reviews for: listing #37367 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Ocean View Pool Jacuzzi 4 BR 3 Ba
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Hawaii Paradise Park
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $185 /nt
    $1,155 - $1,155 /wk

sort by:

Great House

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

The house is beautiful and very convenient. We were a group of 10 people with a baby and we had a great time there. Pao was very helpful for all the information we needed. I really recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, spacious home

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

My extended family, ages 15-79, loved this house! My daughter ate a starfruit from the tree in the yard every day. The coqui frogs came out at night and "sang" to us until the birds took their place in the mornings. There is a county park a few minutes walk away with a good trail along the water. We walked on it mornings and evenings. (There's no beach access that we found, though; you can't actually get to the water itself near the house because of steep rock faces). The pool is lovely and big enough to swim laps in. Volcanoes National Park is a 40 minute drive away, approximately, and has wonderful trails and places to explore. The house is well-equipped, clean, bright, and airy. Mahalo for the chance to stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

Loved all of it. Loved the pool, jacuzzi and creative lava gardens. Loved the updated kitchen and comfy beds and bedrooms. Best of all it is in a great location, close drives to all the wonderful sites Hawaii has to offer. Especially loved the lava pools on Wai O'pei nearby for snorkeling. Mahalo to the owner and caretaker for taking care of our every need!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We've had a wonderful time in this house. The pool and the hot tub were very loved this week. The island is beautiful and we hope to return very soon!!

Mahalo!

Greeting from Holland.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hilo Vacation

Review submitted: December 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 11, 2012

Awesome place to stay!!!!

We're a family of 4 with extended family in Hilo so we wanted a big place where everyone could gather together... this house had plenty of room for everyone, was very well stocked, and was great for little kids and big ones! The pool and hot tub area was a highlight for the kids... and we liked that the house was close to all the great places to visit. The house is right across the street from the ocean and on a great little street for walking.... its close enough to Hilo for major shopping but still far enough out of town that you feel like you can completely get away from all the hussle and bussle... it has a wonderful lanai where you can sit and hear the ocean waves... it was very clean with lots of extra bedding and towels... all the beds and bedding were very comfortable... the kitchen has plenty of dishes and cooking supplies for a large group of people... and the yard was a great area for the kids to pick coconuts, chase geckos and catch frogs.

This house and Hilo are definately great vacation spots!! We will definately be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Overall the home was excellent and very much as advertised. We had a large group of 9 with ages ranging from 2 years to 80 years old. Everyone loved the house, its remote and peaceful location and the spaciousness of this two story home. We had home cooked breakfasts everyone morning and the kitchen was well equipped with dishes, cups, and utensils. The children loved the pool. And I was appreciative of the responsiveness of the handiman. Everyone in our party agreed we would stay here again and recommend this property to others. The owner was very prompt in responding to me from the start of the booking process to the return of our deposit.

A few tips: the outside stairs up to the front door and the stairs in the house leading down to the lower level are very steep so care should be taken with very young and very old. The hot water for the washer is stale so you should only use cold water to wash clothes to avoid odor on your clean clothes.

This was my first time booking through ARBO. It was an excellent experience.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Working Trip

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

My four employees and myself rented your home and couldn't be happier. The space, the jacuzzi and pool as well as the location to the ocean cliffs made our "work" trip a total success. We look forward to our next Hilo "work trip"

Mahalo!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Paradise for anyone to enjoy

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

I would like to thank our host for such a wonderful experience staying at your house, Uli Kai on the big island of Hawaii. We wanted to experience what it must be like to live life on the Big Island, your place gave us that tropical paradise feel. At night you could hear the frogs and the crashing of the waves against the lava cliffs. We experienced what it must be like living on the big island of Hawaii. Staying at your place was a magical place. We spent May 24th thru May 31st 2012. We were 4 adults. We enjoyed all the comforts of home away from home. The furnishings were comfortable and there was plenty of space for us to be together or in our own space. The lanai on the second level offers an extended view of the ocean which is just across the private road in front of the house that only the locals’ travel on (not many cars if any). I walked to the beach every morning just to watch the sun rise and drink my cup of coffee. The pool is amazing and we swam laps almost every day, morning and evening. The garden is large and filled with tropical foliage. Volcano National park is not far from the house and is a must see along with the black sand beaches. When we were at Punalu’u Black Sand Beach Park we seen “Eight” sea turtles! It was so amazing! We snorkeled at the tide pools in Kapoho-Waiopae Road, Pahoa we spent the whole day here on several days going in and out of the different tide pools and just enjoying the sun on the rocks. Lots of different fish, and not that many people at the tide pools. This was a great snorkel spot on our trip. There are no facilities here (i.e. not even bathrooms) - just a carpark, so be prepared with lots of water and food if you're spending the day here. The owner provides a book that suggestion on where to go for eats and sights to see. We tried almost all of the places. If you want a true Island experience on food try them all. The farmers market in downtown Hilo is fun and so is the farmers market closer to the house on Sundays. We had a list of things we wanted to see and do, but we didn’t have enough time in 7 days! We can’t wait to rent the house again and get away from the main land. This place is a vacation house in paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very deceiving

