, and a map to the beach so they wouldn't waste one minute of vacation time.
The 5 kids w/adults were often enjoying the sunny weather by playing games in the back yard (facing the ocean). There is a big assortment of yard games and beach equipment on site.
We helped our guest find the best luau for her wedding reception, the best beach to get married on, gave her a referral for the best limousine service, and scanned documents for her to email to the mainland.
If you are in the back yard playing games or in the swimming pool, and you want us to find/contact you, naturally we will look for you in the yard. Otherwise we stay out of your way!
We are here to make your vacation stress free and enjoyable--but only if you ask us for something--other than that--you will never know we are here.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Unforgettable Stay!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We had our wedding at the house during our stay and most of our guests stayed at the house. We had such a great week, enjoying the pools, the barbecues we had on the lanai and the large, clean home. Tina was extremely helpful and always ready to lend a hand (especially during the chaos of the wedding day!) We had a beautiful sunset the night of the wedding.. couldn't have been more lovely!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Unforgettable Stay!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We had our wedding at the house during our stay and most of our guests stayed at the house. We had such a great week, enjoying the pools, the barbecues we had on the lanai and the large, clean home. Tina was extremely helpful and always ready to lend a hand (especially during the chaos of the wedding day!) We had a beautiful sunset the night of the wedding.. couldn't have been more lovely!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great house for large families

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

This house is perfect for large families. We had 5 kids 1 nanny and 2 adults.

Everything we needed was there. the house was perfect, very clean and in a great location.

We will opt to stay there again when we go back. Tina was very helpful and friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome and more awesome

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

This is an awesome place to go and stay. We enjoyed everything about it, was a very immaculate house with a huge yard which was the same. The pools were great with all the lava rocks and foilage around. Tina was the nicest hostess and checked on us to make sure we had what we needed. So many great places to eat just on Ali' drive. Also a great snorkeling beach on Ali' drive for beginners to people who are really good. Fish are very close to shore for all to see. Some of our crew went on a night dive with the manta rays, 2 snorkeled and 2 were certified divers. They love it! Things to do for all ages at this house. Great views we wouldn't stay anywhere else and this is our 4th time to the island. The kona village luau is great also. We recommend this place to everyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place on the big Island!

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

This was our 4th time to the big island of Hawaii, our first time on this property. The property was immaculate and the scenery awesome.
From the second floor we could see all the way down to the Ali Drive
strip and see the cruise ships. The grounds were impeccable,the swimming pools and hot tub awesome. Tina is a great hostess and owner that made us feel very welcome and was extremely helpful.
Everything was there to enjoy your trip. Beach towels, washer and dryer which was very nice to have. There is a walmart and Sav-u not to far from the house itself. Many great restaurants on the island, some of our family did the night dive with the manta rays which they loved two snorkeled and two are certified divers both enjoyed it tremendously. We also enjoyed the quietness of the house after a long day of sight-seeing.

You really need to check this place out if it's available in the time period that you're looking for.,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

my great experience at this beautiful house

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

I had a wedding around this area so my whole family and friends stayed in this house.
Are you looking for some place where has everything you need. Shopping, food, activity, and very nature.
My family loved loved this house. They even picked fresh macadamia, avocado, fruits from real trees.
We made food out of those guacamole , macadamia salad...etc...etc..
seating at the porch, enjoy the view, play some pool game.jacuzzi. fresh air..
you don't even need AC. everybody says it was such a great time to reunion whole family as well.

Thank you Tina!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

It is not until you are home that you truly realize the beauty of the home and it's surroundings. Tina could not have been nicer or more accomadating, going out of her way to make our stay great. The kids loved chasing geckos on the veranda and the grown ups loved the view and breeze. The house is full of everything you could possibly need or want and more. Our group of 9 never felt cramped and we all enjoyed the comfortable beds and incredible views of Kona and the sunsets. If ever we are lucky enough to return we will definatley be staying at out "Kona Home".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 17, 2009   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

Our entire extendend family of 13 spent 10 glorious days in the sun. Each afternoon we went our separate ways and met up in the evening for a wonderful dinner on the lanai with gorgeous view of the valley. The kids spent time in the pools while the adults relaxed on the deck. Everyone went away relaxed. I'd definietly recommend it as a family retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2009   Date of arrival: May 5, 2009

A well appointed home, ideal for a large group. Costco is fairly close. Out of the way, country location and very quiet. The GPS was handy in finding the house for the first time. Large lanai was well used although jackets were needed in March. Altogether a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

To say "The home and property are Beautiful!" is an understatement. Tina had fresh bananas, avocados and macadamia nuts when we arrived. Tina is a Wonderful Host. We hope to visit again in the near future. We had 6 adults in one house for 7 days and plenty of room to roam. We all loved the dogs and the puppies. They were very well mannered.

