reviews for: listing #373300ha - Playa Penca, Costa Rica rental

AMAZING OCEAN AND SUNSET VIEWS OVER PLAYA PENCA
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 175 - $ 278 / night
    $ 800 - $ 1,949 / week
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Great place to enjoy a perfect getaway!

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

Our family stayed at Villa Cielo Mar during the week of April 6-13 2014 and found the Villa and its location perfect for exploring the northwest corner of Costa Rica. Landing in Liberia we drove to the coast not knowing what to expect, and after driving by the larger resorts we wound our way into the local environment until we came to the Villa. It was a pleasure to be away from the main tourist hubbub, and to feel like you were part of that local community. The Villa was wonderful, plenty of room for the five of us, and the week we were there the other two units were not being used so we had this special place to ourselves. From early morning swims on the beach ( 5 minute easy walk) or in the pool, to late afternoon perfect sunsets the house could not have been better. The house was fully equipped so that we cooked all our breakfasts and half our evening meals there, while being able to go out and eat at the unique local restaurants the other part of the week. Using the house as a base of operations we were able to easily get to surfing, sailing, fishing, yoga and horseback riding opportunities, along with an easy 1 1/2 hour drive to Rincon del la Vieja national park for a day of hiking, zip lining, and waterfall swimming. While a concierge service was available, we actually found we were able to make all our excursion arrangements ourselves. If any questions did come up about the house, Carol was available via email and answered all our questions quickly. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to just be able to relax and enjoy their vacation while enjoying the unique opportunities this property has to offer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A true gem

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

The villa was very nicely decorated and had a superb view of the ocean. My Mother, husband and I stayed there over Christmas and we really enjoyed it. The kitchen was fully equipped. It is very close to a beautiful beach (Playa Penca) that is not crowded. We also used the bbq a couple nights. I would highly recommend this place. We are already thinking about when we could return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house with spectacular views.

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

My family loved the house. The ocean view and sunset are spectacular! We felt like we were in paradise. We traveled to different parts of Costa Rica but the Potrero area has been the best. The house is beautiful and comfortable with great view of the ocean. The beach is within a short walking distance. The entire house is awesome. We didn't want to leave. We loved the house the beach and the neighbors. We definately will be going back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular Views and perfect location!

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

We had such an amazing stay here near Playa Penca. My wife and 3 children spent 6 nights and enjoyed every second. The home is located conveniently near several different beaches that offer solitude, away from crowds and are friendly for children. The house itself is a nice 3 level with an exquisite master bedroom at the top. All three levels offer spectacular views. We are destined to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great area/great rental!!!!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

I recently got married in playa Potrero and was looking for a rental for my parents and little sisters. After careful research and constantly bothering carol the owner with questions. I decided to book this rental and it was so perfect. I got married at the Bahia del sol which is walking distance from the roads and beach to the house. It was perfect for my family and beautiful inside and out. Carol also provided great advice on who to book with transportation- Eco trans which was so affordable from Liberia airport to the hotel- 90 dollars one way for 6 people.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The Photos Do Not Lie! Cielo Mar is a slice of He