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

We had so looked forward to spending our vacation at this property. When we arrived the outside was exactly as pictured the inside was something else..upon entering we immediately could smell the mustiness on the pool level. The TV on this level was missing, only the wires were evident that there actually had been a tv there at one time. Everything about this homeaway was a disappointment. The furnishings are very outdated, broken and worn. The pillows if that is what they call them were so old and gave no support for the head. The kitchen was very ill equipped in regard to pots and cooking utensils, drinking glasses were plentiful but one can't eat or cook with a drinking glass. The stove needs replacement, twice the gas flame shot out and had my daughter been any closer she would have been burned, we did not use the stove for the last two days we were there. (Yes we did report this and told him we wouldn't be using it and he could check it out after we left) there also was a minor problem with the garburetor. There were plentiful ants when food was on the counter.The beach toys should be replaced as well, they all had holes in them. As we were five women ranging in ages they should really let people know this home is way off the beaten track on a roller coaster road not close to even a variety store to pick up milk or bread. I would not recommend this vacation home to any one, this was our first visit to the Big Island and we were greatly disappointed because of our experience with this rental.

Owners response: 1) Guests expected second TV. We never advertise that we have two TV. The connector was there when the cable company came for installation and he put second line down-stair just in case we need it.
2) None of the furnishings were broken. It may be worn over time especially in the warm climate like Hawaii. The futon down-stair was brand new, less than a year old.
3) There are plenty of pillows in the closets of each bedroom. Guests can pick and choose the one they like. Some are soft and some are firm. It depends on individual preference.
4) I was at the house for three weeks last March of 2012. I bought a new set of pots and pans. Perhaps, this guests did not see the pot and pans in the kitchen cabinet.
5) My handyman checked out the gas stove and he said they were working fine. There were no complaint from the guests following this guests.
6) Garbage disposal was working fine according to the handyman.
7) Guests should not leave food on the counter because Hawaii has tropical climate not like in the mainland. Food should be kept in the refrigerator at all time to prevent ants and other insects.
8) Beach toys may be damage due to outside storage. We will remove the bad ones.
9) In our driving direction to the house, we inform guests that the house is about 20 miles from Hilo Airport. We suggest that they should buy groceries and supplies that they would need as soon as they leave the airport. The nearest stores to the house is about 10 miles away in Pahoa. We encourage that guests pay more attention to our instruction. Stores are not plentiful as in USA and Canada.
We, as the owner, try very hard to satisfy all guests. But some guests may have more expectation than the others. We have good review following this guests.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great vacation home near Hilo and Volcano

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

Thank you for sharing your beautiful Uli Kai house with us. We enjoyed everything about it. The sea view from the lanai was amazing. We even heard the crashing waves. The house was large clean and comfortable. We loved the pool and hot tub set in a beautiful back yard, Also, the local property manager was very helpful with all requests.

We highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Basketball team had a blast!!!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 9, 2011

This was the second time I had taken my high school basketball team to stay here in the past 3 years, and again, it exceeded all expectations!!! The team enjoyed everything about the house, from the bbq area, to the pool and jacuuzi (that was their favorite part) to the beautiful walks they were able to take along the beach. The house has a "homely" feeling that really made everybody feel comfortable. I would highly recommend this vacation getaway to anyone in need of some serious R&R!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay in Hilo

