reviews for: listing #37156 - Tucson, Arizona Condo rental

Luxury Foothills Condo - Lower Rates
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Catalina Foothills
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $225 /nt
    $600 - $1,470 /wk
    $1,800 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

great value, quiet place yet close to everything

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We stayed in this condo for a week over New Years. What a great value compared to similarly priced hotels. It was great to have a washer/dryer inside the unit. The kitchen was fabulous, stocked with all utensils, spices, some things were higher quality than we have at home. Convenient layout, outdoor deck for viewing the sunset, and only a walk to a very nice bike path along the Rillito River. Trader Joes just a minute away, Tucson mall 5 minutes away yet very quiet, even on New Year's Eve. The unit was very clean and well maintained. We would recommend this unit to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serene retreat.

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

This is a fantastic place for either the vacationer or business professional who does not want the hectic environment of hotels and needs a few of the conveniences of home. This is a comfortable, clean place, as luxurious as most good hotels but with all of the conveniences of home. Very comfortable beds, high quality linens, kitchen supplies, etc. Steve and Lynn have provided so many little things that you need such as laundry soap, body wash, condiments, extra pillows, ironing board, hair dryer, etc. the list goes on. Just bring your clothes and food and you are set. I stayed here with a colleague as we were in town for a week during doctoral studies and we needed quiet, convenience to the U, and high speed internet access. We also enjoyed walking on the River walk since we did not have time to do any other activities while in town. Steve and Lynn are very easy to work with and everything met or exceeded our expectations. I am a frequent user of home away properties and this one was right up there with the very best.

If you are a U of A student/family just remember that you have to travel off peak to make the left turn out of the complex to get going west (I recommend going early or late, not at rush hour), and of course you have to have a car. Use Mountain instead of Campbell to reduce traffic hassles.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo + great owners = great time in Tucson

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

We found this place by accident and were we ever surprised. The owners were very professional and the place was outstanding. Lots of little things that made this place so special, lots of dishes and linen, even supplied detergent for disches, laundry and some condiments. The place was clean and very well maintained. It was a little too cold for the pool and hot tub, but they looked nice and I'm sure would be great in the summer.
The owners even sent a list of local attractions and some restaurants in the area and gave excellent directions to find their place.
The bed, linen and pillows were very comfortable and the TV was excellent.
Overall, we were really pleased and would recommend it highly ( note we were debating about telling everyone how great this place is, for fear that it won't be available for our next visit to Tucson)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Great place to stay! The condo was beautiful, as promised. We really liked the location - right on the bike trail, walk to Trader Joe's, a great Sunday farmer's market next door, close to Sabino canyon with wonderful hiking, and not far from the U of Arizona where we went to a play. The owners, Steve and Lynn, were very helpful with ideas for dining and anything we needed and also checked with us to make sure things were going well. We loved it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Tucson.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Condo

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We booked this Condo as we were looking for a place to stay when visiting family in Tucson. The Condo is really well appointed and everything is of high quality. We found the photos and description of the Condo very accurate. The property was very clean, well maintained and is located in an area convenient for a good choice of shops and restaurants. The apartment complex is quiet with plenty of parking and has a nice pool and areas to walk behind the apartment. The owner Steve kept in touch by email after we had booked and sent me directions and some really helpful area info before we visited. Steve also called me after we had arrived to make sure everything was okay during our visit which I thought was a nice touch. We visit the USA on holiday each year and found this to be one of the best Condos we have rented and would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Almost Perfect

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

This lovely condo has just about everything and the owners could not be more helpful and flexible. Our flight was very late on a hot evening and they had turned on the a/c and lights before we arrived. We felt very at home from the moment we walked in. The decor is very nice and the beds are comfortable and we loved the huge closet. The kitchen is very well equipped and there are even some basic food stuffs and there were lots of towels and other supplies, and the place is immaculate. The location is great, in between downtown and the mountains, so easy access to the UofA and downtown as well as hiking and exploring outdoors. The river walk is right out the door and there are wonderful restaurants and shops next door. There were only a few minor-very minor- things: There is a covered parking space but other people kept parking there. It would help if signs were posted saying 'reserved parking only'. However, we could always find convenient parking; and the pool could have used some umbrellas and chairs. But those were minor and the comfort and convenience overshadowed any problems. We were visiting family and had a family crisis. Steve was wonderful about arranging for us to extend our stay. It was really nice to be able to come 'home' at the end of a difficult day. We were very happy with this rental and plan to return soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great condo!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We stayed at this place during January of 2012 and really enjoyed it. It is well-furnished, well-stocked with supplies, and very comfortable. It's also in a great location - we liked being able to walk on the river trail and go to the nearby Sunday Market in the Plaza. At sunset, the living room deck has a perfect view of the pink skies! Thanks - we hope to come back again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best in Tucson

