reviews for: listing #3710 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean House rental

RINCON - Oceanfront House, Great View, WiFi and AC
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rincon
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $190 - $300 /nt
    $1,075 - $1,500 /wk
    $3,600 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Two Glorious Weeks!

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

My husband and I spent two glorious weeks at Casa Serena and we were swept off our feet. Nancy, the owner, could not have been more helpful and concerned about our stay before we actually arrived and during our stay. We were supplied with a most comprehensive guide to Rincon and surrounding environs. Detailing everything from sightseeing, restaurants and grocery shopping. Additionally, a map of Rincon was provided and we felt we knew where we were going and what we wanted to do during our stay. Nancy was thoughtful enough to e-mail us after we arrived to make sure we did arrive safely. The house and its location on the beach went beyond our expectations! The kitchen was extremely well-equipped and unlike a few places we have stayed, the knives actually cut. There was a good supply of starter goods in both the kitchen and bathrooms. The mattress in the master bedroom is so comfortable and was a treat to retreat to every night! The living area outside the house is fantastic. There are more than enough chairs, lounges and hammocks to keep everyone in or out of the sun. Additionally, a wide variety of tubes, boogie boards, floats, masks, fins and snorkels ensure plenty of enjoyment. A wonderful touch was a cooler which we put to great use during our beach trips and long drives. The mango tree in the yard provided us with more than enough fruit for several mango smoothies. The beach is glorious and the relaxing sound of the ocean waves was wonderful. A suggestion for future visitors would be to add a pair of water shoes to their luggage. There are some flat rock formations that may hinder folks who may not be sure footed. We truly hope to return to Casa Serena in the near future and enjoy all the wonderful things that Casa Serena and Puerto Rico have to offer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Alice and Frank,
It was such a pleasure having you as our guests. As you know, your enjoyment gave me great satisfaction. Thanks again for choosing Casa Serena for your vacation. I look forward to having you come back again soon.
Be well,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

VRBO Stayed Here for our honeymoom

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

VRBO Bear stayed here:
Mr. Bear and I decided to spend our long-overdue honeymoon in the relaxed town of Rincon, Puerto Rico. We were pleasantly surprised by the owner of Casa Serena, who took the time to describe the town and property in advance to ensure it met our expectations. She also provided us with maps, a list of restaurants and the necessary instructions to ensure we had a great stay.
Upon arrival, we could not believe the true proximity of the house to the beach – literally steps from the backyard gate! The crashing waves could be heard through the large screened windows – a constant reminder that we were on vacation even when we were indoors!

We feasted on the ripe mangos from the tree in the backyard, swam in the relaxing warm waters, and went snorkeling at the nature reserve just on the other side of town. Rincon and its surrounding areas have a lot to offer, but having Casa Serena as our “den away from home” made all the difference in the enjoyment of our stay.

Located in a residential neighborhood, Casa Serena is ideal for the laid-back bear who wishes to embrace the authentic Puerto Rico experience. (This picture is the almond tree just outside the backyard gate.)

The VRBO Bear

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vera

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 27, 2014

This was my second time here within 8 months. There are no words to describe how wonderful this place is. Nancy is in constant contact until the arrival date. I bring my elderly parents and by the end of our vacation, they are renewed. The house is located in a perfect spot. The supermarket is walking distance as well as the restaurants. You can also drive on route 115 and run into the carts selling delicious inexpensive ethnic food. If you like seafood, you can buy octopus or conch in a cup. Walk on the beach which is literally steps away and you can go to the hotel and drink coconut water from a fresh coconut. There is also a mango tree right on the property and you can make smoothies, of course from a blender in the unit. If you want to relax with all the conviences and amenities this is the place. I can't imagine coming to Puerto Rico and not staying here. This place gets gooderer and gooderer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Vera,

You're always such a pleasure to have as our guests. When I spoke to you before your departure, you told me that when you arrived, you felt like you were home - that makes me so happy - I have accomplished my aim, a great beachfront vacation with the comforts of home.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you,
Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The best vacation ever!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

This vacation house was so great because it was a beautiful, comfortable house to stay in, but mainly because of its AMAZING LOCATION ON THE BEACH!!! We woke up to the sound of wakes splashing on shore and went to sleep watching the sunsets from the front porch. I also have to say that the owner took really good care of us by making sure we always had everything we needed during our stay. I would love to go back there. I miss it so much already.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic house on the beach!

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

What a great place.
By the time we got to Rincon on our first evening, it was dark, rainy and it had been a long day of travel. We grabbed some food from the local Chinese restaurant and got settled. The next morning was when our vacation truly began and it started with a clear blue sky and the sound of waves crashing on the beach.
We had arrived in paradise!
Highlights:
Breakfast on the patio watching the Pelicans fish
Beach time with the boys everyday - So easy when the beach is 20 yards from the backdoor
Pina Colada's & Medalla beer
Watching the boys chase lizards around the yard and never getting close
Sunsets every evening watching the Pelicans and drinking a beer or two
The service you get from the owner is the best I have ever experienced, both in getting you prepped for your stay and the local property managers. They were great with our boys and made sure our stay was trouble free.

Low lights:
Time flies in paradise

Owners response: Dear Bob,

Thanks for the great review. I love your specific points about the pelicans and lizards! And thanks for your appreciation of our service - it is my most important objective - to provide the best service from beginning to end. Please recommend our home to your friends and please come back again!

Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Amazing Spot

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

This was our second visit to Casa Serena. The unit we stay in is just perfect - everything that you need is there. Most of the time is spent outside on the covered porch, sitting in the yard, swimming or walking the beautiful beach. The sunsets in the evening are spectacular. There is no need to go out for dinner with a view like that. We love the relaxed pace of life there away from the hustle and bustle of San Juan. There are lots of great areas to explore. This year we found a beautiful beach in Cabo Rojo near the lighthouse there. Definitely worth the hour ride.
Nancy and her manager, Gladys, make sure that everything is just right! We will most definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Martha,

It is so nice to have you return to Casa Serena. I looked forward to showing you the latest improvements since I know how much you appreciate
Casa Serena and our care of the house. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Have a great summer,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Serena stay

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Casa Serena. Great location and the casa was appointed with everything you need. People are friendly, beaches fantastic and warm sea water. It was a perfect escape from the midwest winter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Chris,

Thanks for choosing Casa Serena for your vacation. It is very gratifying when our guests enjoy our home and appreciate the care we take in making them comfortable. Please come back again to our warm sun and sea!

Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Rincon accomodation

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Very comfortable, well maintained unit. Wonderful beachfront and seaside seating. Great location and easy access to Rincon and surrounding activities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Charlie,

Thanks for choosing Casa Serena and enjoying all it has to offer. Please come back again.

Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

Dear Reader:
Just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at Casa Serena and Casa Tamara. Two houses because hurricane Sandy took out the sea wall in front of Casa Serena. no hurricane damage just stronger than normal sea swells. Both houses are equally comfortable and amenities the same. Nancy furnished all houses with state of the art appliances even down to ergonomically designed kitchen utensils, so we didn't have to ask for anything as it was already there, including the wonderful ice maker so you needn't mess with giant bags of ice. Everything was comfortable including a chair lounge just where it needed to be. We barbequed, had great breakfasts on the porch and of course watched the spectacular sunsets. I found the price to be reasonable considering the quality of the furnishings. Everything looked brand new. You will be happy you came and spent time here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Kay and Lee,

Thanks very much for choosing our home for your vacation. It was a pleasure meeting you. I am so glad that you appreciated everything we do to make our guests comfortable and happy. Please come back again soon. Have a great winter,
Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best beach vacation

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We had a most relaxing time at Casa Serena. Being able to walk across the backyard and step onto the beach is just bliss. We went with our kids 9 and 4 and they loved the beach and spent hours looking for sea glass. The hammock in the yard was awesome! I started out reading but dozed off invaribly..

Gladys was very helpful and was available to answer all our questions. We feasted on the mangoes in the backyard tree and tried some of the tamarind pods as well.

We ate in almost all of the time as the children have food allergies. Edwards supermarket and Econo had everything we needed. Some of the restaurants were closed as this is off season.

I will definitely tell my friends and family about this property

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Casa Serena. Relaxing in the hammock, eating fruit from our trees and collecting sea glass, sound great! Thanks for choosing our home for your family vacation and please come back again.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Beach

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

This beautiful property is located on a fabulous stretch of beach. Walk out the door, cross the yard, and ...aaah! There is also an great view from the patio. Everything was exactly as advertised. This was our 1st experience with a vacation rental, and I was apprehensive at first. I called Nancy and started the rental process. She was great to work with. Nancy sent tons of information about Rincon and the property. Her directions from San Juan were excellent. We had a lot of activities planned, but it was so relaxing at the house, we could hardly tear ourselves away. The house is a duplex, well appointed and spacious, with washer/dryer that really was convenient. Nancy also owns the property next door. It was fun to meet the first set of neighbors, and we never saw the second set, so we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Gladys, the property manager was excellent. She came by to check on us and make sure all was as it should be. The only problem we had was an issue with the alarm due to a power outage. It was promptly taken care of. Nancy also called to make sure everything was okay. This is a perfect place for a relaxing get away. We enjoyed coffee on the patio, eating mangos from the tree in the yard and cooking on the grill. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance and even more if you have a car. Eduardo's market is a couple of blocks away and great for staples. There is also a larger supermarket close by. There is off-street parking. As nice as the house is, the beach was even better. We spent hours reading, swimming, snorkeling, walking and looking for beach glass. We can't wait to go back.

Owners response: Dear Deann,

Thanks very much for choosing Casa Serena for your vacation and for your great review, which I am sure will be helpful to future guests looking for a great house on the beach. And thanks for mentioning our property manager who is great and totally devoted to making our guests comfortable. This is not always the case with other properties so we are very fortunate to have a great manager on site in case of any problems. We look forward to welcoming you back.

thanks,
Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect for our family vacation.

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Dear Nancy,
Our accommodations at Casa Serena exceeded our expectations. It truly was a wonderful place to stay with a lovely yard filled with all sorts of trees, places to sit and the great beach to swim, snorkel and explore. We spent hours and hours swimming and snorkeling in the warm water or sitting on the beach in the shade under the trees. One morning we saw porpoises or dolphins not far off shore. We were very happy to have brought a snorkel and mask but next time we will bring one for each of us because the sheer variety and numbers of beautiful fish we saw kept luring us back into the water. The beach at this location is also very clean. Casa Serena was very comfortable with ceiling fans, air conditioning, super comfy beds, on-site laundry, boogie boards and floats, large TV, WiFi, and a kitchen that we used constantly for our family of four. We felt very welcome and thanks for all the information you provided to make our stay easier. Rincon offered lots of activities and we had really great food at the local restaurants. Our two adult daughters also thought this was a great place to stay and just couldn’t believe we were right on such a beautiful beach as well. Thanks so much for thinking of everything.
Hope to visit again soon,

Donna and Kurt Ruppel
New York State

Owners response: Dear Donna and Kurt,

Thanks for choosing Casa Serena for your family vacation. We are very happy that you enjoyed our beach, our home and our terrific town. It was a pleasure for me to meet your lovely family. Please come back again and my regards to your lovely daughters.

Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Second time at Casa Serena

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We skipped 2011, and returned for our second stay in 2012. Don't think we will skip again. The house is still immaculate, and the kitchen has been upgraded. The location is perfect, walking distance to store and to a new restaurant on corner, short drive to all other restaurants. Spent the day either sitting under the almond tree on the beach, or watching the surf from the patio. We had some wonderful neighbors both in the unit next door, and across the way at Casa Tamara. Have already booked for next year. Would highly recommend as a place for a very relaxing vacation.

Owners response: Dear Rafe,

We were very happy to have you stay at Casa Serena for the second time and look forward to your third visit next year. We are always very pleased when our guests enjoy the other guests, we try hard and next year again, we have a great group coming when you are. Thanks for the recommendation of the new restaurant down the street. Have a good summer and thanks again for choosing our home for your vacation.

Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation at the beach

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

"Great vacation at the beach!"
This vacation exceeded my personal expectations. We were very comfortable and at home in Casa Serena. The amenities like the master king sized bed, 2 full bathrooms, full kitchen, internet access, dish TV, nice furnishings, shared washer and dryer, outside beach showers, outdoor seating, hammock, grill, etc. were well used and appreciated by us. The neighborhood-Stella seems to be composed of a nice mix of locals and some tourists; it has nearby bakeries with freshly baked and delicious quesitos, grocery stores with fresh fruits and the versatile plaintain, local resturants with classic Puerto Rican cuisine, a nice mix of tourist, local and surf shops and also fast food for hungry teenagers who want a pizza or Burger King. Nancy has done a very thorough job detailing the local community in a handy information packet ( a copy is on the coffee table too). I appreciated Nancy's appropriate concern and communications when discussing our desire to stay at Casa Serena wanting to ensure that everyone's (including the other guests') vacations would be enjoyable and peaceful. The other guests at Casa Serena, Mike and Pat from Vermont, were very pleasant. The location seemed ideal with a nicely landcaped tropical backyard that opens directly onto a very nice long stretch of a fine sandy beach; a large almond tree is very conveniently located near the back gate and provides a nicely shaded rest area. The people on the beach were friendly and respectful. The water was interestingly calm enough to swim with my 13 year old son but there was enough surf to boogy board near the shore. In the ocean close to the shore there are large flat shelves of rock covered with a thin layer of vegetation that we would walk on barefoot (waist deep) out into the ocean, then at the ledge (4 to 6 feet deep) we would swim around, snorckle or just float. The water clarity was okay with some brightly colored tropical fish seen around the rock ledges. On the beach there are nearby rentals- long surf boards with paddles, jet skis, group water rides, etc. There are a variety of other nearby beaches in Rincon including some with world class surfing (World Surfing Championships held there in 1968 and 1988, we just missed a Corona sponsored competition there by 2 weeks at nearby Dome's beach in Rincon)), next time I want to include some long board lessons for me (rated 5/5 by others on this website). I hope we will be able to return to Casa Serena.

Owners response: Thank you for choosing our home for your vacation. You are the kind of guests we love to have because you really "got" what is great about our little town, our beach and our home. I am glad that you found our home comfortable and appreciated all the little things we do to make our guests satisfied. Our service both before and during your stay is most important to us. We know that having someone there to help when needed is a big asset. We would be very happy to welcome you back again. Thank you

Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Veritable Treat

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Casa Serena provides a veritable treat, whether you’re contemplating a week or an extended stay. A cottage on a beautiful beach is not a unique find, but the “specialness” that characterizes an interlude at Serena is both “Serena specific” and Rincon related.

With several beach houses “under our belts” prior to our stay at Serena, we were pleased with the ease and comfort of our indoor/outdoor living. The beds were divine, the kitchen and its accoutrements were plentiful and spotlessly clean. There were plenty of chaises on which to “catch the sun”, and the plethora of chairs --- both high and low --- allowed for our creature comforts on the beach. Almond trees hugging the bank separating the beach from the house, and a variety of water “toys” left in a corner of the outdoor dining portico would be a pleasing diversion for children and adults. Equally pleasant, the selection of our fellow “renters”--- a skill that’s rare given this type of commercial enterprise --- was an added bonus. From various locales and backgrounds, all Serena neighbors were friendly and engaging while maintaining a respect for privacy (ours and theirs).

Rincon enhanced our stay at Serena. Sophisticated water sports are available a few minutes up the beach, and the town square, similar to many in Spain and Italy, boasts zumba classes nearly every morning (unlike Spain and Italy). One can easily find a spirited and friendly fishmonger under his colorful umbrella, and a Sunday morning outdoor market. Good restaurants abound, and two local supermarkets can contribute to one’s dining pleasure. In fact, the outdoor grill, the fishmonger, and the exceptional interest in the pleasure of every guest shown by Serena’s proprietress and staff, combine with Serena’s other comforts to provide a blissful stay.