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

We stayed at this property in March of 2011. There were 9 in our group including 3 children. There was plenty of room for everyone. The beds were especially comfortable. We loved getting in the hot tub at the end of the day. And the children enjoyed the pool, although it was a little too chilly for most of the adults. There was plenty to do in the area and we enjoyed the recommendations left for us at the house. We went to the black sand beaches around Hilo and swam with sea turtles. We loved watching the waves crash on the rocks across the street from the house. We were even lucky enough to see a whale while having coffee on the lanai! The house had all of the supplies we needed, including flashlights, bicycles, pool supplies and a fully stocked kitchen. The owner was very quick to address any question or problem that we had. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a relaxing stay in an area full of friendly, helpful people, away from the more crowded areas of Hawaii.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly Uli Kai

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

Incredible Large Spacious Home offered more than enough for our party of four. We made use of the covered lanai for several of our meals. The pool area with it's attractive lava garden was a treat. Situated a few yards from the shore and in Paradise Park, as it was, the roar of the surf and the sounds of chirping frogs, toads, crickets. birds and geckos was delightful and made for one of our most memorable trips to Hawaii. Highly Reccommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great review! My home will accommodate from 2 guests up to 15 guests. Private pool and jacuzzi.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

six adults, 2 small granddaughters, Dec 22 to 31, 2010. A perfect vacation

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

Everything about the house was as-described. Clean, well maintained and only a few car drove by per day. The owner answered every question we had. Excellent kitchen and large enough for several people to be working at the same time. (Our cycle was breakfast at the house, lunch out exploring the island and dinner at the house. Our four year old granddaughter started calling it 'home' by the second day. "Are we gong to eat at home tonight?"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful, spacious home

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

What a nice place to stay in Hilo! We were so impressed with the cleanliness, spaciousness, the pool and hot tub, the gorgeous views and natural sounds (waves, birds, crickets, lizards), and just everything. There were lots of low traffic streets to go walking on, and it was wonderful to come back to the privacy of the home after going exploring every day. One night we watched the Geminid meteor shower from the lounge chairs in the back yard. It's somethign we'll remember our whole lives! Volcanoes National Park is close by, and swimming beaches are not far either. We all remarked that this was the most restful vacation we'd ever had. Thanks so much for renting us your little bit of paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to visit on the Big Island

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

My wife, son, and I visited this house on the Big Island in Hilo for three nights during September 2010. We live on Maui and needed an off island trip away from work and our stay was great. The pool was a nice cool off during the day and good fun for our boy while the two of us enjoyed relaxing in the jacuzzi in the evening. The property itself sits in a good central location. Within a short drive we visited Hilo Bay, the zoo, waterfalls, a naturally heated pool, and black sand beach. I also brought over my fishing poles, caught a few across the street, and BBQ's them for dinner one night. Overall a great trip and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

Mahalo so much for sharing your home with us, it was magnificent and felt like home. It was clean and comfortable and to have such an excellent internet service it provided our guest a way they could connect with their ohana back home thank you so much.

We felt like little girl hanging out in the pool and jacuzzi which definitely added to us enjoying ourselves and laughing until we cried. LOL All in all we are looking forward to renting it next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

Mahalo so much for sharing your home with us, it was magnificent and felt like home. It was clean and comfortable and to have such an excellent internet service it provided our guest a way they could connect with their ohana back home thank you so much.

We felt like little girl hanging out in the pool and jacuzzi whic definitely added to us enjoying ourselves and laughing until we cried. LOL All in all we are looking forward to renting it next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mahalo

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

Mahalo so much for sharing your home with us, it was magnificent and felt like home. It was clean and comfortable and to have such an excellent internet service it provided our guest a way they could connect with their ohana back home thank you so much.

We felt like little girl hanging out in the pool and jacuzzi which s definately added to us enjoying ourselves and laughing until we cried. LOL All in all we are looking forward to renting it next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful House

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

Thanks again for allowing us to stay at your beautiful house. It's definitely something the team will remember!! I really would rate everything as excellent. It really is a top notch vacation rental and I would definitely recommend it to anyone else. Mahalo.
--Coach Patrick, Mililani, HI

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful and Hassle-Free

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: January 11, 2009

Uli Kai was wonderful! Thank you so much Pam for making our arrangements so hassle free! My daughter had the best time of her life for her birthday party! The pool & hot tub were fantastic! Your home was very spacious yet had that cozy homely touch! Definite tropical home away from home to enjoy even as a kamaaina! I would definitely stay here again! Much mahalo for a truly memorable experience!
--Daimelynn & ohana, Kurtistown, HI

