reviews for: listing #37325 - Mount Hood, Oregon Cabin rental

Wildwood River Cabin - Panoramic Views of the River
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $325 /nt
    $910 - $1,080 /wk
    $3,200 - $4,890 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous property in convenient location to Mount Hood activities

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 6, 2014

A super nice cabin, clean cozy with all the amenities we needed on a beautiful piece of property. The cabin is lovely with all wood walls and cabinets. We were just 2 of us, but there are 2 bedrooms and 1 1/2 baths. The kitchen was well stocked and easy to move around in. Comfy leather sofas, nice kilm rugs and the most amazing view outside the living room window onto the wooded backyard with the Sandy river. The sound of the river is so soothing, we enjoyed seeing hawks, deer and ducks all along the river (luckily for the ducks, not at the same time as the hawks.) We stayed here for 1 week making this a home base to explore the Mount Hood and Columbia river gorge areas. We went on multiple hikes and drives and on a rainy day enjoyed relaxing at the cabin with books and getting into the hot tub which overlooks the river under a shelter. Divine! The owner was easy to work with from the get go - all instructions were easy to follow and were common sense. We had a wonderful vacation and would highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

JCA

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

Great little cabin on the river. Fully functional for a relaxing or adventure holiday. Convenient to many local hiking trails as well as Mt. Hood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely & peaceful retreat setting

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

This was a beautiful & peaceful setting for a 5 sister retreat. We appreciated the river view and lovely mossy, park-like grounds. The hot tub was wonderful, especially in the rain. We enjoyed watching the squirrels, wood ducks & a pair of Canadian geese & their fluffy ducklings on the river bank. The cabin was as described. It was comfortable & well appointed, and worked out well for a group that included a person with limited mobility. The owner was helpful & friendly. Next time we would plan to stay a little longer. Thanks for sharing your lovely cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Riverfront Cabin

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

This was the Perfect Getaway! Close enough to all conveniences but far enough to feel isolated and private. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous, the cabin ideal. Everything that was needed and more was provided for by the host. The hot tub was the "cherry" on top. We felt privileged to stay and would love to return for a longer visit. Would definitely recommend highly!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Came from the midwest and loved it!

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

The place was even better than the pictures! We took my 92 year old mother-in-law to visit her best friend and we ended up only being 2 miles away from her. The place was easy to get around for her and we enjoyed our stay. It rained all but 1 day, but looking out at the river with a warm fire blazing was perfect. The house had all the amenities and more. Was very clean & well maintained, enjoyed the hot tub. Was a week before Thanksgiving and even baked a turkey, kitchen had everything! Would recommend to anyone and would like to go back in the summer. Had a pizza delivered from Mougal Mountain pizza and was great, they came in the rain and found the place. Couldn't get enough of the river.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful and Relaxing!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Very cute cabin and beautiful views from the livings room. We were lucky enough to be at the cabin over a very snowy and cold weekend. The cabin was very warm and cozy - loved the wood stove heat! We also really enjoyed sitting in the hot tub, listening to the rushing river and watching the snow flakes come down. Wish I could do it every weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Such a lovely environment, inside and out!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary and just loved it so much!! Outside the cabin was so wonderful being by the river and the trees, so peaceful and relaxing! Inside was even better than the pictures. This beautful cabin truly stole our hearts. It is so comfortable and so lovely, it really felt like home for us. We will, without a doubt, make another trip here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

East Mtn Air Cabin

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

This cabin was perfect for our 24th anniversary. We loved the cabin itself, the view from the living room and dining room area, the roaring Sandy river, and the accessibility to Mt. Hood Ranger Stations and hiking trails. We were happy just to sip our coffee and eat our breakfast on the porch or at the picnic table. The cabin itself had every comfort and convenience. We would definitely return for another stay. Our favorite hike: The Salmon River Trail.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect place to rejuvenate!