Nancy
New York City

Owners response: Thank you for your great description of Casa Serena. I am so glad that you really got the specialness of our home and our great town. We are very glad that you will be returning next year. Thanks for being our valued guests.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Rincon Vacation

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

My family of four adults thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at this beach-front home in Rincon, Puerto Rico. The location at the edge of the Caribbean Sea is ideal, and the ocean vistas are second to none. The yard is among the best in the area - with grass, shrubbery, hammocks under the shade of the palm trees, beach chairs, lounges and beach toys, which we used every day. The private outdoor patio is an ideal place to enjoy meals, read, relax, enjoy the sunsets and socialize. As you walk through the garden gate, you step out onto a secluded, clean, sandy beach and warm water stretching for miles. One afternoon we took a sunset cruise and the other evenings we enjoyed the sunsets on the beach right outside our door!

The property administrators are very accommodating, friendly, personable and professional in their management of the property. They brought us some fresh star fruit one morning. It was our first taste of star fruit and we all found it to be delicious!

The home itself is clean and very well appointed with all the items needed to enhance your stay. Bath towels, beach towels, cooking utensils and dishes are all provided. The residence is air conditioned and the ceiling fans throughout the home do a good job of keeping the inside temperature pleasant. The king-sized beds are very comfortable. We were surprised to find a flat screen TV in the home - but we did not watch it as the views outside the door far exceed any shows available on TV. The washer and dryer in the laundry room are a bonus!

The residence has many fine restaurants located within walking and/or driving distance. If you prefer to do your own cooking, there are two supermarkets in the area. There are many other shops, restaurants, etc. convenient to this location.

It was a pleasure dealing with the owner. A very professional, accommodating and helpful individual.

This is a neat, clean professionally run guest house, which we highly recommend.

Linda and Michael - Davie, FL

Owners response: Dear Linda and Michael,

Thank you for choosing our home for your vacation and for all of your great comments. Having a great location and great amenities makes our home very desirable, and having the best caretakers insures a terrific vacation. We look forward to your return next year.

thanks for enjoying our home,
Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

My wife, her parents and I loved this little house on the beach. It was like living inside a postcard. The house is just steps away from the beach and the sunsets are amazing. The house is well kept and the owner is reliable and a person of her word. We will return, hopefully, next year.

Joe Frederick, Austin, Texas

Owners response: Dear Joe,

I am so glad that you enjoyed Casa Serena. I love your description of living inside a postcard!
I understand you have some great photos. Please email any you would allow me to put on our website. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Thanks for choosing our home.

Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best Family Vacation We've Ever Had!

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic vacation in Rincon and I wanted to write to thank you before the glow and tan wore off! Last year my husband and I and our two children, 3 and 6 years old, stayed in Casa Serena. We know that you usually rent the houses separately, but we thought that they might work well for a big family reunion. We reserved both homes, Casa Serena and Casa Tamara and were hoping that having our whole family together, but in 4 separate apartments, would not be too much for all of us. It worked out better than we had imagined. Nancy was great to work with and the caretakers were so helpful - they even brought us fresh fruit from their garden.

We had our family, our three siblings' families and our parents, 19 people in all.
Each couple had a master bedroom with a private bathroom, quite a luxury, and there were enough bedrooms for all the kids. By the way, the beds were super comfortable. The houses are beautifully furnished, had all the amenities and the kitchens were very well equipped. Since each apartment is totally separate, each
family had their privacy, when they wanted it and yet we were all together, when we wanted that. Since Casa Serena and Casa Tamara are right next door to each other, we could wander back and forth easily. We did barbeque twice and had a great time having dinner all together.

That's all about the houses and the convenience for a big group, but since most people don't come in a big group, I want to say that the main attraction of your houses is the location. We found out last year that your houses are on the best beach in Rincon, maybe in all of Puerto Rico! And the beach is right there. We could roll out of bed and jump into the beautiful, clear, calm water of your Caribbean beach. The older kids loved snorkeling right in front of the house and the water was calm enough for the younger kids. And my parents, in the late Fifties, loved the fact that the water was calm and shallow for a good distance. Also, we were all very happy that you have a fenced in grassy back yard so that the kids could run around without running into the water, and some of us older folks could just sun on the lounge chairs in the backyard. And then the hammocks were a great attraction, the teenagers tended to monopolize them.

When we weren't on the beach or relaxing at the house, we enjoyed

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Retreat on a Private Beach

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

Date of stay: November 11-17, 2011
Travelers: Husband, Wife, 4 and 2 year old boys

Casa Serena was a lovely retreat for our family. The house was just the perfect size for our family of 4 and nestled on a private beach with a beautiful fenced in yard. Our boys loved being able to go outside in the yard and play with their dinosaurs in the gorgeous palms adorning the yard while waiting for us to take them on to the beach. The hammock was a perfect makeshift swing for the little ones. The house had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. Grocery stores, restaurants, and the awesome panaderias were very close by which made for an easy morning run for fresh "pan" or any items we forgot. The "pan" was so amazing that I had to do everything in my power to keep my 4 year old from eating the entire loaf before we returned home for breakfast. To this day, he asks for his "Puertorican bread", and I've sought out the next best thing in our local Puertorican neighborhood.

