reviews for: listing #37195 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Affordable Comfort at the Hawaiian King-Aloha Surf Condo II
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waikiki
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $95 /nt
    $665 - $665 /wk
    $2,300 - $2,300 /mth

sort by:

Great location and price

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

A great place to stay, easy short walk to the beach, grocery store and other stores and restaurants. We were a party of three, my sister and my partner, all in our 40's. We stayed 6 nights.

As described. Great communication with the owner and the condo was very comfortable and clean and quiet surroundings.

We enjoyed being right in the heart of Waikiki, but far enough away to be peaceful, the pool was nice, but we didn't use it. Felt very safe, and we were worried that there isn't a safe in the condo, but we didn't feel it was necessary anyway.

I would recommend to family's, older crowd or couples. Might be too quiet for 21+ crowd. Can't wait to cone back someday.

Owners response: Thanks, Nigel, it was great to correspond with you and I'm glad you had a happy vacation in Waikiki!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great central condo in Waikiki

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We stayed in this condo for 4 nights in January 2014 and had a great time! It's in a perfect location and has all the amenities you need for a stay of any length. The condo was exactly as pictured and described in the ad. Andrea was very organized and easy to communicate with leading up to our trip. I'd recommend this condo to anyone looking for a place to stay in Waikiki!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Felt at home

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

We stayed in the condo for three weeks and had a very enjoyable visit. The condo is very well equipped, clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed has a memory foam topper which is very comfortable. Everyone we met here either living at the Hawaiian King or renting, was friendly and nice. We liked being right in the heart of Waikiki minutes from the beach and shopping. It is just a half block from a bus stop where you can catch a bus to all major sight seeing destinations so there was no need for a car. Andrea was wonderful to work with and responded to all our needs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you, Mary -- it was a pleasure to correspond with you and I appreciate your positive words!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Stay

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in February and it was awesome. The owner was seamless to deal with and the condo was set up great. Read previous reviews before booking and they were a true reflection of our stay. Everything was well thought out and very cozy, other people in the building were very friendly and the condo’s location in relation to the main strip was very central. We also rented a car for a couple days and the car rental was right down the street which was very conveinent. I would definitely recommend others to stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best place for vacation

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

I love this condo so much!!!! It has best location(5 mins away from Waikiki). It has everything in this condo( Body lotion,body wash, shampoo, sun cream, BBQ etc). My mom said that she would liked to live in this condo again for our next vacation. Book it now!!!!! GOOD PRICE!!!! GOOD QUALITY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! <3 <3 <3

Owners response: Thank you, Judy! I'm happy you had a great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Condo

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This was an excellent condo. We felt at home from the moment we stepped inside. It felt less like a rental and more like a thoughtful friend had lent us their condo for the week. We were extremely impressed with the attention to detail; there was nothing that we needed that was not there. The location was excellent; with all of the facilities Waikiki has to offer within a few minutes walk. The only downside was no parking but we were able to find local lots easily so this did not present any great problem. The owner was extremely helpful and thoughtful in all of our dealings with her. We would definitely book it again if we were to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

Fabulous!!! Fabulous!!!Fabulous!!.. We spent 10 wonderful days here. The unit had everything you could imagine, just bring yourselves and the sunscreen, then you'll be set. We loved the balcony where you could sit and enjoy breakfast. We used the kitchen facilities a lot, as we had a child, everything worked like a charm, all gadgets supplied and extremely clean. There's even a picnic basket packed for your use downstairs by the pool ( no glass wear allowed)
The location is excellent, hop, skip and a jump to the main drag or the canal. We walked everywhere, things were that close.
If we should come back to Waikiki for a break, we will stay here for sure. Thank you Andrea for your great communication when we booked. After traveling for 8 weeks around the Pacific, your service and accommodation deserves a five star rating, believe me . Thank you so
much!!!!

Regards
Mary-anne & Glenn Melbourne Australia

Owners response: Wow, thank you for writing such wonderful things about our condo. I enjoyed corresponding with you over the past year and tried not to be too jealous of your trip around the Pacific ;-) ! Best wishes to the three of you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

the perfect tourist retreat

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This trip to Hawaii started with a restful time on the Windward side of the island and ended at 201 Hawaiian King. It was perfect! we turned in the rental car and walked or took the bus to all of the Honolulu sights. The location if fabulous. At the end of a typical tourist day it was wonderful to return to a condo so well kept and quiet. We loved having pupus in the evening out on the deck and a restful evening inside. Andrea has thought of everything! I've never seen a rental condo so well equipped (even martini glasses!). The only thing I would change was having more time there.