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Cielo Mar with my parents from March 18-23, 2013. We were looking for a balance between our typical indie, budget, adventure travel (which is our normal style) and something with a touch of class and luxury because we were celebrating my parents’ retirement. Villa Cielo Mar was perfect. It was a bit off the beaten path, which is perfect for us, and Carol’s attention to detail in the directions made the navigation easy!
We arrived a bit earlier than planned but even so Scott and Carol eagerly greeted us…it was so warm (having just traveled from Monteverde). They showed us the ins and outs of the villa, the really thorough reference documents that included anything you’d need to know during your visit, provided us with their email/phone numbers in the event their thoughtful planning didn’t already cover everything.
The condo was one of three-3 story condos rising above the beautiful Playa Penca. Set in the middle of the condos, the first story included a basic and clean bedroom, bathroom, laundry room, and a convertible bedroom that overlooked an outdoor kitchen and the pool.
The second floor served as the primary living area. A beautiful gourmet kitchen was stocked with all of the essentials that we needed for our eat-in meals. There was also a great dining and entertaining space. The highlight of the second floor was the second floor balcony, which provided a view beyond our expectations.
The third floor was our master suite. The bed seemed like a California King and had the most amazing balcony overlooking the Playa Penca. There was a beautiful Jacuzzi ensuite with a tiled shower and amazing Mexican tiled sinks. Our one complaint was that the second floor bathroom had poor water pressure (the first floor bathroom had awesome pressure) but not having a “suicide shower”, which is a rarity in Costa Rica, made up for the third floor water pressure.
Beyond the great physical space, the service was awesome. If we had any worries, we just called or emailed Scott or Carol. Carol even made arrangements for us to have a local fishmonger stop by the villa and offer us options from his daily catch including some of the largest most delicious shrimp we’ve ever had. Finally, using Homeaway’s deposit and payment service was awesome! All I had to do was fill in a check like form with my bank’s information for the full deposit and rental amount. I am always anxious doing this, and in truth almost opted for another option because of the pay

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

" Rocketed into the fifth dimension!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

Our 7 night stay, from the beginning to the end was more than what we could have imagined or expected. The constant availability of our hosts, Carl and Scott Higgins...priceless! Money can not buy the level of support, direction and guidance they so freely offered whenever needed. The respectful welcome of the locals wherever we went...absolutely amazing! We were many times in places we had never been while never feeling lost. The setting, the accommodations and the weather all combined to create memories that will last a lifetime...and it also served to open up a world of possibilities. I have to smile while I insert the following because I thing we may be onto something. We noticed the following...of all the species of "man's best friend" that we encountered in Costa Rica, not one; I repeat, not one, ever made the slightest gesture of unfriendliness toward us. We know we are biased because we love our own furr-kids, but could it be that the lifestyle in Costa Rica is such that it effects all living things with the most serene approach to existence? Could be.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Property Is Awesome

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We've never rented a property outside of the USa. It was so the right choice! The home was clean, comfortable, in a quiet area and within a 3 minute walk to 2 beaches, a small market & 3 restaurants (the first one on the left just after the food market was our favorite). We didn't even end up renting a car since all was within this area. We were so fortunate to have the owners, Carol & Scott in the area when we were there. They gave us several very helpful tips...but then I did find all the same information in the book of the area that they provide with the house. We connected with alex Tours for transportation for a couple of excursions and our return to the airport...he is great and speaks very good english. Do Not Hesitate to rent this property! You will make new friends at alot of these places!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Location

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We spend a week in this conveniently located villa in Costa Rica. It was our first time in Costa Rica and we were very happy with our experience. It was very close to the beach and various restaurants. It also had a swimming pool and jacuzzi for our use. The views from the balconies are incredible!

The owners were very helpful. Booking and receiving the keys was a breeze. convinient.

We highly recommend this villa. We had a great time and will be coming back very soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

The first thing I did when I got to the villa was take a picture from the main balcony of the amazing view because I knew it was going to be my screen saver! We were met at the property by Kevin who was with the management company and he showed us everything we needed to know about the villa. It's frightening to rent from pictures on the internet but these pictures did not lie. The villa was clean, comfortable and lovely. Kevin also connected us with alex of Red Pacific Sunset tours who was awesome.

While there we horseback rode, ziplined, went out on atv's and enjoyed the most beautiful beach. We didn't get a car so we were limited on the restaurants within walking distance but they were very good. Our favorite was Las Brisas which is on the beach. We enjoyed watching the same two cows take a regular nightly stroll on the beach while we had dinner!

Bring nothing fancy! Everyone is very casual. You will definately want tennis shoes as the roads are rocky and the hill to the villa I swear got steeper everyday! If you have Verizon for your phone service, you won't be able to get it there. However a landline was being installed in the villa while I was here.