The beach was perfectly white and sandy with lovely palms jetting out of the yards toward the water. We were there right after a big tropical storm, so the waves were much larger than they normally are which did not make for the best swimming with little ones, but we made the best of it nonetheless. We enjoyed playing in the waves and digging in the sand, and the boys enjoyed catching as many crabs as they could on the beach. (just tiny little hermit crabs) Both boys became quite adept at it despite my husband and my natural hesitation to pick up something that pinches. I think the most they caught in one evening was 21 crabs.

We've been to Rincon once before (sans kiddos) and absolutely love the area. If you are looking for something serene, friendly and cultured away from San Juan, then this is your place. When we return, Casa Serena or Tamara will be where we stay.

Additionally, Nancy was very easy to work with and is very well organized. Her caretakers, Glady and Hector, are personable, friendly, and extremely helpful. They are genuinely lovely people who care about the property and your stay.

We can't thank you enough for a spectacular time and look forward to our next visit.

Best,
The Lambert Family
Chicago, IL

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Julie and Kory,
Thank you for choosing Casa Serena for your family vacation. We are very glad that your children enjoyed their taste of Rincon as much as you did. We know that Casa Serena is particularly well suited to young children. It was a pleasure working with you both from your first inquiry till this follow up. We hope to hear from you soon fabout another vacation.

Thanks,
Nancy Renee

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Vacation!

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We loved our week-long stay at Casa Serena. The house was perfect for the three of us, and had everything we needed for the week - cooking utensils, pots and pans, a grill, beach towels, sand toys, and a breezy spot for a hammock. The fenced-in grass yard was perfect for our 10-month old daughter to play in when she wasn't taste testing the sand on the beach. The big tree hanging over the beach behind the house was where we spent most of time, it provided great shade for us. The house was very clean and inviting when we arrived, and it was so nice for you to call and check on us to make sure we made it, after driving at night from San Juan. It was also nice to have laundry facilities.

Rincon is a very laidback town, with all the conveniences we needed, along with great restaurants and things to do. We spent almost every morning at El Faro watching the surfers catch waves. We stopped at the local ice cream shop to try the maiz corn with cinnamon we read about - a strange combination, but delicious! We also took day trips to the Guanica Forest Preserve and Ponce, which were easy to reach from Rincon. We are already discussing when we can return! We loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jenna,

Thanks for choosing our home for your vacation and for enjoying it as we do. Your comments are very gratifying and I am sure they will be helpful to future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thanks,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Serena - a slice of Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Nancy,


Casa Serena is a slice of heaven on earth. We had a wonderful time in Rincon and greatly enjoyed our stay at Casa Serena. What a delightful spot – right on the beach for watching the sunsets, listening to the waves break, and gazing at the pelicans diving into the water. After a hectic winter work season it was a joy to lay in the hammock for hours just reading and snoozing. I had no idea that such a contraption would be so comfortable.

The home is located conveniently to a variety of stores that for days the car didn’t leave the property in favor of walking to Edwards food store or to the Econo or the liquor store or donut shop or wherever.


As a runner I appreciated the proximity to 413 and 4413 and having the opportunity to see the horizon filled with surfers atop the waves.


The western section of the island was perfect for the day trips to the interior. We did make it to Lares for the wonderful visit to the ice cream shop known for its strange but flavorful variety of ice creams.


We want to come back again and again.


The house had the perfect accommodations for us and was pleasantly and comfortably appointed, furnished and spacious. I got spoiled by having two bathrooms. The place was spotless when we arrived (and hopefully we left it in as good order for the next people). You thought of just about every detail to make us feel at home. The kitchen was well stocked with all the dishes, utensils, and appliances that made meal preparations convenient and easy. We hadn’t made pina coladas in years – thank you for the blender. Knowing that a washer and dryer would be available made the packing easier – we took far less clothing items than in other times and that made life easier, too.


It was our good fortunate to find Casa Serena.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Michael,
Thanks so much for choosing our home for your vacation. It is so gratifying when our guests appreciate our slice of heaven as we do. And thanks for all the tips for future guests. I look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.
Thanks,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Beach Vacation

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

"The Perfect Beach Vacation"
What a wonderful two weeks we had at Casa Serena in January 2011! The house is an absolutely perfect place for a safe, carefree vacation. The kitchen has been recently remodeled with a new stove, refrigerator and cabinets. Perhaps most importantly, the beds are king size and super comfortable. But the real joy of Casa Serena is outside. The attached outdoor covered patio is part of a large garden area with trees, lawn chairs and a couple hammocks which we used a lot. You step thru the garden gate right onto the beach. Warm sun, clean sand, uncluttered beach, and ocean vistas that stretch for miles were ours. Put the welcoming atmosphere of Casa Serena together with the ocean and we had a fun, relaxing, carefree vacation. Thanks to Gladys and Hector, the caretakers, for taking good care of us while we were there and to Nancy Renee for providing this special place in Rincon. We will be back next year for our third vacation in Rincon and for an even longer stay at Casa Serena.
Pat and Richard, Ann Arbor, MI

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Second Trip to Rincon

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Nancy, thank you for letting us stay at Casa Serena again. This was our second trip to your home. We liked Rincon so much the first time we had to go back. The location of the home is hard to beat. Having a beach in front of your house is perfect. My kids and I spent most days on the beach. It was very convenient to go back and forth to the house for snacks and anything else we needed. We look forward to coming back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We were so happy to hear that you wanted to come back for a second visit to Casa Serena for Thanksgiving this year. Thank you for choosing Casa Serena for your holiday and thank you for sharing our beautiful beach and town. You have now joined our family of repeat guests and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Happy New Year,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved Casa Serena

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Casa Serena. We were all very happy with the apartment, which we all agreed was clean and well equipt with towels, kitchen supplies, etc. By the way, Gladys was great. She was always available to answer any of our questions. We enjoyed the restaurants and were amazed at the surfers. Best of all were the beautiful sunsets we saw from our beach. Thanks again, Nancy, for all your help. The information you provided us with was perfect, and we all appreciated your thoroughness.