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

A fall weekend at the Wildwood River Cabin was just what my husband and I needed to help us relax & rejuvenate after getting married over a month ago. We were both so inspired by the beautiful location on the Sandy River and this super cozy cabin in the woods. We enjoyed everything from the covered hot tub, playing horse shoes, reading on the extremely comfortable couches, making home cooked meals, listening to music, and being only a 5 minute drive from the grocery store to pick up last minute items. We can't wait to go back & can't believe how close this getaway is from Portland!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, relaxing space

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Wildwood Cabin for our 10th anniversary and loved it. We felt very private, despite houses on both sides. The beds are very comfortable, the decor simple and uncluttered yet cozy. Magazines for reading, dvds for viewing were an added surprise. The hot tub was perfect, as were the red huckleberries ripe and ready for the picking just off the deck. Grill off the deck great for preparing the perfect steak. And the sounds of the Sandy River flowing just steps away from the house lulled us to sleep each night. The wood stove kept the house very warm and provided just the right romantic touch. Sigh - can I go back right now? :)

The only negative was that due to flooding the water had a terrible sulfur smell (not in the hot tub, though). We brought our own drinking water and just took short showers. Hopefully that will get flushed out in the future, but even if it doesn't we'd still love to come back with our 2 kids sometime. Horseshoe pit + horseshoes on the lawn would be fun with kids as would the picnic table and fire ring by the river. There's also a fold out futon in the front room for extra sleeping. We'd love to come back in the winter to play in the snow, too.

Great hiking on Mt. Hood as you are right there. Highly recommend Top Spur trail for excellent mountain views and wildflowers. For a shorter trip, Veda Lake was lovely for a swim.

Choose this cabin and I don't think you'll regret it. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect spot for a relaxing family getaway

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

I spent the weekend here with my mother, husband and infant son. The cabin is outfitted in a cozy, rustic style with all of the modern amenities. There was plenty of space for us to spread out, doze by the fire, whip up homemade meals and head out to the hot tub to watch the river roll by. It's truly a beautiful location with an unobstructed view of the Sandy River from the living room. Linens, dishes, towels and bedding are well-stocked, including the warmest down comforters on both beds. There are board games, magazines and DVDs to keep you entertained in stormy weather; horseshoe pits, a barbecue grill and a wraparound deck for sunny days. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect spot for a relaxing family getaway

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

I spent the weekend here with my mother, husband and infant son. The cabin is outfitted in a cozy, rustic style with all of the modern amenities. There was plenty of space for us to spread out, doze by the fire, whip up homemade meals and head out to the hot tub to watch the river roll by. It's truly a beautiful location with an unobstructed view of the Sandy River from the living room. Linens, dishes, towels and bedding are well-stocked, including the warmest down comforters on both beds. There are board games, magazines and DVDs to keep you entertained in stormy weather; horseshoe pits, a barbecue grill and a wraparound deck for sunny days. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

relax, refresh, recharge

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

There was the first moment of getting out of the car and hearing the river, and then the second moment of walking up to the front door and seeing the tableau of cabin, deck, hot tub and grounds, and then the third moment of walking past the threshold into a gorgeous, super welcoming and obviously loved and loving space ... and I was instantly at peace, every sense assured that I was going to RENEW over a very short period of time. The cabin is spacious but infinitely cozy, the proximity to the river couldn't be more perfect, the kitchen is in perfect order, and the hot tub is immaculate. Every amenity speaks of great effort made to offer the quintessential retreat experience, and I will definitely recommend it widely!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relax, refresh, recharge

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

There was the first moment of getting out of the car and hearing the river, and then the second moment of walking up to the front door and seeing the tableau of cabin, deck, hot tub and grounds, and then the third moment of walking past the threshold into a gorgeous, super welcoming and obviously loved and loving space ... and I was instantly at peace, every sense assured that I was going to RENEW over a very short period of time. The cabin is spacious but infinitely cozy, the proximity to the river couldn't be more perfect, the kitchen is in perfect order, and the hot tub is immaculate. Every amenity speaks of great effort made to offer the quintessential retreat experience, and I will definitely recommend it widely!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Abundant Serenity & Charm

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Wow! We love this place with its abundant serenity and charm. You’ve done a wonderful job putting this cabin together, very thoughtful and concerned that all who are here have an enjoyable stay. Your love and sensitivity are pervasive in this cabin. Thank you for creating this refuge from a crazy world. We feel renewed and recharged to face it again.
Many blessings, Doug and Teresa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, relaxing and romantic

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

We had a very nice relaxing getaway. The hot tub was great! The view gorgeous, The cabin was very clean! Really nice!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review