I love to travel but this was very possibly my favorite vacation ever!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pura Vida

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

Villa Cielo Mar is a little bit of heaven! The views from all 3 levels are amazing. Carol and Scott's house is one of three townhouses but we had total privacy for the 11 days we were there. It was so nice to have the pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves. The house was in walking distance to 2 beaches, Playa Potrero which wasn't a very nice beach and Playa Penca which was fabulous. Also a short drive to Playa Danta, our favorite. We saw and heard many howlers around the house and at Danta. We were also in walking distance to a few restaurants.......all very good. There are several small markets close by for food, cervezas, vino, etc. In addition, a short drive away there are some larger markets. Claudia was helpful in arranging our snorkeling trip and massages at home. Jenny has magic hands and I only wish we could have had a massage every day! My husband and I have rented vacation homes/condos in several countries but Carol and Scott have topped them all. You will get a workout....there are 3 levels. Of course something was always forgotten so it was up and down the stairs.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular views

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We arrived late afternoon and Carol and Scott were waiting to greet us. First, let me speak about Carol and Scott. What fabulous people. They were always available, provided outstanding service, guidance and direction. I really can't say enough about them.

The Villa was well located and had spectacular views morning and evening. I thoroughly enjoys sitting on the main balcony in late afternoon. The breezes were wonderful. The Villa had all the requirements to make meals and the BBQ was great for evening meals. We loved that we could walk to many local restaurants. Las Bris as was our favorite - try the marguerita!! Its wonderful. We has pizza several times from Marco Polo's. It was really good! Our favorite beach was flamingo - well worth the 4 k drive.

We loved having the pool for the late afternoon swims.

Great vacation, great hosts, great location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Increiblemente maravilloso!

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

La estancia en este dulce lugar es increíble. Maravilloso vistaje al amanecer y anochecer, se puede contemplar lo lindo que se ve el paisaje. Cerquisimamente a diferentes playas, restaurantes, y tiendas de conveniencia (tan cerca que uno puede caminar). Los dueños son fenomenales, sinceros y carismáticos. Fue nuestra primera vez en Costa Rica y fue súper. Definitivamente volvería a quedarme en este fantástico hogar. El hogar tambien tiene una piscina y jacuzi para poder disfrutar de unos traguitos en el jacuzi o después de un chapuzón en la piscina.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This was the perfect getaway. My husband and I rarely get away for what I call a tropical vacation. And when we do, we hope that it's going to be the perfect get away for us to relax and have fun. We traveled to Costa Rica with good friends and found that the three story condo was the perfect getaway. It really was ideal for 2 couples or a family of 4 or 5. Each level had a view that was amazing. I always looked forward to early mornings with coffee or evenings having cocktails sitting on the deck. The pictures we took of the sunsets just don't do it justice. Words or pictures can't describe how pretty they really are. Although, we did a fair amount of cooking (the house was totally equipped), we went out to eat a great deal as there were several awesome restaurants within walking distance. And the people there were so friendly and helpful. I really miss the fresh fish, fruits and vegetables! The beach is only a 5 minute walk. Our experience there was authentic as the condo was not located within a resort, but in a small community. Carol and Scott were incredible and were a wealth of information. I highly recommend it!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Views!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We stayed in this amazing 3 story villa for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. The amenities and the views of the ocean from both balconies were amazing. The owners were very helpful and answered every one of our questions. The villa is conveniently located very close to the beach, various restaurants and food shops.

We had a great time and will be coming back very soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Private paradise