Sincerely, Bonnie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Bonnie,

Thanks so much for being our guests. We truly enjoy your enjoyment of Casa Serena.

Please come back again and have a wonderful year.

Nancy Rene

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family vacation spot

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

Our stay in Casa Serena was one of our family’s favorite vacations. We enjoyed our lazy days at the beach, floating, swimming, snorkeling, walking and searching for sea glass, reading in the hammock or lounge chairs, and building sand castles. We liked eating breakfast in and then heading right outside for sun and sea. We ate lunch in or walked to the snack bar. For evening meals, we grilled or tried some of the local restaurants. The road side fruit and lunch stands were fun stops as well. Nancy, the list of places to go and see was great, plus Gladys and Hector were very resourceful. We had planned to do assorted short trips on the island, but didn’t want to give up our relaxing time at Casa Serena. Thank you for everything.

Paula, Bruce, Luke and Isaac, St. Paul, Minnesota

Owners response: Dear Paula, Bruce, Luke and Isaac,
It was a pleasure having you as guests in Casa Serena. We are so glad that you enjoyed our home, our beach and our fabulous town. Please come back again.
Have a great winter,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly Paradise!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

We stayed at Casa Serena with our two teenagers (ages 14 & 19) for 9 nights. It was delightful. My family loves the beach and having the ocean in the backyard was a treat. The house was well equiped for that 'home away from home' feeling. There is alot of information at the house regarding sightseeing, shopping, restaurants, etc. Nancy has made sure that people enjoy their time here and don't need to look too far for things to do. My girls liked the TV too much. I had to hide the remote!!
Gladys and Hector watch over the place. I called them several times to ask about details and they were very responsive and came by the house several times.
There were plenty of 'pool' toys to play with. Snorkels, noodles, boogie boards, etc. The washer and dryer were awesome to have in the house.
We had an fabulous time and have told our friends about Casa Serena. When we go back to Puerto Rico we willl come back to the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Kathy and family,

Thank you for being our guests. It is always great to hear that our efforts are appreciated and that our guests enjoy all the conveniences , water equipment, etc. that we have at the house. Gladys enjoyed her visits to you and thanks you for your parting gift. Please come back soon. Thanks again, Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

beyond my expectations

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

Casa Serena was beautiful, the pictures do not serve justice to the actual home. Location was on the beach . Water was rock free and family friendly.Kichen had 2 of everything, martha steward pots and pans barbeque grill was spotless as were the utensils. A/C in the kitchen as well the rest of the house. New food market 2 minutes away along with local spots to eat out. Beach chairs were comfortable towels were thick and clean. Fruit trees on property just pick and enjoy. Walk on the beach for a few minutes for happy hour .pirates punch in a coconut 5 bucks .Location is spot on for everything, jet ski banana boats fishing all water sports. The house actually had water rafts and floats for our enjoyment..We have visited Rincon for 6 straight years and finally found our home Casa Serena/// CONS::: My wife insists on getting a new mattress the minute we arrived home.ok another 2 thousand dollars..just smile ....

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear John and Pauline,
It was such a pleasure having you as our guests. I love it when our guests notice and appreciate all the big and little things I do in the house. It is my home away from home and I love when other people feel the same way. So you enjoyed our new Sealy mattresses, and the new kitchen equipment, and the new beach chairs, and you even noticed the new rafts I just purchased. That was my idea of relaxation, lying on the raft and floating in the calm, warm water.
Thank you for enjoying our home and come back soon.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Casa Serena for our honeymoon and came back for our anniversary this past May. The house and beach were just as beautiful as we remembered. And there's AC in every room (that was an upgrade from the last time we stayed) and much appreciated! It's a great location and Rincon is a fun laid-back town! Lots to see and do (you'll want a car). The beach in particular is wonderful. You can wake up in the morning, make a cup of coffee and walk out onto an almost secluded beach. I would highly recommend this rental! We look forward to many more vacations here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were so happy to welcome you back and look forward to many more anniversaries for many years to come

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity is what the name says and it is!!!

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying there last year September 28 through the 31st
It was one of the most memorable experiences ever.
The house was very centralised and wonderful, the sunsets are unbelievable.
Would love to be able to make this a yearly destination, if Nancy would have us?
I highly recommend this place, people are easy to talk to and there direction were perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful time, wonderful place, wonderful value

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

My sister Connie, her husband Greg, and their two children invited me to join them on their vacation this year (3/27/10 to 4/7/10). All of us had vacationed on Vieques before but never on the main island of Puerto Rico.

What a delight to spend our vacation in such comfortable accomodations with the beautiful Caribbean at our doorstep. Our plan was to spend a week in Tamara and then, after Greg flew home, for Connie, the kids, and I to move down the beach to a hotel for our last several days of vacation. Nancy knew of our plans and when Serena unexpectedly became available after our stay at Tamara was over, she let us know it was ours if we were interested. We were!!