Owners response: Mahalo, Jule -- so happy you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Oahu Vacation

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

Aloha! We rented this condo from April 18 - May 2 and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. The condo was the perfect size & very clean. It had everything we needed to enjoy our stay & the location was really convenient (right down the street from Duke's Lane). The front desk staff were super nice and helpful. We did end up renting a car for a couple days to tour the island & there is an Impark across the street where you can park overnight for $8. Andrea was awesome to deal with & answered all the questions we had. We would definitely recommend this condo & hope to come back next year! Thanks for everything Andrea!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo, Brandi & Armando!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Condo community has old "Aloha" charm

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

I travel to Hawaii on a yearly basis, and found a great new place to stay. This condo unit has a lot of charm. While nothing fancy, I felt so much at home. The place is well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked, and well lit. The lighting is wonderful, with overhead lights, as well as plenty of lamps. The unit is well stocked with beach supplies-- numerous beach towels, beach chairs, etc. The lanai is very pleasant. Not only does it have the table that is shown in the pictures, but there is another set of table and chairs that is on the lanai as it wraps around. Very large and spacious. The dressing room was a nice surprise. The storage unit/drawers was very pleasant and worked well with the room. The bed for me, was great, as I love a firm mattress. Plenty of hangers are in the closet. The air conditioner cooled the unit very well, and many times, I just ran the ceiling fans, and the floor fan that was provided.

The laundry room is very convenient -- just a short flight down the stairs. It is well maintained and affordable. And, the dryers actually dry! The condo has a laundry basket in the bathroom, making it easy to haul dirty laundry to the laundry room.

The pool, while small, was extremely clean, and well maintained. There is a grill that is available to use (just sign up for it!). Staff was excellent, friendly, and helpful.

There is a bar in the lobby area, but the unit is so far away, that you never hear the noise. In fact, it was very quiet.

A simple convenient store is downstairs for those last minute needs. There is a grocery store down the street (Food Pantry), but it is rather expensive. I prefer going to Don Quiote's, located near the Ala Moana Shopping Center, for grocery shopping. Food prices there are great, and also, great prices for souvenirs!

It is a short walk to the beach, bus lines, the International Market Place, and numerous eating establishments.

The best thing about this unit, is the environment. It is peaceful, quiet, and full of charm. If you are looking for the old "Aloha" charm, this is the place.

I will definitely be returning! Andrea (the owner of the unit), communicates well, and helped make the trip smooth and efficient. No problems!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Gary! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and it's been a pleasure corresponding with you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Felt Like Home only BETTER!

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

I've always stayed with family when traveling to Hawaii but seeing as my recent trip was for medical purposes I decided to rent a condo with my husband. It was well worth it and it's the way we'll be traveling from now on. The condo is perfect for a small family, has a full kitchen with everything you'd need to eat at home, a large patio for relaxing and a swimming pool right downstairs that's usually empty. The laundry room is reasonably priced and the dryers actually dry your clothes in one cycle. I was happy to find 100's of books for guests to trade, I left behind quite a few of my own. Everything was clean inside and out, the sheets on our the large bed are better than anything I've ever slept on and the breeze alowed us to go without air conditioning most of the time. The building is secure and the staff and maintenance crew were wonderful. The housekeepers checked up on us halfway through our stay to see if we needed anyTthing.
Theres a grocery store about 2 blocks away and dozens of restaraunts right up the street.
The Hawaiin King has a bar downstairs that's small but always crowded in the evenings.
However since it's a corner untit, farthiest away from the lobby entrance we couldn't hear a thing.
I look foward to staying there again and highly recomend it to anyone who wants to be in the middle of everything with the convenience of being at home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A very Home feel vacation experience

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

This place has all the amenities needed to feel like home. The unit is a gem, with small touches of class. Forgot some last minute toiletry item.... don't worry, the this well stock unit was just what the doctor ordered. Did I mention the great flat screen TV. The very clean pool and outside grill was ready for us daily. Another plus is that this place is conveniently close to all the shops and sites. No car needed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

The condo was great and had everything we needed. Very quiet and close to the beach and everything else. A lot cheaper than a hotel. I had a good time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good location & great value

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

The condo was well equiped, comfortable and clean. the atmosphere in the complex is very relaxing. The bus stop is just a few steps away.
This was our 4th trip to Hawaii, and by far the best accomodation for the money. The owner is friendly, courteous, helpfull and profesional to deal with. We hope to rent this condo again.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

My 2 small kids and husband spent 13 days in this condo and loved every minute of it. It had all the little stuff and was a very comfortable stay. Perfect location and lots of nice people. It is stocked with kid friendly things like a pac-n-play and single stoller along with beach toys and towels. The noise factor was not and issue. It is right on all the bus lines and a short distance from the beach. We said we would for sure come back here and have recommended it to some family friends that will be traveling there soon. The price is right and the friendly people are a plus also. It was a very easy to rent the place and the owner is extremly pleasant and accomondating.
p.s. No car needed!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place/ location, very clean!

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

me, my husband and 2 kids stayed here for 2 weeks and it was everything the pictures show and more. First of all Andrea (the owner) was excellent to work with and was very helpful in anything we needed. the condo is a great size and is very well stocked. there are even tons of sand toys, beach mats/ chairs, and it was all around great. She even had a pack and play crib for our little one which was a lifesaver! It is in a great location, everything you need is so close. When we first arrived we were a bit skeptical of the appearance of the front of the building but once you are in the door and into the pool area it is such a pleasant place! The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed a bbq by the pool one evening and the laundry room is close and very clean. There happened to be some loud renters in the building next to us when we were there but that was the only noise complaint we had. overall if you want a clean, great place to stay for not a lot of money this is your place! I would love to stay here again if we come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Value and Access to Everything

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this condo for 8 days and it looks exactly liike the pictures. We were very happy with our stay. We loved the location and access to the beach and shopping.