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend a fantastic week at Villa Cielo Mar.
The unit was clean and decorated with Costa Rican flare.
The views from every level were stunning. We watched the sunset every night from the balcony sipping piña coladas.
Waking up to the sounds of Costa Rica, including howler monkeys was priceless.
The pool was clean, refreshing and right off the patio of this unit.
The location of the condo with easy access to the town of protrero was nice. Easy walk to numerous restaurants and grocery stores. As always the locals were friendly and helpful. That is par for the course in Costa Rica!
Carol and Scott were a pleasure to deal with.
They were easily accessible if we had any questions.
If you are lucky enough to spend time here you must get Carol to get you in touch with Frank, the fish guy. We bought jumbo shrimp and Mahi Mahi which were fabulous on the grill. Best fish tacos I have ever made.
If you are looking for a relaxing private vacation away from the crowds of a resort, this is the place for you.
The only negative is that we had to leave.
Thank you Carol and Scott! We will see you next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unas vacaciones inolvidables en Playa Potrero!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Mi familia y yo estuvimos en la villa por una semana, fue un viaje bastante bonito. La vista que tiene la villa es increíble. Los atardeceres se ven magníficos, siempre nos sentábamos en el balcón a verlos mientras tomábamos café, muy relajante. El lugar es tranquilo y está muy muy cerca de diferentes playas.
La villa cuenta con todo lo que uno pueda necesitar y mucho más. La cocina es perfecta, bastante amplia, me gustó mucho. La casa está muy bien diseñada y es bastante cómoda. La piscina siempre muy limpia y perfecta para refrescarnos del clima caliente de Guanacaste!
También tienen una guía turística bastante completa que nos sirvió un montón para nuestras vacaciones.
Nos encantaría volver!
100% recomendable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Sunsets

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

The most wonderful vacation ever! The ocean and mountain view is breathtaking from the terrace. Villa Cielo Mar is not only beautiful but very comfortable.

Every restaurant that we ate at in Potrero was perfect. The local folks in this small town were very helpful and friendly.

We walked to the local resturants and stores. However, we rented a car to go sightseeing and visit the shops in neighboring towns.

The fishing cove in Potrero is within walking distance and convienant to meet our fishing guides.

I strongly recommend this fabulous vacation spot and plan to return.

Thank you Carol!!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet and Lovely

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay! The condo is wonderful, with everything you need to do your own cooking if you wish. Very clean, good air conditioning,comfy beds, lots of bottled water. The small pool is wonderfully refreshing during the very hot days! The area is "real" Costa Rica - not touristy at all. So if you like tons of people around or if your kids like to make lots of new friends, this is probably not the place for you. But if you would like to experience life where the locals live, this is great. We did our grocery shopping in a couple of little stores (everything is in Spanish so it was an adventure every day!) and ate out at an excellent restaurant (Sol Y Mar) several times (we enjoyed it so much) just short walk down the hill. Carol and Scott were wonderful hosts who felt like friends from the moment we met them. We rented bikes hoping they would do to get us around, but not being acclimatized we found it pretty difficult to go very far in the heat. So we rented a car later in our holiday, which we probably should have done sooner. The only downfalls to our wonderful vacation are that there were large waves (someone told us it was the Easter Tide) and an unusually long Red Tide which made swimming and snorkeling close to impossible from the beaches. Thank goodness for the private swimming pool! We enjoyed the myriad of birds and the howler monkeys every day. We didn't see the monkeys very close, but we sure heard them! We went on a fishing trip one day and had a blast -- five red snappers, one grouper and three skipjacks! We also enjoyed a sunset sail. We would definitely recommend Villa Cielo Mar if you're looking for something off the beaten track.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pura Vida in Potrero

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Our family spent only 4 days at Villa Cielo Mar and wished it had been longer. Carol was awesome to deal with through email and when we were actually there. She and Scott gave us great hints of where to shop ,restaurants and activities in the area.
The townhouse was well equipped and very clean. Internet access was quick and very helpful. Absolutely loved the pool area and watching the abundance of bird life and occasional visits from the howler monkeys. Sunsets were superb..truly Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A room with a view

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

What can I say? As the Very First Guests at el Cielo my boyfriend, Wally and I are now totally absorbed by planning trips back to Costa Rica; it was so perfect. Potrero itself is exactly the way it should be; out of the way and with it's special slow rythym. The house itself is spectacular in every way even when you're NOT looking out the window. We were lucky enough to be the first guests to stay here...there was still construction in the other units...so we had the pool to ourselves. Laying in the pool and watching the band of monkeys cross goes down as one of my top 5 things I've ever done !! Thanks for sharing and we hope to return.
Diane and Wally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is the place!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet spot with a beautiful view of the ocean, a fantastic location, a great swimming pool and all the amenities of home, this is the place!