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

New and Clean 2bedroom/2bath condo in Tucson! Feel like home!
Owner Steve is caring and accommodating.

Ideal location for Junior playing Boy's 14 Winter National (walking distance to TRC). - There are two So Cal families already want to book this place for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a GREAT place!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Just came back from a week's stay at this gorgeous condo. The owners, Steve and Lynn have taken every measure to accomodate even the most picky tenant. This place superceded my expectations and my expectations are HIGH. The place was immaculate upon our arrival and very welcoming. The furnishings, linens, towels, beds, etc. were all exceptional. I haven't slept that good in a long time! I stayed with two teenagers who also LOVED the place and enjoyed the trail and the pool immensely. We had the pool to ourselves for most of the week. The location of the condo is perfect...very close to anything you would possibly want or need. Plenty of dishes, pots, pans, silverware, condiments, etc. We really enjoyed our stay here and plan on staying again in the future. If you rent this place, you will not be disappointed.
We had the pleasure of meeting Lynn (the owner) and her son, who were both very nice and knowledgable about the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place and location

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay in this great condo, and appreciated the quiet neighborhood. I've never stayed anywhere so well-stocked and comfortably outfitted with everything I could possibly need. The nearby Trader Joe's was a plus, and I loved being near the foothills. The owners were helpful and available the one time I needed to ask a question. To top it all off, it was impeccably clean--and I'm fussy!

It exceeded my expectations.

Thank you for a great stay!

M. Jean

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place for our group of 4

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

Thanks Steve & Lynn! We enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate to let our
friends in Canada know about your lovely condo in the foothills. Close to everything we wanted to do. We will definitely use you if we come back to Tucson.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a Wonderful time!!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

I wanted to let you know that your rental unit was excellent. It was nice to stay in, a beautiful, peaceful and challenge-free condo. The condo was clean and had everything plus much more than we needed. You and Lynn were very helpful and great to deal with. Everything was new and nicely decorated. It is one of the nicest condos that we have ever stayed in!

We are very happy we chose your condo for our trip. We will definitely stay here when we come to Tucson.

Karen and Mark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Outstanding Amenities & Service

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

Wonderful place...more than met expectations. Very clean, top quality linens, great kitchen, balconies. Flat screen TVs, wonderful king bed. Very close to hot tub (we were the only ones ever in it) and Rillito River walk. Walking distance to wonderful restaurants (we ate twice on patio at Vivace's at St. Phillips Plaza...walking distance so a bottle of wine was no problem). Easy drive to both of our favorite golf courses (Az National, formerly The Raven, has fantastic mountain location and views of Tucson) and Vistoso, a top rated course. Steve and Lynn offered great suggestions for restaurants, hikes, golf and markets (Trader Joe's is great and w/in walking distance). Our only regret is that we were only there 8 days. Tucson is a great "town"...we prefer is to Phoenix/Scottsdale...much more down to earth, nice locals yet w/ something to please everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We were pampered!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

Loved the place - was exactly as pictured - modern, fully stocked pantry, great master bed/bath - huge shower and closet space. Lots of space for a week or more stay, Internet connection, hosts were more than happy to answer questions or help out if needed.

Super access to River Walk behind condos - we did this every day. This is a quiet place - we never heard a sound from any other unit. It was immaculately clean. Two linen cupboards were fully stocked with plenty of nice LARGE towels, etc. Kitchen was a dream and I wondered why I brought all the condiments and food with me when I saw what was there. I left more than we used. Granite counters are great. Laundry products and anything you might use at home were already there. We brought out own of that too. It felt like home.

