reviews for: listing #37275 - Hunter Mountain, New York House rental

Hunter Mountain Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  11
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  40
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $500 - $1,500 /nt
    $4,000 - $5,000 /wk
    $8,000 - $15,000 /mth

sort by:

Great house!!!

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

We rented Vasili’s property for a gathering of friends and families in the late autumn. We loved the house and the entire area, and Vasili and the property management team were prompt, professional, warm, and responsive to virtually any request or question we had. There was enough space for us to gather in large groups when we wanted to for games or meals, or to split up into smaller groups - the TV in one of the side rooms came in very handy for the people who wanted to keep tabs on the football games! And, it was very friendly for the owners to have left games and puzzles for us to enjoy in the main room.

The bedrooms were simple, but very comfortable. They are eclectic in terms of design and came in a number of configurations, which was helpful for our group. All the rooms were very warm and cozy!

The place was large enough to accommodate our group - over 15 adults at its peak - not only in terms of sleeping arrangements, but for a couple very large meals - we were able to fit our big group around the table in the dining room. And the kitchen was set up beautifully - two refrigerators, two ovens, a big island that allowed several people to work at once. We have many chefs in our group, so we did need to bring some appliances/cookware; that said, the house did have several pots and pans (including a roasting pan big enough for a turkey) and more than enough dishes, glasses and silverware.

There was a fire pit in back that was great for a small backyard fire - they will provide wood for a small charge, or you can bring wood yourself (local firewood only, please! It’s bad to travel far with firewood!!) Also, the yard was big enough for the kids to run around until they exhausted themselves, and the grown-ups to throw around a football or a frisbee.

Vasili and his team were so thoughtful and helpful - they attended to many of our needs and wants ahead of time, and responded to all the questions we had before and during our stay very promptly. We really loved the house and our time there!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

This was our second stay there. We are a group of 50-year olds, some skiers, some aren't. It is our tradition, for at least 10 years now, to rent a place near a ski area for a February weekend. The group was steadily increasing in size, so last year we rented this house. We are glad we did.

The place is big and well kept. Dining room is huge, with a long table, which could probably seat 30 people. The kitchen is big and well stocked - two fridges, two gas cooktops, microwave, all kinds of utensils, plates, etc.

The bedrooms are numerous, tidy and comfortable. The WIFI works. And the owner Vassili is very accommodating and responsive, real pleasure to deal with.

We will definitely be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cannot wait to stay here again!!!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

This humble abode was cozy for the 20 people that spent the weekend getaway there. We ended up spending a lot of time in the house because our weekend was hampered by bad weather, but we still had an amazing time. The huge dining area is great for eating comfortably and playing games. The two living areas were perfect for activities like watching the games or just lounging and conversing. There are numerous bedrooms that provided comfort for those wishing to sleep. When the weather finally allowed us to hit the slopes, the house was conveniently located just 7 miles from Hunter Mountain. A local bar/club was a cab ride away, and provided a great form of entertainment for us. In addition, the owner facilitated the whole process, and made the transaction seamless. He was very helpful every step of the way. We would definitely recommend staying at this location. We had such a wonderful weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

First, I would like to Thank the owner Vasilios. We were a group of 16 couples who needed a nice,not to far from home and kids, weekend getaway. This house was the perfect solution! It was easy to get to,private and quiet.It was our first weekend away without the kids in a very long time. More than enough room, maybe too much!!!! We all went through the house jokingly asking which wing they were in. It was clean and neat. The best part for us was the big dining room which we enjoyed a Saturday nite sit down dinner that everyone had enough room to sit at the table. We spent the entire weekend in that room. On our way home we already contacted Vasilios and let him know that we will be making this our yearly parents weekend getaway. Also, Hunter Mountain is down the road and take 5 minutes to get to. We would recommend this place to others and look forward to making more memories there. Thanks Vasilios for everything.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful House for Large Ski Trip Groups

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

I just returned from a New Year's Eve weekend at the Vasili House and absolutely could not have asked for anything better. We were a group of ~30 25-30 year olds and everything about the house was perfect for our stay.

The pictures do not really do the house justice of how nice and cozy it actually is and we were all so pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The house has more than enough room to sleep a large group, plenty of bathrooms and living room space for a great time. The large dining room and dining room table were perfect for our New Year's Eve dinner and having the two full size refrigerators and oven/stoves were very useful. House is a nice easy drive to the mountain and plenty of space both out front and back for throwing a football or other activities.