Staff was friendly and the condo was stocked with everything we needed. If we ran out of anything, there were several ABC stores within walking distance. We only rented a car for 3 days and walked everywhere or took The Bus. We really felt at home.

We hope to make a return visit very soon!

J & P, Atlanta, GA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaiian Getaway

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

This is a cozy, convenient place to stay. It is centrally located in Waikiki beach. Everything is walking distance and parking is no problem. There are a lot of places to park around the area. The condo is very well maintained and furnished with anything that you would normally use in your house. Although the shower could use a little more lighting. But everything else is great. The condo is clean and affordable, perfect to give you that extra cash for your vacation. Why pay extra for hotels when the convenience of a house is here. There are also a lot of places to eat, drink and shop. And Andrea was very helpful and easy to talk to. The front desk was very friendly and they keep the pool/surroundings clean. They even look after the guest making sure there are no strangers wandering around. I would definitely recommend this place and am looking forward on staying on it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaiian Hideaway

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

This condo is comfy and cozy. The unit is very clean and well kept. The pool area is great with nice poolside furniture and a grill. There were always friendly people at the pool to hang out with. Everything you might need is provided including beach equipment. Staying here was like staying in our own personal little Hawaiian Hideaway. I have recommended this condo to all of my friends, and would love to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place for Families

Review submitted: April 12, 2009   Date of arrival: March 22, 2009

This a great place to stay with kids, very close to everything and fully stocked kitchen makes it that much easier, we cooked breakfast every morning in the condo and had our lunch by the pool every day. We grilled fresh meat and fish for lunch every day on the grill by the pool, which we purchased from Safeway just a mile away ( do not shop at food pantry - close but way to expensive). For diner we went to the international market across the street and had some local fusion, which is great and inexpensive, our personal favorite is a Korean place called "Choi's Kitchen" $9 for the plate with choices of 2 meats and 4 choices of sides and tastes great. As for the condo itself, it has definitely exceeded our expectation. It's got all of the beach gear, kitchen has all the things you need and more. Location is perfect. One thing to note, which did not bother us too much, is the windows. They are louvers type and do not offer a solid outside noise blockage, so if the neighbors are partying you are too, other than that the place is great. Thank you very much Andrea. Few tips fro you. 1. if you do not rent a car reserve with a8taxi $58 + tip round trip. If you need anything baby related checkout babysaway.com they have anything you need for the baby and they deliver and assemble. Best beach for the toddlers is on your left about 200 yards or less towards the zoo, no waves and very shallow. Enterprise rent-a-car is next door and they will honor the price from another location for you reservation. So overall we had a great time and would most definitely recommend the place to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Home Away from Home

Review submitted: January 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hawaiian King Aloha Surf Condo for about a week, and I could not have asked for a more comfortable and convenient place to stay. Even my boyfriend who has been to Hawai'i numerous times to visit relatives was very impressed. The condo was cozy, clean, and, most importantly, well-stocked with everything that we needed. I doubt even a 5-star hotel would have all the amenities that the condo has: a fridge, a cooler, beach towels, utensils, A/C, reliable wireless Internet, etc. It was literally a home away from home.

Parking was also extremely conveninent. We parked our rental car down the street at Island Colony. We paid up front and went in and out as we pleased. It was very easy.

We loved where the condo was located. When we first arrived, we stopped by a nearby Safeway to grab groceries. During our stay, we walked across the street to eat at International Market Place and grabbed hot dogs from Hank's Haute Dog Stand. In the mornings, my boyfriend would take a jog down to the beach. Although we didn't need to use public transportation, the bus stop was right on the corner.

We felt very safe and secure during our stay. We encountered no problems, but I knew that if an issue arose, I could go downstairs to the front desk. We didn't take advantage of the pool, but we did make use of the laundry room, which was a relief (I got to pack fewer clothes to leave more space for souveniers). If we needed anything, we could run downstairs to the mini-mart.

My only warning to other travelers is that because the condo is located in the heart of popular, bustling Waikiki, it can get a bit noisy in the area. We arrived the weekend of the Honolulu Marathon, so there were quite a few visitors. Someone (in the building next door) was playing music rather loudly on Friday night. It didn't bother us much, but for those who are especially concerned about noise, you may want to take that into consideration when looking for a place to stay.

My one and only warning is not a complaint against the condo. It was an absolutely wonderful place to stay during our trip. I would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be staying there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Our condo experience

Review submitted: November 12, 2008   Date of arrival: October 23, 2008

My wife & I are eighty years old, & have travelled the world, staying in hotels, but after our wonderful experience living it this condo, we were sold.
This condo sleeps four, & the mattresses are top of the line, Every amenity is covered, the place is immaculate,
Built of brick, & is very quiet & peaceful.. We spent many hours on the wrap around patio, just watching the lovely green leaves flowing it the breeze.,
Adrea the owner, is very efficiant, I will recommend this condo to all my family & friends. Walter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review