Thanks Again Tina!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: November 24, 2008

This was our first time in Hawaii and we loved it!! It's a great compliment to the home when you can't decide which is best, the home or the local beaches. Both combined made for a memorable experience and the fact that we were celebrating our parents 30 year wedding anniversary made it that much more special. Although it was only 8 of us - no kids - we had more than enough space for our privacy, but no so much that we would feel alone. Tina's attention to the details of the home are exceptional, from the fresh cut flowers welcoming you to the home upon arrival, to the cleanliness of the rooms. I would highly recommend this home to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 6, 2008   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

The place was absoulity beautiful.It was so well furnished with every thing we needed for sleeping, cooking and relaxing with our family. Wilna

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 3, 2008   Date of arrival: October 2, 2008

This was an absolutely beautiful and perfect place for our "Texas Family" vacation. Tina greeted us upon arrival and was so very kind and helpful... Freshly cut Hawaiian flowers welcomed us in the home... The home was perfect in every way - comfortable, stunning scenery, sights and sounds. The lanai was our favorite hangout place to drink our Kona coffee in the mornings, to plan our day and watch the sunset in the evenings. I have to mention the beds as well - A perfect way to end each beautiful day on the Big Island with extremely comfortable pillowtop beds and so so soft sheets!
We highly recommend this home for your next vacation on the Big Island! We would most definately return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 2, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

This was an absolutely beautiful and perfect place for our "Texas Family" vacation. Tina greeted us upon arrival and was so very kind and helpful... Freshly cut Hawaiian flowers welcomed us in the home... The home was perfect in every way - comfortable, stunning scenery, sights and sounds. The lanai was our favorite hangout place to drink our Kona coffee in the mornings, to plan our day and watch the sunset in the evenings. I have to mention the beds as well - A perfect way to end each beautiful day on the Big Island with extremely comfortable pillowtop beds and so so soft sheets!
We highly recommend this home for your next vacation on the Big Island! We would most definately return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Overall, wonderful vacation rental!!!

Review submitted: September 26, 2008   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

I just rented this house for 5 nights in September. My fiance and I stayed in the cottage while 12 of my family members stayed in the house. The grounds are beautiful and the aroma of gardenias and angel trumpets floated through the air. The large kitchen and lanai were perfect for our family evenings together. We had a small wedding ceremony there of 20 people. The rain kept us from having it under the trumpet flowers, but the large lanai served as a perfect backup. The weather up in the hills (where the house is) is about 5-10 degrees cooler than it is in town and it rains more. But the mornings were clear and beautiful and the afternoon rains never lasted long. The cooler temperatures we welcomed at about 74-78 degrees. The cottage isn't as nice as the home. It needs some handy work, new bed linens, and a dehumidifier. The pools are not heated so they're quite cold, and we had problems with the hot tub filtration. These were minor problems and my whole family enjoyed the place and we all want to come back next year!!! Beautiful home and property!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 2, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Holualoa Paradise Retreat! It was our first trip to the Big Island with our kids! We had a blast swimming in the pool, relaxing and enjoying the view! We plan on going again in a couple of years. Hopefully, the house will be available. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

Thank you so much or Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Holualoa Paradise Retreat! It was our first trip to the Big Island with our kids! We had a blast swimming in the pool, relaxing and enjoying the view! We plan on going again in a couple of years. Hopefully, the house will be available. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

Thank you so much or Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 20, 2008   Date of arrival: August 20, 2008

We rented the house the first week of June 2008 with our family. Both or our daughters and their spouses and their sons met us at the house. The house is not only beautiful there was plenty of room for all of us (8). If we ever have the opportunity to return to The Big Island, this is the place we would come back to. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We rented the house the first week of June 2008 with our family. Both or our daughters and their spouses and their sons met us at the house. The house is not only beautiful there was plenty of room for all of us (8). If we ever have the opportunity to return to The Big Island, this is the place we would come back to. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kailua Kona House

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: April 20, 2008

We stayed in this lovely house at the end of April 2008 and found it to be nicely decorated, roomy, and surrounded by beautiful grounds. Greg was very friendly and helpful during our stay, especially in cutting aloe vera for our very bad sunburns. The kitchen was large and contained everything we could need to cook with. The living room off the kitchen could have used more seating for the 8 of us. The bedrooms were roomy and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool table. The koi pond was a really nice touch. Beware of the roosters crowing at 4:45 am...unless you're an early riser. The pool was reallllllllllly c-c-c-c-cold! It would have been nice to have it heated so as to be usable. Overall, a beatiful house and a reasonable price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 13, 2008   Date of arrival: February 13, 2008

