reviews for: listing #37331 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico Villa rental

5-Star Luxury; 3-Star Price; FULL STAFF/COOK
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  8
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Centro
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $640 - $1,120 /nt
    $4,500 - $8,500 /wk
    $9,500 - $12,500 /mth

sort by:

Family Reunion

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

The house is in excelent conditions, very nicely furnitured according to the house style. Beds with nice quality of linens and pillows, for a good rest, though! Staff is attentive. I didn´t like the staff working schedule for the weekend (9am to 3pm), because according to lunch time for mexicans, you end paying large sums of money for the overtime working hours. Plus the high tips they are use to. Very convinient location just about 5 short blocks from the zocalo. Excelent view of the city from the roof garden. Anyhow, we were very happy and had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a most fabulous stay at Casa Alhamba

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

The staff was most pleasant and friendly and knocked themselves out to please us.
The beds were most comfortable. The house was beyond beautiful.
Our family had a vacation we will always remember fondly and appreciatively

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a most incredible time last week at Casa Alhambra

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

The staff was warm and most anxious to please. The villa was beyond beautiful!
The beds were very comfortable. We couldn't believe the view of the city from the rooftop terrace. It was a full surround vista of the city with the Perroquia and other churches right there. It was mesmerizing.
Everything was first class. Our stay will always be remembered as one of the finest vacations we have ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

From the Owner

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

I am writing in regards to the review above. First of all, it is not written by the tenant, but a guest of the tenant. This is the first I heard of not warm water and no internet. I, nor my house manager was ever notified by the tenant. In fact, an instant hot water system was installed in the house in May. The house does have internet service. The walls are 3 feet thick so sometimes you need to go near the wireless router to get service. But it is always there. The staff, in fact, are full time staff at the house and NOT from a service. As far as not speaking English, this is Mexico and all maids and housekeepers speak Spanish! If they spoke English, they wouldn't be maids and housekeepers. The staff and myself knock ourselves out to make sure the guests stay is as best as can be. An example in this case is that a crib was bought for this woman's baby (guest of a guest) and sheets were especially made for it along with blankets, etc. No mention was made of that. I don't think guests of guests should be making these comments when the person who signed the contract made no complaints and we were not notified that anything was wrong by them. If we had, all efforts would be made immediately to remedy them. This home has been rented consistently for 3 years and no tenant has ever made a complaint.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 

I am the Owner and am most surprised by the above review!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

I rented the house for a month to the above person's parents. My understanding is that they joined their parents for 10 days of the month. This is the first I heard of no warm water or no internet. They were NOT reported by this person's parents, the lessee. As a matter of fact, I installed a new instant hot water system in May and no tenants reported any malfunction to me before or after the July stay either. As to the internet, the internet is in the house. Since the walls of the house are 3 feet thick, you have to be near the wireless modem to make it work at times. As the the staff being hired by an agency, that is totally false. They work in the house full time. No, they do not speak English - nor does any staff working in any of the houses here in San Miguel. If they did, they wouldn't be working as housekepeers and maids. I also have a house manager and he wasn't informed of these so-called
problems either.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

No warm water, help is not well informed

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

I stayed at this property and it had very mediocre service, NO warm water for showers - I literally had to boil water to add to cold in the bathtub to wash my little baby. When one travels for a whole day to reach a destination and they have paid a LOT of money to stay there it is beyond disappointing to be freezing cold and have no warm water to shower. Future travelers should know that you do not get what you pay for when you rent this property. We did not have a warm shower for 10 days, did not have internet as promised and the "help" could not help us because they are hired from an agency and they do not know how the house runs. And, thankfully my husband spoke Spanish because no one who worked in the house spoke English- it was not a good experience. It is beautiful, but what is beauty if one is uncomfortable the whole time?

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review