We have been coming to Costa Rica for the last 5 years to visit our daughter and her family. When we were visiting last April, we saw this great villa located on a hill overlooking the beach and decided to check it out. The owners were very nice and we decided to rent it for two weeks this year in March. It has become our favorite place to stay.

Every morning we would wake up and have our coffee on the balcony overlooking the beautiful view of the ocean. The villa's location is fantastic. It was a 5 minute walk to the beautiful beach, Playa Penca. One of our favorite local restaurants, Sol Y Mar, is right down the hill, a minute walk and next to that a little grocery store. The villa has all the amenities you could want to make you feel at home. There is a beautiful kitchen with everything you need. There is a comfortable living room with T.V. and wireless internet. Next to the beautiful swimming pool is a great outdoor eating area complete with a barbecue grill and wet bar.

We highly recommend Cielo Mar Villa!

Lou and Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A secret paradise!!

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Carol and Scott have an incredible place here in, perched on a hill with a view that will take your breath away each day, that you will sorely miss and never forget once you return home!!

We stayed at the villa for just over two weeks with our three children, 3,5 and 7, and my sister who joined us. There is everything you could possibly need in the villa, full kitchen with all the apliances and amenities that make you feel at home, or better than home!! The pool was perfect and with the warm weather the kids were usually in for a morning swim early each morning before heading to the beach. And would return to it each afternoon.

There are two beautiful beaches just a short walk away. Playa Penca quickly became our favorite, where we played in the waves, boogie boarded and explored the tide pools at either end of the bay. On our second last day a whole family of Howler monkeys were perched in the trees just a few feet above us along the road to the beach.

The village of Potrero is very charming and has everything you could need. My husband enjoyed his daily afternoon bike ride, borrowed from our neighbor Jack who was wonderful, to Super Wendy, the local farmers' market and Lola's bakery for anything we might need. Always stopping for a cold beer while taking in the beautiful view of the ocean.

If you need more "action" the busy and bustling town of Tamarindo is an easy trip by public bus and a quick cab ride away. As we didn't rent a car we took the local buses in twice with no problems at all. We ha d a great time for the day there, but we were relieved and thankful to return to our tranquil little Potrero and our home, Villa Cielo Mar.

If you are not the cooking type there are plenty of restaurants nearby. We walked into the Italian Village a couple of times for supper and really enjoyed it.

My husband and a travel throughout Costa Rica many years ago and would come back here in a heart beat. So many quiet beautiful places we found ten years ago are now so developed and busy, such as Tamarindo. We hope that Potrero remains untouched so that others can in enjoy it the way we have.

Thank you so much Carol and Scott for opening your home to us. We will highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Home away from home in Costa Rica

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

My husband and I, along with two friends stayed at Casa Del Mar. Our hostess, Carol, was there to greet us and show us around when we arrived (which by any standards was very late). The house was tastefully and simply decorated and very clean and tidy. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we could want, including an amazing blender! The pool was unheated, but refreshing during the heat of the day. From all three balconies/terraces we had an amazing view of Playa Penca. This house also included free wifi and satellite television, beach towels, bottled water cooler, and laundry facilities. For someone who was looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation this was the place to be.

The hosts had put together a very informative and helpful book on where to go, where to eat, activities to pursue in the local area, how to drive in Costa Rica, etc. This is a must-read for anyone wanting to familiarize themselves with the area prior to heading out. The beach was a short walk down-hill from the residence and through town.

We enjoyed the atmosphere of this quiet little town and were thrilled to shop at a local farmers market everyday for fresh produce, at a local meat market for fresh chicken and beef, and at the numerous little grocery stores for other items we needed. If you are looking to get away from the bustle of typical "tourist towns" like Tamarindo and enjoy quiet country life, look no further!

I would highly recommend this listing to anyone and I would love to come back here again with my young children next time. They would have a blast! The price was very reasonable for all that was included. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly and available by email or phone if needed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful vacation at this gorgeous condo

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We rented at Carol and Scott's place for our second Costa Rican vacation and definitely want to go back! The condo was a perfect fit for our vacation (couple with two teenagers). It was walking distance to two great beaches as well as a few restaurants and had amazing views.