The kids, ages 4 and 6, schlepped the foodstuffs through the backyard from Tamara to Serena while Connie and I did the heavy lifting and we were resettled in less than an hour. Casa Serena, though smaller than Tamara, was just as nice in every way. The kids had a blast. The ocean waves were just big enough to thrill them and we celebrated my sister's son's birthday on the spacious, Tamara patio (complete with presents, cake, homemade decorations, and pizza (the birthday boy's dinner of choice). The kids were relieved that the Easter Bunny knew of their whereabouts and that he had hidden their Easter baskets in Casa Tamara and scattered Easter eggs in the back yard for them to find. If future renters happen to find any stray eggs, you'll know how they came to be there).

We had such a fun time in both casas - enjoying the tropical surroundings, beautiful beach and sunsets, great meals on the patio - my sister is a wonderful chef - and the peaceful surroundings. We shopped for groceries and inexpensive island clothing (some real bargains) in a little mall just 3 short blocks from the properties and had some great dinners out at The Rincon Inn and Rincon by the Seas. Had we stayed longer, I'd have many more fun adventures to report - Rincon has so much to offer. But our goal was relaxation and great times with the kids and we had both!

Your property caretakers, Hector and Gladys are lovely people. You're fortunate to have found such dedicated employees.

Thanks for everything Nancy. You have two beautiful, well-managed places anyone would enjoy. We will enthusiastically recommend Casa Tamara and Casa Serena to others.

Greg, Connie, Elena, Max, and their Auntie Mae

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

An Incredible Find!

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

An incredible find. Dealing with Nancy on line was a delight. The location was as stated. the pictures on line are accurate. Had been to Rincon a number of other times, but this clearly was the best lodging experience we've had. Will return yearly if possible. Rincon is a great experience, not a resort town, lots of locals, lots of ex-pats, great food, great beach. Bring books

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dear Rafe,

We will be very glad to have you become one of our annual regulars. I love all the contact before, during and after with our guests. Thanks for commenting that our descriptions and photos are accurate; this is very reassuring to future guests.
It is my great pleasure to make our guests' visits comfortable and a great experience.
Thanks again for choosing us.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of my better vacations

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

Nancy, Super time at your place in Rincon. We enjoyed the house, the yard, the beach, the location, the sun and sand, the rooster wake up, the shade trees and breeze when too hot (not often.) Highly recommended. I might add that it is difficult to find a Puerto Rican who does not speak English. Do not fail to visit a panaderia for b'fast or lunch for a quick, not fast food, Puerto Rican meal. We'll do it again for sure.

Best regards,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for being our guests and enjoying our home. I look forward to having you back for another vacation.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just steps to the beach

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

I've been returning to this clean, simply but well appointed duplex just south of Rincon for many years. There's ample space for 1 - 4 people, two full bathrooms, good kitchen. Best of all though is it's proximity to the beach, which in "winter" is peaceful and uncrowded. It's located in a neighborhood just south of the town center and grocery stores, restaurants are easy to get to. The property managers are great.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for enjoying Casa Serena and making it you winter vacation home. We look forward to having you return next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: November 30, 2009   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

Nancy,

We had a great Thanksgiving Holiday at Casa Serena. My family will always remember having Thanksgiving dinner, sitting outside, by the beach.

Everything was perfect, I can't think of anything that can be improved. The house is so well equipped, at a great beach, conveniently located.

We will definitely contact you for future stays in Rincon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Helga,

I am so glad you enjoyed our home for your Thanksgiving holiday. Dinner in our garden, listening to the surf, watching the sun set, wow, that's Thanksgiving! Please come back again.

Nancy

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

Dear Nancy,
We stayed at Casa Serena for a week and have just arrived home. We had four day trips planned but only took
one to go sailing. Everything we needed was right there at the house. The beach was great for swimming and
snorkeling, the yard shaded enough to enjoy the views all day, my daughter spent most of her time in the
hammock reading and listening to music. We grilled out most nights and the kitchen was well equipped to serve
all of our needs. This was one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever taken. Thank you for sharing your
home with us.
Sandi Garvin

Owners response: Dear Sandi,
Thank you for sharing our home and beach and hammocks! So glad you had a very relaxing vacation. come again,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Waterfront Relaxation

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

This is a really nice place to stay (conveniently located), comfortable and cozy!!!!! The view is beautiful and you only have to walk feet to see the sunset. If you like low stress and enjoy the beauty of the tropics then this place is for you. We really enjoyed it and look foward to the next time.

Hasta Luego Mike and Trisha

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Trisha and Mike,
Thanks for being our guests, we look forward to your visit next winter. Have a good summer,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

My friend Kate and I stayed at Casa Serena for one week in January. It was all that we had hoped for and more. A perfect get away from the frigid VT winter, a restful week on the beach and calm nights falling asleep listening to the ocean! I would recommend this vacation spot to anyone!

Owners response: Dear Eva and Kate,
It's great to hear from you. I think of you when people ask if they will need a car! You are our "Vermont walkers" Please come back again.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 20, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Dear Nancy,

Thanks for the follow up. Our time in Rincon was fantastic and your home and property are so lovely (great kitchen!!). It was extremely comfortable and really felt like home. Loved the neighborhood, the town and surrounding area, just what I was hoping it to be. Laid back and hardly ever anyone on the beach, amazing. I'm so glad I was able to make this connection with you and will certainly recommend your place to the right people I know would appreciate it as much as Charlie and I. Still adjusting back into NYC, always a bit of a shock to the system after paradise, yes? I want to go back to Puerto Rico now, please.....