We found this beautiful house to be very accomodating for 11 people, very clean and had all the necessities and amenities one would need for a 10 day stay. The grounds are so beautiful and peaceful. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Greg who let us know he was available should we need anything.
We enjoyed the view, the rooms so lavishly furnished, the video, audio systems and the family games that you provided. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 13, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We found this beautiful house to be very accomodating for 11 people, very clean and had all the necessities and amenities one would need for a 10 day stay. The grounds are so beautiful and peaceful. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Greg who let us know he was available should we need anything.
We enjoyed the view, the rooms so lavishly furnished, the video, audio systems and the family games that you provided. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 8, 2007

The house was perfect for a family to just enjoy and relax in. The kitchen had everything we ever went looking for,even cupcake pans. The yard and pool are in picture perfect condition, thanks Greg. This is a great vacation home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2007   Date of arrival: July 23, 2007

We a great time we had at the house. The pictures on the web site do not do it justice. The house couldn't have been more perfect for us. The house and grounds were ideal for us to have our families meet and get to know each other, and for the two of us to spend our pre and post wedding time. The kids loved the pools, hot tub and all the variety of fruit and nut trees. We loved being in our own little world up country. We never wanted to leave, and would love to go back again some day. Greg was wonderful, and we cannot say enough good things about him.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2007   Date of arrival: July 6, 2007

This is one property that is actually better than advertised. We had 3 adult couples and 4 children. There is plenty of room and activities for the children.

It is really like having your own private resort on Hawaii. Two days I stayed at the house while everyone went to great beaches. The kids might not agree, but I had the most fun. It is fun just thinking about how wonderful the location and the house is. Best of all it is far enough up the mountain so the temperature is moderate.

As much as we enjoyed the home, when we got back home for a few weeks we really began to realize how much we enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 25, 2007   Date of arrival: May 25, 2007

The house is beautiful, comfortable with a lot of space. The swimming pools, the billiard, the media equipement, everything is very good. The time at this house was a great time

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2007   Date of arrival: May 15, 2007

We could not have asked for a more beautiful spot for our small wedding reception and family gathering. My daughter and her new husband just kept thanking me over and over for finding it. The caretaker keeps everything pristine and beautiful without being intrusive. I wish I had had more time to just relax and enjoy the beautiful house and grounds but we had a few other things (wedding, reception, sightseeing, snorkeling, etc.)that kept us too busy to relax much.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2007   Date of arrival: March 22, 2007

We we thrilled with the home and all the amenities at this beautiful home. My husband and I brought our seven children ranging in age from seven to twenty seven and we had the most fabulous time at this little piece of heaven. There is no detail that the homeowner didn't think of when planning for guests. We can't wait to come back with friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2007   Date of arrival: March 6, 2007

This was our second stay. The first time we took our children and parents. The second time, 5 couples. This is a secluded mountainside retreat with excellent privacy. The pools and hot tub are wonderful and the grounds look better than ever. Highly recommended. If you are looking for an escape this is it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

When I planned our trip to the Big Island, we had to
rent 3 homes for our family, and of all of the homes
we rented, the Holualoa home was by far the
cleanest home we stayed in. It was also furnished
with up to date furniture and appliances. To put it
simply, the home exceeded our expectations of
what a vacation rental can offer.

The caretaker was also very knowledgeable about
the area and offered suggestions when asked. The
pools and hot tub were cleaned daily which made
our stay more comfortable.

We hope to be able to come back to this Holualoa
retreat - it is truly a gem!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 13, 2007   Date of arrival: February 13, 2007

We just completed a week at this house and it was a fantastic rental. Everything was in beautiful condition and the furnishings are amazing. We had our two daughters, husbands, and three grandchildren and we all had a grand time. The pool table got lots of use and having the lawns to run around on was a real treat for the kids from the cold north. They fed the horses carrots and enjoyed the pool. We hope to return again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 18, 2006   Date of arrival: December 18, 2006

This is an excellent house to serve as a quiet retreat or as an anchor for daily tours about the Big Island. In our case it served as "home base" during the week of our daughter's wedding. There was a family reunion also, and the spacious veranda/lawns/pools, plus the fibve bedrooms allowed us all to spend time together, in lieu of traveling back/forth among a bunch of hoytels rooms. The house was"delivered"to us spic and span, with all utiliies in working order. A special plus was the baby bed, brought in graciously on very short notice for a gradchild.

As landlords ourselves, we recognized that this excellent property can only have resulted from Ms. Butler's energy and commitment. We highly recommend this rental property, both for its own features and for its easy 10/15 minute access to shopping, sightseeing,and beach activities.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review