All amenities you could need, lots of space, a great pool, much privacy and the most amazing views. We really enjoyed the early morning dips in the pool and the nightcap drink on one of the many patios as we listen to the monkeys playing about.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Vacation Villa

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and our stay at Scott and Carol's Villa Cielo Mar was beyond our expectations. This grand villa is situated on a hillside overlooking the Pacific with every amenity we could possible need. The infinity pool was so nice to hang out in, the kitchen is well equipped, and it is in a great location for all the local beaches.
We snorkeled in Playa Penca and Playa Conchal, we paddle boarded at Flamingo Beach, and enjoyed dinning on the beach in Tamarindo.
Speaking of dining, we had dinner at the Palacio del Sol, a resort situated on cliff with a spectacular ocean view - highly recommended.
Scott and Carol's expert advice helped us plan our zip line adventure, hikes and experience the local 'sodas', all great fun!
There is so much we want to do on our return, but for sure, we will be back to the Villa Cielo Mar soon for more adventures!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Looks too good to be true, but it really is true!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

I stayed at Cielo Mar for 7 nights. It is just as beautiful as the pictures. Here are the great things about it:

-five minute walk to the beach
-near flamingo beach but not on it, Play Potrero is not as touristy and has a great local feel to it
-large place with a magnificent view
-the people who manage it are very helpfull and very nice, they also know the good deals on excursions
-if you like to cook you have your own kitchen and carribean cook book
-you can get cleaning help for a great price
-The house is stocked with just about anything you can think of that you will need for a comfortable and fun stay
-markets and stores within walking distance
-very safe

only thing on the negative side was that it was somewhat difficult to find. There are no addresses in Costa Rica so be sure to get detailed directions.

I really enjoyed this trip and highly reccomend it for anyone

Owners response: We insure that you receive detailed driving directions to the villa prior to your departure. For guests that do not wish to rent a car , we can arrange for shuttle service to and from the airport with a local transportation company that is familiar with our location.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

paradise

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Beautiful space. Minutes from beach paradise, great local food, convenience store, everything you need. Carol and Scott are amazing hosts, very easy to work with, quick to take care of any issues, great with recommendations. Do not hesitate to stay here. Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking View !

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

Villa Cielo is truly as pretty as the pictures in the listing and even more so . While sitting in the Costa Rican rockers on the main balcony ,
you'll be mesmerized as you watch the fishing and sail boat activity coming out of the Flamingo marina. Keep those binoculars close by for
a close look at the incredible array of birds that fly by or to zoom in on the fish activity in the bay.
Playa Potrero and Penca are easily walkable as well as a variety of restaurants and grocery stores. Playa Penca is truly one of the nicest beaches in the area..never crowded, beautiful white sand mix with some black granules and just the right amount of surf for boogie boards.
The pool , wetbar and outside dining area are a great place to just kick back after a day at the beach. Carol and Scott were incredibly helpful in helping us put together activities and making referrals to maximize our week...We would return to this property in a heartbeat..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

relaxing vacation

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We stayed at this lovely townhouse in January. It is very comfortable with a great porch with rockers facing a panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean. It is a short walk to beautiful Penca Beach or hang by the pool ,BBQ on the patio and just enjoy the fabulous sunset every night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the town house at Pacific Height's, the views were spectacular. Incredible sunset views, close to the beaches and a very nicely appointed property with all that you need for a great vacation getaway. I am a photographer and I was able to get some great shot's of the sunset's, beaches and wildlife. Be sure to get out on the ocean if you stay there, they have some great fishing charter's available close by. I will be back to enjoy this tropical paradise on the hill!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

I recently stayed at this beautiful townhouse in Potrero. It was tastefully decorated,had spectacular views of the ocean and sunsets,great pool and outdoor dining area,wonderful porch with rockers to enjoy the view and the sounds of costa rica, and was very close to several beaches.It was a very relazing and enjoyable vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

This place is a paradise, beaches right down the street,the beach is to die for. We felt like we where in a resort. The town house view is beautiful, sunset every night.We look forward to next year and stay even longer!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review