Thanks again for doing it just right. Casa Serena was a wonderful find and you are a most thoughtful host. We'll be in touch.

All best to you.

John Williams

Owners response: Dear John,
It was my pleasure having you as our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed our home. Come back anytime.
Nancy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 18, 2009   Date of arrival: March 18, 2009

If you are looking for a laid back experience,in a space RIGHT on the beautiful Caribbean ocean This is the the place for you The back yard leads right onto the soft beautiful sands of the beach. Please call if you would like further info.

Owners response: Thanks for sharing our home and our beach. And thanks for offering to answer questions for prospective guests.
Come again,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation Paradise

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

We want to thank Nancy Renee for sharing her paradise with us. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. The neighbor Sally was very nice and since she was a returning resident rental, she was very helpful in suggestions and reccommendations. Thank you very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Iowa Gang,

Thank you so much for being our guests. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Serena. Please come back again.

With warm Regards,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My Vacation

Review submitted: February 10, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

We had a great time on our vacation! This house was perfect for two small children, I would highly recommend it for anyone wanting a family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being our guests in our home. We are very happy that you had a great time and found it perfect for your family. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 20, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

A great place to visit, relax, and unwind.

Nicely furnished with all the amenities and located right on the beach.

You will enjoy yourself and want to return again and again...

Owners response: Thanks for sharing our beach refuge. We are happy to have you join the list of our returning guests. Come again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We stayed in one of the units at Casa Serena. Me,
my wife, and our two kids who are six and ten. We
had a blast! The place was very comfortable, and
with the terrazzo floors, easy to keep clean of sand
and dirt.

We used the kitchen to prepare breakfast and lunch
most days, and went out to dinner at night. There
were plenty of choices around town. And the Econo
supermarket is right down the street!

The beds were very comfortable and the
furnishings in the living / dining area were very
functional. There was a nice collection of books and
games to play with too.

The beach right outside the back door is paradise.
It looks as good in real life as in the photo on the
web site. It was perfect for little kids - waves
enough for a thrill but actually pretty tame. (We
were there in August - it might be more "energetic"
in surfing season.) At night you could see a million
stars.

We visited other beaches in the area but truthfully,
this one was our favorite!

We would not hesitate to return to Rincon or to
Casa Serena!

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation at Casa Serena. Please come back again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Why we return to Casa Serena

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: July 20, 2008

We're headed back to Casa Serena for our third visit next winter. The reasons we return are many -- beautiful secluded beach located right outside your door, gorgeous sunsets, lovely town of Rincon, etc... Last year we celebrated Easter at the church on the downtown square with hundreds of locals and visitors like us. Puerto Rico (Rincon in particular) is a great place for families, American and native Puerto Rican. Try a day trip to a place called Gilligan's Island. While the name makes it sound cheezy, it's anything but. It's a gorgeous natural cove on the south coast about 90 minutes from Rincon.
Casa Serena is clean, impeccably maintained and always comfortable, and my dealings with Nancy have been nothing but a pleasure. Hurry though. The Rincon secret is out.
Dunstan, Amy, Gilly and Clay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for joining our list of repeat guests who consider Casa Serena their vacation home away from home. We are happy that you have discovered the secret of our beautiful town and the comforts of Casa Serena. Welcome back always!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Tropical paradise -- with kids

Review submitted: June 26, 2008   Date of arrival: April 12, 2008

We had a wonderful vacation in Rincon, in part because Casa Serena was perfect for our two young boys (age 5 and 7). They were able to roll out of bed each morning and find their way to the beautiful garden and beach -- securely and completely at their own pace. Our children played in the surf, built castles in the sand and forts in the garden, watched crabs scurry endlessly about, climbed the almond tree, and rollicked in the hammock. As the beach outside was perfect for strolling and swimming, and nearby beaches (minutes away by car) perfect for surfing and shelling, my husband and I had plenty to do, as well.

We were surprised to find that the beach in front of Casa Serena was great for swimming, surfing and snorkeling, since it is rare to find such qualities in a single beach. Perhaps because we were visiting in April, the tail end of the surfing season, water visibility was average. However, there is a low shelf of rock coral at the shoreline which harbors beautiful and abundant marine life (we saw an octopus while snorkeling) in relatively shallow water. This shelf also serves as a terrific base for body surfing/boogie boarding. Boogie boards and kayaks can be rented from Villa Cofresi, a short walk down the beach. Villa Cofresi is a good place to visit if you want a roped-off swimming area -- and more of a social scene.

Casa Serena's beach-side garden is what makes it a unique Caribbean vacation home. The palm and fruit tree-filled garden, together with the beautiful, mature almond tree on the beach provided us the perfect respite from sun and surf.

It was a pleasure meeting Gladys, the housekeeper and her husband, Hector, who were extremely kind and helpful. I enjoyed chatting with them about local culture and tropical plants. We were especially touched by their thoughtfulness in bringing us an assortment of fruits (coconut, starfruit, sapodilla!) from their own garden, as they knew we were passionate about tropical and exotic fruits.

Yes, the beach is beautiful and the sunsets are spectacular. But most importantly, the unique amenities of Casa Serena allowed us to enjoy a truly relaxing tropical vacation with our kids.

Lisa

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay, please come back again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review