Would highly recommend this house for anyone in need of a great space which can more then comfortably accommodate large groups. The owner and renter were very pleasant to deal with and we could not come up with a single complaint from the entire experience.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Surprize 30th Bday!!

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

We had a group of 20 people gather for my Wife's Surprize 30th Bday!! The house couldn't have been better. We were able to cook breakfast for 20 people easily. The yard was MASSIVE and we really enjoyed playing catch and having the dog run around outside. The owner was very pleasant to deal with and made our stay memorable.
Would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Time - Everything My Group Needed

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

I stayed in this house last year and liked it so much I came back again and will certainly do so next year as well. I organize a group of people to go skiing each year and this has been perfect for us. The house itself is huge and in great condition. The satellite tv kept us busy during down times and the main room with it's large table was great for eating dinner together. It's centrally located to the mountain so was only a quick ride allowing us to hit the slopes early. Lastly, the caretaker and owner were very attentive during the weekend making sure we had everything we needed. Although we didn't need anything because they made sure to have everything prepped for us it was nice to know that they were there if we needed them.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Going back every year

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

I stayed in this rental for the first time in January 2010. My group consisted of approx 30 people btwn the ages of 24-28 looking for a ski trip. The location was perfect. Only about 15 minutes from the mountain and very private. Everyone had such a great time that we rented it again in March 2011 and plan to make it an annual trip. The owner, Vasili is great to work with and very reliable. The house has plenty of room and well maintained.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for a Family Weekend

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

We had an amazing weekend with a group of 25 children and adults. The house was more than large enough with a great dining room that held us all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Huge house, very quiet area, beautiful scenery

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

This house was great for our reunion. Lots of bedrooms/beds, huge gathering area for meals, ample room outside to sit around a fire and roast marshmallows. The house is an older farm house, but well maintained for its age. Everything was clean and comfy. I would definitely stay here again...it's perfect for a big group.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect.

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

I had a group of about 42 18 year olds to go away for a couple of days and this house was perfect. There was a huge yard and a lot of sleeping room. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect setting and a very accomodating host

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

We had a work reunion at this house last August and ended up booking very last minute as we had to cancel our other accomodations. The owner, Vasili, is tremendously accomodating and very helpful and efficient with the registration process. It was a pleasure to work with him as opposed to some other vacation rental owners we have used in the past who make it seem like they are doing you a favor.

The house is located in a beautiful valley and the house is far from surrounding neighbors which makes the setting feel very private yet open at the same time. One word of advice, the house is about 15 minutes in either direction from the nearest town so buy any food or supplies that you will be needing before you get to the house. The house was very clean and well decorated and the ground floor had some very interesting sitting areas as well as an enormous dining room. The bedrooms were all a good size and bathrooms were clean.

I would definitely recommend this house to large groups looking to have a fun time together without all the necessities of an urban center. We hope to come back to this or Vasili's other property as often as possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Beautiful Escape from the City

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

The house was perfectly located around beautiful mountain highlines that consistently provided breathtaking views from 5AM till after sundown. Our group of 45 slept well in the house and we had plenty of room between the kitchen and outside dining areas for meals. While there isn't much to do in the area besides a couple of lakes, the HUGE backyard was home to some of the best frisbee and football games that I will never forget. Vasili is a pleasure to deal with and was in constant contact with me during the 6 months prior to our stay. I would recommend the house to anyone and hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Absolutely wonderful

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

We were happy to find The Grand Lady Victoria in the Catskills. Vasili was easy to deal with and very accommodating which made it all very easy and comfortable. There were 25 of us and not one complaint. In fact everybody loved it. Thank you Vasili. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Ski Weekend

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

I rented this home for a group of 30 and it fit my exact needs. As advertised, the house is huge and close to the mountain. It's very clean and well taken care of. It's located off of the highway but secluded enough that your group will have privacy. Vasili was very attentive and detail oriented throughout the whole process which made it very easy on me. I highly suggest anyone to use this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