We highly recommend this place for anyone wanting a comfortable, clean and quiet location with plenty of luxury items, like HDTV and stocked kitchens and linens.

The Tucson area is so nice - it was very hot while we were there, but we didn't mind the dry heat as much as we do our own Michigan humidity. We had family visit one day from Phoenix and met with other folks we knew in the area, who showed us around. We ate at some marvelous places - Zinburgers and Firebirds among them. The area is rich with various cultures and shops and sight seeing. My husband was able to photograph many wildlife creatures.

The owners were so gracious and kind and checked on us several times to make sure everything was going OK. This was a super location in the north side of Tucson, accessible easily to main roads and areas.

If we had to mention one improvement, it would be for the builder to have installed elevators. We were on the second floor and it might not be suitable for handicapped individuals. The owners graciously offered to help us settle in, but we did need it. We managed fine and were so pleased with the accommodations we found there.

If you want a place that makes you feel pampered, this is it. We will keep this in our travel book for any future trips to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Another wonderful month!

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

My husband and I returned Jan 22nd after another month in this condo. I can not say enough about the owners of this place. They are just great to deal with. Talking to them makes us feel like we have known them forever. The condo was as clean as before and the sunsets just as beautiful. This time we went to the farmers market next door at St Philips Plaza on Sundays and also found a new bakery up in Oro Valley for breakfast. They also sell at the farmers market. Thanks again Steve & Lynn.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Week in Tucson!

Review submitted: March 19, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

We just arrived home after spending a week in Lynn and Steve's condo. The photos don't do it justice!!! It was so beautiful, clean and well located we called Steve up moments after arriving at our home for the next week. We are hikers and Steve was very helpful in giving us guidance for the many hiking trails nearby. It was great to have an urban trail as well just a few foot steps away. The restaurants Steve had suggested were also fabulous and made it easy to chose where we wanted to have dinner!! All in all we had a super experience!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Condo, Beautiful Sunsets & Wonderful Hosts

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 19, 2008

My husband and I rented this condo for one month and can not say enough about this place. It was just as the owners advertised and more. The cleanliness and decor was excellent. It is spacious, quiet and as mentioned above the sunsets were beautiful. It is conveniently located. Everything we could possibly need was provided. An added bonus, is the river walk right outside that seems to go on for miles. Also can not leave out that Steve is very helpful if one needs infor on what to do or where to dine. It was great dealing with him. We felt right at home and before we left, made sure we booked for next year. Thank you for making our month long vacation a truly wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 17, 2008

I was extremely pleased with all aspects of my stay in this beautiful condo. The condo was clean, comfortable, well equipped, and in a safe and popular area. This home is really much better than the pictures display; it's lovely. Steve and Lynn are friendly, accommodating, and made sure I had everything I needed to have a great stay. This will be my first choice in rental property for my future visits to Tucson. Susan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: August 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

As the other reviews said the condo was wonderful! Exactly as the pics show, very clean, wonderfully equipped and the owners are extremely nice and accommodating. It's location is one of the best in Tucson, close to great restaurants, shopping, River Walk, University, etc. We've been visiting Tucson for over 20 yrs., and this is the first time we have rented a vacation place from a private individual and it was a wonderful experience. So much nicer than a hotel! I believe your visit to Tucson will be enhanced by your stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: April 13, 2008

Great location, beautifully furnished. All the comforts of home in a beautiful locale. Minutes from shopping and attractions. Comfy beds, high quality linens. It's obvious that lots of thought was put into making this property a wonderful vacation rental. Would highly recommend! The owners were a dream to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Everything they promise and more.

Review submitted: March 4, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This new, lovely, second floor property is perfectly located for a visit to Tucson. It is central to most of the activities any visitor would wish to enjoy, including many of the very best restaurants in the city. Easily reached activities include a swimming pool, the river walk for hiking, jogging, or biking, the Tucson Racquet and Fitness Club (which offers short term memberships). The unit itself is well represented in the photos on the web site. It is very clean, well furnished, has a TV in each bedroom and a huge TV in the living room, and has an extraordinarily well equipped kitchen. We especially enjoyed the views of Arizona sunsets and the surrounding mountains from the balcony and through bedroom windows. Fittingly for a first class property, the owners really extend themselves to make their guests comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review