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 15, 2009

We just wanted say thank you for the most wonderful, stress-free vacation we've ever experienced. This was because of your beautiful home the "Picture Perfect". We've never enjoyed a rental home as much as we did yours. We plan on returning again next year, and hope to get the same house..everything was so relaxing & perfect there! Thank you again.
--Becky, Wasilla, AK

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: March 24, 2009

While staying in the house last year, with a large group, we had a fantastic time. The house was such a nice change from the impersonal motel route! We will coming back to the Hilo PowWow in May (not soon enough) and staying in the same house. We can hardly wait! MAHALO from the Wapato Indian Dance Club.
--Margaret, Wapato,WA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful House

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

Thanks again for allowing us to stay at your beautiful house. It's definitely something the team will remember!! I really would rate everything as excellent. It really is a top notch vacation rental and I would definitely recommend it to anyone else. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

Thanks again for allowing us to stay at your beautiful house. It's definitely something the team will remember!! I really would rate everything as excellent. It really is a top notch vacation rental and I would definitely recommend it to anyone else. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 24, 2009

While staying in the house last year, with a large group, we had a fantastic time. The house was such a nice change from the impersonal motel route! We will coming back to the Hilo PowWow in May (not soon enough) and staying in the same house. We can hardly wait! MAHOLA from the Wapato Indian Dance Club.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 15, 2009   Date of arrival: February 15, 2009

We just wanted say thank you for the most wonderful,stress free vacation we've ever experienced. This was because of your beautiful home the "Picture Perfect". We've never enjoyed a rental home as much as we did yours. We plan on returning again next year,and hope to get the same house..every thing was so relaxing & perfect there! Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stress Free Vacation

Review submitted: February 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 28, 2009

We just wanted say thank you for the most wonderful,stress free vacation we've ever experienced. This was because of your beautiful home the "Picture Perfect". We've never enjoyed a rental home as much as we did yours. We plan on returning again next year,and hope to get the same house..every thing was so relaxing & perfect there! Thank you again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: January 14, 2009   Date of arrival: December 26, 2008

Uli Kai was wonderful! Thank you so much Pam for making our arrangements so hassle free! My daughter had the best time of her life for her birthday party! The pool & hot tub were fantastic! Your home was very spacious yet had that cozy homely touch! Definite tropical home away from home to enjoy even as a kamaaina! I would definitely stay here again! Much mahalo for a truly memorable experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 11, 2009

Uli Kai was wonderful! Thank you so much Pam for making our arrangements so hassle free! My daughter had the best time of her life for her birthday party! The pool & hot tub were fantastic! Your home was very spacious yet had that cozy homely touch! Definite tropical home away from home to enjoy even as a kamaaina! I would definitely stay here again! Much mahalo for a truly memorable experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for families

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 20, 2008

The house is very clean and well stocked for a comfortable family vacation. The four bedrooms had ceiling fans which helped during our August visit. Great kitchen with stove, microwave, large frig, etc. Bring groceries before you drive to house, as no store in neighborhood...just homes. A wonderful pool and jacuzzi are in a private backyard, as cannot swim in the ocean here. Washer and dryer are included...along with soap. Enclosed lanai is pretty. Satellite television and DVD player. Wireless Internet can be accessed for a fee...walk around house to find best spot for a signal...dining room table worked for us. Property across the street is all private property, so cannot access ocean views unless walk down to the end of the street (about 4 city blocks)...that view is beautiful...people fish on the rocks at this spot. Cleaning fee is charged per hour and is partially refundable if you do some of the work before you leave...(e.g. wash sheets and towels, take out garbage)...to minimize cleaning crew time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Better than description and pictures

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 30, 2008

We were overwhelmed by the value of this house. We stayed for one week. The pool area, and hot tub were perfectVery private, and perfect temp. Outside dining area near pool. We did not want to leave. Screened in lanai upstairs with ocean view, was a very large area. I do not believe the house is only 2000 sq ft. It's closer to 3000. We entertained one night for 25 people and it was perfect.
Two large living areas. Plenty of room. Will definelty return.
Walk across street to bluff/ocean.
Actually could sleep 15. Master has a king. 2nd upstairs bedroom has a queen. One downstairs bedroom has a queen and a twin, plus two fold up twin beds in closet, for kids. 2nd bedroom downstairs has a queen. Could have two familes easy.
Very private. Nice yard area in back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review