I brought my scout troop up there for skiing at Hunter Mountain. It was perfect for us. Large kitchen with two stoves and two refrigerators with a long dining table suited our group perfectly. We could not have been happier. It is an older house with its own personality; plenty of bedrooms, couches, and other places to sleep with privacy. Dealing with the owner, Mr Stertsios was a pleasure and look forward to doing business with him again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect for winter getaway

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

For the past two years, I have rented this house along with other members of my professional engineering society, SHPE. It is safe to say that everyone was extremely pleased with the house. Our group consisted of 20 people one year, and 25 people on the other year. The house is spacious and well kept, with large bedrooms and bathrooms. On both years it seems we rented the house on hte coldest weekends of the year. We rented the house on the third week in Jan. this year when temps were below 0; last year we rented in late January when the temps. were 15 below zero. All the rooms had plenty of heat, despite the freezing temperatures. The heating system is fantastic, along with the hot water system! The house is close to Windham mountain, where we all went skiing and snowboarding. It's also near Tannersville, where we had dinner in one the many restaurants in the area. The owner, Vasili, is very accomodating and friendly. The TV, stereo, and internet came in handy, and the fireplace in the kitchen adds a nice touch. This house definitely rates *****.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

the best

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2008

This place was the best. Stayed there with 16 friends for a week and we had a great time barbequeing and having field day in the backyard and jamming some music. Really a great place with a great view.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for Friends and Large Groups

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

last summer we rented this house with 16 friends and it was perfect! There was plently of space, to sleep, eat, and hangout. The house was located in an ideal plot of land with a lot of room for outdoor games and activities and provided us with some seclusion. The renters were so friendly and helpful, while still respecting our privacy. Everything felt clean and was comfortable and was well so perfectly suited for a large group of friends. The double fridges in the kitchen and lots of shelf space got alot of use, as well as the oven and outdoor bbq. The dinning room was ideal for large family dinners, and there were more than enough clean and comfortable couches and chairs for all of us. I couldn't have asked for a better experience or house!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved this house and would absolutely return!

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

I can't put into words how much fun our vacation in this home was. It was our senior trip and I can't imagine a better house to spend a week in with my best friends. The owner was extremely friendly and easy to talk to. The house is amazing, and very spacious. We were a group of 16 people and there was more than enough room for all of us. The backyard served as a a spot where we would hang out during the day. We even had our own field day in the backyard and our friends band put on a show. It was a beautiful spot to stargaze or just throw around a frisbee. I would absolutely return to this house, without a doubt. One of the most memorable vacations I have ever been on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PERFECT FOR A WEDDING WEEKEND!!! :)

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

Hello Vasili!!!
i have been meaning to send you an email for weeks now and I am so sorry that i am only doing it today.
I just wanted to thank you soooooo much for helping to make our wedding day such a memorable and perfect day. Your house delivered EXACTLY what we had in mind for our families and for the party. We had a blast and everything worked out perfectly.
THANK YOU so much again for the amazing pastries and breads from your fathers bakery; they were a HUGE hit and left people wanting more!!
Thank you for being so gracious with your hospitality. You really helped make our dream come true!!!
We hope all is well with you and your family!
~Beatriz

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Reunion of Yale and Harvard PhDs & Postdocs

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

My students over the past 25 years and I gathered together this week -- with families! Many described the week as magical and I think a lot had to do with the setting. This is a rustic house, cottage, and barn and we rented them all so we could have the run of the place. The backyard is large and gorgeous -- the kids pitched tents, we played ball, and took private walks one on one. the house allowed us to cook together, discuss research late at night, and admire the Catskill mountain region during the day. The owner is a wonderful man who set up the house for us just right and with whom we were able to be in touch regularly. Wonderful experience and will surely visit again! Thanks Vasili from all the eggheads who gathered this week for an unforgettable reunion.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just had my wedding here!

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

Great house, Stunning location! My wife's and my family (35 people) all stayed here for a wedding weekend and we cannot say enough about how great the experience was. The grounds were perfect for a wedding in such a scenic location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a lovely time.

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 15, 2008

This house was great for us with a bunch of kids. The property is big and there was plenty of room for them to run around w/o annoying the adults. We had a really nice time here and will remember it fondly.

The house is an interesting old Victorian. The kitchen and dining room are big enough to cook and serve up a feast.

Watch the showers though, that many people leave little hot water!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review